MIA member., Accountancy

TSIrresistible
post Jan 7 2008, 08:35 PM, updated 18y ago

3,278 posts

I ask on behalf of my friend sister.

She come to my house & asking whetner to take ACCA or studying Matriks/STPM for local accountancy degree !!

She said her teacher told her that local university accountacny degree graduate wit 3 years experiene can join MIA member. but, I thought only profeesional degree (ACCA, MIA test ) only can opt for MIA member, am I right ??

So, my question is Local degree accountaacy wit 3 yrs experience = MIA member ??
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jan 7 2008, 10:50 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

there's a few ways to being an MIA member, actually, 3 ways.

1. Professional Qualification, upon membership of the respective regulated supervisory bodies (ACCA/ICAEW/CIMA etc), can apply for MIA membership.

2. Sit for MIA exams, 4 papers (so I was told), and get ur membership.

3. Local Uni and work for the few years to get ur membership.
violin_player84
post Jan 7 2008, 10:59 PM

289 posts

mia useless one ..go for otherss.. professional bodiess
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jan 7 2008, 11:10 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

well, not exactly. at least not in our country. MIA is pretty much compulsory in order to APPLY for your license to set up a practice (subject to interviewing by panel, i was told).

and MIA membership for signing off documents etc locally.

><

ych
post Jan 7 2008, 11:21 PM

24 posts

i tot graduate frm local U straight away can become MIA member?...

SUSkillingspree
post Jan 7 2008, 11:33 PM

456 posts

if im not mistaken, local degree (accounting) recognized by MIA, work in Audit area for three years than u applicable to become MIA member.

This post has been edited by killingspree: Jan 7 2008, 11:33 PM
TSIrresistible
post Jan 7 2008, 11:55 PM

3,278 posts

QUOTE(killingspree @ Jan 7 2008, 11:33 PM)
if im not mistaken, local degree (accounting) recognized by MIA, work in Audit area for three years than u applicable to become MIA member.
local degree (accounting) is recognized by MIA ?

So, how about UTAR, MMU other private colleges that offer Degree programme that is accredited by LAN ?

Last time, I heard by lecturer, we need to do MIA or ACCA test in order to MIA member.
The local U + 3 years experience NO LONGER work. (Yup, its acceptable last time, but not NOW)
But, my friend UTAR accounting graduate, still take MIA !! Why ?

I m not sure, I need to clarify...
So, I should advice her to take local u degree since she wan a "easy" way.

I have problem logging into MIA website.
http://www.mia.org.my/mia/accountant/appli...ide.asp?mid=160

This post has been edited by Irresistible: Jan 8 2008, 12:07 AM
SUSkillingspree
post Jan 8 2008, 12:07 AM

456 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Jan 7 2008, 11:55 PM)
local degree (accounting) is recognized by MIA ?

So, how about UTAR, MMU other private colleges that offer Degree programme that is accredited by LAN ?

Last time, I heard by lecturer, we need to do MIA or ACCA test in order to MIA member.
The local U + 3 years experience NO LONGER work.  (Yup, its acceptable last time, but not NOW)
But, my friend UTAR accounting graduate, still take MIA !! Why ?

I m not sure, I need to clarify...
So, I should advice her to take local u degree since she wan a "easy" way.

I have problem logging into MIA website.
MMU & Uniten is recognized by MIA, UTAR i dont know , but u can go to their website.

about 3 yrs experience i do not know whether it is still used or not. need to refer someone know about it..

This post has been edited by killingspree: Jan 8 2008, 12:07 AM
reno_raird
post Jan 8 2008, 12:39 AM

63 posts

study local u lah, easiest way to be certified accountant- MIA.
xsakurax
post Jan 9 2008, 08:36 PM

267 posts

err i wanna ask...if i want 2 study accountancy should i go to matrix or should i take stpm?thx!
SUSkillingspree
post Jan 9 2008, 10:03 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(xsakurax @ Jan 9 2008, 08:36 PM)
err i wanna ask...if i want 2 study accountancy should i go to matrix or should i take stpm?thx!
both can, if u wan to go to public university go to matrix or stpm, if u wan private u, go to their foundation course.
seantang
post Jan 10 2008, 12:27 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

It's accredited local U (listed in Part I First Schedule) + 3 years supervised experience OR recognised professional membership (listed in Part II First Schedule) + 3 years supervised experience OR MIA qualifying exam + 3 years supervised experience.

IMHO, always do a degree rather than a professional qualification that allows you to skip a university education (ie. MICPA, ACCA, CIMA or MIA). Why? A degree stays with you for life, but a professional qualification only as long as you pay the yearly subscription. In addition, no matter how much MICPA, ACCA and CIMA holders like to call themselves 'graduates' - they didn't actually graduate. You graduate from university. You PASS a professional qualification exam.

If you really die-die also want a professional qualification (eg. join MIA and get your audit licence perhaps), the best option is to get a professional qualification which entry requires that you first gain a university accounting degree eg. Australian CPA or any of the Institutes of CAs (CA Chartered Accountant, which btw is not the same as the CCA Chartered Certified Accountant from ACCA).

This post has been edited by seantang: Jan 10 2008, 12:28 AM
TSIrresistible
post Jan 10 2008, 02:11 AM

3,278 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 10 2008, 12:27 AM)
It's accredited local U (listed in Part I First Schedule) + 3 years supervised experience OR recognised professional membership (listed in Part II First Schedule) + 3 years supervised experience OR MIA qualifying exam + 3 years supervised experience.

IMHO, always do a degree rather than a professional qualification that allows you to skip a university education (ie. MICPA, ACCA, CIMA or MIA). Why? A degree stays with you for life, but a professional qualification only as long as you pay the yearly subscription. In addition, no matter how much MICPA, ACCA and CIMA holders like to call themselves 'graduates' - they didn't actually graduate. You graduate from university. You PASS a professional qualification exam.

If you really die-die also want a professional qualification (eg. join MIA and get your audit licence perhaps), the best option is to get a professional qualification which entry requires that you first gain a university accounting degree eg. Australian CPA or any of the Institutes of CAs (CA Chartered Accountant, which btw is not the same as the CCA Chartered Certified Accountant from ACCA).
The problem here is MIA only recognise a few of the local university only !!
Most of the college or private univesity that offer Accounting Degree are not recognised by MIA at this moment, including UTAR, UNITAR etc.

And having professinal qualifiaction enable u to work outside Malaysia .

This post has been edited by Irresistible: Jan 10 2008, 02:13 AM
seantang
post Jan 10 2008, 10:20 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Jan 10 2008, 02:11 AM)
The problem here is MIA only recognise a few of the local university only  !!
The main ones are all there.

Most of the college or private univesity that offer Accounting Degree are not recognised by MIA at this moment, including UTAR, UNITAR etc.
Most, if not all professional organisations don't recognise qualifications offered by private colleges, if the qualification isn't a degree from a university (ie. the private college is an agent only).

And having professinal qualifiaction enable u to work outside Malaysia.
You mean you can't work outside Malaysia without a professional qualification? Really? Damn... I hope nobody tells my employer that.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jan 10 2008, 10:21 PM
lingeriehouse
post Jan 11 2008, 02:48 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 10 2008, 10:20 PM)
The main ones are all there.

Most, if not all professional organisations don't recognise qualifications offered by private colleges, if the qualification isn't a degree from a university (ie. the private college is an agent only).

You mean you can't work outside Malaysia without a professional qualification? Really? Damn... I hope nobody tells my employer that.
i went to mia for student dialogue/talk two years back when i did diploma in local unis, degree must take some papers, exam held in uitm, if i not mistaken.

work outside malaysia, professional qualification better. but make sure you really work outside malaysia after that. ever since i took acca papers, seen the truth color of accounting, i hate it so much. wake up call, there is not way i'll work in accounting line man.

cfng76
post Jul 11 2008, 08:44 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(violin_player84 @ Jan 7 2008, 10:59 PM)
mia useless one ..go for otherss.. professional bodiess
MIA is local body formed under law...........is a must if you are an accountant..

Added on July 11, 2008, 8:48 pm
QUOTE(seantang @ Jan 10 2008, 12:27 AM)

Agree with you degree vs Prof study rule...but some how not everyone have chances for a degree...so force to go for prof study in order to get qualify.........

This post has been edited by cfng76: Jul 11 2008, 08:48 PM
temmyoi
post Jul 26 2008, 07:37 PM

290 posts

I would like to ask that am I eligible to become a MIA member?
Because I have surveyed the MIA website and their requirements noticed that ONLY local universities fresh graduates from taking BACC level can apply as a MIA member.
MIA approved the ACCA global group.
So i'm taking BACC in UNITAR, can I apply as MIA and ACCA member after graduated from my degree level?

Added on July 26, 2008, 7:38 pmCan I join CIMA and MICPA afterwards too?

This post has been edited by temmyoi: Jul 26 2008, 07:38 PM
karhoe
post Jul 26 2008, 07:39 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(temmyoi @ Jul 26 2008, 07:37 PM)
Because I have surveyed the MIA website and their requirements noticed that ONLY local universities fresh graduates from taking BACC level can apply as a MIA member.
So i'm taking BACC in UNITAR, can I apply as MIA and ACCA member after graduated from my degree level?

I thought CIMA is another professional association? You have to take their exams first right

If I'm not mistaken, you have to get working experience before you apply

This post has been edited by karhoe: Jul 26 2008, 07:39 PM
steventan85
post Jul 26 2008, 09:52 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(temmyoi @ Jul 26 2008, 07:37 PM)

After u grad frm unitar , join CIMA or MICPA to take their professional exam ... the remaining professional papers are depends on how much ur exemption are ... if ur unitar get an examption of 9papers frm acca , and others , then u left 5more papers for acca ...

ACCA , CIMA and MICPA is a professional body , where u join them to get their professional qualification thru their exam .... take their exam , pass it and get the CIMA , ACCA , and MICPA title and cert...

u can apply for CIMA , ACCA after u grad frm unitar ... u can take the professional exam later on .... maybe after 1 years ...

to join MIA , u need to get thru ACCA, CIMA , MICPA exam , bcoz ur unitar degree is not recognize by MIA .... only MMU , and uniten only recognized frm MIA , i mean for private university .... if not mistaken ....

Added on July 26, 2008, 9:54 pm
QUOTE(karhoe @ Jul 26 2008, 07:39 PM)
I thought CIMA is another professional association? You have to take their exams first right

If I'm not mistaken, you have to get working experience before you apply
u can apply for cima or acca anytime after u grad.... u need their member id card to take their exam ....

after u get ur professional qualification , 3 years experience , u can join mia to bcome accountants

This post has been edited by steventan85: Jul 26 2008, 09:54 PM
temmyoi
post Jul 27 2008, 01:56 PM

290 posts

steventan85 , wow, then that's mean my unitar's BACC is not recognized and only can acheive the higher level til ACCA?
sigh.. what a waste.. =(
MIA group recognized the ACCA global group, I've checked.
mengher
post Dec 18 2009, 06:51 PM

22 posts

temmymoi, u from UINTAR ??

Im from UNITAR too.. but take BBA major in Finance..
Im confusing now.. whether my BBA can apply for MIA to exempttion some exam paper anot.. any 1 can enlighten me ??
dbhermione
post Jan 23 2012, 07:58 AM

I'm really confuse.
To get an MIA is to have 3 years working experience am i right?
What if I was a diploma holder from politeknik, after graduate I work for 7 months in an audit firm. Then I stop to continue my degree in accounts at a local uni, after I graduate, do I have to work for 2 and half year to get MIA qualification?
Please help me out here.
chrisljc
post Jan 23 2012, 09:14 AM

57 posts

3 years at least relevant working experience in Accountancy field, include operational, managerial and strategic roles.

However, the case is you are unable to get qualified with normal working experience of 3 years. Unless the 3 years, you are involved in managerial roles and strategic roles. Please refer to MIA guide book in order to understand the requirement of practical experience.

3 years experience or more may be cumulative of ther jobs from prior companies or different companies. However you are required to have 2 seconders to sign your practical experience CV.

The above statement is based on my professional body, CIMA. Because I have to get CIMA holder to apply MIA, I guess they are running the similiar approach on CV for applying membership.

Listen, Membership of MIA, either you are graduate from specified national universities such as UM, UMS, UiTM, UTM and etc (refer to the MIA website), otherwise you are required to sit for the exam before applying MIA membership. Besides, you may get membership from international accountancy bodies such member of ACCA, ICEAW, CPAA, CIMA, MICPA.

This post has been edited by chrisljc: Jan 23 2012, 09:16 AM

0.0243sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:44 PM