T + 3 question

TSokk
post Jan 8 2008, 09:37 AM, updated 18y ago

689 posts

Hi, I just want to know if I buy shares on Tuesday, and Thursday is a public holiday, so does that mean my settlement day is on next Monday?

Thanks in advance.
dEviLs
post Jan 8 2008, 10:00 AM

Three Suns~
2,811 posts

Yup
Only count the business/market day wink.gif
porkchop
post Jan 8 2008, 01:21 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

the T day is the trading day which is the day u buy the shares??

i.e buy on Tuesday (T) + 3 (wed/thurs/fri) so meaning friday need to pay??
panasonic88
post Jan 8 2008, 01:40 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Jan 8 2008, 01:21 PM)
the T day is the trading day which is the day u buy the shares??

i.e buy on Tuesday (T) + 3 (wed/thurs/fri) so meaning friday need to pay??
correct.

you may count like this

T+0 (Tue)
T+1 (Wed)
T+2 (Thurs)
T+3 (Fri)
porkchop
post Jan 8 2008, 02:08 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

ok another question.......i can vaguely remember.....is there a need to pay interest on the stocks we buy?? and how is it calculated? daily?? i think someone mention before around 1.15% per day or something
panasonic88
post Jan 8 2008, 02:14 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Jan 8 2008, 02:08 PM)
ok another question.......i can vaguely remember.....is there a need to pay interest on the stocks we buy?? and how is it calculated? daily?? i think someone mention before around 1.15% per day or something
new brokerage fees implemented starting 2008

deal thru remisier - brokerage fees is RM 40.00 (last time was RM 12.00)
deal thru online - brokerage fees is negotiable (some investment house charged RM 12.00, some charged RM 28.00)

read here for more related discussion & which firm charged the lowest fees

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/602217
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/594355
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/593407

This post has been edited by panasonic88: Jan 8 2008, 02:15 PM
skiddtrader
post Jan 8 2008, 06:17 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jan 8 2008, 02:14 PM)
new brokerage fees implemented starting 2008

deal thru remisier - brokerage fees is RM 40.00 (last time was RM 12.00)
deal thru online - brokerage fees is negotiable (some investment house charged RM 12.00, some charged RM 28.00)

read here for more related discussion & which firm charged the lowest fees

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/602217
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/594355
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/593407
uhmm pana I think he meant about interest not charges.

No interest as far as I know of. Only interest is you get it if you leave some money in your brokerage account. I have never encountered any need to pay interest for stocks I own.
optimuz
post Mar 7 2008, 06:15 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jan 8 2008, 01:40 PM)
correct.

you may count like this

T+0 (Tue)
T+1 (Wed)
T+2 (Thurs)
T+3 (Fri)
Hi Panasonic88,

Sorry I have a noob question, is it true that even if Thurs is a public holiday as refer to the 1st post asked by okk, and it is still consider as 1 day?

From my understanding, if it is a pubic holiday (Bursa declare it as non-trading and none settlement day, usually public holiday lah) then it shd not calculate as 1 day? I am not sure, that is what my friend told me lah, and now based on your answer it really confused me rclxub.gif need your clarification

tq
NaMyzarC
post Mar 7 2008, 06:17 PM

1,140 posts

what shares have you bought that due on monday ? let me know so that i can queue lower to buy tongue.gif
feralee
post Mar 7 2008, 07:58 PM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,897 posts

QUOTE(optimuz @ Mar 7 2008, 06:15 PM)
Hi Panasonic88,

Sorry I have a noob question, is it true that even if Thurs is a public holiday as refer to the 1st post asked by okk, and it is still consider as 1 day?
NO

From my understanding, if it is a pubic holiday (Bursa declare it as non-trading and none settlement day, usually public holiday lah) then it shd not calculate as 1 day? I am not sure, that is what my friend told me lah, and now based on your answer it really confused me rclxub.gif  need your clarification

tq
your friend try to confuse u ar? laugh.gif
optimuz
post Mar 7 2008, 08:06 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(feralee @ Mar 7 2008, 07:58 PM)
your friend try to confuse u ar?  laugh.gif
don't know leh , so do u know whether holiday is consider 1 day or not?

Added on March 7, 2008, 8:09 pm
QUOTE(NaMyzarC @ Mar 7 2008, 06:17 PM)
what shares have you bought that due on monday ? let me know so that i can queue lower to buy  tongue.gif
Hmmm......... the company that rule the industry....... got it? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by optimuz: Mar 7 2008, 08:20 PM
cherroy
post Mar 7 2008, 09:12 PM

25,802 posts

Holiday doesn't count, that's why they put T+3, not day+3 tongue.gif biggrin.gif
optimuz
post Mar 7 2008, 10:09 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 7 2008, 09:12 PM)
Holiday doesn't count, that's why they put T+3, not day+3  tongue.gif  biggrin.gif
thanks for the reply, so now no more confuse what I was told is correct rclxms.gif ,

refer to 1st post, if buy on Tue (T day) Thu is public holiday so the due date shd be on Mon (T+3)

Tq cherroy,
feralee
post Mar 8 2008, 08:30 AM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,897 posts

QUOTE(optimuz @ Mar 7 2008, 10:09 PM)
thanks for the reply, so now no more confuse what I was told is correct  rclxms.gif ,

refer to 1st post, if buy on Tue (T day) Thu is public holiday so the due date shd be on Mon (T+3)

Tq cherroy,
Yes
icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0171sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:58 AM