Q&A, General question on stock market

Mr Kong
post Jan 8 2014, 12:24 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jan 8 2014, 09:55 AM)
Company will issue new shares for DRIP, dilute other shareholders who did not opt for DRIP.
Gark, can you please answer my question cry.gif cry.gif
Can you please tell me why do some warrants trade below their mother share price?
For example: SKP-HA and SKP-CS both have the same expiry date but one HA is trading at a 10% discount compared to its mother share whereas CS is trading at a premium of 9%
Why is there such difference??
Thanks!!
Mr Kong
post Jan 8 2014, 02:35 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jan 8 2014, 01:01 PM)
SKP-HA is a put warrant.. which means it expect the shares to DROP to earn money

SKP-CS is a call warrant.. which means it expect the shares to RISE to earn money

They are not the same one trade at negative premium and one at positive premium. Best you study carefully on the strike price, ratio and leverage before you buy. Buying call and put warrant without knowing how to count all the info is a sure fire way to lose your pants...  rolleyes.gif

Name            |  Type              |  Issue          |  Expiry            | Strike  |  Ratio    | premium      | Leverage 
SKPETRO-CS | Call Warrants | 25/10/2013 | 24/10/2014 | 3.80 | 6:1 | 0.44 (9.46%) | 3.604
SKPETRO-HA | Put Warrants  | 25/10/2013 | 24/10/2014 | 3.80 | 6:1 | 0.40 (8.60%) | 10.333
But let's say i expect shares of SKP to rise in the future, can i still buy put warrants?
For the HA put warrant, the exercise to conversion ratio is 6:1, so with the current price of 0.075 so it's 0.45.
The exercise price is 3.80. so 0.45+3.80=4.25.
The maturity date is 24/10/2014, so let's say at 24/10/2014, the share price of SKP goes up to RM5, then what happens??
Mr Kong
post Jan 8 2014, 03:26 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jan 8 2014, 03:14 PM)
Put warrant you only earn money if the SKP share is on downtrend...If you expect SKP shares to go up, buy call warrants...

Read the warrant issue documents on the settlement calculations. Your calculations is all wrong...

For put warrants the calculation is :- (Exercise price - settlement price )/ratio = settlement amount per share

IF you expect SKP to go to RM 5 then... (3.8-5)/6 = -0.20 = 0

If you expect SKP to go down to RM 2 then ...(3.8-2)/6 = 0.30 cash upon expiry date

Now the market price is 0.075 x 6 = 0.45.. you will only breakeven IF the SKP price is 3.80-0.45 = 3.35

Really you should not touch warrants....unless you have full understanding on the calculations
But SKP shares are quite expensive.
If play warrants, wouldn't the ROI be better?
Mr Kong
post Jan 10 2014, 04:28 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jan 8 2014, 03:28 PM)
Yeah .. and lose your pants faster too...due to the leverage.. anytime can 100% loss one especially you cannot calculate yet want to play...

You buy mother shares you think can 100% loss or not?
Gark, I was too blur.
So these 2 are more straight-forward warrants rite?
WCT-WC (9679WC) and WCT-WD(9679WD)
For WCT-WC, the conversion price is 2.04+0.43=2.47( as of 10/1/2014) 4:27pm.
So it doesn't matter whether the share goes up or not rite?
Because the mother share price too expensive, I am thinking of buying warrants..
Do tell me if i am wrong.
Thanks Gark! icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
Mr Kong
post Jan 15 2014, 04:15 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jan 13 2014, 05:53 PM)
Sometimes broker adsorb the charges to get more customers.

If no good working relationship , mah change broker lah... many many choice for you to choose.
Gark, thanks for helping me regarding the WCT one.
But i have another question here.
What can one do during pre-opening hours in Bursa?
Mr Kong
post Jan 16 2014, 11:14 AM

407 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jan 15 2014, 05:58 PM)
Enter queue for your shares. That's it.
Let's say yesterday i wanted to buy shares of A at a price of RM2 and i put my GTD date until next week.
Unfortunately, the shares closed at RM2.20 yesterday.
Let's say at pre-market today people wanna sell the shares at RM2, will i be ahead of the queue of those who keyed in at 8:30am today?
Thanks!
Mr Kong
post Feb 16 2014, 03:07 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Jan 24 2014, 07:31 PM)
Yes, that is why IPO is 'seen' as lottery... most IPO gains about 10%-30% within the first 2 days.

However there are some IPO which performs less than 10% or at worst flat. Very rare if the IPO trades below the IPO price for the first few days due to IB supporting the price, but it does happen once a while.
Wah Gark, really ah? IPOs are seen as lotteries? I did not know that leh.
Meaning IPO normally price won't go down?
I didn't notice leh.
Mr Kong
post Feb 17 2014, 12:36 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 16 2014, 10:20 PM)
Only if you sell it off by the first day or so.. at worse you broke even only. If you wait too long your risk of loss becomes bigger.
But I've always thought IPOs come with a lot of uncertainty.
But after seeing what you wrote, I think u r right leh. As long as you sell it within the first day, you won't lose one because IB will be supporting the share price. As long as you make money, then quickly sell la, don't be greedy.
Mr Kong
post Feb 17 2014, 12:39 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(TakoC @ Feb 16 2014, 08:32 PM)
Those old timer would know. Last time people would go around borrowing IC from people and apply for IPO. That was when a lot of people made their fortune.

Nowadays big name IPO don't shoot up 10% or 20% anymore (ahem, WPORT). It's those 'new fresh' IPOs that got people interest (like KAREX).
But from what i see, most IPOs at first day won't drop one. Like Gark said, worst case scenario is break-even.
Westport's share price did not fall on the first day.
The way I think is, if i tell u there is a one-day business whereby you won't lose money but I can't guarantee how much you will make, will you enter the business?
Remember, they keyword is u won't lose. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_idea.gif

0.0451sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:01 AM