Q&A, General question on stock market

cherroy
post Nov 12 2008, 10:55 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(munchinks @ Nov 12 2008, 10:49 AM)
hi guys, i have some questions here:
1) 1 LOT is how many shares? Because some ppl say 1 LOT = 100 shares, other say 1 LOT = 1000 shares.
2) What's the minimum LOT to buy ?

1 lot = 100 shares nowadays.

min? 1 lot lor. biggrin.gif

Because previously market standard 1 lot = 1000 shares. So old timers always associated 1 lots = 1000 shares. But since then KLSE changed to 100 shares, then standard now become 100 shares per lot.
cherroy
post Nov 12 2008, 05:01 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(wyyew @ Nov 12 2008, 04:59 PM)
hi, newbie here , if I go to osk open trading account will it automatically open up the cds account nominee type?? or they will give me to choose whether a nominee type or direct type.

thank u.
OSK normally deal with direct account.
Better ask properly about it.

cherroy
post Nov 14 2008, 03:32 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Nov 14 2008, 03:28 PM)
So, whenever there's a news like "Quarterly rpt on consolidated results for the financial period ended xx/x/2008" and it stated "Proposed/Declared dividend per share (sen) - "Rm xx.xx", does it mean the investor will receive money for that quarter? Is it possible to get dividend for 4 times a year?
Yes, if they proposed it.

Normally and majority opt for 2 times per financial year, one interim one final.
Only a few give quarterly.
cherroy
post Nov 14 2008, 05:44 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Vivato @ Nov 14 2008, 05:34 PM)
ok, i'm noob with this dividend stuff.

how long do we need to hold the shares to be eligible for dividend payment?
As long as you have the share before ex-date of the dividend, then you are entitled for it. Be it buy just before the ex-date or 3 months ago.
cherroy
post Nov 17 2008, 04:48 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Nov 17 2008, 04:12 PM)
If a buyer and a seller queue at the same time with the following prices, then what will be the transacted price?

Assume last transacted price is RM2.15

Buyer queue RM2.15
Seller queue RM2.10

Will the buyer buys at 2.15 or 2.10?
Last transaction has nothing to do.

It depends who key in the order first.

If buyer Q at 2.15 first then even seller key in order of 2.10, it will be matched at 2.15
If seller Q at 2.10 first then even buyer key in order of 2.15, it will be matched at 2.10

cherroy
post Nov 17 2008, 06:21 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Nov 17 2008, 05:13 PM)

Which board is more volatile? which is better hunting ground for newbies? Which is safer for newbies? Main board or Second board?
There is no safer ground in stock market, want safer investment, then go for FD. No offence.

For newbie, don't invest anything before knowing and fully clear about it.

For stock, it is always advisable go for blue chips that is well reputable.

Don't mean others can't make money, but blue chips are always lower risk than other unknown xyz stock, as normally blue chips are well covered by research house, which you can obtain the company easily than others unknown stocks. Reputable or well managed is also a key factor that people has confidence about the company.

QUOTE(smooth9 @ Nov 17 2008, 06:02 PM)

I have previously vested in some stock about  6 years ago, but that time I dont know much about share so I just listen to advice from some friend (not that I know much now  tongue.gif ), I am glad it went alright that time. I wanted to reinvest some fund back into the share market in the coming weeks too, but this time I would really like to learn and make inform decision myself. I have been following this thread and few others in this forum recently. But I have a few questions... hope some sifus can  icon_question.gif  me:

1. I have an account with avenue securities 6 years ago, bought and sold all the shares. So my account is not active anymore and I do not have any information about it, I remember the remisier called me to close my account about 5 years ago, but I dont know the difference between cd and trading account that time, so I am not sure whether i close the cd, trading or both  blush.gif . Do I have to open a new CD account if I were to use another security company like OSK (since I have been relocated recently). Or OSK will be able to find my old CD account and I only have to open a new trading account with them to start trading?

2. profit/divident from share is it taxable? (is it true that there is no tax for divident starting 2008?) do we nomaly declare?

3. how about mutual fund? is this taxable also?

4. which factor is important deciding whether to buy or not? P/E ratio, future of company/industry, divident, account transperancy? (I wanted to invest for the longer term, targetting about 10-15% return per year.

5. what is a suport level/resist level means?

Thanks a lot notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
1. No, CDS and trading account generally won't be closed, once open, generally people leave it there, even though it is inactive. So properly you still have the CDS account.. But if your remisier said they want to close the account, then it can be done as well.

No, OSK can't access your Avenue's CDS. If you open an account with OSK, then you have to open another CDS account even you have one at Avenue. CDS is attacked with investment bank or broker house, so if you have 5 trading account with different broker house, then you need to open 5 CDS account.

So don't need to bother the Avenue CDS close or not close, if you intended to trade using OSK.

2. Profit from share trade is not taxable as it is under capital gain which is non-taxable in Malaysia. But dividend is taxable.
From 2008 onwards, those start to declare dividend under new single tier system, those dividend received in your hand already been taxed, so no further tax. <-- where people presumed it is not taxed, in fact it is not.
It is not actually no tax as tax being paid first on company level compared to old system which not taxed at company leve. Just you won't see it, doesn't mean it is not taxed.

3. Mutual fund is under capital gain tax as well.

4. The most important criteria is company profit especially future profit as company profit is the most important factor that determine the share price. All factors you list are important as well as it is combination factor that determine the price and valuation people willing to buy the share.

5. Support level is determined from chart or technical analysis whereby on this level, based on chart, it shows plenty of people want to buy, so share has good support factor (but it doesn't mean it can break to lower level, if selling is strong. So on the opposite side, resistance means there are a lot of selling at that level.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Nov 17 2008, 06:23 PM
cherroy
post Nov 21 2008, 02:41 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Nov 21 2008, 02:17 PM)
Hi all,

Please bear with me as I am new to the world of stock exchange.

My basic question is what should one do with your stocks?

My remisier's answer is sell at higher price than I buy and make profit. To me that sounds like a gold prospector/speculator rather than as a true investor.

Now to explain my train of thoughts:

I am having a regular source of income (as in having a regular 9-5 job).

I have extra saving by not spending more than I earn.

I used to put my money in FD.

I realized that money in FD was very lazy... it is giving me lousy returns that will not beat inflation.

I have been buying dividend yielding counters hoping that they will give me better Rate of return than FD, I am targeting a conservative yield of 8 - 10%. I am not speculative, but I rather buy them small pieces at a time with the amount I am comfortable with (based on my budget)

I want to keep these dividend yielding counters as part of my retirement plan, hoping that they will give a source of income after I am unable to work anymore.

However, my remisier thinks that my plan is a joke. He cannot understand why I want to keep the stocks when I can make a profit during a bull run.

I cannot understand why I must do like he said.

I hope to hear from second, third or fourth opinions.

Xuzen
You don't need to follow others' saying, it is your hard-earned money, you are the one decide what to do with it.

Yes, you can ride on some good stocks over the long term, even earn dividend alone is more than 2x of your FD.

But do remember this is on good fundamental stock only. It doesn't apply to all stocks.

Surely remisier doesn't wish to see you buy and keep it long term or forever, as they need you to buy and sell constantly to earn commission out from it. No offence and disrespect to remisier, just remisier shouldn't ask client to buy or sell in the first place, it is individual decision.
cherroy
post Nov 21 2008, 03:43 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Nov 21 2008, 03:33 PM)
I intend to buy regularly, but of course not as regular as those speculators.
Yeah, will KIV during the bull run period. But I don't see it happening in the near future... maybe late 2009 or 2010. I think now is a good time for bargain hunting. 12 months for of bargain hunting/sale period... better than Malaysian Mega Sales eh?

I guess I see myself as the tortoise rather than the hare. Strutting along leisurely along the road called life. Picking up my "rezeki" along the way, using it prudently and whatever is left once I reached the finish line (aka death) I give to my next of kin or charity which ever need it more since I cannot bring it along.

Sorry for my rambling... biz is slow these days.

P/S So far I have in my portfolio: Tanjong, Carlsbg, Guiness, Amway, Toto, a little bit of here and there.

Xuzen
Those kind of stocks don't move much either most of the time.
Once bought can go to sleep and every 6 months waiting for dividend only.

Yup, don't need to KIV too tightly if not intended to speculate in the first place especially with your portfolio. 9-5 job is the one should be KIV on, not stock market.

You only KIV tightly for those speculationa and goreng stuff which you not intended to keep it in the first place for long term.

cherroy
post Nov 22 2008, 01:45 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Nov 22 2008, 12:49 PM)
I think currently many company have low PE and high DY is b' coz of the bearish conditions, if the situation was during bull run, I think not many counters would be so delicious. PE would be in their 15 -20 I guess.

That is why I said, for the next 12 months it shall be Mega Sales at KLSE Bursa.

Xuzen
But do remember some PE trap as well.

Some stocks even drop more than 50%, doesn't mean it is cheap. It is same with PE, as PE is based on last year earning data, if the company earning will be severely affected by the down turn, then those low PE is meaningless and doesn't tell you the real picture.

Just like oil company, now a lot of their PE, or share price could be selling a single digit or 5-8 PE ratio only, but doesn't mean it is cheap. As previous earning come from USD140 oil price, if oil price continue to slide, their future earning will be at least cut into 30% or half, so the coming PE would be teen number at current stock price.
cherroy
post Nov 25 2008, 04:52 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Nov 25 2008, 04:45 PM)
Hey people,

I got a new question. This is regarding AGM. If I have like 100 shares in Nestle and another person has 10,000 units in Nestle.

When it comes to voting, is it like I have 100 votes and the other person has 10,000 votes?

Xuzen
Yes
cherroy
post Dec 4 2008, 09:18 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Dec 4 2008, 02:02 AM)
If:

EX-date : 26/12/2008 
Entitlement date : 31/12/2008 
Entitlement time : 05:00:00 PM 

If I bought on 28/12/2008, will it count for the dividend?
To add a point, a simplicity way,
you must buy before ex-date to entitle the dividend, ie the last date you should buy (to entitle the dividend) is 25/12/2008
cherroy
post Dec 4 2008, 09:24 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Dec 2 2008, 10:12 PM)
Which share will you buy?

AAA: Price $2.00, EPS $0.50, Div $0.30, P/E = 4.0, Div Yield = 15.0%
BBB: Price $0.90, EPS $0.20, Div $0.15, P/E = 4.5, Div Yield = 16.7%

Assume you have $10,000.

Buy AAA 50 lots. Cost $10,000. Div received = $0.30 x 5000 shares = $1,500
Buy BBB 111 lots. Cost $9,990. Div received = $0.15 x 11,100 shares = $1,665

Would you buy AAA because of lower P/E? Or would you buy BBB because of higher dividend? Why?
Nope, stock market is about future prospect of the company. If AAA earning is going to drop significantly, future PE will sky-rocket, which it is not cheap at all.

Same with BBB, if future company earning is not able to sustain dividend yield, then its share will plunge to match those lower future dividend.

Can't make much conclusion out of it. It is much more complex, as what stock market concern the most is the future, not the past. That's why you see stock market around the world plunge severely because of anticipation of economy recession.

QUOTE(Yithoe @ Dec 3 2008, 11:22 AM)
Any Sifu can roughly teach me how function in the culculation of  EPS,PE,DY to know whether the stock is good or bad?

Thank.
For fundamental analysis, it is much more complex than that, but those are good way to start with.
You can google around, there are lot of information around the forum.

Cheers.
cherroy
post Dec 4 2008, 09:22 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Dec 4 2008, 08:33 PM)
Thanks Mr Cherroy, anyway what is the point to put the Entitlement date : 31/12/2008? Knowledge .. knowledge ..  thumbup.gif
Actually when company registrar looking for shareholders for dividend distribution time, they willl take the entitlement date to determine the identity of the shareholders, that's why it called entitlement date.

But, when you bought your share in the market, the share is not immediately transfer into your CDS, just like previous example, 26/12 is the ex-date, so if you bought at 25/12 that entitled for the dividend but the share won't be transfer into your CDS directly on that date, it takes about 2 days time to be completed, so in order to be the share being completed to transfer into your CDS (for company registrar to identify you for the dividend), then ex-date being created which is the last date which able for the share transfer completion.

As KLSE is the place only the share being traded, so we look for ex-date only, we don't care about the entitlement date as those are automated process under CDS already or being handled by KLSE clearing centre.
cherroy
post Dec 8 2008, 10:58 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Dec 7 2008, 11:23 PM)
well i hv a question here, as I buy I put the best buy price and get the quantity, transaction done.

I still dun understand these joker roles wat is their purpose sale 1 lot?
with only 1 lot can they speculate the share price?

as a newbie n small trader here I havent encounter partially match situation.
If I sale 50 lots which is 2 best sale price got 1 lot match only, transaction done or not ?

read some where around here someone mention it done 1 lot sale success if i m not mistaken.

pl advise.
Should be done 1 lot. But not sure about your actual question or situation, your statement is not clear.

You want to buy/sell 100 lots, you can do it via 1 lot x 100 (transaction) which is the same with 100 lots x 1 (transaction), commission rate is the same, as contract will be set up per day basic per counter.

1 lot sometimes people done it for rounding up their trade, just like you have done 99 lots so people tend to get another 1 for rounding up figure.

But there are some jokers around, that purposely jack up the price with 1 lot transaction in the low liquidity stock.

cherroy
post Dec 8 2008, 12:07 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Dec 8 2008, 11:07 AM)
I c my statement not clear r. okay nvr mind appreciate ur reply mr cherroy.

if like that i will loss lo bcoz 1 lot share not much ma but brokerage fee min ored 28.
like that better cancel order right?

1 lot to round up their trade? worth meh? I cant imagine if they buy 51 to round up their trade to 150 still okay la but why 1lot?

obviously still blurx2 with stock trading, 1 lot can jack up the price? can provide a situation r?

erm btw the bold sentence what do u mean? it doesnt look the same to me

pl advise,

cheers.........
It is the same, you done totally of 100 lots in both transaction, and your transaction contract will be listed at 100 lots disregard you buy 1 times x 100 lots , or 2 times x 50 lots or 100 times x 1 lots, it is still under 1 contract only (so only 1 min charges) if you buy at the within the same day.

Yes, don't trade only 1 lot (per contract if the amount is small) as min commission will be eating or compromised very significantly sum already.
cherroy
post Dec 8 2008, 02:33 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Dec 8 2008, 12:43 PM)
okay just to make sure,

is that mean in one whole day I can trade (buy/sale) an abc share 2 or 3 time that only be charged with 1 single receipt by my broker?

let say morning buy 50lots, afternoon session buy another 50lots at the end of the days, my broker only charge rm 28 + stamp duty (100lots) + clearing fee (100lots)?

or my broker will charge me rm 48 (28 for 1st 50lots + 28 for 2nd 50lots)

this is new for me as my broker never tell me this?

another doubt for me is what if morning i buy 50 lots @ 0.50 n a'noon 50 lots @ 0.30;
pl. check if my calculation correct or not?

total need to pay= rm 4000 + rm 28 + (4000 x 0.03) + 4
                        = 4000 + 28 + 1.2 + 4
Yes.

cherroy
post Dec 9 2008, 03:13 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(illidanleong @ Dec 9 2008, 03:10 PM)
yes i am. i plan to be maximise my investment during my studies. so when i graduate i can open my own company.
i only learned from a university subject called financial institutions and capital, money markets.

any comments to how to get highest return on investment at a short period of time? i plan to reinvest my money.

btw, is short term or long term investment better?
If you want high risk investment, be prepared to lose your initial capital as well.

Intended to maximising your investment or return rate can lead one lose all together as well rather than gain anything.
cherroy
post Dec 9 2008, 03:35 PM

25,802 posts

No one blast anyone, just one must be realistic.

There is no such thing of maximising your return rate, (the sky is limit) if keep on thinking on it (how to maximise your return or gain), then 99% people can assure that you are maximising your loss only.

Greed is the ultimate enemy of investment.

Current global financial crisis root problem is greed.

cherroy
post Dec 9 2008, 03:40 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(illidanleong @ Dec 9 2008, 03:16 PM)
i am willing to lose every single cent. i just want to know what type of investment gives highest ROI.

and where to get it. where to learn more about it. give me links and sites.
My suggestion,
Go to buy big sweep or Toto, Rm 1 or 2 can win ten of millions, fullfill your requirement of maximisation of return rate while can lose every single cent (not kena, then loss all).

Your requirement being matched! tongue.gif biggrin.gif

7K is not money meh? why want to lose every single cent of it?

It is those tiny bit and then accumulated that make one rich, no one is rich or wealthy overnight.
cherroy
post Dec 9 2008, 03:47 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(illidanleong @ Dec 9 2008, 03:42 PM)
LOL. then y are u here if u are not greedy???

every1 here wants to learn how to invest and see how people invest.

but what is that for?? so that they can invest next time.

my conscience overcede my greed, if not i would have rob banks...

btw, pls answer my questions, not critise or create questions out of questions.
Because your question can't be answered, as there is no such thing of maximising the return rate, as sky is the limit as said.
You can have only Rm1K capital, you can trade until 10K, 100K or even more if you dare, but you have bare the consequences.

People invest in stock market (can be others investment, but this thread more on stock), want to gain some return rate which can be potential much better than FD or other alternative investment target, as simple as that.

14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0471sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:42 AM