LYN Gen2 Club V2

Beeblue85
post Mar 8 2009, 02:47 PM

Guys, i newbie in this thread. Please give me some advise. Last year i been modified my Gen 2 1.6 auto simple exhaust setup. i just modified the 4-2-1 setup extractor and take out the original 4-1 with Cat.Con and i added a bullet after the original midbox. The original S-flow muffler i still kept it in place.

The problem is i felt the exhaust flow is not that smooth and fuel consumption was not improved. rclxub.gif

But can feel the low end torque improved a bit. However High end torque and top speed were reduced. I also relocated the O2 sensor already.

Please any sifu here can give me some advise? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Beeblue85: Mar 8 2009, 02:57 PM
Beeblue85
post Apr 11 2009, 01:12 AM

I don't really agree on Large Snorkel will helps on improving our campro engine performance....

Btw, i done research alot on on Short air ram with open pod air filter of the intake system... which only improve on high rpm and high end torque which is not suitable for our campro engine.... becoz what we need is improve on low end torque... for those who like pickup la.

I am thinking of the put the old waja airbox and fix it with our old cam tak pro engine.I notice that Old waja airbox is a short air ram design and it was also a drop in filter type. Its short air ram design help improve on high air flow going into the throttle body thus minimize heat from the engine and reduced air restriction.

High Air Flow (normal air temperature) + Correct Fuel Mixture = Engine running at Efficiency Condition.

Our current original air ram was long in length and U-turn type design which i dont really think its good design becoz the air velocity has been reduced due to the air that travel slow enough and causing air turbulence to enter the throttle body which is not good.

Seems that Old Waja Air Box is good combination of both worlds but i think there might be a problem. Too much air flow going into throttle body may causing the MAF ( Mass air flow sensor ) to give error sensor readings to the ECU thus delivering bad air fuel mixture on each rpm speed. U all know la, our Gen 2's ECU is quite dumb.

Anyone here who disagree with me and have better suggestion?
Beeblue85
post Apr 11 2009, 10:20 AM

Shazmn , Sorry to hurt your feelings. I was once a gen 2 lover but.... it quite disappointed me sometimes. Our Gen 2 has a lot of potential to be a race car only the engine part is not satisfying. thumbup.gif

Actually i had worked at Speedworks at PJ here b4. They done a lot of modification to fit in a Turbo Unit into the Gen 2. Their Gen 2 turbo has failed many times .... as the original pistons can't take it and Kaboommmm !!! Its was just 0.3 bar psi.

I heard they said they changed new set pistons (its like EVO GSR Pistons , i don really remember) on the campro engine and others simple mods like cam pulleys, high performance cam shafts, AFC NEO, Hotbits open pod with short air ram, Hotbits full sets of exhaust system .... and etc. They really supportive on their own brand only. i really donno what Turbo unit they putting in ... But after their 3rd and 4th try on their Gen 2 ... they finally can maintain until 0.6 bar of psi of about 180hp. Seems that they done a fine job over there.

That's what i heard from one of their managers about their Gen 2 turbo.

Btw.... lets continue back to our topic, Can an Old Waja Air Box replace our original air ram for an increase of performance and FC reduction?

Anyone here has done that b4? What do other guys think? whistling.gif
Beeblue85
post Apr 13 2009, 09:53 AM

QUOTE(zenwarlord @ Apr 11 2009, 11:23 AM)
I'm the one that have the waja airbox on my gen2, too bad i'm selling my Gen2now.

Below are the few reasons for me to replace gen2 standard airbox.
1) Less suction noise, the airbox is located far from firewall
2) Easier maintenance, no screws only clips and easier to access
3) Shorter airflow path
4) Less heat, as the airflow is far away from engine if compare to standard that run on top of engine and airbox sit on top of manifold.

What I got in return from waja airbox:
1) Better response
2) Easier servicing
3) Less lag when engine is hot

When you said about air volume to MAF sensor, you have to clearly define either it's in WOT (open loop) or Low throttle (close loop). During WOT ECU is getting the reading from MAF while during Low throttle ECU is getting reading from O2. Which means if during WOT there are more air entered to combustion chamber and ECU will allow more fuel as well. But as long the A/F ratio did not exceeded default figure in ECU you still able to enjoy the performance.
Free Bumps for you Zenwarlord rclxms.gif

Well, actually i still doing research on IAFM system normally used by proton persona and proton BLM saga. It gives good engine response and better Fuel Consumption too. I wonder can it be fit into my Gen 2 but i was looking for 2nd hand IAFM to try it out ..... because the new sets of IAFM cost me about RM800 sad.gif ....some more i am a student, cant get student price ler ..... haih, no budget la. cry.gif

Btw, is the Simota air filter good ? hmm.gif

Beeblue85
post Apr 14 2009, 06:11 PM

Our proton gen 2 's engine always performs quite well at night especially little bit of raining. But at daytime really disappointed. That clearly shows that our engine is powerful when sucking cold air.

I wonder if our car can add a subaru impreaza scoop on the bonnet cover and make some modification on air intake system to let cold air enter into our engine all the time. Although daytime, the air is not cold enough but at least can make our engine runs more efficiently than normal.

I heard that making a big hole on our bonnet and cover it by a scoop is illegal.

What do u all think guys? blush.gif
Beeblue85
post Apr 15 2009, 12:16 PM

Recently i notice there is a white proton Gen 2 which looks like a BMW M3 bodykit .... near at PJ state here. That was another cool bodykit of Gen 2 that i had seen.

If i have chance... i will try to take a photo of it and post it right here to show u guys.....hehehe tongue.gif

0.0740sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:42 PM