Ayu Deaf In Her Left Ear, Is Official

TSjehutyz
post Jan 9 2008, 09:57 AM, updated 18y ago

1,215 posts

Japanese pop princess Ayumi Hamasaki has revealed she has gone deaf in her left ear, but has vowed to continue her career and go ahead with an upcoming tour of Asia.
Hamasaki, who is Japan's top-selling singer with 29 number-one hits and more than 50 million records sold as of December 31, wrote on her personal blog that her left ear "doesn't work anymore" and that it was inoperable. The 29-year-old said she first suffered the ear problem in 2000 and postponed part of her tour. She believed she would eventually recover from the problem, but instead her doctor recently confirmed that she was completely deaf in one ear, she said. Hamasaki, better known as 'Ayu' by her large fanbase in Asia, is believed to be suffering tinnitus, which involves a ringing in the ear that can be caused by constant exposure to sound.

Source : 7days

Hugely successful Japanese pop star Ayumi Hamasaki has revealed she has gone deaf in her left ear, but vowed to go ahead with an upcoming tour of Asia. The 29-year old wrote on her blog that her left ear "doesn't work anymore" and that it was inoperable. The star is thought to have tinnitus, a ringing in the ear that can be caused by constant exposure to sound. Ayumi is Japan's top-selling singer scoring 28 number one hits and has sold nearly 50 million albums. She has known of her condition since going in for an ear check last year, according to her website.
'Continue singing'
"Nevertheless, I would like to continue as a singer. That's why I would like to continue singing until I reach the limit with my remaining right ear," she wrote on her members-only fansite. "I won't stop. I won't make excuses. As a professional, I would like to deliver the best performance for everyone."
Ayumi is due to launch her second tour of Asia in April to mark her 10th anniversary as a performer.

Source : 7days

This post has been edited by jehutyz: Jan 9 2008, 09:58 AM
strangex2
post Jan 9 2008, 10:03 AM

79 posts

Yo jehutyz, your bro ken here from Play! Haa haaa.

You Ayumi fan as well? Awesome.

I hope she doesn't bust her other year, poor thing. Still very young.
Wolf516
post Jan 9 2008, 10:08 AM

589 posts

*_* Ayu is my 1st idol wihch attracts me to japanese songs

Her song depend on me is the starting point lolz, I heard that song from a game called Thousand Arms (ps1) which I can still remember until now

Best ever!!!! T_T poor ayu
TSjehutyz
post Jan 9 2008, 10:28 AM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(strangex2 @ Jan 9 2008, 10:03 AM)
Yo jehutyz, your bro ken here from Play! Haa haaa.

You Ayumi fan as well? Awesome.

I hope she doesn't bust her other year, poor thing. Still very young.
Ohhh i see. Diff nick hahaha.
Actually she is not that young alr compare to others. Already in late 20. But still young n hot hahaha.
Really a sad news.

QUOTE(Wolf516 @ Jan 9 2008, 10:08 AM)

Her song depend on me is the starting point lolz, I heard that song from a game called Thousand Arms (ps1) which I can still remember until now

Same as me wor.
I listened to her songs bfore she became Japan No. 1

nanakopy87
post Jan 9 2008, 12:40 PM

You were...
1,835 posts

sad news....she my 1st idol...heart broken
Makakeke
post Jan 9 2008, 06:33 PM

310 posts

She could actually turn this into an advantage. Not completely true buti think some 1 ear deaf people can actually hear better, good for singers.
beck_ken
post Jan 9 2008, 09:10 PM

4,716 posts

so sad when i read the news few days back
can't imagine Jpop no.1 is now half deaf...

btw, i already pre-order Guilty at Victoria Music
waiting it to release and arrive
TSjehutyz
post Jan 9 2008, 10:06 PM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(beck_ken @ Jan 9 2008, 09:10 PM)
so sad when i read the news few days back
can't imagine Jpop no.1 is now half deaf...

btw, i already pre-order Guilty at Victoria Music
waiting it to release and arrive
GUILTY album is nice.
The last song is dedicated to her fren as passed away last year.
She also sang that song during her yearly COUNTDOWN concert and she cry during the song too.
beck_ken
post Jan 9 2008, 10:30 PM

4,716 posts

QUOTE(jehutyz @ Jan 9 2008, 10:06 PM)
GUILTY album is nice.
The last song is dedicated to her fren as passed away last year.
She also sang that song during her yearly COUNTDOWN concert and she cry during the song too.
i listened thru the *ehem* version once and deleted
waiting the ori album... have some surprise thumbup.gif
mitodna
post Jan 10 2008, 01:15 AM

14,039 posts

yeah, poor, she is one hell of hardworking singer, really A BEST
bonzaimy
post Jan 10 2008, 05:03 PM

1,009 posts

Lol..no wonder la people shout she still make do know..haha..too bad for her.Im her biggest fan.. flex.gif
beck_ken
post Jan 11 2008, 08:55 AM

4,716 posts

7 1/2-year fight with ear problems

June 2000: Suffers ear infection. Forced to postpone two concerts

June 2001: Starts to hear ringing in her ears. Loses balance and falls from the stage during a final rehearsal. Sent to hospital but still performs despite a sprained ankle

2004: Admits she can't hear very well

2005: Rumours spread among fans that she is going deaf

Sep 2007: Found to be wearing a hearing aid while performing at the Music Station programme on TV

Jan 2008: Announces on her fan website that she is completely deaf in
her left ear. Doctors tell her surgery will not help

List of musicians who are deaf:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_deaf_people
ayumigs
post Jan 11 2008, 02:40 PM

i was SO sad...
she sure dun include SEA countries in her "ASIA" tour again this year.
now wif 1 ear deaf the possibility of her coming over to open concert reduced some more...

anyway
I WILL ALWAYS LOVE U AYU!
sugarboi
post Jan 11 2008, 05:57 PM

350 posts

Poor Ayu. Aih!!
Any idea when her album is coming out ar? I have been hunting around but can't find.
jonralf
post Jan 11 2008, 08:20 PM

Hikki
804 posts

poor ayu.
make sure to keep the right ear healthy... sad.gif
beck_ken
post Jan 11 2008, 09:38 PM

4,716 posts

QUOTE(sugarboi @ Jan 11 2008, 05:57 PM)
Poor Ayu. Aih!!
Any idea when her album is coming out ar? I have been hunting around but can't find.
not yet lar
but i already pre-ordered icon_rolleyes.gif

now Ayu is same category with Beethoven already whistling.gif

This post has been edited by beck_ken: Jan 11 2008, 09:39 PM
i_love_japan
post Jan 11 2008, 09:44 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(Wolf516 @ Jan 9 2008, 10:08 AM)

hell yeah...she's my first idol which attracts me to japanese songs as well.

poor thing, now she's one ear deaf. sad.gif

haihh, when will she be coming to Malaysia? if she is having a concert here, i'll definately be the first 1 to go.

This post has been edited by i_love_japan: Jan 11 2008, 09:49 PM
beck_ken
post Jan 11 2008, 10:43 PM

4,716 posts

QUOTE(i_love_japan @ Jan 11 2008, 09:44 PM)
hell yeah...she's my first idol which attracts me to japanese songs as well.

poor thing, now she's one ear deaf. sad.gif

haihh, when will she be coming to Malaysia? if she is having a concert here, i'll definately be the first 1 to go.
you can dream
save money and go HK, that's the nearest you can hoping for... whistling.gif

since now she only left one ear that can hear, i think her days in Jpop music will be numbered, so better save money go Japan or Hong Kong to watch her concert or else we will be regret as Ayu fans who never watch her live before cry.gif
TSjehutyz
post Jan 11 2008, 11:31 PM

1,215 posts

Hahaha come her...
Last year is her first time head out of Japan for concert.
If she go to SG....already good enough.
If at SG sure will go...dono at SG she is famous or not.
HK, Taiwan no need say alr....
heidityj
post Jan 12 2008, 12:06 AM

520 posts

was really shocked to read about her news... not a very big fan of hers I must admit...I listen to some of her songs but also a wide variety of other jap songs...anyway, still sad to read about these things. sad.gif

if she keeps it up isn't it dangerous for her? I mean, she could possibly hurt her right ear and go completely deaf. My dad is deaf in one ear as well and it has always been harder for him to catch what other people are saying. But at least he can still hear. Hopefully Ayumi doesn't push herself too hard and jeopardize her right hearing as well. sad.gif
beck_ken
post Jan 12 2008, 12:13 AM

4,716 posts

QUOTE(jehutyz @ Jan 11 2008, 11:31 PM)
Hahaha come her...
Last year is her first time head out of Japan for concert.
If she go to SG....already good enough.
If at SG sure will go...dono at SG she is famous or not.
HK, Taiwan no need say alr....
Spore also cannot afford to hire her over..let don't said about here whistling.gif

so my target will be HK to watch her concert this year thumbup.gif
SUSTC_Boy
post Jan 12 2008, 06:13 AM

259 posts

Being deaf in one ear is not necessarily silent. For tinnitus, you hear a constant ringing in the ear. I experienced temporary deafness in one ear due to hardening of ear wax in the ear canal which blocked the sound. It was hard to sleep & hear with the other ear because of the ringing.
beck_ken
post Jan 12 2008, 04:40 PM

4,716 posts

woohoo
i just collected my Guilty album (CD + DVD + Photobook) plus free Guilty poster
TSjehutyz
post Jan 12 2008, 05:53 PM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(beck_ken @ Jan 12 2008, 04:40 PM)
woohoo
i just collected my Guilty album (CD + DVD + Photobook) plus free Guilty poster
How much is it?

beck_ken
post Jan 12 2008, 05:56 PM

4,716 posts

QUOTE(jehutyz @ Jan 12 2008, 05:53 PM)
How much is it?
RM88.00 at Victoria Music rclxm9.gif
sugarboi
post Jan 12 2008, 11:44 PM

350 posts

WTH!!!. Where's Victoria Music? I wanna get my copy also. You went to the one in Amcorp or the one in Sg. Wang Plaza?

This post has been edited by sugarboi: Jan 12 2008, 11:46 PM
beck_ken
post Jan 13 2008, 02:11 AM

4,716 posts

QUOTE(sugarboi @ Jan 12 2008, 11:44 PM)
WTH!!!. Where's Victoria Music? I wanna get my copy also. You went to the one in Amcorp or the one in Sg. Wang Plaza?
Sg Wang flex.gif

I pre-order since last month

today they called me up for collection, after work quickly fly to Sg Wang and collect it rclxm9.gif
sugarboi
post Jan 13 2008, 10:50 AM

350 posts

when exactly is the release date for it in Malaysia? I went around to a few shops to ask but nobody can tell me exactly when it will come out.
beck_ken
post Jan 13 2008, 09:51 PM

4,716 posts

QUOTE(sugarboi @ Jan 13 2008, 10:50 AM)
when exactly is the release date for it in Malaysia? I went around to a few shops to ask but nobody can tell me exactly when it will come out.
only Victoria Music get the first taste of the album rclxms.gif
Hou_JaI
post Jan 14 2008, 07:56 PM

1,129 posts

erm whats the reason of her getting deaf? Too much loud music ?!?! or too much raw food ?!?!
nanakopy87
post Jan 14 2008, 08:04 PM

You were...
1,835 posts

i think because of she's listen too much of loud musics

0.0200sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:28 AM