4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Buying new handphone? Need RECOMMENDATION?, Ver.6, Nokia, SE, Motorola, Samsung, etc!

chicaman
post Jan 7 2008, 06:46 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(kittlsk @ Jan 7 2008, 05:54 PM)
hello all sifus, I'll need Professional recommendations on buying a new handphone...

1. Brand - nokia, se, moto, lg or samsung
2. Budget - less than RM2k.
3. Specs - camera 3 mp and above
4. Type/Size - Slider and stylish

some sifus recommended the below models:

1. samsung g600
2. samsung u700
3. nokia 5610

i think g600 now sits on top of my list as it has 5mp camera.  anymore suggestions?  hmm.gif
N95 ? Powerful and stylish (dual slide).

N82 stylish with xenon flash. Excellent camera.

QUOTE(abm @ Jan 7 2008, 06:23 PM)
Hi, anyone can give me some suggestion?
1. Brand.- any brand
2. Budget. - cheapest
3. Specs.-must have radio
4. Type/Size. any type/prefer small

Was thinking of SE J120i. Any other recommendations?
SE J120i hits RM230 +-, get a second hand k700i wink.gif (good condition). With camera , mp3, radio. Larger Screen. Built in 49mb.
chicaman
post Jan 8 2008, 06:39 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(emino @ Jan 7 2008, 10:57 PM)
Heya sifus. Needs suggestions on a new phone.

1. Brand
Nokia, but willing to try new brand. I hear that Sony Ericson is famous for cameraphones.

2. Budget
500 - 600.

3. Specs.
A good cameraphone within that price range. Prob good if it plays mp3 too. Also needs good calendar/organizer/reminder function.

4. Type/Size.
Preferably no lipat2 ones...
If you would like to try SE, do you mind second hand set that has good condition? You can try K800i, a spendid camera phone.

If you want new set, w810i is a good choice too.

For nokia, 6288 is good too with 3G, but slide slide smile.gif

k750i etc

but try to look for a second hand k800, i bet you wont regret buying it cause second hand is dirt cheap

QUOTE(beefburger @ Jan 8 2008, 06:23 AM)
Hello All,

Please help me reccommed or suggest a phone. Thanks!

1. Brand: Any
2. Budget: around 1k-2k
3. Specs: Gaming Phone
4. Type: Any

Thanks!
Get N95 / N81./ N82, If got money get a N82, NGAGE 2.0 support with 5megapix, autofocus, xenon flash , OS9.2, GPS..... what more ?

I am not sure if N82 got 2D accelerator chip or not, but

N95 and N81 sure got and their BENCHMARK score is dam high. comparing with N82 , N82 got xenon flash. N81 2megapix but don have GPS

wink.gif
chicaman
post Jan 8 2008, 02:30 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(kittlsk @ Jan 8 2008, 09:54 AM)
thanks chicaman and nghj for your suggestions but n82 is not slider and n95 is selling above 2k for original and almost 2k for AP set right?  hmm.... hmm.gif

so which means the only option i have is 5610XM?  my colleague suggested nokia 6500 slide.  can any sifu give some comparison between these two models?  many thanks....  icon_idea.gif
6500slide is integrated with Carl Zeiss Lens, while 5610xm slide do not have that lens.

5610xm is integrated with Sound Chip as it is a music phone, while 6500slide doesnt have.

6500slide is made of aluminium (if i am not mistaken) so the price is more expensive.

Depends on what features u want .

QUOTE(jeremy77 @ Jan 8 2008, 10:33 AM)
Hi gurus,

Need help in choosing a new phone.
Nothing too flashy.
<RM500
Preferbly Nokia
Camera (at least 2MP)
MP3
Mini SD card slot
Preferbly candybar

Thanx for any help.
New or Second hand? 6300, 6233 etc is good smile.gif for second hand, it should be around 450. Search for it.

QUOTE(empty1339 @ Jan 8 2008, 11:07 AM)
1. Brand. any brand except nokia
2. Budget. not more than 2k
3. Specs. 3.2 megapixel or above, 5 recommended.
4. Type/Size. small and slim is the best
k850i, LG Viewty, I-mobile 902, samsung g800 etc is good smile.gif

chicaman
post Jan 8 2008, 05:47 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Jan 8 2008, 02:48 PM)
1.Brand : SE
2.Budget:nt more thn RM1.3k
3.Specs:Nice sound quality/Nice loudspeaker.(I prefer W series)
4.Type/Size:Slider/Candybar

I was eye-ing a W910i ap set.All sifus can gv other suggestion?
Not much for an outstanding W series at the moment. Perhaps Nokia 5610xm with 3.2Megapix and autofocus?

wink.gif just my suggestion, drop into their phone specific discussion section and look for more info for 5610xm.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/512311

A good phone for music and camera lover.

QUOTE(kittlsk @ Jan 8 2008, 03:37 PM)
hey just to share with you while browsing mobile88.  this SE W760i pretty cool in gaming and you just need to tilt the phone to turn the car left or right or accelerate!

http://www.mobile88.com/mobilegallery/vide...d=20853&ID=1109

Thats landscape mode.. The game must be multiscreen to support that feature and not all game is multiscreen. Plus, that game is Need for Speed Pro Street which is bundled together. In future will there be more java games like this? I can say is less. No developer want to create games with multiscreen, landscape and potrait.

While for that tilt left or right, N95 , N82 can do that also. Not to forget NGAGA 2.0 tongue.gif

QUOTE(empty1339 @ Jan 8 2008, 04:39 PM)
when will the g800 be released in malaysia??? and wat is the price?
Hmm. I am not sure about that. Sorry!
chicaman
post Jan 10 2008, 02:42 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(ryanlum @ Jan 8 2008, 10:56 PM)
hey people,

I want to buy a new phone, need some recommendation:

1. Brand: Se or Nokia
2. Budget: 1k
3. Specs: Camera Phone and no Joystick
4. Type: Candy Bar or Slider

I want a phone that is focus more on the camera.
Any suggestions people?
Willing to buy AP set
N73, K810, K800 great cam phone are all with joystick haha.

Unless you want I-mobile 902? 5megapix with CCD sensor but the overall function arent that great.

or

Nokia 5610xm (camera 3.2megapix with great music ), 6500slide (this is expensive, out of ur budget)

QUOTE(chyap99 @ Jan 9 2008, 11:04 PM)
1. Brand: SE
2. Budget: <1.5k
3. Specs: average
4. Function: average
5. Type: gal using
6. other: less problem and stable model
LOL, < RM1.5k for average specs seems to be too much tongue.gif

however, if u want less problem or stable, candybar with no joystick should be good smile.gif

Smartphone wont be your cup of tea since you want stable and less problem. So all symbian phone is out.

Left Sony Ericsson and Nokia s40v5.

There are too many model out there, if you can be more specific on certain function like music or camera then it should be easier for us to make a choice

wink.gif

QUOTE(nothing_nth @ Jan 9 2008, 11:33 PM)
BRAND : SE NOKIA SAMSUNG moto >.<
Budget : 600~1k
interested in K810i , w610i , V6 and 5610... Very confuse d
starting i wan a "multiphone" like K810i , but after thinking ... making me more confuse caz now i wan music n camera!!!  icon_question.gif
k810i and 5610xm is really hard to make a choice here. Depends on how you see it, do you like to mod you phone ? Accoutic, camera driver , menu, shortcut key etc? If yes then k810i is you choice. Otherwise 5610xm will be ur choice.

5610xm screen is 16m color , remember that lol. V6 and w610i wont be good enough since you have 1k budget tongue.gif

Make a good choice, either k810 or 5610xm will be good, both of them are good. No regrets choosing one of them icon_rolleyes.gif

chicaman
post Jan 10 2008, 05:53 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(icerainyy @ Jan 10 2008, 01:13 PM)
A big thank you for those who helped me on my budget phone

I could not locate this thread, sorry Moderator.

How long can K550 last? I need a phone which can last for 5 years.  hmm.gif

Well I am not that into 3G as the 3G infrastructure in Malaysia is rather new.

Bought a K530 for my dad, he loves it. (big screen, loud ringtone and big letters on screen) laugh.gif  laugh.gif
K550 can last you like 2-3 more years at most?

How much budget do u have for new phone ? Perhaps a N95 8GB can last your 5years or N82 too wink.gif

QUOTE(nothing_nth @ Jan 10 2008, 04:16 PM)
Thx 2 Najmods & chicaman, thumbup.gif 

i think i will choose K810i since i can mod it...Btw ... chicaman "5610xm screen is 16m color" I remember this thread  icon_rolleyes.gif The "pro" fellow said it right ??? brows.gif
Haha, u remember that thread...
chicaman
post Jan 11 2008, 03:10 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(icerainyy @ Jan 11 2008, 09:39 AM)
my budget is only RM500-600

the N series are beyond my budget. Dont have so much duit at the moment.
Get a second hand k800 or Top up 1-2 hundred and get a second hand n73.

Thats the best advice I can give you wink.gif

QUOTE(Grengo01 @ Jan 11 2008, 12:44 PM)
Sifus,

Nokia N95 and Nokia N82 Which one better ah?
You should compare N95 8GB with N82.

Compare N95 with N82, for sure N82 is better due to xenon flash.

However if N95 8GB and N82, both got their pros. So its up to user to decide over it wheter they need 8GB or Flash.

Edit: Rumours said there gonna be a N82 8GB soon, so what do you think?

wink.gif

This post has been edited by chicaman: Jan 11 2008, 03:10 PM
chicaman
post Jan 13 2008, 05:19 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(usingtea @ Jan 13 2008, 08:59 AM)
Hello chairman, i need advice for

1. Brand - SE, nokia
2. Budget- 500 to 700
3. Specs - decent music and  camera phone (prefer 2MP and above), fm radio
4. Type/Size - any

bought SE k550i recently. excellent price/feature ratio but didn't like the keypad though. plan to change another phone..

thanks a bunch!
w810, w610 can be good in camera and music also.... while for nokia, its hard to get a good camera phone with that price since most camera got no autofocus.

or u can consider getting a second hand k800 at rm550-650. K800 is the most cost effective phone now.

QUOTE(moyong @ Jan 13 2008, 12:08 PM)
Hi to all sifus here need some advise

1. Brand - SE or NOKIA
2. Budget- 1.4k max
3.Specs - looking for a 3.2 mp camera with autofocus and decent music 
              basically an all rounder
4. Type - Prefer Slide

currently the phone that meets these specs that i've found from nokia is the 5600 slide and 5610 slide.... jz wanna see if there are any other

Thanks in advance
u mean 6500 slide?

Do you like N73ME?

QUOTED FROM gstoh

QUOTE(gstoh @ Jan 11 2008, 03:20 PM)
things that 5610 is better than N73
- video recording up to 640*480 @ 15fps
- slimmer body
- longer playback time
- support 4GB microSD
- mini USB connection, which is better than the pop-port in N73 which is easily get loose and disconnected
-16milion colors lcd
-3.5G phone @ 3.6mbps
-better front camera quality,no noise like those in N73
-loud speaker has more balance sound, mid and bass are there, quality is good
-more responsive system

things that N73 is better than 5610
-come with 2gb minisd, 5610 only 512mb
-2.4'inc lcd
-carl zeiss lens with camera protector
-symbian 9.1, can install more applications, and other good things can do, lazy to list all
-2 loud speakers

for normal users, 5610 is better choice
for advanced user, N73 is a good choice!  rclxm9.gif
QUOTE(herzihussin @ Jan 13 2008, 12:15 PM)
1. Brand : nokia,se
2. Budget : around rm600
3. Specs : has everything  cool2.gif
4. Type/Size : any will do

any recommendation??
Hmm if u wan second hand , k800 is a good choice.

if you wan a new set, w810 w610, great camera with great music.

I wouldnt recomend nokia at this price cause their camera don have autofocus, so it isnt that great for that price.

chicaman
post Jan 13 2008, 11:31 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(socko777 @ Jan 13 2008, 08:02 PM)
1. Brand : No preference
2. Budget : Between RM1500-RM2000 (The lower the better)
3. Specs : GPS and Wi-fi
4. Type/Size : No preference

I am very interested in the SE P1i but from what I read it needs a GPS receiver? If so, how much does the cheapest GPS receiver cost? Thanks a lot.
What you need is N82 or N95 or N95 8GB. With ur budget you can easily find AP set for the model I mentioned.

GPS receiver cost RM300 +- for the cheap one + a smartphone or PDA to use it.

Why not straight get a Smartphone with integrated GPS and WiFi and Great camera .

N95 AP set is a good choice wink.gif

QUOTE(alpha_numeric182 @ Jan 13 2008, 10:52 PM)
Holla..need some recommendations..

1. Brand. => any..
2. Budget. => below RM2K..
3. Specs. => good mp3 player + good camera + wifi + touchscreen + keypad..
4. Type/Size. => candybar..

thanx.. icon_rolleyes.gif
W960i suits ur need if you dont need GPS.

It has 8GB memory, 3.2megapix with autofocus, symbian OS 9.1, touch screen, wifi, walkman phone - great music , candy bar, price below 2k

wink.gif
chicaman
post Jan 14 2008, 12:52 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(highbury1913 @ Jan 14 2008, 12:47 AM)
Hi, really need help.

BRAND: Nokia or SE

BUDGET: <600

SPECS: Impressive camera

TYPE/SIZE: anything other than flip phone and the smaller the better.
For that price, all I can say is K750i or w810 both has a good 2megapix cam with autofocus moreover you can modify it to have a better cam driver to snap more impressive photo.
chicaman
post Jan 14 2008, 01:07 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(ubuntu @ Jan 14 2008, 01:02 AM)
Hello friends, I plan to buy a Walkman series + 3G phone, any recommendation? Sony which product is worth to buy? Also with good price.
Mind to let us know ur budget? There is plenty of model to choose from depends on ur budget.

Here some of the walkman phone that has 3G

w880
w850
w960
w900
chicaman
post Jan 14 2008, 11:45 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(edwin83 @ Jan 14 2008, 11:44 AM)
how abt apple iPhone???any comment??
If you really like it, then go for it cause there isnt anything special about Iphone besides integrated ipod features and their touchscreen. With that price , seriously I will go for more feature phone like N95

QUOTE(cy97 @ Jan 14 2008, 12:21 PM)
Hi my friend is considering getting these two phone : Nokia 5610 music express or Samsung F330. Any advice ? Thanks.
http://www.singtelshop.com/store/default/default.asp?
and click student special. blush.gif
Nokia 5610mx no regrets, F330 2megapix only with no autofocus.

Since your friend is registering for the student package. Then he must be a student and Autofocus comes handy when snapping documents from friend like notes etc, no need to copy from friend, just snap and send to laptop or pc then copy from there or print it out. Students listen to music too. So its a great simple phone.

QUOTE(ubuntu @ Jan 14 2008, 10:22 PM)
Yes, my budget around RM700 to RM1000, also how about W660i? Any recommendation?
Not bad for W660i if you don mind it has no autofocus.

For me I will go for w900 (second hand good condition set) or w880i. Simply because larger resolution screen and cooler design. wink.gif
chicaman
post Jan 16 2008, 12:17 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(raunamaxtor @ Jan 15 2008, 06:00 PM)
im Looking Motorola ROKR E2.. New or 2nd hand.. can someone give the info.. plz PM me
Head over to garage sales to find

http://forum.lowyat.net/HandphonesandRelatedAccessories

QUOTE(usingtea @ Jan 15 2008, 08:42 PM)
bought the SE w810i the other day. Though an old phone but works great! Good sound, good display, autofocusing cam. highly recommended budget phone!

i bought for RM 620 bundled with 512MB in ipoh. Bigger cities mayb cheaper.
Yes, its a really good choice.. with 2megapix cam and autofocus and not to forget a great music phone.

QUOTE(Lordz` @ Jan 15 2008, 09:42 PM)
Greetings,

Would like to compare the function, camera, price, sound etc of N73 & SE K810i

Your comments please
I am lazy to type out the same thing over again. But if you would like to know, I've actually posted them quite long ago.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=601628

Read up there for the comparison from my post. Its inside, a very detail comparison by me and some comments by gstoh.

wink.gif

QUOTE(nafizz @ Jan 16 2008, 12:04 AM)
Sifu, need your recommendation :
1. Brand - nokia/sony ericsson
2. Budget- RM1000 and below
3. Specs. - symbian 60
4. Type/Size. (Candybar, Clamshell etc...), slider, big screen, at least 2.4in

Hmm... Symbian 60? what do you mean? Just some correction, maybe you mean S60

S60 is nokia range of phone that powered by Symbian OS. So you prefer Symbian and Nokia is better in symbian, Sony Ericsson aint that good for software range of choice.

Based on the preference, you want big screen and symbian OS? So I would say N73 will be a great choice, 2.4inch with 3.2megapix autofocus carl zeiss lens, symbian OS 9.1 etc etc

Larger screen like N95 or N95 8GB is out of your budget. Stick with N73 and you wont go wrong

wink.gif

chicaman
post Jan 16 2008, 12:32 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jan 16 2008, 12:28 AM)
how bout K550i ? around Rm500++ and the camera also not bad. 2.0mp wif auto focus if not mistaken biggrin.gif
Speaking of good cam and feature, w810 is better simply because it can zoom in 2megapixel mode and has walkman in it wink.gif
chicaman
post Jan 16 2008, 07:01 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Jan 16 2008, 05:20 AM)
1. Brand - any
2. Budget- RM600 and below
3. Specs. - 3G, memory card slot, good signal strength
4. Type/Size. any
what phone eh?some suggest me k610/k618 but i'm also thinking about other brands.how bout nokia and moto?
For that price range , better stick with SE for better camera...

Why not K530i?

QUOTE(chanfreak @ Jan 16 2008, 05:16 PM)
1. any except korean ones
2. around +-RM700
3. memory slot, mp3, camera and fm desired but not essential, doesn't matter 3G or not
4. prefer candybar or clamshell. If its a good slider will also consider

I've been looking at moto maxx v6 but friends are strongly recommending me to get either the 5310 or 6300 but I'm undecided. AP or ori doesn't matter.
if you have around RM780 of budget K800i AP set which is a wonderful choice that has all the necessary features and will last you for a really long time. I recomend this because with those price of 5310 and 6300, simply top up a little more and you can enjoy 3.2megapix with xenon flash, 3G, Radio with RDS. With only 3G and 3.2megapix will last you for 2 or 3 years at least.
chicaman
post Jan 16 2008, 10:01 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(Goliath764 @ Jan 16 2008, 09:23 PM)
Now I am having headache choosing between style and function so I would give 2 condition

Condition 1:
Brand: Any
Budget: RM800 - RM1000
Specs: Good music quality, preferfered(not necessary) with good color and nice video quality
Type/Size: Nevermind

Condition 2:
Brand: Any
Budget: RM800 - RM1000
Specs: Not much requirement
Type/Size: Stylish!
Go for condition 1. Get happy with your phone,

The nice video quality means? Good quality when play back or recording?
chicaman
post Jan 17 2008, 10:35 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(20thyEight @ Jan 17 2008, 12:30 AM)
Hi,  tongue.gif

1)i would like to buy a handphone.
Budget from RM1200-RM1800.
any brand.
Function more on camera, media player.

2) may i know the price for 2GB, 4GB, 6GB, 8GB microSD??? any brand.

Thank.
RM1200 can get a N73

RM1500 can get a second hand N95

RM1800 can get AP set of N95

QUOTE(nuruL twohiLL @ Jan 17 2008, 10:28 AM)
Hi. Need some recommendation.

Brand: Preferably Nokia
Budget: RM1000 - RM1500
Specs: 3G, 2megapix or above, else doesnt matter.
Type/Size: Any

Im considering 6500 slide, or N73. Any other recommendation?

By the way, is LG Shine KU970 good? Fall in love with the shiny screen  wub.gif
lol, LG? Look at LG chocolate, what happened to it now compare to k750?

6500slide, N73, 5610xm.... all are great camera phone...

I will go for N73 due to the symbian OS!
chicaman
post Jan 17 2008, 11:44 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(BaRT @ Jan 17 2008, 03:56 PM)
I want buy new handphone...
but confuse which want to choose...
Nokia 3500 or Motorola V3xx...

which want is better and worth to buy..
any suggestion....
v3xx is a better buy for the 3G / 3.5G feature? but the cam is 1.3megapix only....

actually what is ur budget? mind to tell us so we can show you more choice

QUOTE(emiwy @ Jan 17 2008, 07:52 PM)
1. Brand - any
2. Budget- RM300 and below
3. Specs. - good mp3 loud speaker , alot of storage space
4. Type/Size. moderate

(dont mind buying second-handed ones)
top up a little, RM350 get a second hand K750i for a really good loudspeaker and can expand the memory.....

QUOTE(aero99 @ Jan 17 2008, 09:59 PM)
Hi,Suggestion from sifu pls

1. Brand - SE
2. Budget - Below/nearly rm900(AP price)

3. Specs - long standby/talk time
            - not really need a good camera and walkman function, 3G and EDGE
            - Must have blue tooth

4. Type/Size - not specific but try not to be thick~pls intro some model which not too old as well (prefer 2007 or above model if possible)...

Thank you very much for helping me out~
All phone has bluetooth nowadays. For a not really need a good cam and walkman feature is kinda hard for SE unless u choose to use T or S series. But i would recomend you to choose either you want a camera or walkman function. And there are quite a few model with good cam/music with 3G to choose from.
chicaman
post Jan 18 2008, 02:33 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(BlazingFrosty @ Jan 18 2008, 01:08 AM)
erm anyone with idea with the spec below??

-nokia
-screen need as big as possible... (better if with colour)
N95 8GB big enough 2.8" screen..

or N95 or N73 is big also...

@bolded, better if with color means? all phone in the market got color nowadays sleep.gif
chicaman
post Jan 18 2008, 09:38 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(erikachen @ Jan 18 2008, 02:42 AM)
1. Brand: ANY
2. Budget: RM1500 Below
3. Specs: Take Pic &... Music?
4. Type/Size: CLAMSHELL
I could think of Nokia 7390 , N93, N93i, all of them are 3.2megapix with autofocus and can play music.

QUOTE(emiwy @ Jan 18 2008, 06:34 AM)
hmm , okay .. what about :

1. Brand - any
2. Budget- RM1000 and below , first handed
3. Specs. - good mp3 loud speaker , alot of storage space
4. Type/Size. moderate
A lot of storage space refer to the built in memory or memory card? Nowadays external memory card be expanded to 2GB or 4GB. The most internal memory is 8GB or 16GB (if i am not mistaken)

So I assume you refer to internal memory since they have more storage space. You can choose iphone, N95 8GB, N91 8GB which is quite and old phone but it has 8GB and I am not really sure about that price. Its a dedicated phone for music lover. About how loud is the speaker I have no idea but it should be loud since its from nokia.

Or probably you can consider N73ME with 2GB memory card together with package. The speaker is very very loud which I am using. I prefer loudspeaker also and it serve me well.

wink.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0402sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:41 PM