5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Games Metal Gear Solid 4(tm) Discussion Thread, MGS4 Early Launch June 11th info post #1

TSMgsrulz
post Jan 9 2008, 02:45 AM, updated 18y ago

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

Gamer's Hideout

start.

Gamer's Hideout is having a special MGS4 pre-order program where the first 100 customers will get a nice MGS4 bag, t-shirt and patch. Also, you'll be entered into a lucky draw where the top prize of a 32-inch Samsung LCD TV is up for grabs!

Details here

end.
Tech Asia
Actually the exclusive pre-order plan will only start at the late night. At the noon~evening time that will be some activities and showcase of Konami games which including some casual tournament and gameplay.

This will be the first looks of the pre-order card(only front side, the back part need some amendment), still its might have some changes:
[attachmentid=474539]

You can only obtain it from Tech Asia counter once we got it ready. The bottom part will be tear off for lucky draw purpose, total 10 lucky drawer will gain the chance to bought LE at normal edition price.

Thats few more goodies if you pre-order it from Tech Asia, everything will be confirm within this few days.

Regards.

TEASER SPOILER dun click if u pre-order from other place...

source: http://community-play-beyond.net/index.php...topic=1450&st=0

IGN Preview
CES 2008: Metal Gear Solid 4 Demo
Snake makes an appearance at the Sony booth in Las Vegas.

January 7, 2008 - At the 2008 Consumer Electronics Show in Las Vegas, Sony had a special visitor at its booth as Konami was on hand to show off a playable demo of Metal Gear Solid 4. This is the same demo that was on display during the 2007 E for All expo in Los Angeles, so there weren't too many revelations made during our demonstration, however, we were able to get some hands on time with the game and many of our worries were put to rest. rclxms.gif

One of the features found in Metal Gear Solid 4 is that the game is fully compliant with the new Dual Shock 3 controller, so we were able to feel every shot that we fired and every bullet that hit us in the game, and this could be a solid indication that Sony is back on track with the force feedback functionality that it's current home console is missing.

Another thing that we noticed is that the game looks absolutely stunning. Everything is rendered in fine detail from the war-torn middle-eastern city that the level took place in, right down to the individual hairs on Snake's 'stache. When we asked whether or not the game will be able to run at 60 fps at 1080p, Konami said that things were still being optimized and they can't promise anything, things were on the right track.

Though Kojima Productions and Konami aren't ready to announce a final release date, they did mention to us that we should hear that announcement in late February. As soon as Konami formally announces a date for MGS 4, we'll be sure to let you know, but until then, expect Solid Snake's latest adventure to arrive sometime during Q2, 2008.

previous thread was closed a few weeks/months back,so opened a new one tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Mgsrulz: May 21 2008, 10:46 AM
skyracer
post Jan 9 2008, 08:49 AM

33 posts

Sound like it's coming along nicely, should still be a Mar/Apr release then.
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 9 2008, 09:06 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(skyracer @ Jan 9 2008, 08:49 AM)
Sound like it's coming along nicely, should still be a Mar/Apr release then.
Not Mar/Apr ... Q2, 2008 means around June-August 2008.
skyracer
post Jan 9 2008, 09:12 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Jan 9 2008, 09:06 AM)
Not Mar/Apr ... Q2, 2008 means around June-August 2008.
Oops. I just can't wait. tongue.gif

XenoFr3ak
post Jan 9 2008, 09:14 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(skyracer @ Jan 9 2008, 09:12 AM)
Oops. I just can't wait.  tongue.gif
Me 2 bro ... me 2 smile.gif
rx330
post Jan 9 2008, 09:58 AM

11,808 posts

Q2 not quarter 2? april to jun?
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 9 2008, 10:00 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 9 2008, 09:58 AM)
Q2 not quarter 2? april to jun?
U know lar Konami .. sure delay till Aug 2008
rx330
post Jan 9 2008, 10:01 AM

11,808 posts

heck, if they can release by 2008 i aredi dem happy liao
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 9 2008, 10:04 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 9 2008, 10:01 AM)
heck, if they can release by 2008 i aredi dem happy liao
Yea man ... hope dun delay again and again. Next thing u know "Coming Soon Early 2009"
rx330
post Jan 9 2008, 10:07 AM

11,808 posts

CHOY!~
ur mouth dun be so busuk... later really 2009....
ferricide
post Jan 9 2008, 10:09 AM

Mercenary
638 posts

Then consider it as more time to save to buy the console lor... for those buying the PS3 for the games anyway wink.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 9 2008, 10:18 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 9 2008, 10:07 AM)
CHOY!~
ur mouth dun be so busuk... later really 2009....
Where got so busuk. Aiman's mouth is even worth lar whistling.gif
rx330
post Jan 9 2008, 10:34 AM

11,808 posts

dun worry, urs as notorious as well
visva
post Jan 9 2008, 01:13 PM

19 posts

If Q2... then gives me more time to save money 2 buy PS3. hopefully PS3 is slightly cheaper at that time.
hezda
post Jan 9 2008, 01:42 PM

402 posts

Damn glad to be a PS3 owner... MGS4 is simply the biggest factor that drives me on buying a PS3. My DS3 is still lacks of some rumble actions...
Hou_JaI
post Jan 9 2008, 02:54 PM

1,129 posts

QUOTE(visva @ Jan 9 2008, 01:13 PM)
If Q2... then gives me more time to save money 2 buy PS3. hopefully PS3 is slightly cheaper at that time.
you may be able to buy ahem ahem mgs3 by that time
rx330
post Jan 9 2008, 02:58 PM

11,808 posts

ahem ahem mgs3 i tot long time agosudah ada?
skyracer
post Jan 11 2008, 08:57 AM

33 posts

MGS4 Almost Done, Says Kojima Productions

On the latest episode of the Kojima Productions Report podcast, Associate Producer Ryan Payton announced some news that'll warm the hearts of every eager Metal Gear fan the world over: Metal Gear Solid 4 is almost done, and won't slip past the second quarter.

"We are on the eve of entering the bug-checking phase, which means that we're pretty far along," Payton said. Bugs not withstanding (and with a few pieces, such as the opening cinematic, still missing), the game can already be played "from start to finish." While Payton said it's standard practice at Kojima Productions to continue to add and refine features even as close to weeks from finalizing the code, they are now mostly in the bug-squashing phase.

Payton, who was joined on this episode by recently departed 1UP alumnae Mark MacDonald, also assured that MGS4 -- which last year slipped past it's end of 2007 release date into 08 -- would not be slipping again. "We're committed to this quarter-two release date, this release time-frame," Payton said. "Mr. Kojima, of all people, is committed to it, because he really hates to disappoint people. And I know that he is embarrassed by what happened with the 2007 slip into 2008."

That's not to say that a specific release date is set, though, despite those listed by retailers and banding about in Internet rumors. "We're still going back and forth with marketing about when we're going to do the release -- it's going to be a simultaneous worldwide release," Payton said. "It's not going to be the same day, but more like what Halo's done, where it's the same week. We're still trying to strategize it, and make sure it works for all territories. Any date you're seeing is just speculation."

Payton also expressed his hopes that MGS4's second-quarter release will help break the stranglehold the fall quarter has on video game releases. "This could be a big opportunity, you know, second quarter, to prove to retailers and other publishers that you can have a huge hit in those months, that people are willing to play games just as they're willing to go to movies."

And lastly, while it has nothing to do with release time-frames, there was one last bit of great MGS4 news: you'll be able to pause cut-scenes. Rejoice, young, stalwart gamer, for no more will you have to sit uncomfortably through a lengthy, unexpected cut-scene while nature calls.

Link:
1Up
ps: copy Ninja's news posting styles... hope i did ok biggrin.gif
rx330
post Jan 11 2008, 09:38 AM

11,808 posts

tis is certainly good news

JKEC
post Jan 11 2008, 10:04 AM

161 posts

i can't wait for this game.. drool.gif
Thrust
post Jan 11 2008, 10:36 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

I'll get this game NEW and won't wait for used copy as I want to support HIDEO KOJIMA achieve his 1 million units sales mark. Kekeke!!!
snipersnake
post Jan 11 2008, 10:51 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

cant wait to kill you guys.

online. hehe. glad its now DS3 rather than those small psp button layout..ahh those MGS3 online days..good times..good times..
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 11 2008, 04:21 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

MGS4 might come earlier that expected ....

Finally, Konami is not setting MGS4 to a solid release date just yet, but they are giving hint for an announcement coming late February, which is around the time of the Game Developer's Conference from February 18th-22nd.

So it is good to see something regarding MGS4 coming from CES, but going from Konami's word, something concrete should be coming a month from now.

.. or even later depends on the announcement.

This post has been edited by XenoFr3ak: Jan 11 2008, 04:22 PM
daTUK_SErI
post Jan 11 2008, 04:30 PM

110 posts

hopefully ps3 will come out with bundle pack together with mgs4... after that, i will buy ps3.. heheheehh
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 11 2008, 04:40 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(daTUK_SErI @ Jan 11 2008, 04:30 PM)
hopefully ps3 will come out with bundle pack together with mgs4... after that, i will buy ps3.. heheheehh
Im also looking forward for the bundle package ... but now im so damn tempted in playing UT3
acougan
post Jan 11 2008, 04:47 PM

590 posts

a new color ps3 (camouflage skin?) bundled with a mgs4 will be great!

hope this game got dual language Asian version and "install" option to minimize load times smile.gif
rx330
post Jan 11 2008, 04:48 PM

11,808 posts

xeno... come come and join us... dun resist
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 11 2008, 04:48 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

I always wanter a purple PS3 smile.gif
daTUK_SErI
post Jan 11 2008, 04:58 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Jan 11 2008, 04:48 PM)
I always wanter a purple PS3 smile.gif
ayarkk are u sure with that?? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif solid snake will not happy if you choose that colour...
skyracer
post Jan 22 2008, 05:29 PM

33 posts

Looks like there are some camera issues to them.

Eurogamer Preview

There's one small feature - inconsequential, really - that we noticed during our playtest of the next Metal Gear Solid that really sums the game up. Maybe even the whole series. At certain moments during cut-scenes, when a familiar character appears or there's a reference to some past event, a button prompt appears in the corner of the screen. But it's not an invitation to skip (although you can - and for the first time, you can skip codec conversations, too). It's not some kind of simon-says scripted action moment, or 'cineractive', in the uniquely horrible term coined for them this year. No: it's a flashback button.

Another new feature to help you as you pick your way through the maps is the 'threat ring'. Not unlike the sound indicator in the PSP's Portable Ops, this is a faint white ring that surrounds Snake and distorts and quivers in the direction of enemies making noise. It's a really elegant and beautifully realised graphical device that goes some way towards giving you a real sense of spatial awareness without the need for a top-flight surround sound system.

The new stress meter - replacing the stamina meter from Snake Eater - was present and correct, and succeeded in stressing us out as we watched it creep up with every noisy blunder and awkward scuffle with the guards, although its precise impact on gameplay wasn't quite clear. The Close Quarters Combat unarmed fighting system returns in modified form, and felt more smooth and powerful than before.

By and large, in terms of features and controls at least, Guns of the Patriots feels more like traditional MGS than Snake Eater or Portable Ops did. Uninterrupted by the heavy menu usage and elaborate gameplay systems of both those games, it's a tense, exacting, crisp and relatively fast-paced stealth thriller, with a stop-start rhythm that harks all the way back to 1998. Its departures from what we expect of Metal Gear don't come in the form of some arcane new mechanic; they're more subtle, more general, but perhaps more fundamental.

The "no place to hide" strapline is a bit disingenuous - in this demo at least, there were places to hide absolutely everywhere. But the feeling of cover was much more fragile, and the option of shooting your way out much more realistic. Guns of the Patriots bring action to the fore more than any Metal Gear Solid to date has dared to. Snake is tooled to the nines with heavy hardware, and allowed to use it without necessarily having to run for cover in a querulous flap afterwards.

That will come as a relief to many players, but we're not 100 percent sure it's a good thing, yet. The fact is that the nine-year-old template for this game was not conceived as a full-bore shooter, and the controls and camera can't really cope with the action. Aiming is maddeningly imprecise, lock-on has a mind of its own, and the camera moves with a vague inertia which works nicely for taking in the view, but not for flicking around a battlefield quickly. It's messy, frankly, and the game feels much better when playing with the painstaking, inch-at-a-time precision you had to in previous instalments.

One thing you needn't worry about: Guns of the Patriots looks stunning. There are far more expansive, varied and showy game environments out there, it's true - the setting is almost drab in its realism - but the characters and their costumes are rendered and animated with an exquisite eye for detail, understated style and perfect, disbelief-suspending finish. Old Snake has the smouldering, craggy dignity of a Connery or Redford, and he's not even real. Metal Gear Solid has always been one of the sexiest game series, and Guns of the Patriots is just dripping with spy-fetish cool.

TSMgsrulz
post Jan 22 2008, 07:44 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

im still fine with the old camera system biggrin.gif
acougan
post Jan 22 2008, 07:49 PM

590 posts

since MGS is a sneaking game, it would be great for the demo to download itself and "sneak" into our PS3 while it is folding icon_idea.gif laugh.gif
mdzamri
post Jan 24 2008, 02:50 AM

80 posts

Hey guys, i am planning to get myself a PS3 when MGS 4 release. Just curious if there will be a bundle for MGS4 or not?
If none, i might get the ps3 ealier...
funnyTONE
post Jan 24 2008, 02:58 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

I bet my ASB account that there will be bundled package for MGS4. I'm waiting for it too. wink.gif
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 24 2008, 03:04 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

So am i .. im also waiting for the MGS4 bundle. It will surely be a bundle.
dattebayo
post Jan 24 2008, 03:18 AM

5,366 posts

bundle means special edition? with the MGS pic printed on PS3 box... unsure.gif
funnyTONE
post Jan 24 2008, 03:27 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jan 24 2008, 03:18 AM)
bundle means special edition? with the MGS pic printed on PS3 box... unsure.gif
Yup. something like this:

but I'm hoping MGS4 bundle would be much sleeker....probably with camo art. Best lead so far is this link: HERE

This post has been edited by funnyTONE: Jan 24 2008, 03:29 AM
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 24 2008, 04:42 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Hope that the MGS4 bundle, the PS3 console will be camo GREEN smile.gif
darquarma
post Jan 24 2008, 06:45 AM

83 posts

I just can't wait to play the game...

There'll definitely be a bundle, seeing as MGS4 is a highly-anticipated title. They'll most probably use MGS4 to push a few thousand units off the shelves, much like how they used Crisis Core to push the PSP Slims (and had the best month of sales ever).
visva
post Jan 24 2008, 07:37 AM

19 posts

probably shops like Sony will have this bundle... but already now the price is like sky high... I would buy it seperately. Initially i thought I would wait for MGS4 or FF 13 but I've decided to get just b4 CNY hoping that there might be a little $$$ reduction...

TerryZeroX
post Jan 24 2008, 07:39 AM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

Its the freaking price that i'm worried about laugh.gif It'll be nice if they made it like the psp drool.gif
liquidsny
post Jan 24 2008, 07:44 AM

589 posts

QUOTE(funnyTONE @ Jan 24 2008, 03:27 AM)
Yup. something like this:

but I'm hoping MGS4 bundle would be much sleeker....probably with camo art. Best lead so far is this link: HERE
what's the price for this DMC bundle ?
snipersnake
post Jan 24 2008, 08:25 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

i think they will be a bundle, but the custom design PS3? I dont think so.

The custom design PS3 I have seen is the PS3 given as awards in SEMA by Yamauchi.

If you guys look hard in Garage sale, there is a dude selling camo and MGS decals for PS3. It suits Black PS3 very very nicely.

Oh yeah, thats DMC4 PS3, is only white. Like WE PS3. no special engravings what so ever.
skyracer
post Jan 24 2008, 09:45 AM

33 posts

Surely there will be one. But the price...
aaron5829
post Jan 24 2008, 10:35 AM

135 posts

Hmmm.... MGS4..... by the time it comes out... nobody would see me play any other game. lol.
mdzamri
post Jan 25 2008, 12:24 AM

80 posts

Lets pray for MGS4 bundle...actually i dun really care bout the price anymore! For MGS4 bundle, i will sacrifice!..hehehe..worth it. BTW, u guys think they will bundle with 40GB or 80GB or both? Hmmm if they have both, i would rather take the 80GB bcos of the chrome lining OMG!! elegant!! sexy !! if 40GB version is only normal dead silver color...
snipersnake
post Jan 25 2008, 05:54 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

obviously you have not even WATCHED,HELD, SMELLED the 40 gigs model.

tell me, who is the woman on the heli behind ocelot?
post Jan 25 2008, 07:42 AM

1,447 posts

ahhhh the MGS4 havent has any clear release date yet and we are talking about the bundle! I may gonna buy another PS3 if it comes with a bundle with MGS4! I want camou skin for PS3!
skyracer
post Jan 25 2008, 09:21 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(mdzamri @ Jan 25 2008, 12:24 AM)
Lets pray for MGS4 bundle...actually i dun really care bout the price anymore! For MGS4 bundle, i will sacrifice!..hehehe..worth it. BTW, u guys think they will bundle with 40GB or 80GB or both? Hmmm if they have both, i would rather take the 80GB bcos of the chrome  lining OMG!! elegant!! sexy !! if 40GB version is only normal dead silver color...
I think it will be 40Gb only. Sony is promoting it heavily.

This post has been edited by skyracer: Jan 25 2008, 09:23 AM
K-End
post Jan 25 2008, 09:24 AM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Jan 25 2008, 05:54 AM)
obviously you have not even WATCHED,HELD, SMELLED the 40 gigs model.

tell me, who is the woman on the heli behind ocelot?
LOL..can i answer that question?
mdzamri
post Jan 30 2008, 12:24 AM

80 posts

Hmmmm another rumour.....will it bundle with MGS4? PS3 120GB/160GB with Dual shock 3?

http://www.gamespot.com/news/show_blog_ent...ewstop;title;3#
munak991
post Jan 30 2008, 01:19 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

JUST CANT WAIT MGS4 anymore!!!
Why they delay the game sad.gif
SilverCrimz
post Jan 30 2008, 01:46 AM

864 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Jan 30 2008, 01:19 AM)
JUST CANT WAIT MGS4 anymore!!!
Why they delay the game sad.gif
If you want the game to turn out good, don;t rush them whistling.gif
simonking
post Jan 31 2008, 12:31 AM

28 posts

i read from play-asia.. they quote the price at RM1614.. is ceramic white
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 31 2008, 12:35 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(simonking @ Jan 31 2008, 12:31 AM)
i read from play-asia.. they quote the price at RM1614.. is ceramic white
Izzit true ... RM1614 for MGS4 bundle. Thats great .. for sure ill get it thumbup.gif
mdzamri
post Feb 4 2008, 01:16 AM

80 posts

MGS4 will be be released Q2 2008. So will it be in April, May or June? I've read somewhere saying mid June... is it true?? OMG still months away..sigh....
jsc_tidus
post Feb 4 2008, 02:24 AM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

supprised to see microsoft also selling DMC4 bundled 360.. haha..

does buying the bundle is better than separate? i think better purchase the console 1st.. then starts looking for the game.. maybe the bundle priced higher than usual..
munak991
post Feb 4 2008, 09:14 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

I wish it come out march sad.gif.
cause at game trailers list march 1++
mdzamri
post Feb 7 2008, 12:45 AM

80 posts

guys..konami is releasing MGS: the essential for PS2 which is basically all 3 previous MGS bundle for only USD39.99. THats cheap..u think bernard will sell that? original? Considering to buy original just to prepare myself. Because after this all ori!! (PS3)!!!lol:)
jsc_tidus
post Feb 7 2008, 01:30 AM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

ya but i own a 40GB version, no ps2 playback lor.. sad.gif
mdzamri
post Feb 7 2008, 01:32 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Feb 7 2008, 01:30 AM)
ya but i own a 40GB version, no ps2 playback lor.. sad.gif
oo Dont u owned a PS2?...too bad
liquidsny
post Feb 17 2008, 11:31 PM

589 posts

play asia says in stock on may 2008
http://www.play-asia.com/paOS-13-71-8x-49-...ts-70-24gj.html
MmxZero
post Feb 18 2008, 12:08 AM

189 posts

Come on. my PS3 collecting dust while waiting for MGS 4
andy_lhc
post Feb 18 2008, 07:45 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(liquidsny @ Feb 17 2008, 11:31 PM)
the link u posted is on snake's figurine.... sweat.gif i dont think its considered as a bundle... hmm.gif
azmirhere
post Feb 27 2008, 09:20 AM

22 posts

MGS will be launch on june the 12.wahahahah

here is the linkgamespot news
samurai20
post Feb 27 2008, 09:38 AM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

PlayStation 3 Gets Metal Gear Online Beta In April

In addition to announcing a ship date and hardware bundle for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots, SCEA today revealed that a beta for the game's online component will happen before the June release. Metal Gear Online, as you may be aware, will be a separate release from the single player experience, but Metal Gear Solid 4 will come with a "starter pack" that will give gamers a taste of what to expect from the full version.

The multiplayer beta test for Metal Gear Online will kick off in April for those who pre-order the game. Run, do not walk, to your local retailer and bring a fiver with you.

Copy/Paste:
MGS4 Online

Time to Pre Order.. yatta... rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

jehutyz
post Feb 27 2008, 09:39 AM

1,215 posts

wallance13
post Feb 27 2008, 09:42 AM

130 posts

It's with Dual Shock 3.
But it's 80gb... very scared of 80gb ps3. Heard got many problems especially reading BR disc. N just happen to my fren's 80gb
acougan
post Feb 27 2008, 09:44 AM

590 posts

is that special decal? or simply photoshop showing off the shiny ps3?

old snake FTW!
samurai20
post Feb 27 2008, 10:02 AM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

just reflection la.. no special decal... tongue.gif....
Ninja
post Feb 27 2008, 10:02 AM

[PBMY]â„¢ Supreme Commander
1,764 posts

QUOTE(jehutyz @ Feb 27 2008, 09:39 AM)
I want the box only, can ar? laugh.gif
SSJBen
post Feb 27 2008, 10:14 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(wallance13 @ Feb 27 2008, 09:42 AM)
It's with Dual Shock 3.
But it's 80gb... very scared of 80gb ps3. Heard got many problems especially reading BR disc. N just happen to my fren's 80gb
Are you sure? Though I know most of the hardware total failures of PS3 comes from the 80GB version due to crappy lens in the early batch models.

snipersnake
post Feb 27 2008, 10:18 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

My PS3 MGS4 special edition is coming soon whistling.gif:
not the measly 80 giger tho, fitted with 160 giger of goodness!
SUSalmattitude_v1
post Feb 27 2008, 10:32 AM

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Feb 27 2008, 10:14 AM)
Are you sure? Though I know most of the hardware total failures of PS3 comes from the 80GB version due to crappy lens in the early batch models.
i got a 80gb PS3... so far its been great... no problems whatsoever...
wallance13
post Feb 27 2008, 10:33 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Feb 27 2008, 10:14 AM)
Ya happen to my fren 2 months back. And I did ask my regular game shop, he said out of 20 of his 80gb ps3 still got 2 have lens problem. means 10% only. Rarely happen. Unless very unlucky 1. knowing my luck, I'll rather spend extra on external Hard disk to be safe for 40gb's 1. Else if lens spoilt, need to send back to sony at SG, takes some time until I can play my MGS4 or if u want fast, local game shop can replace new lens for u for RM200+...

This MGS4 bundle only got black ya?

This post has been edited by wallance13: Feb 27 2008, 10:34 AM
snipersnake
post Feb 27 2008, 11:07 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

i believe those lense problem only happens to those peeps who use PS3 as pirated DVD player.
marky
post Feb 27 2008, 11:10 AM

xoxo
893 posts

where can i preorder the bundle?!?!
nerd
post Feb 27 2008, 05:00 PM

another brick in the wall.
3,373 posts

the bundle is announced on IGN, 500USD.

since it's gonna be release around June, just around the time I'm planning to get a PS3.. might get it.

Djinn, bringing it in? tongue.gif
slickz
post Feb 27 2008, 05:04 PM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

yeah so far no lens problems... the only discs that my ps3 eats are a healthy diet of blue ray game discs only.
nerd
post Feb 27 2008, 05:18 PM

3,373 posts

I don't see why only the 80GB will have lens problems. they prolly come from the same supplier as the 40GB.

I guess playing DVD/BD videos kills the lens faster. remember PS2?
TSMgsrulz
post Feb 27 2008, 07:56 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

drool.gif drool.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

hezda
post Feb 27 2008, 08:23 PM

402 posts

I'll get the best edition! No matter how much it costs!
kabuto rider kick
post Feb 27 2008, 08:33 PM

160 posts

same here,i'll kill Metal Gears "4" it flex.gif
mfa333
post Feb 27 2008, 09:05 PM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Jan 11 2008, 10:51 AM)
cant wait to kill you guys.
online. hehe. glad its now DS3 rather than those small psp button layout..ahh those MGS3 online days..good times..good times..
good-ol-days... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
nerd
post Feb 27 2008, 09:16 PM

3,373 posts

PS3 MGS4 bundle here I come biggrin.gif
TSMgsrulz
post Feb 27 2008, 09:37 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

the first picture resembles Grey Fox,in my eyes
ihatemyguts
post Feb 27 2008, 09:48 PM

105 posts

wow, i'm loving the boxart thumbup.gif
clngu
post Feb 27 2008, 09:52 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

I am going to get it no matter what cost smile.gif

justone
post Feb 27 2008, 09:53 PM

justone
1,067 posts

yea...definitely...boxed set...
munak991
post Feb 27 2008, 10:01 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

im going to get da limited edition for this biggrin.gif
shamrawk
post Feb 27 2008, 10:16 PM

453 posts

hoping in malaysia can get this bundle set ... mesti mau beli punye... thumbup.gif
slickz
post Feb 27 2008, 10:27 PM

2,149 posts

well you can be sure I will take my time playing the game, not rush through it and brag that I finished it before others did. Lame-O! It's like gobbling down fine food at a fine dining restaurant.
gr8fr8
post Feb 27 2008, 10:34 PM

841 posts

The type of game where collectors edition is worth it! thumbup.gif
sayming
post Feb 27 2008, 10:38 PM

"Welcome, to my DEATH MACHINE, interloper!"
3,410 posts

Gonna be buying whatever that thousand dollar bundle/collector/legendary edition they gonna release..Lol
Schattenjeager
post Feb 27 2008, 10:39 PM

40 posts

While I'm hoping for a cool Collector's Ed., I hope it's not as insane as the GTAIV one (which is cool and all, but gonna cost a hella lot!)
TSMgsrulz
post Feb 27 2008, 10:42 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Feb 27 2008, 10:27 PM)
well you can be sure I will take my time playing the game, not rush through it and brag that I finished it before others did. Lame-O! It's like gobbling down fine food at a fine dining restaurant.
i know who those people are.. rolleyes.gif
ihatemyguts
post Feb 27 2008, 10:45 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Feb 27 2008, 10:42 PM)
i know who those people are.. rolleyes.gif
who? care to share? tongue.gif *kaypoh*
TSMgsrulz
post Feb 27 2008, 10:51 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

dowan la... tongue.gif ...let them play their way,we play our own way thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Mgsrulz: Feb 29 2008, 12:15 AM
mdzamri
post Feb 28 2008, 12:48 AM

80 posts

SO do you think MGS4 only bundles with 80gb ps3? What bout white 40gb ps3 or black 40gb ps3?? Cant wait to buy one!!!damn...!!
ihatemyguts
post Feb 28 2008, 03:28 AM

105 posts

my cousin actually played an ahem dvd movie on my ps3 before...

of course... after that i made sure he never came within 5 feet of my ps3
SSJBen
post Feb 28 2008, 04:07 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(nerd @ Feb 27 2008, 05:18 PM)
I don't see why only the 80GB will have lens problems. they prolly come from the same supplier as the 40GB.

I guess playing DVD/BD videos kills the lens faster. remember PS2?
Its only the early batch models, as in before the Motorstorm bundle. Those 80GB models weren't made by Foxconn as the 40GB models were.

Playing original discs(BD/DVD/CD) is fine, just try to avoid playing pirated stuff.

The PS3's lens is loads better than the PS2, so don't compare them.
samurai20
post Feb 28 2008, 04:30 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

MGS box... ~~nice~~ rclxms.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
TSMgsrulz
post Feb 29 2008, 12:16 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

user posted image drool.gif
user posted image blink.gif
zadan
post Feb 29 2008, 02:37 AM

= BF 2 FeVa =
2,332 posts

oh my gawd 12/02/2008!!!!
justone
post Feb 29 2008, 03:11 AM

justone
1,067 posts

12/06/2008 la friend...

Collector's edition...here i come... laugh.gif
Zaryl
post Feb 29 2008, 08:33 AM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

Great. I might just get a PS3 for this game... wink.gif

Been a while I didnt play MGS games. THe last time was MGS3. I'm eager to play MGS4. Time to wrap things up! icon_rolleyes.gif
snipersnake
post Feb 29 2008, 10:04 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

anybody wanna buy this thing from me tongue.gif

anyways in other news, my splinter cell double agent just arrived today, guess I have to play the inferior game first
before the superior game comes along.

wallance13
post Feb 29 2008, 11:26 AM

130 posts

One of my fren is super hardcore fan of MGS4. He bought the figure of OLD SNAKE for RM 600+
Looks cool though. The bundle's ps3 color is in black rite? n no logo on the ps3?
XenoFr3ak
post Feb 29 2008, 11:36 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Feb 27 2008, 09:52 PM)
I am going to get it no matter what cost  smile.gif

This is definitely a MUST for me ... come come to me smile.gif
Shafique
post Feb 29 2008, 11:40 AM

381 posts

Me too... can't wait for it.. Yeah!
TSMgsrulz
post Feb 29 2008, 11:58 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

im both hating and loving this day... doh.gif

This post has been edited by Mgsrulz: Feb 29 2008, 12:00 PM
TSMgsrulz
post Feb 29 2008, 11:59 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

dont crap in your pants tongue.gif

Added on February 29, 2008, 12:01 pmkick ass wallpaper drool.gif

This post has been edited by Mgsrulz: Feb 29 2008, 12:01 PM
TSMgsrulz
post Feb 29 2008, 12:26 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

"Pre‐Sell Program

Beginning April 2008, consumers that pre‐order Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots will receive the Metal Gear Saga 2.0 DVD, containing a Prologue that recaps the Metal Gear franchise, a 20th Anniversary retrospective, character bios for Big Boss, Liquid Snake, Solidus Snake, and Solid Snake, plus a collection of international trailers of Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots. This pre‐order package also contains an insert with a download code and special instructions for accessing the Metal Gear Online beta test when it goes live in late April. This special pre‐order package will only be available while supplies last."

Source:

http://www.konami.com/ctlimg/konami/pressr...08_MGS4_DPS.pdf
drool.gif cry.gif

Added on February 29, 2008, 12:29 pmMORE INFO:
Following this week's announcements regarding Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots on the PLAYSTATION 3, a lot of questions popped up in the comments area of the PlayStation.Blog. We put together this FAQ to address your concerns:

Q: When is the game shipping to retail?
A: The game is scheduled to arrive at retail stores in North America on June 12, 2008.

Q: What's in the Metal Gear Online Starter Pack?
A: The Metal Gear Online Starter Pack, included with Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots, is a squad-based, online multiplayer tactical shooter that supports up to 16 players and takes place in the Metal Gear Solid universe.

Q: When is the Metal Gear Online multiplayer beta test?
A: The Metal Gear Online multiplayer beta test is scheduled to begin on April 21, 2008.

Q: How long will the Metal Gear Online beta test run?
A: The Metal Gear Online multiplayer beta test will run for approximately 2 weeks

Q: Where can I get the pre-sell?
A: The pre-sell program will be available nationwide at all major retailers.

Q: Is there a time frame for the pre-order to gain access to the beta? When does the pre-order period begin?
A: The pre-order will begin April 2008. Check with your local retailer on availability.

Q: Is there any special process that consumers must go through to verify their participation in the beta?
A: When the pre-order program begins in April 2008, consumers who pre-order Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots will receive the Metal Gear Saga 2.0 DVD, containing a Prologue that recaps the Metal Gear franchise, a 20th Anniversary retrospective, character bios for Big Boss, Liquid Snake, Solidus Snake, and Solid Snake, plus a collection of international trailers of Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots. This pre-order package also contains an insert with a download code and special instructions for accessing the Metal Gear Online beta test when it goes live in late April.

Q: How many people will be allowed to participate in the Metal Gear Online beta test?
A: The special Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots pre-order package (which includes the insert with the Metal Gear Online download code) will only be available while supplies last.

Q: How do consumers who have already pre-ordered participate in the beta?
A: Consumers will need to contact their local retailer for more information.

Q: Will consumers who don't pre-order have any chance to join the beta?
A: If additional promotional partners are secured, there is a possibility of making beta access available, but nothing is confirmed at this time.

This post has been edited by Mgsrulz: Feb 29 2008, 12:29 PM
acougan
post Feb 29 2008, 12:59 PM

590 posts

huh? MGO beta for 2 weeks starting from Apr21? MGS4 worldwide on June12?

dang! that means whole month of May will be full of internet with "fake" story spoilers. must be careful traversing gaming sites, if not the enjoyment will be spoiled tongue.gif
SUSalmattitude_v1
post Feb 29 2008, 01:15 PM

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

wow! definitely getting the pre-order package if possible... i really want the DVD 2.0 thing and ofcourse the online beta...
keewah
post Feb 29 2008, 02:17 PM

427 posts

i am now wondering if we able to get hold of the MGS4 bundle since it stated only for Japan market...

bro DjiNn ... any comment ? happy.gif
snipersnake
post Feb 29 2008, 02:18 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

icon_question.gif

samurai20
post Feb 29 2008, 02:56 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

soooooo GHEYYYYY... yukkkk....
slickz
post Feb 29 2008, 10:59 PM

2,149 posts

that would be true, except for the fact when you realize they are both in that position because raiden stabbed himself with a sword to impale vamp
TSMgsrulz
post Feb 29 2008, 11:02 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

if those who didnt know that,they would think raiden was getting some anal action drool.gif brows.gif
ihatemyguts
post Feb 29 2008, 11:38 PM

105 posts

vamp to raiden : i can feel your heart beating laugh.gif
darren_1084
post Feb 29 2008, 11:59 PM

83 posts

Do you guys realize in the latest wallpaper, Snake does not have mustache!!
slickz
post Mar 1 2008, 12:00 AM

2,149 posts

you guys really know how to put images in my head... stop stop! laugh.gif

TSMgsrulz
post Mar 1 2008, 10:33 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

5 Multiplayer Maps revealed!

MGO is made up of a starter pack and expansion packs.

Included with MGS4, the starter pack offers players a first bite of what awaits in the new MGO, while various expansion packs (planned to be released periodically after official service begins) will add additional maps, characters, and other features.

Details of the expansion pack release schedule will be announced at a later date.

STARTER PACK
The MGO starter pack contains 5 maps in addition to the match rules and communication features fundamental to MGO.

5 Maps

Ambush Alley

A corner of a war-shattered town littered with obstacles, its central intersection branching off into side streets.

Gronznyj Grad

The now abandoned weapons factory that housed the Shagohod in Metal Gear Solid 3. Contains open areas offering unobstructed views as well as indoor and rooftop locations.

Midtown Maelstrom

This Middle Eastern battleground features avenues crisscrossed with alleyways.

Urban Ultimatum

Negotiate buildings of varying height in this city under siege.

Blood Bath

A kill house consisting of both surface and underground areas.

More info on MGO

and lastly, on Amazon brows.gif :
adreanalyn
post Mar 1 2008, 12:13 PM

44 posts

This game is gonna last me for a few months..

rclxms.gif

Lets just hope that it doesn't have any of those UDP port error thingy like MPO has.
acougan
post Mar 1 2008, 12:34 PM

590 posts

only thing is they say they kenot fit dual language on 1 disc.

so buy US version, can get Eng VA, but special edition still pending?

or buy JPN special edition, get JPN VA, but get tin case and extra BD movie

or buy Asian version, what happens? tongue.gif
strace
post Mar 1 2008, 12:41 PM

Ayy
700 posts

I AM SO GOING TO BUY THIS!!!!
K-End
post Mar 1 2008, 01:21 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(darren_1084 @ Feb 29 2008, 11:59 PM)
Do you guys realize in the latest wallpaper, Snake does not have mustache!!
got mustache la...just look at the picture closely
Hitman190
post Mar 1 2008, 02:07 PM

589 posts

whoo!!

MGS4 released on my birthday!!

Ask my friends to chip in for free game tongue.gif
K-End
post Mar 1 2008, 02:10 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Feb 27 2008, 09:52 PM)
I am going to get it no matter what cost  smile.gif

LOL....any news on WHO gonna bring it in here...maybe the US version?

F**K THE PRICE, I WANT IT!!!!!!!!!!!

This post has been edited by K-End: Mar 1 2008, 02:10 PM
wallance13
post Mar 1 2008, 02:17 PM

130 posts

Waited so long for this game and finally dreams come true.
It mentioned that the game will only have local voice track becoz of lack of space on the Blu-Ray disc due to the large amount of story in the game.
I'm happy to know this.. finally they've make an exclusive game by utilizing the maximum acapacity of the blu-ray disc.
acougan
post Mar 1 2008, 02:20 PM

590 posts

this games support HD Audio, thats why they fill up the BD, but my setup too pariah to support it - only DD5.1 sad.gif

actually, they got the TGS trailer in JPN PSN store, i listen to the JPN VA, so-so only. the Eng VA is very good and most familiar.
K-End
post Mar 1 2008, 02:24 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Mar 1 2008, 02:20 PM)

actually, they got the TGS trailer in JPN PSN store, i listen to the JPN VA, so-so only. the Eng VA is very good and most familiar.
David Hayter as Snake FTW!!!

MGS4 is utilizing the 25g spce of blu-ray

if they use the 50g Blu-ray...brows.gif
hagon81
post Mar 1 2008, 03:43 PM

165 posts

oh guys. Konami just confirmed
for ENG version u only hav ENG voice
for JAP version u only hav JAP voice, no ENG
due to lack of space in BD!
justone
post Mar 1 2008, 03:56 PM

justone
1,067 posts

hd audio require as much as the capacity of motion...
50G BD may solve it brows.gif

so d jap version all (include menu, option, subtitle etc) in japanese??
if jz VA, whereas those menu in english then sure jap special edition thumbup.gif

slickz
post Mar 1 2008, 04:10 PM

2,149 posts

when the release date gets sooner I will start my total media blackout on this game to avoid spoilers. You won't be seeing me on this thread for some time when that starts biggrin.gif
TSMgsrulz
post Mar 2 2008, 03:09 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

nonamekid
post Mar 2 2008, 03:10 AM

432 posts

so this is the last episode for MGS4? cry.gif

This post has been edited by nonamekid: Mar 2 2008, 03:11 AM
wallance13
post Mar 2 2008, 10:54 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(nonamekid @ Mar 2 2008, 03:10 AM)
so this is the last episode for MGS4? cry.gif
Most prob'ly. That's what kojima said la. Who knows what will happen again in the future.
Kojima said he wanted to make new game
Thrust
post Mar 2 2008, 11:17 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

I do hope he can come out with something as solid again as METAL GEAR SOLID!! smile.gif
K-End
post Mar 2 2008, 11:19 AM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(wallance13 @ Mar 2 2008, 10:54 AM)
Most prob'ly. That's what kojima said la. Who knows what will happen again in the future.
this is the last episode and MGS game for Kojima. He dont want to direct this game anymore and entrusted this series to younger director after this

but for me, MGS without Kojima is not 100% MGS
ruztynail
post Mar 2 2008, 01:37 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

QUOTE(K-End @ Mar 1 2008, 02:24 PM)
QUOTE(justone @ Mar 1 2008, 03:56 PM)
http://www.n4g.com/tech/News-117932.aspx

jus incase u guys were wondering... the 50gb which thy are currently using. is still insufficient.....

so not 25 gb,, 50gb also not enuff. thy are already looking at compressing the stuff in it. not sure of audio.
K-End
post Mar 2 2008, 02:14 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Mar 2 2008, 01:37 PM)
http://www.n4g.com/tech/News-117932.aspx
jus incase u guys were wondering... the 50gb which thy are currently using. is still insufficient.....

so not 25 gb,, 50gb also not enuff. thy are already looking at compressing the stuff in it. not sure of audio.
WTF? shocking.gif

so, MGS4 is the first game to use 50g BD...and still not enough space...i guess they need to use the prototype 100g BD thumbup.gif
Gahleon
post Mar 2 2008, 02:27 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Mar 1 2008, 12:34 PM)
only thing is they say they kenot fit dual language on 1 disc.

so buy US version, can get Eng VA, but special edition still pending?

or buy JPN special edition, get JPN VA, but get tin case and extra BD movie

or buy Asian version, what happens? tongue.gif
I would take both or just Japan version.
I know soon they will out like MGS4 international blah blah later maybe with Japan version with English dub amd a few extras.

This post has been edited by Gahleon: Mar 2 2008, 02:27 PM
wallance13
post Mar 2 2008, 02:56 PM

130 posts

There is a bonus DVD containing making-of documentaries and character profiles. I was wondering whether we can get it here
slickz
post Mar 2 2008, 03:02 PM

2,149 posts

I think it would be far too soon to say this is the last MGS directed by Kojima. MGS3 was supposed to be the "last" one too. Even if Kojima does stop directing MGS, I'm sure he would pick the right men for the next one if it were up to him.

Come on, it doesnt seem wise to boycott the next MGS after this one before we hadn't even heard anything about it just because it won't be directed by him. Fanboys would be eating their hat if the next MGS is directed by someone who's just as good, if not better than kojima.
ihatemyguts
post Mar 2 2008, 03:23 PM

105 posts

I reckon, even if kojima were to not be at the helm of the team for the next game, he'd most likely be in the role of advisor, or something laugh.gif
TSMgsrulz
post Mar 2 2008, 04:16 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

not sure if anything's changed,but the last piece of news i heard on the net,is that this is NOT the last MG title.
there will be more.

maybe spin offs,maybe sequels,maybe prequels-who knows?

but there will be more.
as for whether kojima will be there or not,i really wouldnt blame him if he wasnt smile.gif
K-End
post Mar 2 2008, 04:45 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Mar 2 2008, 03:02 PM)
I think it would be far too soon to say this is the last MGS directed by Kojima. MGS3 was supposed to be the "last" one too. Even if Kojima does stop directing MGS, I'm sure he would pick the right men for the next one if it were up to him.

Come on, it doesnt seem wise to boycott the next MGS after this one before we hadn't even heard anything about it just because it won't be directed by him. Fanboys would be eating their hat if the next MGS is directed by someone who's just as good, if not better than kojima.
"Boycott" seem a harsh word to use and i dont think fanboys will boycott it even if Kojima didnt involved directly.

I think most of them are concerned that if Kojima didnt direct MGS game, it will be Metal Gear Snake Revenge all over again....and no, nobody want to see history repeated again twice. It just like saying "Indiana Jones without Harrison Ford is not a true Indiana Jones movie".

So far the only Metal Gear games that Kojima is not involved directly is Metal Gear Acid which is a good game......for it's target audience. After that Kojima create Portable Ops and BOOM!!, one of the best PSP games you'll ever get in term of art direction, storytelling and multiplayer function.

MGS series will still be a great series given they appointed a right guy to do it but nonetheless, everybody will miss Kojima-style after MGS4
TSMgsrulz
post Mar 2 2008, 05:11 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

WARNING!!
this video contains spoilers!

it's fairly minor spoilers,but it involves the briefing Snake will undergo.
it's pics only,no voice...

Added on March 2, 2008, 5:18 pmuser posted image
hmm.gif
wonder who the back character represents... *looks at bandana*

This post has been edited by Mgsrulz: Mar 2 2008, 05:18 PM
jehutyz
post Mar 2 2008, 06:16 PM

1,215 posts

Gahleon
post Mar 3 2008, 10:11 PM

230 posts

Translation: Im big mama

Translation: You are my mama?

thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Gahleon: Mar 3 2008, 10:44 PM
MR.Shiney
post Mar 3 2008, 10:48 PM

Jacked into the Matrix
1,843 posts

awh damn, well. another 2k to spend LALALALA laugh.gif
owh damn the people who made mgs.
qwen234
post Mar 3 2008, 11:09 PM

365 posts

i tot they say this is the last mgs with snake in it
the next 1 wont have snake
someone else
he old dy marr
TSMgsrulz
post Mar 4 2008, 12:26 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(qwen234 @ Mar 3 2008, 11:09 PM)
i tot they say this is the last mgs with snake in it
the next 1 wont have snake
someone else
he old dy marr
keyword: clone whistling.gif icon_idea.gif brows.gif
slickz
post Mar 4 2008, 04:09 AM

2,149 posts

I remember reading somewhere this MGS will be like a transition of the fans interest from snake to raiden. At least that's what I've been led to believe. Snake will die a hero here but with raiden taking over by making him a lot cooler than snake.

There was already some indication of this in the MGS trailer with snake having problems dealing with one of those organic legs Metal Gear while raiden coolly taking on 4-5 of those things like it was a well rehearsed acrobatic ninja dance class routine.

Or kojima could pull a sons of liberty on us again by making someone completely unknown the main player again lulz. I have this irrational 'sneaking' suspicion that old snake isnt really solid snake.

As for future titles? A nice touch would be the start of the metal gear liquid series starring raiden with liquid's genes implanted in him.
post Mar 4 2008, 07:46 AM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(wallance13 @ Mar 2 2008, 10:54 AM)
I hope he deliver us some new ZoE! ZoE2 was ownage for mecha game!

QUOTE(Gahleon @ Mar 2 2008, 02:27 PM)
I would take both or just Japan version.
I know soon they will out like MGS4 international blah blah later maybe with Japan version with English dub amd a few extras.
Japan Vocal snake reminds me of Ghost in The Shell Barton (was his name spell right?), the japan vocal is always good but i am too used to Hayter as Snake vocal and also the cunning Ocelot voice!

QUOTE(slickz @ Mar 2 2008, 03:02 PM)

No more Metal Gear Solid tat focus on Snake story onli.....we may still get Raiden, or any new character in show!
snipersnake
post Mar 4 2008, 10:40 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Mar 2 2008, 05:11 PM)

Added on March 2, 2008, 5:18 pmuser posted image
hmm.gif
wonder who the back character represents... *looks at bandana*

if u play MG Solid Snake, you can see the cheerful Foxhound logo, which bears several similarities with that dude..

Gahleon
post Mar 4 2008, 12:10 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(300078 @ Mar 4 2008, 07:46 AM)
Japan Vocal snake reminds me of Ghost in The Shell Barton (was his name spell right
Yes Snake seiyuu is Otsuka Akio,same one with the guy in Ghost in the Shell.
In Japan version of MGS2,both voice of Solid Snake and Solidus were did by Otsuka-san.
It make us even more shock at the part where Solidus talking with Ocelot in one part which you can't see Solidus face.(Thou is real Snake cause same voice lol)

This post has been edited by Gahleon: Mar 4 2008, 12:13 PM
acougan
post Mar 4 2008, 12:49 PM

590 posts

i wonder if solidus will also return? i really liked him in MGS2.

it will be fitting for the 3 brothers and B.Boss to a have a final reunion and put an end to their cursed genes icon_idea.gif
aaron5829
post Mar 4 2008, 01:18 PM

135 posts

Cant WAITTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTtttttttttttttTTTTTTTTTTTTttttttttttTTTTtttTttttt !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
post Mar 4 2008, 01:24 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(Gahleon @ Mar 4 2008, 12:10 PM)
In Japan version of MGS2,both voice of Solid Snake and Solidus were did by Otsuka-san.
It make us even more shock at the part where Solidus talking with Ocelot in one part which you can't see Solidus face.(Thou is real Snake cause same voice  lol)
I know tat why i mention him! He is one of those senior senior senior seiyuu! Must salute him!

QUOTE(acougan @ Mar 4 2008, 12:49 PM)
i wonder if solidus will also return? i really liked him in MGS2.

it will be fitting for the 3 brothers and B.Boss to a have a final reunion and put an end to their cursed genes  icon_idea.gif
Solidus was kill......dun think he will come back! Unless he has the ability of Vamp or someone go and transplant his hand or certain part on to someone else!
Ninja
post Mar 4 2008, 01:26 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(Gahleon @ Mar 4 2008, 12:10 PM)
It make us even more shock at the part where Solidus talking with Ocelot in one part which you can't see Solidus face.(Thou is real Snake cause same voice  lol)
Yeah, Otsuka Akio is definitely my favourite voice actor. Been playing all MGS series in Japanese for the past few years. A bit weird to hear David Hayter voice. tongue.gif Will buy the Japanese version for MGS4. thumbup.gif

And, don't forget in Final Fantasy XII. He was doing voice over for Judge Gabranth. laugh.gif I was, WTF? Solid Snake in FF12?

This post has been edited by Ninja: Mar 4 2008, 01:26 PM
ps360
post Mar 4 2008, 01:29 PM

137 posts

The Japanese version got english subs?
If yes, will get that too. Prefer original flavour.

post Mar 4 2008, 01:36 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(ps360 @ Mar 4 2008, 01:29 PM)
The Japanese version got english subs?
If yes, will get that too. Prefer original flavour.
too bad they did not implement 2 voice over in one BD! If they did i could replay just to hear the different vocal!
acougan
post Mar 4 2008, 01:47 PM

590 posts

actually i don't have psp but did konami release Asian versions of MG:PO & MG:PO+ in JPN or in English? did they release 2 Asian versions?

this game, if possible, i'll buy the Asian version (hopefully in English). sometimes i like buying Asian version to help show the publishers that the demand from Asian gamers is there.

if less ppl buy Asian version, the publisher will just ignore it, like Asian version of Folklore and its DLC sad.gif
Gahleon
post Mar 4 2008, 02:03 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(Ninja @ Mar 4 2008, 01:26 PM)
Yeah, Otsuka Akio is definitely my favourite voice actor. Been playing all MGS series in Japanese for the past few years. A bit weird to hear David Hayter voice. tongue.gif Will buy the Japanese version for MGS4.  thumbup.gif

And, don't forget in Final Fantasy XII. He was doing voice over for Judge Gabranth. laugh.gif I was, WTF? Solid Snake in FF12?
Oh yeah how come i forgot about FF12 heh,and actually the one who did the voice of Dr Cid is Otsuka Akio's father in real life.
Oh and he also did Black Jack in Black Jack anime. Last time i open Animax wtf Solid Snake talking lol.

This post has been edited by Gahleon: Mar 4 2008, 02:11 PM
snipersnake
post Mar 4 2008, 04:36 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

no, Sam cant scream like that.
MR.Shiney
post Mar 4 2008, 06:44 PM

Jacked into the Matrix
1,843 posts

before this i watched a couple of secret mgs3 conversation on youtube.
they said since there is no way for 18-19 years old ( ocelot at that time )
could be a commander, let alone a major.

they replied that ocelot is a child of a legendary hero. was born during
war. his mother was shot in the stomach while pregnant. the shot that
killed her mother passed through just beside him.

( the not sure part )

ocelot was taken by this organization, and was raised.

can anyone clarify this for me? smile.gif
Gahleon
post Mar 4 2008, 07:08 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Mar 4 2008, 06:44 PM)
before this i watched a couple of secret mgs3 conversation on youtube.
they said since there is no way for 18-19 years old ( ocelot at that time )
could be a commander, let alone a major.

they replied that ocelot is a child of a legendary hero. was born during
war. his mother was shot in the stomach while pregnant. the shot that
killed her mother passed through just beside him.

( the not sure part )

ocelot was taken by this organization, and was raised.

can anyone clarify this for me? smile.gif
His father is The Sorrow and mother is The Boss.
why_79
post Mar 4 2008, 08:37 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Mar 4 2008, 01:47 PM)
actually i don't have psp but did konami release Asian versions of MG:PO & MG:PO+ in JPN or in English? did they release 2 Asian versions?

this game, if possible, i'll buy the Asian version (hopefully in English). sometimes i like buying Asian version to help show the publishers that the demand from Asian gamers is there.

if less ppl buy Asian version, the publisher will just ignore it, like Asian version of Folklore and its DLC sad.gif
why would you buy a PSP game without a PSP? the asian version of MPO+ was in english i believe as i saw a copy while i was in SG and the boxart was entirely in english....
TSMgsrulz
post Mar 4 2008, 09:39 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Mar 4 2008, 04:36 PM)
no, Sam cant scream like that.
blink.gif sam can scream? blink.gif
blackamikaze
post Mar 4 2008, 11:15 PM

Trooper Rank: BIG HEAD SERGEANT
2,671 posts

ops wrong thread tongue.gif

This post has been edited by blackamikaze: Mar 4 2008, 11:34 PM
MR.Shiney
post Mar 4 2008, 11:33 PM

Jacked into the Matrix
1,843 posts

QUOTE(Gahleon @ Mar 4 2008, 07:08 PM)
His father is The Sorrow and mother is The Boss.
why didnt i think of that doh.gif
what his father did?
insane.gamer
post Mar 7 2008, 10:20 AM

944 posts

hurry up with the release plsssss
snipersnake
post Mar 7 2008, 12:00 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Mar 4 2008, 09:39 PM)
blink.gif sam can scream? blink.gif
he can definately throw chairs around..LOL

who does he thinks he is, James Bond?LOL

sometimes I think the devs should study more about army hand to hand combat, not simply adding it

without any army reference / trivia what so ever.

I mean, army TTS (Tempur tanpa senjata) or hand to hand are more to offensive side,

wile throwing chairs around are more to brawler's side. James Bond IS a brawler,

he is a Navy Commander, you know how drunken sailors are laugh.gif

well, it would be a different story if Sam was in the Navy...which I think he is not.

He was an ex SEAL right? Later recruited by NSA?

post Mar 7 2008, 12:21 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Mar 4 2008, 01:47 PM)

Yah if onli ppl in China show more support in ORI or else Asia market is just too small for TW, HK and Sg (not counting MY since the amount of ORI purchase here is just slightly better than China......

QUOTE(Gahleon @ Mar 4 2008, 02:03 PM)
Oh yeah how come i forgot about FF12 heh,and actually the one who did the voice of Dr Cid is Otsuka Akio's father in real life.
Oh and he also did Black Jack in Black Jack anime. Last time i open Animax wtf Solid Snake talking lol.
Yah black jack my favourite!

QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Mar 4 2008, 11:33 PM)
why didnt i think of that doh.gif
what his father did?
lol the game itself already give a lot hint!
tanghm
post Mar 7 2008, 05:36 PM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

They just added few videos in SG PSN:
1) MGS4 TGS2007 trailer (Japanese Voice)
2) MGOnline Trailer (Japanese Voice)
3) MGOnline Trailer (English Voice)

Why didn't they have the official trailer in English ?

snipersnake
post Mar 10 2008, 08:41 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(hagon81 @ Mar 1 2008, 03:43 PM)
oh guys. Konami just confirmed
for ENG version u only hav ENG voice
for JAP version u only hav JAP voice, no ENG
due to lack of space in BD!
haha

so those peeps who is waiting for the 'DVD9 version'... .oh..i cant finish the sentence..hahaha! laugh.gif
aaron5829
post Mar 10 2008, 09:54 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Mar 10 2008, 08:41 AM)
haha

so those peeps who is waiting for the 'DVD9 version'... .oh..i cant finish the sentence..hahaha! laugh.gif
I finish for you lar.

... Keep On Waiting ... ! icon_rolleyes.gif

tanghm
post Mar 10 2008, 09:59 AM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

QUOTE(aaron5829 @ Mar 10 2008, 09:54 AM)
I finish for you lar.

... Keep On Waiting ... !  icon_rolleyes.gif
Aiyah easy lah, just make 6 DVD9s (about 8GB per disc so about 50GB bah) for the "DVD9" version lor.

Every 2 hours change disc lor laugh.gif

Seriously, they got no other choice but to compress the audios to fit into DVDs.
Eric_Almighty
post Mar 10 2008, 10:07 AM

60 posts

LOL... They can ditch the DTS sound in DVD9 and go for mono sound. It'll has plenty spaces left by then. XD
aaron5829
post Mar 10 2008, 10:43 AM

135 posts

or, they will have to install on a hard drive, but oh wait, not all "other console" has hard drives in them. LOL

Added on March 10, 2008, 10:43 amI still want the other console nonetheless... wanna play Mass Effect. sad.gif

This post has been edited by aaron5829: Mar 10 2008, 10:43 AM
post Mar 10 2008, 12:44 PM

1,447 posts

lol DVD9 version! Cant imagine the situation! But its sometimes really illogical for ppl to keep arguing that MGS4 is gonna go to be placed on DVD9 (just to serve certain group of ppl), just admit the point tat MGS4 is just too big to fit on the console beside PS3!
snipersnake
post Mar 10 2008, 12:54 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(tanghm @ Mar 10 2008, 09:59 AM)
Aiyah easy lah, just make 6 DVD9s (about 8GB per disc so about 50GB bah) for the "DVD9" version lor.

Every 2 hours change disc lor  laugh.gif

Seriously, they got no other choice but to compress the audios to fit into DVDs.

got what....ahhahahhaahhaa laugh.gif
aaron5829
post Mar 10 2008, 01:56 PM

135 posts

haha, the famous Xbox360 version of MGS 4
tanghm
post Mar 10 2008, 03:07 PM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

I can read the first two CD title:

1) Johann Sebastian Bach
2) Antonio Vivaldi

tongue.gif
slickz
post Mar 10 2008, 04:40 PM

2,149 posts

they can dream on for the MGS4 coming to their platform. It is one of the defining games of the sony brand.
post Mar 10 2008, 04:50 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Mar 10 2008, 04:40 PM)
they can dream on for the MGS4 coming to their platform. It is one of the defining games of the sony brand.
tat is the evil part of sony buying it up as exclusive and giving Konami all the support they need until they found out tat the game format is just too big to implement any other console!
TSMgsrulz
post Mar 10 2008, 05:11 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Mar 4 2008, 11:33 PM)
what his father did?
he screwed the boss! biggrin.gif
aint it obvious? laugh.gif
snipersnake
post Mar 10 2008, 05:25 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

HAHAHA..u remember..HINDUSTANI STYLE..

hahaha! what happened la to that woman in CARI?

makes me laugh everytime i remember her reply... tongue.gif
ruztynail
post Mar 10 2008, 05:55 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

why u all laughing at xbox360 ler.. thy going to get a BD drive soon di.
TSMgsrulz
post Mar 10 2008, 06:32 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

but not for gaming purposes,right?

more LOL
lim_ryan
post Mar 10 2008, 07:05 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Mar 10 2008, 05:55 PM)
why u all laughing at xbox360 ler.. thy going to get a BD drive soon di.
xbot suck.....i bought the original xbox the 3rd year....u know wat, the 4th year they discontinue it.....so @$#^ it
MR.Shiney
post Mar 10 2008, 08:45 PM

Jacked into the Matrix
1,843 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Mar 10 2008, 05:11 PM)
he screwed the boss! biggrin.gif
aint it obvious? laugh.gif
errm, i still dont get it.

slickz
post Mar 10 2008, 10:14 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(300078 @ Mar 10 2008, 04:50 PM)
tat is the evil part of sony buying it up as exclusive and giving Konami all the support they need until they found out tat the game format is just too big to implement any other console!
evil? Exclusives are one strategy both sides use to give a reason for customers to buy their console over the other. You can say the same for M$ for keeping certain other games exclusive.

If anyone is responsible for the huge size it's kojima for making the audio quality extremely high. The previous MGS series had nonrepeating music that was tailored for each scene. It's the dedication and quality to the game that made the MGS series so popular. If I remembered right Kojima played through MGS2 for around a hundred hours before declaring it was finally finished.

on another note... some of you may have missed this interview with kojima...

Still on MGS4, I ask whether this really is the end. He's said repeatedly he wants to walk away at the end of this game, and the trailers seem to show everyone from the series getting together for one final shootout. So when MGS4 hits, will you hang up your boots? "Well, actually its really up to the users, its up to them to decide", he offers.

"If users want more Metal Gear, then I will probably step up as producer, like the James Bond series does", he says. "That way I can have new, upcoming directors making MGS while I oversee the project, and then perhaps I can move onto something new".

"But like I said, MGS4 is aimed for the movie theatre, it's aimed for the PS3, so the game's scenario and graphics need this theatre-type hardware. It's when a producer has a game that can work on the 'DVD level' that a game will go multiplatform", he says. Sorry kids. Your "OMGMGS4360" banners will have to come out another day.

Since we've opened up this can of worms, I may as well get his thoughts on it. Why, I ask, do you think this rumour simply refuses to go away? "Because 360 owners want it on 360, obviously", he quips.
source (in case you think I made this up)

http://kotaku.com/gaming/go307/feature-tal...jima-248695.php
snipersnake
post Mar 11 2008, 08:19 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

last time I checked, Sony didnt have, or at least TRIED to buy developers around tongue.gif
TSMgsrulz
post Mar 11 2008, 08:22 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Mar 10 2008, 08:45 PM)
errm, i still dont get it.

sleep.gif
screwed=f*cked
vorchiel
post Mar 11 2008, 08:25 AM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

Anyone played Subsistence online? Their servers are global or divided into regions? This might affect which region of disc I'll get for MGO tongue.gif
snipersnake
post Mar 11 2008, 08:47 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

its divided regionly. if u have ntsc uc, u will be playing with ntsc uc.

i played last time, if we host locally..NO LAGS AT ALL.
vorchiel
post Mar 11 2008, 09:00 AM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Mar 11 2008, 08:47 AM)
its divided regionly. if u have ntsc uc, u will be  playing with ntsc uc.

i played last time, if we host locally..NO LAGS AT ALL.
Okay thanks. notworthy.gif

I'll get the NTSC-U/C version then instead of PAL/UK coz I'll only be back to Malaysia this Sept/Oct. Have to abstain myself from MGO for 2 months tongue.gif
MR.Shiney
post Mar 11 2008, 01:37 PM

Jacked into the Matrix
1,843 posts

QUOTE(vorchiel @ Mar 11 2008, 08:25 AM)
Anyone played Subsistence online? Their servers are global or divided into regions? This might affect which region of disc I'll get for MGO tongue.gif
isnt subsistence server already expired?
snipersnake
post Mar 11 2008, 02:02 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

long time ago wink.gif
aaron5829
post Mar 11 2008, 03:19 PM

135 posts

hmm.gif hmm.gif
vorchiel
post Mar 11 2008, 05:18 PM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Mar 11 2008, 01:37 PM)
isnt subsistence server already expired?
I asked for the Subsistence as an example because the same network model will be more likely to be implemented for MGO sleep.gif
post Mar 11 2008, 06:48 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Mar 11 2008, 08:19 AM)
last time I checked, Sony didnt have, or at least TRIED to buy developers around tongue.gif
sony not buying any but they are going the Nintendo way! Why beg others to make u good game! just do it urself!
hagon81
post Mar 11 2008, 08:56 PM

165 posts

http://www.gametrailers.com/player/31703.html

anyone seen this yet, just newly posted
a demostration shown during 20th MGS anniversary

vorchiel
post Mar 11 2008, 09:06 PM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

QUOTE(hagon81 @ Mar 11 2008, 08:56 PM)

anyone seen this  yet, just newly posted
Newly-posted by GT but the vid is available since last year in PSN tongue.gif
slickz
post Mar 11 2008, 09:56 PM

2,149 posts

The crotch grab make me smile each time I see it. lulz!
munak991
post Mar 13 2008, 11:25 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

i heard MGS new before they announce of releasing PS3.
they already had picture shown on Gamespot.com.
At that momment PS3 model picture still keep it on secret.
i think that time is 1 or 2 month after release of MGS3 Snake eater.
This product had been made about > 5 years.
TSMgsrulz
post Mar 14 2008, 08:55 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(hagon81 @ Mar 11 2008, 08:56 PM)

anyone seen this  yet, just newly posted
the HD versions were already available since last year(on GT)

rclxub.gif dunno why they re-release this in SD doh.gif doh.gif
samurai20
post Mar 14 2008, 09:14 AM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

anybody here wanna buy this...

P-A

hmm ... must play all MGS 1-3 before play MGS4.... (never Finish play MGS... blush.gif sad.gif )... 25 march .. yatta!!
andy_lhc
post Mar 14 2008, 09:31 AM

542 posts

@samurai - already preordered it a couple of months ago...tongue.gif
post Mar 14 2008, 09:40 AM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(samurai20 @ Mar 14 2008, 09:14 AM)

P-A

hmm ... must play all MGS 1-3 before play MGS4.... (never Finish play MGS... blush.gif  sad.gif )... 25 march .. yatta!!
2 and 3 graphic can still accept but no 1 if it is GC version then can accept loh if PS1......... i dun believe i got the mood to play it.
samurai20
post Mar 14 2008, 10:50 AM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

just wanna try play using PS3 & HDTV.... i think the GFX for sure sux one.. laugh.gif... dont care la... coz... i never finish play MGS.... so hope this time can finish la.. before buying MGS4.. smile.gif
snipersnake
post Mar 14 2008, 11:10 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

hehehe..will have one nice suprised for all..tongue.gif

hehehe
acougan
post Mar 14 2008, 02:31 PM

590 posts

mgs1 can play on a pc using epsxe. still looks good smile.gif

mgs2 looks very clean upscaled and mgs3 can watch demo theater w/o replaying the whole game.
MR.Shiney
post Mar 14 2008, 02:51 PM

Jacked into the Matrix
1,843 posts

i still got taste playing MGS1 game what, no so bad compared to other
ps1 games, right? tongue.gif

that trailer is the english version no? before this was jap.
PuDinG91
post Mar 16 2008, 06:45 AM

17 posts

i cant imagine how to fight with Praying Mantis in MGS1 by playing with PS3 sixaxis...need to change port also ekekekk??
gr8fr8
post Mar 16 2008, 04:48 PM

841 posts

P-A

hmm ... must play all MGS 1-3 before play MGS4.... (never Finish play MGS... blush.gif  sad.gif )... 25 march .. yatta!!
wow! nice...definitely going to buy that...the original MGS is still one of the best game. Thank you for that notice... rclxms.gif

Added on March 16, 2008, 4:49 pm
QUOTE(PuDinG(tm) @ Mar 16 2008, 06:45 AM)
i cant imagine how to fight with Praying Mantis in MGS1 by playing with PS3 sixaxis...need to change port also ekekekk??
probably need to switch on the second sixaxis? hehe still remember that part...so clever rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by gr8fr8: Mar 16 2008, 04:49 PM
ruztynail
post Mar 16 2008, 05:46 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

QUOTE(andy_lhc @ Mar 14 2008, 09:31 AM)
how much did u pre-order it for?

i played mgs1... but got diff mer? if played wit sixaxis? enlighten me.. old man di. doh.gif
PuDinG91
post Mar 16 2008, 06:45 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Mar 16 2008, 05:46 PM)
how much did u pre-order it for?
i played mgs1... but got diff mer? if played wit sixaxis? enlighten me.. old man di.  doh.gif
yeap...when u fighting with Praying Mantis u need to change controller port...from port 1 to controller port 2..
but sixaxis doenst have a wire nor controller port d.. hmm.gif

@gr8fr8

of course i still remember it..who could think in such a weird way like changing controller port hmm.gif
Kojima is a geniuss notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
vorchiel
post Mar 16 2008, 06:48 PM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

P-A

NTSC UC only cry.gif cry.gif
snipersnake
post Mar 17 2008, 08:43 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

where you fought Praying Mantis in MGS1?
TSMgsrulz
post Mar 17 2008, 08:47 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Mar 17 2008, 08:43 AM)
where you fought Praying Mantis in MGS1?
laugh.gif laugh.gif
King83
post Mar 17 2008, 08:50 AM

I'm the guy your mother warned you about
5,237 posts

so when is this baby coming out ?
TerryZeroX
post Mar 17 2008, 08:51 AM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

QUOTE(King83 @ Mar 17 2008, 08:50 AM)
so when is this baby coming out ?
June 12 if i'm not mistaken biggrin.gif
snipersnake
post Mar 17 2008, 08:52 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

Pre order it now..

QUICK.
King83
post Mar 17 2008, 08:53 AM

I'm the guy your mother warned you about
5,237 posts

OH SHI-,
this baby is out, ima hafta buy PS3 liau
aaron5829
post Mar 17 2008, 10:15 AM

135 posts

Why wait til this baby come out ? buy now already.. can play lotsa things liao.
slickz
post Mar 17 2008, 01:46 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(PuDinG(tm) @ Mar 16 2008, 06:45 PM)
yeap...when u fighting with Praying Mantis u need to change controller port...from port 1 to controller port 2..
but sixaxis doenst have a wire nor controller port d.. hmm.gif

@gr8fr8

of course i still remember it..who could think in such a weird way like changing controller port hmm.gif
Kojima is a geniuss notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
It's PSYCHO MANTIS lah
PuDinG91
post Mar 17 2008, 03:37 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Mar 17 2008, 01:46 PM)
It's PSYCHO MANTIS lah
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
sory sory...didnt quite remember the name.. tongue.gif
Praying Mantis is the insect right ekekek unsure.gif
Schattenjeager
post Mar 17 2008, 07:04 PM

40 posts

Slightly out of topic, but does anyone know how to get the MGS4 E3'06 15-min WMV trailer to play on the PS3? I have it but for some reason the PS3 won't recognize the audio and therefore I only get picture but no sound...
slickz
post Mar 17 2008, 08:07 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(PuDinG(tm) @ Mar 17 2008, 03:37 PM)
doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
sory sory...didnt quite remember the name.. tongue.gif
Praying Mantis is the insect right  ekekek unsure.gif
happens to the best of us wink.gif s'alright

QUOTE(Schattenjeager @ Mar 17 2008, 07:04 PM)
Slightly out of topic, but does anyone know how to get the MGS4 E3'06 15-min WMV trailer to play on the PS3? I have it but for some reason the PS3 won't recognize the audio and therefore I only get picture but no sound...
I doubt that you can play the E3 trailer because it's in WMV format. M$ format ma... I don't remember sony buying rights to include windows codec to run on Microsoft's biggest rival console. laugh.gif

adreanalyn
post Mar 17 2008, 08:36 PM

44 posts

rclxms.gif
Schattenjeager
post Mar 17 2008, 09:02 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Mar 17 2008, 08:07 PM)
happens to the best of us wink.gif s'alright
I doubt that you can play the E3 trailer because it's in WMV format. M$ format ma... I don't remember sony buying rights to include windows codec to run on Microsoft's biggest rival console.  laugh.gif
Uh, hello. Firmware 2.10 added DivX and WMV support.
slickz
post Mar 17 2008, 10:31 PM

2,149 posts

well that's why I said I doubt. I know about divx support but I forgot about WMV
TSMgsrulz
post Mar 17 2008, 10:56 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

lol...now, now..no need to fight... tongue.gif
Schattenjeager
post Mar 17 2008, 11:04 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Mar 17 2008, 10:31 PM)
well that's why I said I doubt. I know about divx support but I forgot about WMV
S'cool man. Didn't mean to sound abrasive. I have other WMV files that play fine. Just not this MGS one...and The Dark Knight trailer either...

Anyway, think I'll ask in the tech-talk thread.

Back to MGS: I just finished MGS3 just to get myself hyped, and man, I cannot WAIT for MGS4 now... rclxm9.gif
snipersnake
post Mar 18 2008, 01:05 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(adreanalyn @ Mar 17 2008, 08:36 PM)

rclxms.gif
that one is the Aussie version right?

My Double Agent is Aussie version, and I hate the gay ass red marking on the bottom left of the game mad.gif

Added on March 18, 2008, 4:23 pmuser posted image

will look awesome on my camo long sleeve!

woot woot!

This post has been edited by snipersnake: Mar 18 2008, 04:23 PM
Schattenjeager
post Mar 18 2008, 10:14 PM

40 posts

New Metal Gear 'Matte Black/Steel' PS3 color announced

Also, MGS1 coming to Jp PSN

Can you feel the hype building...? brows.gif

This post has been edited by Schattenjeager: Mar 18 2008, 10:19 PM
slickz
post Mar 18 2008, 10:20 PM

2,149 posts

damn you beat me to it tongue.gif

anyways here is the pic. Steel dull black PS3 for MGS4!

A little mixed feeling for this. If they somehow engraved solid snake onto the ps3 it would entice me more... but... yeah well. If the material feels like brushed steel...

OMG. How heavy would it be???

This post has been edited by slickz: Mar 18 2008, 10:26 PM
Schattenjeager
post Mar 18 2008, 10:42 PM

40 posts

Does anyone know what kinda special package/limited edition the NA/NTSC region gets, if any? (Not the console bundle, just the game...)

This post has been edited by Schattenjeager: Mar 19 2008, 12:36 AM
mdzamri
post Mar 18 2008, 11:07 PM

80 posts

Will this bundle with 40GB or 80GB PS3?? Somehow i was quite dissapointed with the steel colour. I have been waiting all this while, to buy PS3 with MGS4 bundle...and this is what they offer??? Looks so dull and like 'besi buruk" Still prefer the black glossy or white PS3. If this is confirmed, i might as well get a PS3 now and later just get the MGS4 special package edition game...sigh...damn damn...
acougan
post Mar 18 2008, 11:22 PM

590 posts

wah! gun metal colored ps3! rclxm9.gif IMO, they should incorporate foxhound logo somewhere on the casing, like those special edition psps

dang, the JPN version very expensive cry.gif, i think even if US version got SE, also be will expensive similar to DMC4 SE.

wonder if they'll consider publishing Asian version?

This post has been edited by acougan: Mar 18 2008, 11:24 PM
TSMgsrulz
post Mar 18 2008, 11:45 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Mar 18 2008, 10:20 PM)
damn you beat me to it tongue.gif

anyways here is the pic. Steel dull black PS3 for MGS4!

OMG...sweeet!!! drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

i love dull colours cool.gif fits the mood of the game perfectly laugh.gif

adreanalyn
post Mar 19 2008, 01:08 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Mar 18 2008, 01:05 PM)
that one is the Aussie version right?

My Double Agent is Aussie version, and I hate the gay ass red marking on the bottom left of the game  mad.gif

Added on March 18, 2008, 4:23 pmuser posted image

will look awesome on my camo long sleeve!

woot woot!
Sorry for my late reply.

And yes you're right, snipersnake. it's the aussie version rclxms.gif

-----

The matte black/steel colour of the PS3 looks really good.. But will the controllers be limited edition too ?

The bundled PS3 would be good to prevent scratches (which the piano black version is prone to) laugh.gif

snipersnake
post Mar 19 2008, 08:25 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

wow..that PS3 is..err..what?

I still prefer the design n the box.

Minus the legs of course.
SUSalmattitude_v1
post Mar 19 2008, 09:25 AM

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

the problem with getting Sony products is that u cant wait to get them, but after u do, they come out with other products (colours, HD size, etc)...
slickz
post Mar 19 2008, 09:31 AM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(almattitude_v1 @ Mar 19 2008, 09:25 AM)
the problem with getting Sony products is that u cant wait to get them, but after u do, they come out with other products (colours, HD size, etc)...
sounds a lot like Apple inc. to me too...

If the casing feels like gun steel.... that would be pretty amazing. Some engraving of solid snake would be nice at the top, along with timeline of birth till death. If it were standing it would look a little like a tombstone for snake.

Fitting for the finale in the series.

Or maybe they don't do that because snake didnt actually die? shocking.gif
SUSalmattitude_v1
post Mar 19 2008, 11:26 AM

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Mar 19 2008, 09:31 AM)
sounds a lot like Apple inc. to me too...
If the casing feels like gun steel.... that would be pretty amazing. Some engraving of solid snake would be nice at the top, along with timeline of birth till death. If it were standing it would look a little like a tombstone for snake.

Fitting for the finale in the series.

Or maybe they don't do that because snake didnt actually die?  shocking.gif
yes... thinking of getting Mac, lol! but going to wait till June for WWDC... *sigh*
nerd
post Mar 19 2008, 12:47 PM

3,373 posts

The gun metal PS3!! drool.gif

hopefully it's not too expensive when it reaches here, probably around RM1.8k?
edvpc
post Mar 19 2008, 01:09 PM

HardSun..... (IntoTheWild)
1,274 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Mar 18 2008, 11:45 PM)
OMG...sweeet!!! drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif

i love dull colours cool.gif fits the mood of the game perfectly laugh.gif
a must buy for u bro... whistling.gif tongue.gif laugh.gif
ps360
post Mar 19 2008, 02:28 PM

137 posts

I like the dull Steel. Hmmmmmmm ..... drool.gif
But I do agree, if got Foxhound logo .. it will be perfect
wub.gif
Kite
post Mar 19 2008, 02:32 PM

Dark Tipper
4,289 posts

can we have petition for that ? happy.gif
Schattenjeager
post Mar 21 2008, 11:10 AM

40 posts

Better/Closer looks at the new 'Steel' MGS4 PS3:

mfa333
post Mar 21 2008, 11:14 AM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

woot, the colour looks cool... hope there will be asian version 40gb for that set...

p/s: controller is sixaxis or ds3?

This post has been edited by mfa333: Mar 21 2008, 11:15 AM
Lakum
post Mar 21 2008, 11:28 AM

Slave New World
690 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Mar 21 2008, 11:14 AM)
woot, the colour looks cool... hope there will be asian version 40gb for that set...

If got 40gb asian? U wanna buy ka? hmm.gif

mfa333
post Mar 21 2008, 11:36 AM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

QUOTE(Lakum @ Mar 21 2008, 11:28 AM)
If got 40gb asian? U wanna buy ka? hmm.gif
cannot make any comment yet.. tongue.gif wait and see 1st... hehehe... but the probability is high la.. tongue.gif
K-End
post Mar 21 2008, 12:02 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(Schattenjeager @ Mar 21 2008, 11:10 AM)
Better/Closer looks at the new 'Steel' MGS4 PS3:

IM sold!....80g US MGS4 bundle..here i come rclxms.gif
edvpc
post Mar 21 2008, 12:37 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Mar 21 2008, 11:36 AM)
cannot make any comment yet.. tongue.gif wait and see 1st... hehehe... but the probability is high la.. tongue.gif
jual x360 beli PS3... whistling.gif
klau tak jual x360 pastu beli PS3 sah2 kaya raya mcm yus gak... whistling.gif laugh.gif
ps360
post Mar 21 2008, 12:40 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Mar 21 2008, 12:14 PM)
Its a DS3 ...
mfa333
post Mar 21 2008, 12:45 PM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

QUOTE(edvpc @ Mar 21 2008, 12:37 PM)
jual x360 beli PS3... whistling.gif
klau tak jual x360 pastu beli PS3 sah2 kaya raya mcm yus gak... whistling.gif  laugh.gif
xleh jual 360 sbb tu bukan aku punya.. blush.gif

QUOTE(ps360 @ Mar 21 2008, 12:40 PM)
Its a DS3 ...
wow cool... thumbup.gif
Hollow
post Mar 21 2008, 07:06 PM

41 posts

yummy! can't wait for the game xD
TSMgsrulz
post Mar 21 2008, 08:24 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Mar 21 2008, 12:45 PM)
wow cool... thumbup.gif
aik...ari tu kata beli sendiri 400 inggit....

haihs shakehead.gif cannot trust the words of a rempitstudent these days

tongue.gif
Lakum
post Mar 21 2008, 08:43 PM

Slave New World
690 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Mar 21 2008, 08:24 PM)
aik...ari tu kata beli sendiri 400 inggit....

haihs shakehead.gif cannot trust the words of a rempitstudent these days
tongue.gif

Ding! Dong! whistling.gif

samurai20
post Mar 21 2008, 08:55 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

QUOTE(K-End @ Mar 21 2008, 12:02 PM)
IM sold!....80g US MGS4 bundle..here i come rclxms.gif
hmm cun.. ikutkan kata hati... nak gak aku beli... tapi...........................................................
Schattenjeager
post Mar 21 2008, 09:07 PM

40 posts

Getting reports here that the Ltd Ed. Steel colored PS3 is a 40gb model. ..which is totally not worth it IMHO. shakehead.gif
MR.Shiney
post Mar 22 2008, 11:52 PM

Jacked into the Matrix
1,843 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Mar 21 2008, 11:14 AM)

definately its gonna be dual shock 3, since the game itself is coded with it tongue.gif
edvpc
post Mar 23 2008, 02:49 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Mar 21 2008, 12:45 PM)
wow cool... thumbup.gif
3rod nanti baru kau tau... whistling.gif
acougan
post Mar 23 2008, 11:18 AM

590 posts

MGS4 LE/CE US version is USD85. so expensive sweat.gif cry.gif
andy_lhc
post Mar 23 2008, 11:34 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Mar 23 2008, 11:18 AM)
MGS4 LE/CE US version is USD85. so expensive  sweat.gif  cry.gif
The limited edition will retail for $84.99 and include the following:

A Blu-ray containing
2 making of documentaries, and interview with Kojima
4 chapters of the graphic novel
Metal Gear Import Soundtrack CD

sweat.gif sweat.gif "forced" to buy..... tongue.gif
samurai20
post Mar 23 2008, 12:11 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

andy org kaya no problem maa... tongue.gif
samurai20
post Mar 23 2008, 12:52 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

WTF is this.... SPAMMER.... damn
Schattenjeager
post Mar 23 2008, 04:15 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Mar 23 2008, 11:18 AM)
MGS4 LE/CE US version is USD85. so expensive  sweat.gif  cry.gif
QUOTE(andy_lhc @ Mar 23 2008, 11:34 AM)
The limited edition will retail for $84.99 and include the following:

A Blu-ray containing
2 making of documentaries, and interview with Kojima
4 chapters of the graphic novel
Metal Gear Import Soundtrack CD

sweat.gif  sweat.gif "forced" to buy..... tongue.gif
Source? (Just curious)
neoardi
post Mar 23 2008, 04:29 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(samurai20 @ Mar 23 2008, 12:52 PM)
WTF is this.... SPAMMER.... damn
Just click the report button la, vote click for change rclxms.gif

Added on March 23, 2008, 4:32 pm
QUOTE(Schattenjeager @ Mar 23 2008, 04:15 PM)
Source? (Just curious)
http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showpost.php?p...976&postcount=1

This post has been edited by neoardi: Mar 23 2008, 04:33 PM
Schattenjeager
post Mar 23 2008, 04:58 PM

40 posts

Neogaf forum? Ehh... hmm.gif

Still, wonder if PA (or GH or anyone else) will be able to bring it in...
*Waits for pre-order links to show up*
snipersnake
post Mar 24 2008, 08:14 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

i am ready for M etal Gear Solid 4 Guns of the Patriots..

are you?

This post has been edited by snipersnake: Mar 24 2008, 08:15 AM
slickz
post Mar 24 2008, 09:50 AM

2,149 posts

DUDE! spray back the ps3 logo on top of that and people will wonder HOW the hell u got the limited edition shown on the box art so early!

This post has been edited by slickz: Mar 24 2008, 09:50 AM
snipersnake
post Mar 24 2008, 10:35 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

will do smile.gif
Muchi
post Mar 25 2008, 08:13 AM

18 posts

Where to pre-order the US version LE/CE??? I want them!!!
Schattenjeager
post Mar 25 2008, 11:40 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(Muchi @ Mar 25 2008, 08:13 AM)
Where to pre-order the US version LE/CE??? I want them!!!
Well, here would be as good a place as any I guess...
SSJBen
post Mar 25 2008, 01:47 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Anyone going to replay MGS1, 2 and 3 btw?

Just for the sake of playing this legendary series one more time before we go into the finale.
andy_lhc
post Mar 25 2008, 02:22 PM

542 posts

Gamestop has started taking order for MGS LE....biggrin.gif
snipersnake
post Mar 25 2008, 02:43 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

i emailed playasia about them, if they carry those..still waiting sad.gif

uh my FOX and FOXHOUND badges just arrived! woot wott!! drool.gif

This post has been edited by snipersnake: Mar 25 2008, 02:54 PM
SSJBen
post Mar 25 2008, 03:53 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Pictures now! biggrin.gif
Schattenjeager
post Mar 25 2008, 06:12 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Mar 25 2008, 01:47 PM)
Anyone going to replay MGS1, 2 and 3 btw?

Just for the sake of playing this legendary series one more time before we go into the finale.
I actually just started and finished MGS3 Subsistence a couple of weeks ago. I held out against playing it for a long while because I was intimidated by the lack of Soliton Radar. But once my brother urged me to get over it, man, what a ride!! rclxms.gif Best MGS entry yet IMHO.

Now I'm eagerly anticipating my MGS Collection to arrive and get through the first two again...

This post has been edited by Schattenjeager: Mar 25 2008, 06:13 PM
SSJBen
post Mar 25 2008, 06:14 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Definitely, MGS3 is the best entry in the series. But quite suprisingly it sold the least as well.

My MGS1 is covered in dust laugh.gif
Schattenjeager
post Mar 26 2008, 02:47 AM

40 posts

MGS4 Limited Wireless Headphones

Wireless Sony 7.1-channel MDR-DS7000 headphones; only available randomly to 30 lucky shoppers who purchase any one of the MGS4 bundles on Konami's Japanese online store cool.gif

This post has been edited by Schattenjeager: Mar 26 2008, 02:49 AM
jasjas
post Mar 26 2008, 03:28 AM

221 posts

hmmm paying additional rm 100 for bonus blu ray, will it worth ar? hmmmmmmm 300 to be reserved on may.....or instead 200 for game alone..... =X

Added on March 26, 2008, 4:06 amwaaaa.....

Metal Gear Solid 4 limited edition already sold out in Konami Japan shop

Over at KonamiStyle of Japan, the Metal Gear Solid 4 limited edition bundle is already sold out! This should be a sign of things to come across all regions, so snap up the bundle as soon as you can if you are a die hard fan of the series!

source
did anyone put their order already?

This post has been edited by jasjas: Mar 26 2008, 04:06 AM
snipersnake
post Mar 26 2008, 08:07 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Mar 25 2008, 03:53 PM)
Pictures now! biggrin.gif

Added on March 26, 2008, 8:10 am
QUOTE(jasjas @ Mar 26 2008, 03:28 AM)
hmmm paying additional rm 100 for bonus blu ray, will it worth ar? hmmmmmmm 300 to be reserved on may.....or instead 200 for game alone..... =X

People will buy eve a DEMO for this game. Go figure that out.

Added on March 26, 2008, 4:06 amwaaaa.....
did anyone put their order already?
I preordered mine at PA already, but as soon as the LE avaliable in ntsc uc, i will be switching my order. THIS is the game (aside from GT5) that I bought PS3 for. Others are just bonuses along the way.

This post has been edited by snipersnake: Mar 26 2008, 08:13 AM
jasjas
post Mar 26 2008, 10:03 AM

221 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Mar 26 2008, 08:07 AM)

Added on March 26, 2008, 8:10 am
People will buy eve a DEMO for this game. Go figure that out.

I preordered mine at PA already, but as soon as the LE avaliable in ntsc uc, i will be switching my order. THIS is the game (aside from GT5) that I bought PS3 for. Others are just bonuses along the way.
ntsc uc?
Ninja
post Mar 26 2008, 11:06 AM

1,764 posts

New Metal Gear Online screenshots

Hollow
post Mar 26 2008, 11:12 AM

41 posts

lol... u can catapult ur self. thats a good one tongue.gif. oo CQC too xD
aaron5829
post Mar 26 2008, 11:51 AM

135 posts

Wonder if we can crotch grab in MGO ? tongue.gif It will be damn funny !!
TSMgsrulz
post Mar 26 2008, 11:59 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(aaron5829 @ Mar 26 2008, 11:51 AM)
Wonder if we can crotch grab in MGO ? tongue.gif It will be damn funny !!
you crotch grab,someone else HS you.LOL! funny,alright! laugh.gif
snipersnake
post Mar 26 2008, 12:20 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

i think its a yes.

if those porn mags survived the online matchups what.. tongue.gif

still remember those mgs3 online days..

Lakum pwned while 'easing' himself on Asian porn. Great taste tho ' tongue.gif
Lakum
post Mar 26 2008, 12:31 PM

Slave New World
690 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Mar 26 2008, 12:20 PM)
i think its a yes.

if those porn mags survived the online matchups what.. tongue.gif

still remember those mgs3 online days..

Lakum pwned while 'easing' himself on Asian porn. Great taste tho ' tongue.gif

Damn you tongue.gif

Those screens are very powerful racun sweat.gif

edvpc
post Mar 26 2008, 12:32 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(Lakum @ Mar 26 2008, 12:31 PM)
Damn you tongue.gif

Those screens are very powerful racun sweat.gif
it's time to use "AWEKS" CC... whistling.gif laugh.gif
snipersnake
post Mar 26 2008, 12:34 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

jgn cita banyak Lakum. PS3 now damn cheap. busuk2 pon 40gig+MGS4 rm1.5k tak lari.
Lakum
post Mar 26 2008, 12:34 PM

Slave New World
690 posts

QUOTE(edvpc @ Mar 26 2008, 12:32 PM)
it's time to use "AWEKS" CC... whistling.gif  laugh.gif

Damn u too sweat.gif

It not that time yet la....

Added on March 26, 2008, 12:36 pm
QUOTE(snipersnake @ Mar 26 2008, 12:34 PM)
jgn cita banyak Lakum. PS3 now damn cheap. busuk2 pon 40gig+MGS4 rm1.5k tak lari.

Ya la ya la..... sweat.gif (lari jauh2)

This post has been edited by Lakum: Mar 26 2008, 12:36 PM
snipersnake
post Mar 26 2008, 01:06 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

whistling.gif:
Ninja
post Mar 26 2008, 01:56 PM

1,764 posts

Ayooo...SOLD OUT already. cry.gif cry.gif

Lakum
post Mar 26 2008, 01:58 PM

Slave New World
690 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Mar 26 2008, 01:06 PM)

whistling.gif:

Oit....

whistling.gif

QUOTE(Ninja @ Mar 26 2008, 01:56 PM)
Ayooo...SOLD OUT already. cry.gif cry.gif

So fast? sweat.gif

snipersnake
post Mar 26 2008, 02:25 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

@Lakum... laugh.gif

ha sudah sold out? laugh.gif

eBay!
edvpc
post Mar 26 2008, 02:48 PM

1,274 posts

perghhh cargas je menatang ni sold out... sweat.gif
takpe lakum ko takyah beli PS3 ko tggu MGS release kat Xbork... rclxs0.gif
snipersnake
post Mar 26 2008, 03:25 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

berjinggut la jawabnya laugh.gif
edvpc
post Mar 26 2008, 03:29 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Mar 26 2008, 03:25 PM)
berjinggut la jawabnya laugh.gif
lakum punya 3rod 8 kali pun takkan release...kohkohkoh laugh.gif
Lakum
post Mar 26 2008, 06:09 PM

Slave New World
690 posts

Iyer la iyer laaa.....

(suntut perut edv bruce.gif )
mfa333
post Mar 26 2008, 06:42 PM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

sold out dah? doh.gif x jadi la beli ps3.. laugh.gif
Schattenjeager
post Mar 26 2008, 11:08 PM

40 posts

Re-watching the MGS4 Gameplay demo, I noticed the sniper-rifle Old Snake uses is a Mosin Nagant.

Given the fact that MGS4 takes place in 2014, I don't see why he'd use a WWII-60's era rifle unless...

Just speculating. It could very well mean nothing and just be a nod to all the fans. I'm very hyped up about this game, as you can probably tell... sweat.gif
SSJBen
post Mar 27 2008, 12:47 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Schattenjeager @ Mar 26 2008, 11:08 PM)
Re-watching the MGS4 Gameplay demo, I noticed the sniper-rifle Old Snake uses is a Mosin Nagant.

Given the fact that MGS4 takes place in 2014, I don't see why he'd use a WWII-60's era rifle unless...

Just speculating. It could very well mean nothing and just be a nod to all the fans. I'm very hyped up about this game, as you can probably tell... sweat.gif
I don't think it matters.

Because Snake will also be using the M16A1(as seen in the TGS 07 demo I think), thats also a 60's gun.
post Mar 27 2008, 07:36 AM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Mar 27 2008, 12:47 AM)
I don't think it matters.

Because Snake will also be using the M16A1(as seen in the TGS 07 demo I think), thats also a 60's gun.
Snake like classic! But wat matters is the gun can still kill ppl even it is ages old!
snipersnake
post Mar 27 2008, 08:42 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

actually mosin nagant is still one of the best sniper rifles to date.

Very famous during mother Russia days, until the 60s if not mistaken.cant really blame the Russian army that time because this baby was a standard issue equipment back in WW2.

but now replaced by SVD. Still a popular collectors' item in the States.

Personally i think the reason Snake uses it is because Kojima wants us to know that the Metal Gear Saga began in WW2..Rise of the Patriots. Then in modern times, La Li Lu Le Lo. That means the Legacy of China, Russia and US (Patriots) began way back. And Snake using a weapon that is as old as the Legacy itself is ironic. A historical legacy, fought with a historical weapon.

Pergh, like my essay during my undergrad years pulak biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by snipersnake: Mar 27 2008, 08:56 AM
Schattenjeager
post Mar 27 2008, 05:23 PM

40 posts

Wohoo! rclxm9.gif MGS Essential Collection arrived...Time to fire up MGS1 and re-live the glory days!
andy_lhc
post Mar 27 2008, 06:21 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(Schattenjeager @ Mar 27 2008, 05:23 PM)
Wohoo!  rclxm9.gif MGS Essential Collection arrived...Time to fire up MGS1 and re-live the glory days!
mine onli shipped monday.... sweat.gif sweat.gif
jsc_tidus
post Mar 27 2008, 06:26 PM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

cant wait for it.. sadly already own white ceramic ps3.. damn, cant get my hands on the mgs edition ps3's... ni la punca tak sabar sgt kot.. haha...

eh, Metal Gear Online got to pay to play ka?
mfa333
post Mar 27 2008, 07:25 PM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Mar 27 2008, 06:26 PM)
cant wait for it.. sadly already own white ceramic ps3.. damn, cant get my hands on the mgs edition ps3's... ni la punca tak sabar sgt kot.. haha...

eh, Metal Gear Online got to pay to play ka?
u still can sell ur ceramic to me... whistling.gif
OmniAtlas
post Mar 28 2008, 02:04 AM

946 posts

The pre-order program for the beta online has started to ship!

If you read carefully, the download will be available APRIL 17th
snipersnake
post Mar 28 2008, 08:00 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

uuuuuuuuuuuuhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh..........

lets plant some CLAYMORE!!!!!!!
Muchi
post Mar 28 2008, 10:07 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(OmniAtlas @ Mar 28 2008, 02:04 AM)
The pre-order program for the beta online has started to ship!

If you read carefully, the download will be available APRIL 17th
OMG! You got the pic from the net or is that yours??? Does ordering the standard version of MGS4 entitles me to download the MGO Beta?

I am unable to find the US version of MGS4 Special Edition over at Play-Asia. I got a reply previously that EBGames are taking in pre-order for the US version but is my M'sian credit card able to make a purchase over at EBGames?

ARGH!!
andy_lhc
post Mar 28 2008, 10:25 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(Muchi @ Mar 28 2008, 10:07 AM)
I am unable to find the US version of MGS4 Special Edition over at Play-Asia. I got a reply previously that EBGames are taking in pre-order for the US version but is my M'sian credit card able to make a purchase over at EBGames?

ARGH!!
EB doesnt accept Msian CC....asked about this before oledi.... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
snipersnake
post Mar 28 2008, 11:10 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

EB Games dont ship here.

Schattenjeager
post Mar 28 2008, 11:15 AM

40 posts

Well there's always vPost...

Edit: Hmm...Gamestop/EB won't ship to freight forwarders. Dammit.

This post has been edited by Schattenjeager: Mar 28 2008, 11:30 AM
Muchi
post Mar 28 2008, 11:22 AM

18 posts

So getting the US MGS4 SE is near impossible, right?
snipersnake
post Mar 28 2008, 11:34 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

i also mailed PA regarding this. They asked me to wait..hiaz.z..
andy_lhc
post Mar 28 2008, 11:58 AM

542 posts

@muchi - can...ebay is ur fren.......tongue.gif
snipersnake
post Mar 28 2008, 12:00 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

eBay.........ergghh...too expensive once there bro.....can faint oredi.. like M9ed from behind tongue.gif
Muchi
post Mar 28 2008, 12:03 PM

18 posts

Darn.. by the time they email you back it might be too late... but I hope not man...

The Metal Gear Saga Vol. 2 is only for early bird pre-orders if I am not mistaken. God this sucks.
andy_lhc
post Mar 28 2008, 12:09 PM

542 posts

@sniper - true.....but for MGS fans like u...money is not an issue....laugh.gif...
OmniAtlas
post Mar 28 2008, 01:00 PM

946 posts

QUOTE(Muchi @ Mar 28 2008, 10:07 AM)
OMG! You got the pic from the net or is that yours??? Does ordering the standard version of MGS4 entitles me to download the MGO Beta?

ARGH!!
heh, not mine, just found it on the .net

It would be really sad if we were left out of the beta testing program. Oh well.

If anyone knows of any retailer participating in this program please let us know smile.gif
Muchi
post Mar 28 2008, 02:47 PM

18 posts

Argh!! We want the damn SE/LE for MGS4 !!!!!?
samurai20
post Mar 28 2008, 03:36 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

QUOTE(Muchi @ Mar 28 2008, 02:47 PM)
Argh!! We want the damn SE/LE for MGS4 !!!!!?
No SE/LE for u la.. laugh.gif.... hmm i will wait till this game release & wait for others forumer review if "good" than i will buy this game... im not die hard fan MGS.. but FF yes.. biggrin.gif
OmniAtlas
post Mar 28 2008, 06:12 PM

946 posts

I just want the pre-order DVD & the beta code for the online test. I'm wondering if I should place an order online and get it delivered to my sister...lol, will you be able to cancel your pre-order after you receive the special dvd?
Muchi
post Mar 29 2008, 02:47 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(samurai20 @ Mar 28 2008, 03:36 PM)
No SE/LE for u la.. laugh.gif.... hmm i will wait till this game release & wait for others forumer review if "good" than i will buy this game... im not die hard fan MGS.. but FF yes.. biggrin.gif
Damn you yus! haha
K-End
post Mar 29 2008, 05:27 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(Schattenjeager @ Mar 27 2008, 05:23 PM)
Wohoo!  rclxm9.gif MGS Essential Collection arrived...Time to fire up MGS1 and re-live the glory days!
lol..same with me.

too bad they only put Disc 1 for MGS3 in this version. I thought they gonna put the Persistence disc also. No MG & MG2:SS for MGS:TEC sad.gif
snipersnake
post Mar 31 2008, 08:44 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(andy_lhc @ Mar 28 2008, 12:09 PM)
@sniper - true.....but for MGS fans like u...money is not an issue....laugh.gif...
where got..LOL!

this month my wife already blaberring about those patches... biggrin.gif
marky
post Mar 31 2008, 09:24 AM

xoxo
893 posts

can the mgs:tec ntsc/us be played on my ntsc/j machine?? (ps2)

This post has been edited by marky: Mar 31 2008, 09:24 AM
snipersnake
post Mar 31 2008, 10:03 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

if your PS2 is modded, that should not be a problem.
nerd
post Mar 31 2008, 11:13 AM

3,373 posts

do you guys think we'll be seeing the MGS 4 LE PS3 pack here?

if we aren't, I might as well buy a PS3 earlier and enjoy other games first..
why_79
post Mar 31 2008, 11:19 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Mar 31 2008, 10:03 AM)
if your PS2 is modded, that should not be a problem.
u might need a psone memory card to save yr games for MGS1 if you are playing it on yr ps2......

MGS3 disc 1 doesn't have a whole bunch of stuff but most importantly of course is MG1 and MG2, i think the parody theater is worth mentioning too, in fact that alone was worth getting subsistence all over again for me since i found it to be damn funny.... nod.gif
vorchiel
post Apr 1 2008, 11:58 PM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Muchi
post Apr 2 2008, 12:05 AM

18 posts

LOL, PWN'd laugh.gif
Ninja
post Apr 2 2008, 10:13 AM

1,764 posts

"Did you like it?" user posted image user posted image
samurai20
post Apr 2 2008, 11:12 AM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

so ghey.... jade raymond FTW.... kawaiiii
Kyoyagami
post Apr 2 2008, 11:21 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

I LOVE ASSASSINS SOLID!!!

I guess a new costume is available eh? hehehehe.

Still, it'd be cool to play as Altair, in MGS 4. Vice versa for Altair and MGS 5. Crosses fingers... biggrin.gif
samurai20
post Apr 2 2008, 11:47 AM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

another april fool thing.. laugh.gif.. cam siot...
slickz
post Apr 2 2008, 02:17 PM

2,149 posts

april fool but AWESOME! who would have thought ubisoft and konami collaborate to aprilfool people?! really hoping for an unlockable! and keep that middle finger knife usable!

potential personal comment harming metal gear experience below, read at your own risk. I'm serious.

This post has been edited by slickz: Apr 2 2008, 02:22 PM
aaron5829
post Apr 2 2008, 03:27 PM

135 posts

Jade and Hideo has a good relationship... professionally. They've been into several talk shows, interviews, etc etc..

It's a great vid though...

I want my MGS now !!!!! cry.gif
clngu
post Apr 2 2008, 03:59 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

am definitely get MGS special edition drool.gif
samurai20
post Apr 2 2008, 04:02 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Apr 2 2008, 03:59 PM)
am definitely get MGS special edition  drool.gif
u rich one... no prob... tongue.gif... hmm still waiting for the release & u all give la review... & try to poison me to buy this game..la.. biggrin.gif....
snipersnake
post Apr 2 2008, 04:05 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

Guys, is the MGS avaliable in SG Psn yet?
TSMgsrulz
post Apr 2 2008, 04:38 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Apr 2 2008, 02:17 PM)
april fool but AWESOME! who would have thought ubisoft and konami collaborate to aprilfool people?! really hoping for an unlockable! and keep that  middle finger knife usable!

potential personal comment harming metal gear experience below, read at your own risk. I'm serious.

acougan
post Apr 2 2008, 10:18 PM

590 posts

!!

http://www.jeuxvideo.fr/jeux/metal-gear-so...ts/article.html

dang! i think this week got more media abt MGS4. 8 more weeks to go! i pray no story spoilers get leaked early on the net.

liquidsny
post Apr 2 2008, 11:00 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(vorchiel @ Apr 1 2008, 11:58 PM)

laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

i really like the sound of !! at the end rclxms.gif
prazole
post Apr 2 2008, 11:50 PM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

we should have a show of hand how many ppl has preordered this game..
normal or limited..

i wan normal one enuff la.. not so elite!
but i not yet preorder hmm.gif
rtmhg
post Apr 2 2008, 11:54 PM

36 posts

Yeah me to want to preorder this game, but which shop can take preorders.
Thanks biggrin.gif
acougan
post Apr 3 2008, 12:09 AM

590 posts

i think normal US edition can preorder with bernard's shop or your favorite local shop (i'm sure there'll be ample supply - hopefully the distributors don't jack up the price too much tongue.gif)

limited edition might be more difficult to source
vorchiel
post Apr 3 2008, 12:49 AM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

http://shhhoff.gametrailers.com/gamepad/in...wblog&id=273217

Get your MGO Beta code now ! smile.gif
Muchi
post Apr 3 2008, 01:08 AM

18 posts

Hrmm, hoping that Play-Asia going to have stock for the US version of MGS4 LE sad.gif
squiggles
post Apr 3 2008, 02:18 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(vorchiel @ Apr 3 2008, 12:49 AM)
Thanx Vorchiel smile.gif i've registered mine too, cant wait for it rclxms.gif
jsc_tidus
post Apr 3 2008, 02:52 AM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

MGOnline going to be a download one?? no wonder its just a bundled-together with MGS4..
snipersnake
post Apr 3 2008, 08:40 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

http://uk.ps3.ign.com/articles/863/863825p1.html

fcuk yeah.
acougan
post Apr 3 2008, 12:25 PM

590 posts

^ nice! thumbup.gif i dont dare read too much details in case or spoilers or giving myself too much hype

but,

Fourteen people from around the world gathered together at the Konami Super Campus in Nasu to experience one of the most anticipated titles in recent history
14 ppl? did kojima productions lure 14 journalist into their secret base? maybe kojima brainwashed them and implanted the AI of the 12 patriots into those poor souls laugh.gif

aaron5829
post Apr 3 2008, 12:39 PM

135 posts

Kojima said, MGS4 is 1 out of 10 what he intended to do.

That guy is nuts !!

He's insane !!
samurai20
post Apr 3 2008, 12:44 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

haha.. that right.. kojima plz make again ZOE.. i want to play weiiii..... sad.gif
aaron5829
post Apr 3 2008, 01:43 PM

135 posts

Yeah man, ZOE was an amazing experience, but too short la the game ...
visva
post Apr 3 2008, 01:49 PM

19 posts

I heard MSG4 reelease on June 12th... so will that be in english version as well?
hyakushiki84
post Apr 3 2008, 02:57 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(visva @ Apr 3 2008, 01:49 PM)
I heard MSG4 reelease on June 12th... so will that be in english version as well?
both ver
worldwide / simultaneous release

icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
KoNz3n
post Apr 3 2008, 03:03 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(samurai20 @ Apr 3 2008, 12:44 PM)
haha.. that right.. kojima plz make again ZOE.. i want to play weiiii..... sad.gif
YEA WEH ZOE : THE 2ND RUNNER WAS AWESOMEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEee rclxms.gif ! Even though can be finished fast but u'll nvr get sick of it playing it over again on diff difficulties ! omg I love the V-cannon ! ( cn't remember if it's the right name since the last time i played was ages ago )
samurai20
post Apr 3 2008, 04:03 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

ZOE is the best robot game ever... laugh.gif.... very fast & Anubis ROCK!!!!... kojima plz make another ZOE.... after finish MGS.... biggrin.gif....
Ninja
post Apr 3 2008, 04:34 PM

1,764 posts

Warning To All: If you're a MGS fan who's already sold on this game, I suggest avoiding any and all media that drops between now and its launch. The surprises it has in store for you simply shouldn't be spoiled. laugh.gif

The 4 best things about MGS4 (according to GamePro.com who attend the MGS4 Boot Camp)

Kyoyagami
post Apr 3 2008, 04:39 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

After reading the IGN hands on, i would say that i am very envious of all the people, who finally finished the damn game (ie the reporters). With GT and MGS 4, this year is enough to bring the house down for PS3.

Time to save up for a HDTV and a PS3.
samurai20
post Apr 3 2008, 04:50 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

dammit ninja.. more racun.. hmmm better GFX than Gear of war.. laugh.gif.... kena tapau GOW.. muahahha
acougan
post Apr 3 2008, 04:51 PM

590 posts

YES, nearing June, pls be aware when visiting gaming forums or even reading random msgs from your PSN. sure got some jerk trying to spread story spoilers here and there tongue.gif

who knows, mb when u go collect from bernard's shop, he will also tell a story spoiler!? laugh.gif
slickz
post Apr 3 2008, 04:52 PM

2,149 posts

ok this is it.... my personal media blackout for MGS4 for me begins now. I'll see u guys again in this thread once I finish the game. Cheers!
samurai20
post Apr 3 2008, 04:52 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

kasi tembak sapa kasi spoiler in this forum ... before MGS game release... dry.gif
acougan
post Apr 3 2008, 04:58 PM

590 posts

LoL, i send a friend request to slickz's PSN on june 12

nerd
post Apr 3 2008, 05:25 PM

3,373 posts

alright. media blackout commences NOW!
tolorati
post Apr 3 2008, 06:18 PM

596 posts

same here for me.. no more mgs4 medias

I want to be surprised! drool.gif
skidd
post Apr 3 2008, 07:25 PM

254 posts

sah aku beli lcd tv for this game .. (rak tv dah beli dah .. )

This post has been edited by skidd: Apr 3 2008, 07:25 PM
OmniAtlas
post Apr 4 2008, 03:22 AM

946 posts

YES, woo hoo, got into the online beta program!! okay i can't wait. Now lets just hope they don't region lock it or we're SOL.

This post has been edited by OmniAtlas: Apr 4 2008, 03:26 AM
snipersnake
post Apr 4 2008, 08:29 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

what is..

'Gears of War'?
hyakushiki84
post Apr 4 2008, 03:55 PM

33 posts

ohh?
media blackout here arr?
good move, save yourselves from any spoilers icon_rolleyes.gif
so i guess this topic will soon gonna get quiet & quiet till june 12 wink.gif
samurai20
post Apr 4 2008, 03:59 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Apr 4 2008, 08:29 AM)
what is..

'Gears of War'?
itu gear of war .. aa.. play guna 360 machine.. already 1 year old game.... busan weii.. to play this game.. tongue.gif
insane.gamer
post Apr 4 2008, 10:44 PM

944 posts

WOW ... the metal gear solid premium pack $699 on play asia is looking awesome .... any1 getting it?
MGS4 premium pack
mfa333
post Apr 5 2008, 12:57 AM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

QUOTE(insane.gamer @ Apr 4 2008, 10:44 PM)
WOW ... the metal gear solid premium pack $699 on play asia is looking awesome .... any1 getting it?
MGS4 premium pack
too expensive for 40gb ps3.. sad.gif

i wish they will release that color later without mgs4 bundled...
post Apr 5 2008, 08:49 AM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(mfa333 @ Apr 5 2008, 12:57 AM)
too expensive for 40gb ps3.. sad.gif

i wish they will release that color later without mgs4 bundled...
too expensive for tat bundle! RM2200++ for 40gb! The max for the SE MGS4 game onli may only be RM400+- tat means this console is around RM1800 for the color and dual shock! An old PS3 60gb price!
SSJBen
post Apr 5 2008, 02:38 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(insane.gamer @ Apr 4 2008, 10:44 PM)
MGS4 premium pack
If that was a 80GB, I may have thought about it. But no way, 40GB for RM2200+, thats crazy.
nerd
post Apr 5 2008, 03:51 PM

3,373 posts

$699!!

ridiculous. might as well I get the LE pack only.

shamrawk
post Apr 5 2008, 04:33 PM

453 posts

huhu.. that color is limited.. that why so mahal... huhu aiseh RM2000++ ... doh.gif ..
obefiend
post Apr 5 2008, 04:47 PM

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilluminati
863 posts

http://ps3.psu.com/Metal-Gear-Solid-4--Gun...iots-__g190.php

dunnno if this posted yet. might as well paste it here. the graphics does look sick!
eismeal
post Apr 5 2008, 11:07 PM

I dont care about the price... i've been saving for it a year now i have enough hehehehe but eh!!! .... hold on!!! THE BUNDLE IS SOLD OUT!!!

cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by eismeal: Apr 5 2008, 11:12 PM
TSMgsrulz
post Apr 5 2008, 11:54 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

damn old stuff,but pfft..whatever whistling.gif

as i mentioned in the previous MGS4 thread opened (and i believe closed by snipersnake rclxs0.gif ),here's a link to the interview,on how ubisoft and kojima productions inspire each other: inspire

now something i never knew:
Talking about Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots, he continued, "The rest we adjust depending on the region. For example, the new system where you can read books to restore your spirit is in all versions of the game, but things like the speed of the recovery are changed depending on region."

i wonder which version recovers the fastest... hmm.gif
Even if violence is pretty much a staple in Metal Gear since its first iteration, Kojima said he doesn't want it to be senseless. "If you don't see the pain, you can't understand what you've done, and you'll pass through battles without taking responsibility for your actions. I don't want to ignore that. I want players to think, even if it's just a little, about what violence and war are."

could it be the reason why jack thompson doesnt attack MGS very much(if at all)? hmm.gif

I've got to choose my words carefully so that I'm not misunderstood, but I think there are fewer developers around today who think about making a good game. As a creator, I find that sad, but when I see teams like the Assassin's Creed team it gives me confidence. I want Assassin's Creed to sell well.
cool.gif
jsc_tidus
post Apr 5 2008, 11:57 PM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

the colour pays the most of ur money in the MGS4 bundle.. man, its hefty RM2+++!!... i could go for a:

PS3 40GB
DS3
MGS4 game
Upgrade the ps3 hdd to 160GB
buy a skin for the PS3 @ airbrushed it...! sweat.gif
OmniAtlas
post Apr 6 2008, 03:29 AM

946 posts

Hm..found this on a site:

"Konami Insider wrote:
Here's the deal, we're well aware of PS3 owners applying to subscribe to the MGS Online Beta which is currently limited to Japanese PSN account holders (i.e. Japanese residents), anyone subscribing with a PSN id which isn't registered from a Japanese PSN account will not be accepted into the program. However, we're also well aware that a large number of unscrupulous members have signed up for a Japanese PSN as well. Any member who has signed up to the Japanese PSN with fake or invalid details will be flagged at this point and their PSN accounts suspended pending further enquiries, in addition all beta members have to fill out an initial beta slip sent to their registered Japanese address. If they fail to return this beta slip, their access to the beta programme will become suspended.

It is our effort to only offer beta testing to qualified individuals who can offer us quality assurances on the beta versions of any of our software. Members abusing this system will be reported to Sony (worldwide) and it will be our request that such accounts or sub accounts will be banned from participation in ANY beta program in future and in cases where information supplied is fraudulent access to the relevant PSN networks will also be restricted to them."

Edion
post Apr 6 2008, 05:04 AM

My dad just ordered the LE from gamestop. The shop gave him a trial disc. I suspect tat's the one for mgs online. So get urs fast those who are in the US!!!
Muchi
post Apr 6 2008, 10:31 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(Edion @ Apr 6 2008, 05:04 AM)
My dad just ordered the LE from gamestop. The shop gave him a trial disc. I suspect tat's the one for mgs online. So get urs fast those who are in the US!!!
Omg!! Can tumpang? laugh.gif
Edion
post Apr 6 2008, 10:33 AM

Haha he preordered it and going to collect in July when he is going back to US. So have to wait...
samurai20
post Apr 6 2008, 10:50 AM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

A solemn look at America's MGS4 box

amazon.com has just posted an image which looks like the official US box art for Metal Gear Solid 4. It's a rather classy affair, zooming on Snake's aged face. He looks rather contemplative, his eyes filled with a tiredness only years of war and fighting can create. The colorless box art reminds us that this will be a serious affair, one we're sure will play with our delicate heartstrings quite dramatically.

For those with bigger wallets, you may be interested in MGS4's limited edition box, available exclusively at GameStop.

Link:
MGS4

Nice Cover... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif .. snake fake look so OLD... laugh.gif

TSMgsrulz
post Apr 6 2008, 10:55 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

correct me if im wrong,but if that is the real box cover,it would be the first time a 3d model,and not a sketch,is used..
samurai20
post Apr 6 2008, 10:57 AM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

yeah... kojima always use.. sketches box art... hmm why this time they use full 3d model... hope this cover is fake.... biggrin.gif... (just take from website... tongue.gif)
Muchi
post Apr 6 2008, 12:04 PM

18 posts

@Edion - but he will be back on July with the game? I am desperate to get my hands on the LE version.. lol. So it's possible to pass you the money to purchase it if I wanted? laugh.gif

About the box art, I prefer the sketch ones though.
Edion
post Apr 6 2008, 07:38 PM

@muchi
I am currently in London...will be back in June. So, i dun think it's possibe...so sorry. Anyway, good luck in ur search!
Muchi
post Apr 6 2008, 09:22 PM

18 posts

Haha it's ok. I am asking around with my friends too. You are one lucky son of a gun to get that LE laugh.gif
jsc_tidus
post Apr 7 2008, 02:32 AM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

new ps3's MGS4 bundle box-art from Amazon.com.. :

clngu
post Apr 7 2008, 01:00 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

this 80GB ... no matter how ... I will go get it ... who want to tumpang with me smile.gif
samurai20
post Apr 7 2008, 01:01 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

walaweiii.. what happen to ur 60g PS3.... wanna throw in sungai klang ke?? tongue.gif....
clngu
post Apr 7 2008, 01:06 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(samurai20 @ Apr 7 2008, 01:01 PM)
walaweiii.. what happen to ur 60g PS3.... wanna throw in sungai klang ke?? tongue.gif....
60GB PS3 ... give to someone loh ... or may be sell it here smile.gif
TSMgsrulz
post Apr 7 2008, 01:19 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

how much you wanna let it go? whistling.gif

now THIS,is sweet!
samurai20
post Apr 7 2008, 02:10 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

hehe..

doh.gif so which cover they will use for final product.. . hmmm
nerd
post Apr 7 2008, 02:18 PM

3,373 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Apr 7 2008, 01:00 PM)
this 80GB ... no matter how ... I will go get it ... who want to tumpang with me  smile.gif
it's 500USD right?

and it doesn't really matter if I get a NTSC/UC machine, since games are region-free anyway..

pls inform me if you're getting one without too much mark-ups from the stated 500USD, may wanna tumpang as well smile.gif

This post has been edited by nerd: Apr 7 2008, 02:19 PM
jsc_tidus
post Apr 7 2008, 04:15 PM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

haha, dont know which one to hype on, GTA4 or MGS4.. haha..
clngu
post Apr 7 2008, 04:19 PM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Apr 7 2008, 04:15 PM)
haha, dont know which one to hype on, GTA4 or MGS4.. haha..
Bro, take both smile.gif
wallance13
post Apr 7 2008, 06:06 PM

130 posts

COUNTDOWN timer :
D:65 ; H:05 ; M:52 ; S:30

This post has been edited by wallance13: Apr 7 2008, 06:07 PM
acougan
post Apr 7 2008, 09:50 PM

590 posts

Asian Version (English language) ETA Jun 12, 2008

rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif drool.gif biggrin.gif

let's support R3 version! laugh.gif
skyracer
post Apr 7 2008, 10:12 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Apr 7 2008, 09:50 PM)

rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif  thumbup.gif  drool.gif  biggrin.gif

let's support R3 version!  laugh.gif
Yup, getting this version oso.
agingamer
post Apr 7 2008, 10:28 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Apr 7 2008, 09:50 PM)

rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif  thumbup.gif  drool.gif  biggrin.gif

let's support R3 version!  laugh.gif
Any of our local suppliers doing a pre-order on this? Limited edition?
acougan
post Apr 7 2008, 11:04 PM

590 posts

asian version maybe also got LE, but no details so far

http://www.play-asia.com/paOS-13-71-bp-77-...22-70-2oin.html

IMO, nothing they announce so far for the LE is really tempting me to spend extra. maybe if got figurine, then i'll change my mind laugh.gif

This post has been edited by acougan: Apr 7 2008, 11:08 PM
TSMgsrulz
post Apr 8 2008, 12:25 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

i hear the new zealand version comes with a figurine

This post has been edited by Mgsrulz: Apr 8 2008, 12:26 AM
dattebayo
post Apr 8 2008, 12:33 AM

5,366 posts

will this game run in 1080p natively?

TSMgsrulz
post Apr 8 2008, 12:46 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

not sure,but Kojima has gone on record with his dislike of the "HD race"

i think he'll settle for 720p
dattebayo
post Apr 8 2008, 12:48 AM

5,366 posts

hoho.. but using a dual layer bluray disc... that's gonna be a damn long game if not using 1080p sweat.gif
TSMgsrulz
post Apr 8 2008, 12:50 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

not necessarily..
they(kojima productions) have been hyping up the SOUND effects of the game(hell,more so than the graphics!) which is pure lossless audio...taking up tons and tons of space.

MGS4 could very well be shorter than MGS3,we wont know for sure(yet)

Added on April 8, 2008, 12:54 ami think it was in the previous E for all,where ryan payton said the "sound guys are really hardcore...you can actually hear the sound of the actor's voice breaking and whatnot....while others use mp3s and other compressed audio,they are going for pure audio"

i paraphrase,ofcourse

This post has been edited by Mgsrulz: Apr 8 2008, 12:54 AM
SSJBen
post Apr 8 2008, 02:30 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Apr 8 2008, 12:33 AM)
will this game run in 1080p natively?
In the recent hands-on in the MGS4 bootcamp by the 14 "pro" reviewers recently, one of them said that the game is running in native 720p and 60fps. However, it is said that 720p is not final.

wallance13
post Apr 8 2008, 04:14 AM

130 posts

So an LCD TV with double Hz which is 120hz wont make any diff since the game only max out at 60fps.. XD

I wonder PS3's lens can read smoothly onot on the dual layer BR disc. o.O
TSMgsrulz
post Apr 8 2008, 08:25 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(wallance13 @ Apr 8 2008, 04:14 AM)
So an LCD TV with double Hz which is 120hz wont make any diff since the game only max out at 60fps.. XD

could contribute another reason why it isnt 1080p(assuming it isnt)

Muchi
post Apr 8 2008, 10:14 AM

18 posts

At long fcuking last, LE for Asia rclxm9.gif icon_idea.gif laugh.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Muchi: Apr 8 2008, 10:15 AM
acougan
post Apr 8 2008, 11:14 AM

590 posts

actually, looking back at the various Asian Editions of the past, it is safe to assume that IF they were to make an Asian Version LE, it will contain the same things as JPN version LE.

so LE = 1 outer cardbox + 1 game BR (English) + 1 "making of" BR (steel casing)

price maybe another 20%~30% more depending on how "limited" the stock.
snipersnake
post Apr 8 2008, 12:19 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

what I can assure you, definately this will not happen!!

post Apr 8 2008, 12:42 PM

1,447 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Apr 8 2008, 12:19 PM)
what I can assure you, definately this will not happen!!

lol good one
Muchi
post Apr 8 2008, 03:11 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Apr 8 2008, 11:14 AM)
so LE = 1 outer cardbox + 1 game BR (English) + 1 "making of" BR (steel casing)

The extra blu-ray disc comes with, two "making of" documentaries, four chapters of the graphic novel and Metal Gear import soundtrack rclxms.gif laugh.gif
SSJBen
post Apr 8 2008, 03:31 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

You got it wrong. A TV's refresh rate has nothing to do with a game's FPS.

The PS3 should have no problems reading dual-layered Blu-Rays(why should there be anyways?). Because if it has, some sort of word must have broken out by now.
K-End
post Apr 8 2008, 08:32 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(clngu @ Apr 7 2008, 01:00 PM)
this 80GB ... no matter how ... I will go get it ... who want to tumpang with me  smile.gif
me want!!!!

but how did you will get it?...AFAIK, Amazaon wont ship this bundle outside of US. Unless you're planning to order & go the pick it up yourself
TSMgsrulz
post Apr 8 2008, 09:22 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

MGO is included with MGS4, but it will be the bare bones to be added to and upgraded in time.

The opening credits (of MGS4) were designed by Logan, the people that did the hugely successful ipod ads.

The story visits more locations and embraces more styles than any MGS to date.

A 'virtual range' will be included from the main menu. Here you can test the huge amount of weapons in MGS4 as well as the various advanced CQC techniques in the game. drool.gif  brows.gif  rclxms.gif

The game will feature various details to play around with such as highly detailed and fashionable consumer gadgets.

MGS4 has been 4 years in development.

There will be one hell of a big bang of a final to the game. Not a whimper. This will blow you away.

Snake is a slave to injections that keep him alive.

The sneaking play of the originals with it's air ducts and cameras has now become a fast pace living battlefield of traps and innovations.

The control system is 'revised and improved'

The Gekkou (the mechs with organic legs that make mooing sounds) will work in packs to hunt you down. They can sense past your optic camo if they think something is amiss.

Snake will have two new energy bars that makes Snakes advanced age impossible to ignore:

Stress: This rises in response to fight conditions. This can work with him, giving him hightened senses such as accuracy and sustained damage being halved. But if in this condition for too long, snake will crash causing him to become exposed to his illness. a drag on a cig will help him calm down however.

Psyche: This affects your general state of mind in the field.The balancing of these two bars will affect your progress.

You can use a camera to sneak away from your mission objectives and record incidents happening on the battlefield in secret. Some can be 'unpredictable and dangerous' There is something special about the camera this time around but EDGE were not allowed to say what.

There is a "surprising degree of explorative freedom" in the game. You can choose to engage in battles if you wish, or just ignore them. Friends and enemies can be gain this way if you do choose to help one side out.

Drebin (the arms dealer with the small monkey) will be important to the story and will also act as Snakes weapons dealer.

Productions values transcend modern video games: A Hollywood grade surround sound and moving track score by Harry Gregson Williams. Electrifying cut scenes and a sense of closure "more suited to Return of the King than Halo 3". laugh.gif pwned whistling.gif

There is so much tucked away in the game that some things won't be discovered until months or even years after your first play.(normal la,right? thumbup.gif )

Kojima says: As for future MGS I would love to produce rather than direct. But as far as Snake is concerned, this is it. It's over".

Source: EDGE magazine U.K

it would've been great if we had to manually inject the serum into snake (few months/years ago kojima confirmed sony didnt like the idea,so it had to be scrapped mad.gif vmad.gif )
imagine running away from the gekkou,and having your stress meter and psyche go all nuts,and you having to scramble to find the serum and inject it before being stomped on by them brows.gif rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif
Muchi
post Apr 8 2008, 10:06 PM

18 posts

*keeps refreshing the pre-order page for Asian MSG4 LE*

laugh.gif tongue.gif
SSJBen
post Apr 8 2008, 11:41 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

I notice that there will be 2 language versions for Asia, the English and Jap.

Now I wonder if the Asian version(english) will have any diference from the US version.
darren_1084
post Apr 9 2008, 12:12 AM

83 posts

Just want to know what is the content of bonus bluray disc for special edition?
The game will included the activation key for mgo?

This post has been edited by darren_1084: Apr 9 2008, 12:13 AM
TSMgsrulz
post Apr 9 2008, 12:39 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(darren_1084 @ Apr 9 2008, 12:12 AM)
The game will included the activation key for mgo?
dude,post #435..read it sleep.gif
lightonokira
post Apr 9 2008, 02:02 AM

788 posts

looks like the mgs 4 bundle ps3 is black
TSMgsrulz
post Apr 9 2008, 05:32 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

brows.gif biggrin.gif
TSMgsrulz
post Apr 9 2008, 05:33 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

brows.gif rclxm9.gif drool.gif

Credit
samurai20
post Apr 9 2008, 05:43 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

damn major spoiler.. MUST BUY GAME.. tongue.gif
atnot
post Apr 9 2008, 06:46 PM

64 days to go.....
justone
post Apr 9 2008, 07:20 PM

justone
1,067 posts

that reminds me abt my exam cry.gif

but nvm, at the very next day i'll get this damn game!
TSMgsrulz
post Apr 9 2008, 10:07 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(justone @ Apr 9 2008, 07:20 PM)
that reminds me abt my exam cry.gif
laugh.gif good thing mine will be way over by the time this game comes out thumbup.gif rclxm9.gif
nerd
post Apr 9 2008, 11:26 PM

3,373 posts

I refused to read those scans tongue.gif
hyakushiki84
post Apr 9 2008, 11:40 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(nerd @ Apr 9 2008, 11:26 PM)
I refused to read those scans tongue.gif
same here. really cant risk reading any possible spoilers
entered this topic and saw those pic up there
immediately I scroll down to the next post
TerryZeroX
post Apr 10 2008, 01:47 AM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

Wonder when can we preorder this at our local game shops tongue.gif
snipersnake
post Apr 10 2008, 08:07 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

hahaha...will this fit 10 dvds? hahhaha!!

anyhow, once I receive my copy, will go on annual leave for 3,4 days. hahahah
TSMgsrulz
post Apr 10 2008, 09:22 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

laugh.gif second honeymoon,eh?

or is this the real honeymoon...? XD
post Apr 10 2008, 09:27 AM

1,447 posts

ahhhh the game look even nicer! I cant wait for it but in the end no choice but still have to wait! Unless we go raid Konami HQ and steal the game!
samurai20
post Apr 10 2008, 10:15 AM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

Just go to MPH.. no copies of PSM3... doh.gif.. wanna buy to see the "spoiler".. laugh.gif...
TSMgsrulz
post Apr 10 2008, 10:35 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

PSM3 is one of the more expensive mags,IIRC...

so samurai20,go buy and scan a clearer version for us whistling.gif
samurai20
post Apr 10 2008, 10:37 AM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

cant find the copy la... maybe 2-3 more day to arrive at our local store.... dry.gif...
disket
post Apr 10 2008, 01:20 PM

I'm Back!!
2,464 posts

Got my MGO key! laugh.gif

Muchi
post Apr 10 2008, 01:27 PM

18 posts

You are currently not in M'sia are you? Lucky you man...
samurai20
post Apr 10 2008, 01:38 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

dammit ko lucky disket.. pinjam code.. biggrin.gif
Muchi
post Apr 10 2008, 02:05 PM

18 posts

Hrmm now that I look at it properly, I got the Metal Gear Saga Vol. 2 from the 20th Anniversary Collection.

Hrmm does the Asian version LE comes with the MGO code I wonder hmm.gif
atnot
post Apr 10 2008, 02:41 PM

63 days more.......
disket
post Apr 10 2008, 02:44 PM

I'm Back!!
2,464 posts

QUOTE(Muchi @ Apr 10 2008, 01:27 PM)
You are currently not in M'sia are you? Lucky you man...
Haha no I'm in Malaysia. I've a friend in the states that helped me get the LE. As you can see there're 2 boxes in the pic, one for her and one for me tongue.gif rclxms.gif
acougan
post Apr 10 2008, 05:59 PM

590 posts

^this is the same fren that help you buy MGS3:S LE back then, eh? nice! thumbup.gif

ask your fren to go for midnight MGS4 sale. sure lawak, with all those fans lining up and camping in cardboxes/tong kosong like Snake laugh.gif
Muchi
post Apr 10 2008, 06:03 PM

18 posts

Lucky b@st@rd lol. Don't forget to post screenshots of MGO!!!
TSMgsrulz
post Apr 10 2008, 11:21 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

Konami has told Eurogamer that it will be announcing its European Metal Gear Online beta plans "shortly".

Its comments follow (at a safe and undetectable distance) word earlier that sign-ups to the MGO beta in Japan appear to be inaccessible to those of us with Western-originating IP addresses.

Source: http://www.eurogamer.net/article.php?article_id=131231

could there be something for us,too?
usually EU gets nothing,but now they get the beta....KP must be under alot of pressure to deliver tongue.gif sweat.gif
samurai20
post Apr 11 2008, 12:22 AM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

Metal Gear Solid 4 standard and limited editions finalized

US gamers: If for some reason, staring into Old Snake's tired eyes makes you uncomfortable, you may want to settle for Konami's special edition of the game. Exclusively available at GameStop, this edition will feature exclusive artwork by Kojima Productions illustrator Yoji Shinkawa. The Limited Edition will contain everything that is included with the Standard Edition as well as an additional Blu-ray disc featuring two "making of" documentaries. The documentaries will include extensive interviews with Metal Gear Solid creator Hideo Kojima and the Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots Soundtrack CD.

The Limited Edition will be available exclusively at GameStop for $85. Check out all high-res packaging for North America in our brand new gallery.

Link:
MGS4

Nice~~ rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by samurai20: Apr 11 2008, 12:23 AM
Muchi
post Apr 11 2008, 12:29 AM

18 posts

Now all we need is the Asian version for MGS4 LE and the announcement of an Asian beta test for MGO!! vmad.gif

This post has been edited by Muchi: Apr 11 2008, 12:29 AM
aaron5829
post Apr 11 2008, 10:08 AM

135 posts

I dont like the cover of old snake's face.. sad.gif
disket
post Apr 11 2008, 11:44 AM

I'm Back!!
2,464 posts

Agagagga the LE box looks nice, no regrets pre-ordering LE haha laugh.gif
Kyoyagami
post Apr 11 2008, 12:44 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

I love the cover on the Standard one. The detail is sweet...
-Paragon-
post Apr 11 2008, 12:45 PM

21 posts

Hopefully the Standard version for Asian version(English language) will be different?
atnot
post Apr 11 2008, 01:06 PM

62 days to go.....
hyakushiki84
post Apr 11 2008, 01:13 PM

33 posts

wooohohoho........
the LE boxart, thats more i like it !!!! drool.gif
acougan
post Apr 11 2008, 01:14 PM

590 posts

gunmetal ps3 looks good drool.gif

nerd
post Apr 11 2008, 01:18 PM

3,373 posts

damn! that's beautiful matte black!
Ninja
post Apr 11 2008, 02:48 PM

1,764 posts

Old Snake on His Way to Unreal Tournament III

The current list of video game all-stars making unauthorized appearances in Unreal Tournament 3 thus far includes Master Chief from Halo, Samus Aran from Metroid and now Snake from Metal Gear Solid. Specifically, we're talking about Old Snake from MGS 4, the latest top biller to get a fan made UT3 mod.

The model isn't quite complete yet, but it is coming along very nice and smoothly. We look forward to its finish.

Source: http://play-beyond.net/2008/04/11/old-snak...tournament-iii/
shamrawk
post Apr 11 2008, 03:47 PM

453 posts

the Standard box cover more like Clint Eastwood movie dvd box .. laugh.gif huhu aiseh gunmetal ps3 ... sweat.gif cry.gif
TSMgsrulz
post Apr 11 2008, 04:37 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

the mgs4 bundle(with ps3) comes with a voucher for PAIN
acougan
post Apr 11 2008, 04:46 PM

590 posts

so, US 80GB MGS4 bundle is pretty good value

USD499 (before taxes)

- 80GB PS3 with PS2 BC capability
- MGS4 game
- DS3
- a free PSN game
- collectible MGS4 bundle box laugh.gif

too bad, hard to source this around here, unless know a good importer and ways to avoid kastam tax tongue.gif
prazole
post Apr 11 2008, 05:16 PM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

wow i love that matted one
who wants my ps3? laugh.gif
MmxZero
post Apr 11 2008, 06:38 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Apr 11 2008, 04:46 PM)

so, US 80GB MGS4 bundle is pretty good value

USD499 (before taxes)

- 80GB PS3 with PS2 BC capability
- MGS4 game
- DS3
- a free PSN game
- collectible MGS4 bundle box  laugh.gif

too bad, hard to source this around here, unless know a good importer and ways to avoid kastam tax tongue.gif
I kinda regret buying my PS3 so early. I should have gone for this. cry.gif

Well, launch is after my exam which I'm so happy.
SSJBen
post Apr 11 2008, 09:09 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

The free PSN game is PAIN.

Nice touch Sony!
K-End
post Apr 11 2008, 09:23 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 11 2008, 09:09 PM)
The free PSN game is PAIN.

Nice touch Sony!
and most of the one who aims for the MGS4 80g PS3 Bundle will live in FEAR with the fact they has a small probability to get it. With all the FURY within they try to get it no matter what although it will be END with a SORROW

damn..im bored & stressed....i want the LE & the 80g Bundle
Ninja
post Apr 11 2008, 11:02 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Apr 10 2008, 11:21 PM)

Konami has told Eurogamer that it will be announcing its European Metal Gear Online beta plans "shortly".

Its comments follow (at a safe and undetectable distance) word earlier that sign-ups to the MGO beta in Japan appear to be inaccessible to those of us with Western-originating IP addresses.

Source: http://www.eurogamer.net/article.php?article_id=131231

could there be something for us,too?
usually EU gets nothing,but now they get the beta....KP must be under alot of pressure to deliver tongue.gif  sweat.gif
MGO Beta Free Download For All Europeans: No Pre-Order Needed

Konami invites all PLAYSTATION(R)3 users to take part in the official Beta Phase of Metal Gear Online!

Metal Gear Online Premiere Beta will be available as a free download on the PLAYSTATION(R) Store from April 17th (12:00 CEST) until May 6th (10:00 CEST).

The beta phase features two maps, four gameplay modes, the SOP System that encourages up to 16 players to team up and share information, and deep skill-customization. Also equipped with auto-matching and training modes, the game offers players a sneak peak of this totally new approach to console-based competitive gaming.

The Premiere Beta of Metal Gear Online starts on April 21st (00:00 CEST) and ends on May 6th (24:00 CEST).

Metal Gear Online will be included with Metal Gear Solid 4, which will be released on June 12, 2008.

Source: http://www.konami.jp/mgo/en/index.html
K-End
post Apr 11 2008, 11:37 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

errr..no Beta for Asian region?
TSMgsrulz
post Apr 12 2008, 11:20 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

NOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Show is on hiatus until further notice.

I'm bummed too, but gotta ship the game.

Sorry guys. Really do appreciate everyone's enthusiasm for the show.

primary source
secondary source

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gr8fr8
post Apr 12 2008, 11:40 AM

841 posts

Dont really understand what its all about...? anyone can enlighten me? rclxub.gif
Muchi
post Apr 12 2008, 11:46 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(gr8fr8 @ Apr 12 2008, 11:40 AM)
Dont really understand what its all about...? anyone can enlighten me?  rclxub.gif
I think it's because the weekly Kojima Production Report for this week was a no show. That is why.
aaron5829
post Apr 12 2008, 12:04 PM

135 posts

Hahahaha.. pre-ordered special edition... RM320 !! rclxm9.gif
edvpc
post Apr 12 2008, 12:48 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(aaron5829 @ Apr 12 2008, 12:04 PM)
wow the price... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
acougan
post Apr 12 2008, 12:55 PM

590 posts

QUOTE(aaron5829 @ Apr 12 2008, 12:04 PM)
?? did u pre-order the correct version? i know P-A is offering RM320 for Spec.Ed. JPN version... u want to play the whole game in JPN? tongue.gif

asian ENG version only RM180. free but SLOW airmail shipping FTW! laugh.gif
TSMgsrulz
post Apr 12 2008, 03:06 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(gr8fr8 @ Apr 12 2008, 11:40 AM)
Dont really understand what its all about...? anyone can enlighten me?  rclxub.gif
the Kojima Productions Report that comes out every thursday has been put on hold indefinitely.

Ryan Payton and a guest usually discuss pretty much everything on that show..

the previous few they talked about monster hunter and said how much they look like capcom supporters laugh.gif
TSMgsrulz
post Apr 12 2008, 03:59 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

Metal Gear Online

Metal Gear is a name that comes with baggage. Think of Metal Gear, and you think of Solid Snake, of Revolver Ocelot, Big Boss, Raiden, Otacon and a host of other improbably named characters down through the past ten years. You think of the excitement around Metal Gear Solid, the hype around MGS2, perhaps the satisfaction of MGS3's return to form. You think of Hideo Kojima's complex, philosophy-laden storylines and self-indulgent cut-scenes, and his constant claims that the next MGS will be his last - and the next, and the next. Metal Gear's baggage has piled up to the point where this is a videogaming institution, upon which many gamers have strong views. Whether it's a love of the series' great characters, a hatred for the dodgy pacing and interminable codec dialogue sequences, or a simple case of old-fashioned platform fanboyism, it's not hard to find those who profess either to love or to hate Metal Gear.

What's often forgotten - buried, to stretch this metaphor a little further on our creaking introductory rack, under the weight of all this baggage - is that Metal Gear boasts fundamental, solid game mechanics. Sure, sometimes it forgets to let you play for a bit too long, but ten years of development have honed MGS' basic elements of sneaking, shooting and hand-to-hand combat.
Snake Free Zone

That's what Metal Gear Online is, then. It's Metal Gear Solid stripped down to its bare essentials, shorn of its characters, its cut-scenes and its cinematic ambitions. Divested of the storytelling elements that have provoked so much love and so much hate from gamers, Metal Gear Online instead offers up stealth and combat in their purest form - no cut-scenes, no missions, just 16 players waging online battles. Admittedly, this isn't the first time that Metal Gear Solid has sported an online component. MGS3's second incarnation, Subsistence, and the PSP's first proper MGS title, Portable Ops, both allowed players to take the game online, and both implemented it pretty well. However, neither console is noted for its online play, and it's fair to argue that Metal Gear Online on the PS3 represents the first really high-profile effort to bring the series online.

The game's conceit is that it's a VR training device - which gives it an excuse for nice digital effects when players spawn, as well as 3D indicators in parts of the maps.

Although it's being described as a standalone title, we're not actually sure how MGO is going to end up in our hands. An announcement at TGS last year revealed a plan to bundle a "starter pack" for the game with MGS4, with players then expanding it through content packs purchased on the PlayStation Store. There's some suggestion that the "starter" game will also be available as a download, putting this into the same league as the likes of Warhawk at the forefront of Sony's ambitious digital distribution plans.

However it arrives in the end, Metal Gear Online is shaping up to be a high profile part of the whole MGS4 circus when it finally rolls into town. Taking its cues from the game's own tale of near-future warfare and battling private military companies (PMCs), it's a great looking multiplayer shooter with realistic weapons and equipment - not to mention the weight of ten years of evolution, polish, grit and humour behind it.

It's a third-person shooter, with up to 16 players filling out maps that range in size from about the scale of three or four decent-sized (albeit bombed-out) houses up to the expanse of a large abandoned factory and warehouse complex. Each character is customised, both visually (clothes, accessories and facial appearance) and in terms of abilities, which are set by the player as Skills and subsequently enhanced by an experience system as you play.

That customisation will be a key draw. Each time you create a character, you select four skills for that character from a lengthy list - ranging from weapon proficiencies for each weapon class through to improved CQC abilities, better lock-on, more effective use of distracting items and so on. Each character retains all-round skills, so even if you don't select Sniper Rifle Mastery as a skill, you'll still be able to use sniper rifles, albeit not terribly well. These fixed skills level up as your character progresses, eventually turning him into a fairly distinctive specialist - and there's a wide range of possible skill-sets to create, so players will have a lot of latitude to hone their characters to suit their play styles.

Clothing and accessories, too, are unlocked as you progress. They're not actually relevant to the gameplay, just a way to deck out your character as you see fit - with the implication from Konami being that you'll be able to unlock or download new clothing and accessories as you progress through the game. Weapons, in-game items and equipment, by contrast, are available to all players through the load-out screen (displayed at the start of matches, or when you're waiting to respawn), and we assume that any additions to that screen will come in the form of downloaded content packs.
No Place To Hide

Once you've built your character and dived into a game, first impressions of Metal Gear Online are that it's slick and polished - even with code that's presumably months away from launch. The third-person view slips down into a much closer over-shoulder view when you press L1 to aim your weapon, and for sniping and long range firing you can tap Triangle to go into a first-person mode (although you can't move while in this mode, reflecting the game's emphasis on third-person rather than first-person play).

Close-Quarters Combat (CQC) returns, and it's still great fun - having evolved into a surprisingly comprehensive fighting game within a game.

Where that third-person emphasis becomes important is in your ability to interact with the scenery around you - always a strong point of Metal Gear Solid's game systems. Here, it's simplified into a single button, the Triangle button, which is essentially a context-sensitive action button. Push against a wall and press Triangle, and you'll flatten yourself against it; run up to a lower wall and the same button press will send you diving over it. It's a system that'll be instantly familiar to players of Gears of War, albeit slightly more flexible here - with more context-sensitive actions to be used, and a focus that's shared between stealth and cover in equal portions.

In common with the MGS single-player game, MGO also offers an auto-aim system, which targets foes once they're visible and within a certain radius of you. At first glance, this looks like a strange idea in an online shooter. However, we quickly realised that leaving auto-aiming turned on is actually a total liability. The camera swings around when an enemy comes into range, leaving you entirely disoriented, and your shooting is reduced to spraying bullets in the direction of your foe, rather than being able to target individual body parts or do anything more subtle than firing from the hip.

It's telling that the toggle for auto-aim is right there on the face buttons - Square, to be precise. We suspect that the idea isn't that players will use it constantly, since doing so will turn you into a sitting duck for anyone with a more long-range weapon - even a decent pistol. Instead, it's a rather clever way of allowing players to swing around very quickly to face an oncoming threat; tap auto-aim, target your foe, then tap auto-aim again to turn it off and resume play. It'll also be handy to keep tabs on enemies in CQC encounters, of course.

Looking beyond the auto-aim, MGO's weapons and items feel solid and entertaining. Each weapon class is heavily specialised - shotguns for close-up work, assault rifles at longer range, sniper rifles purely for the patient camper - and each one is equally deadly in the right context. There are no poor-man's weapons classes here, and while weapon damage isn't quite one-shot-kill realistic, it's close enough to be very satisfying. Especially satisfying are the tranquilliser weapons, surprisingly. These don't harm an enemy's health, but send them to sleep on the spot for a short time - allowing you or a team-mate to move in for the kill. Combined with a good forward team, an efficient sniper with a tranquiliser gun could be devastating.

Equipment, too, is well considered and implemented. One interesting feature is that explosives, while not as powerful as in some other games (you'll rarely see one-shot-kills from grenades and claymores, as in something like COD4), have realistic physics attached to them. Set off a claymore, and it may not kill you outright - but the shockwave from the blast could knock you off a ledge or a ladder, or simply throw you backwards out of cover. The usual MGS assortment of special grenades are here too - from smoke through to chaff that disrupts the enemy's overhead maps.

There are even a few of MGS' more humorous items that have made the transition through to Online. Players have a Cardboard Box in their inventory, which initially seems silly - until you realise that many levels are littered with the things, making them into a surprisingly good disguise that can sometimes see enemies walking right past you without noticing. The adult magazine, too, makes a return - throwing it on the ground can force other players' characters to glance in that direction, distracting them from what you're doing. They're clever, light-hearted touches that give the game a unique flavour, as well as a few new tactics to exploit.
Heavy Metal

Base Missions give rise to some great chokepoints, with both teams piling in for the offence or defence of a vital area. The engine handles it all with aplomb.

The game's menus give the strong impression that Kojima Productions isn't skimping on Metal Gear Online's functionality outside the game, either. Game-types range from flag-style missions (where you actually end up competing over a small, floating, cheerful-looking rubber duck, which bobs above the head of the player carrying it) such as CTF and flag defence, through to "base missions" (where you capture and hold locations on the map, either to earn points towards victory or to win outright as the first team to hold all the locations) and simple, straightforward deathmatch. The server browser is pretty comprehensive, offering plenty of information about the games you're joining (or setting up), and we especially like the ability to give a server a rating out of five stars when you leave. Those games by control-freak or kick-happy players should quickly get booted to the bottom of the lists as a result.

A quick survey of the rest of the menus reveals further tantalising options. Photographs taken in-game can be stored on the PS3 hard drive (shades of Halo 3 here, perhaps?), while there are menu options hinting at proper support for Clans, an in-game email-style messaging system, proper support for friends lists, and of course, the MGO shop - although this sadly wasn't working, so we couldn't go in for a sneaky peek around.

Whether Metal Gear Online can succeed at being seen as anything other than the online mode of MGS4 remains to be seen - but the promise of ongoing downloadable content releases and perhaps even full online distribution for the game is very promising, assuming Konami can get the price point right. Either way, we had a huge amount of fun with an afternoon spent playing Metal Gear Online - which, after being spoiled by the likes of Halo 3 and Call of Duty 4's magnificent online modes in recent months, strikes us as extremely promising. Whatever they think of Kojima's storytelling, every fan of online shooters should be keeping a close eye on MGO.

Source

not sure if it's been posted before...quite old news(posted in february) but alot of info inside
TSMgsrulz
post Apr 12 2008, 04:16 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

Most here never got it, so here's Metal Gear Saga Vol 2;

TSMgsrulz
post Apr 12 2008, 04:50 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

It's official, it's in production and it is on shelves by the game launch on June 12th.

I've been working with contacts over at Konami and manufacturers in Asia to develop the licensed Metal Gear accessories for several months now. You are looking at the Solid Works renderings of the licensed headset which is being mass manufactured right now and will be available at game launch for $59.99.

It's a 2.0 Bluetooth headset with built in battery for PS3 as and it will also sync up with other BT compatible handsets.

- 8 hrs talk time

- 160 hrs standby

- 30' range

- Auto shut off

- Auto sync

I like the XBox360 headset. I like it because it's a very solid gaming headset; I like the silicone loop; it's comfortable to wear. I like the oversized speaker covered with soft foam that sits on your ear rather than going in it to collect your ear wax. So I designed a similar ear attachment for the MGS headset.

link:
Industrial design was inspired by one of the MGS4 gizmos that Snake will use to gather intel in the game. It's the extension of his Solid Eye system where he can peek at his enemies with this camera on wheels. If you have a solid eye, notice my headset and go buy it in June.

real?
fake?
no idea.
but it looks fantastic drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
Muchi
post Apr 12 2008, 04:54 PM

18 posts

ZOMG.. I want this!! laugh.gif
Schattenjeager
post Apr 12 2008, 05:21 PM

40 posts

I kinda thought it looked like a Solid Eye...but, y'know, for your ear. blink.gif

(Solid Ear?)

This post has been edited by Schattenjeager: Apr 12 2008, 05:29 PM
TSMgsrulz
post Apr 12 2008, 05:28 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

kotaku also doubts the authenticity of this blog...

time will tell if it is real or not.. brows.gif
jsc_tidus
post Apr 12 2008, 08:44 PM

Vader's Nephew
1,930 posts

i think it is real.. u know, kojima = extra works = extra money? haha...

but maybe the price for the headset is almost similar to the standard edition copy of MGS4.. haha..
TSMgsrulz
post Apr 12 2008, 08:50 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(jsc_tidus @ Apr 12 2008, 08:44 PM)
i think it is real.. u know, kojima = extra works = extra money? haha...

but maybe the price for the headset is almost similar to the standard edition copy of MGS4.. haha..
you forgot one thing: extra exclusivity tongue.gif
almost everything they've come out with is exclusive(100 built,600 built,etc)
MmxZero
post Apr 12 2008, 10:14 PM

189 posts

So its the beta in Asian available? If yes, I really going to update and dl that man.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1640sec    0.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:41 PM