TSNinja
post Jan 7 2008, 04:46 PM, updated 18y ago

[PBMY]™ Supreme Commander
1,764 posts

Burnout Paradise(tm) Discussion Thread

Burnout Paradise (formerly known as Burnout 5) is a forthcoming video game in the Burnout series, due for release on January 22, 2008 in North America and January 25, 2008 for Europe. It will be available for PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360. It has a seamless open-world set in the fictional 'Paradise City', with no loading times and no traditional online lobbies or game menus.

Features

ccording to Alex Ward from developer Criterion Games, this game will be a "complete reinvention" of the Burnout series. He also said "To create truly next-generation gameplay, we needed to create a truly next-generation game, from top to bottom." Despite being in an open world, the game still retains the high 60-frames-per-second frame rate most Burnout games have used. However, compromises such as the lack of day and night cycles and weather conditions have been made. Records will now be kept on player's drivers licenses and there will be statistics such as fastest time and biggest crash for every street in the game. Crash mode has been renamed to Showtime mode. Now, instead of having preset junctions and predetermined traffic patterns, the player may crash in any location in the world, pull both triggers on their controller and activate Showtime mode. Showtime mode can also be activated during events such as Road Rage and Race, even when online. Also, races are no longer specific lengths and types. Races are simply started by pulling up at any of the 120 traffic lights around Paradise City. Multiple settings have been confirmed to be fully customisable such as:

* "Boost Rules" - The player may choose Burnout 1, 2, 3 or Revenge style Burnout meters.
* Traffic Checking - Can be turned off so players may not strike and utilise traffic travelling in the same direction as the player as a weapon.
* Whether or not there is traffic in the event.
* Start and finish points for events with up to 16 checkpoints.

The damage system is also being reworked. There are now two different types of crash based on the condition of the car after the crash. If the player's car manages to retain all four wheels, the player may drive out of the crash and continue playing. If a player's car loses its wheels, the car is in a "wrecked" state and the player will have to wait until their car is reset. Cars can also be torn into several pieces, be compressed and deform around objects as you crash into them. However, Alex Ward confirmed in the Official Crash FM podcast that cars may not be ripped in half as concept pictures and early information stated. Also, there is a special edition of the game, including a Steel Wheels version of the Carson GT concept car, which will feature the car with armour plate and supercharger. It is unknown whether police will appear in game.

Cars now have manufacturer and model names, which are loosely based on real-world cars but are mostly fictional (some of the cars are even based on cars from previous Burnout game, i.e. the Hunter Manhattan is the Classic from Burnout 2). Cars may not be "tuned up" or customised apart from color changes, which may be done in real-time by driving through the forecourt of a paint shop which will randomly assign a color to the car. Other real-time changes include driving through the forecourt of a gas station to automatically refill your Burnout meter, and driving through the forecourt of a repair shop to automatically repair your car, allowing you to extend a Road Rage event beyond the car's damage limits.

The online lobby system that most video games feature has been replaced by a far more streamlined system known as "Easy Drive". While driving, players simply hit right on the D-Pad and the Easy Drive menu pops up on the bottom left hand corner of their screen. From there, players are able to invite another player from their friends list. Once friends have joined the game, the hosting player is then able to pick from a variety of events to play.

Mugshots

A "Mugshots" camera feature is available in the Burnout Paradise versions for the PlayStation 3 (using the PlayStation Eye, the PlayStation 2 EyeToy, and other compatible webcams) and Xbox 360 (using the Xbox Live Vision). When a player is taken down, both players will have their photos taken and exchanged. These photos can then be saved to your hard drive. Both versions will allow camera-less persons, or those who do not wish to use their real face, to use their gamertag/PSN avatar, as demonstrated in the downloadable game demos.

Pics

TSNinja
post Jan 7 2008, 06:31 PM

1,764 posts

Dun forget your Eye toy, PS Eye.. tongue.gif can take mugshots of you being pawnedd.. laugh.gif
TSNinja
post Jan 17 2008, 02:12 PM

1,764 posts

IGN: Burnout Paradise Review

QUOTE(Closing Comments)
Burnout Paradise has its share of flaws, but it's also incredibly fun. The change to an open world brought its share of issues, like having to use the map as a crutch to get around for a while, but it also allows for freedom unseen in any recent racing game. Most importantly though, Criterion has once again delivered a racing experience that can best be described as controlled chaos, one where even crashing is immensely rewarding. If you're even a remote fan of racing games, be sure to check this out.

Total score: 8.8

Source: http://ps3.ign.com/articles/846/846020p3.html
TSNinja
post Jan 17 2008, 03:06 PM

1,764 posts

I'm not buying, but probably gonna rent from ooj. tongue.gif
TSNinja
post Jan 17 2008, 03:51 PM

1,764 posts

DMC4 also on my rent list. tongue.gif This year no money. Have to keep for exclusive games only. tongue.gif
TSNinja
post Jan 22 2008, 08:54 PM

1,764 posts

Got my copy already from ooj.. sweat.gif wadahel.. have to update first before playing.. laugh.gif 13MB update.
TSNinja
post Jan 22 2008, 11:44 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(ooj @ Jan 22 2008, 10:54 PM)
Ninja, great game tonight! Had to leave early though. Do you know how the winner of a takedown is decided? Is it the speed, the condition of the car or the area of damage?

Raiko, it's fun though all we've been doing is crashing into each other and driving around. Lots of stuff we haven't uncovered yet, eg. challenges, races, etc.

I think the Marked Man games should be fun - 1 person is the marked man and everyone tries to take him down on a race.
yeah, great game tonight.. thumbup.gif i think it all depends on the condition of your car.. coz i noticed somehow it looks like i takedown your car.. but my car damage is more critical than yours.. you get the take down..

but, damn funny just now.. playing with this mat salleh.. i takedown him quite alot of times... all his mugshot... got funny pose..and all pointing his middle finger at me.. laugh.gif can't stop laughing..
TSNinja
post Jan 23 2008, 01:18 AM

1,764 posts

I just noticed... there's an option to export all your opponent's mugshot to XMB photo..

A few pics exported from mine today. Actually, there's about 30 mugshot pics of this dude (he was takendown 30 times), the rest of the pics is not suitable to display here.. all 'finger' mugshot.. tongue.gif

TSNinja
post Jan 23 2008, 05:14 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Jan 23 2008, 02:37 AM)
oh btw how easy it is to get a good connection? Do we have to suffer like COD4 and UT3?
So far the connection is good, but probably bcoz not many people play online yet. hmm.gif

QUOTE(small-jeff @ Jan 23 2008, 02:43 AM)
huh? how was the mug shot taken? each time he got takendown, automatically take mugshot?
Yeah, automatically when takendown by opponent, the frame shot will pause for 2-3 seconds, so you can take time to pose. tongue.gif

I just stop playing at 5am just now.. continuously playing from 9pm last night.. rclxub.gif sleepy already.. only can get upto No.3 for World Rank Online Leaderboard.. time to sleep..

TSNinja
post Jan 23 2008, 08:01 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(almattitude_v1 @ Jan 23 2008, 07:50 PM)
Should be the around same... Anyone here with PS Eye can tell us the price?
Bought mine from Gamers Hideout for RM130. Anyway, if I'm not mistaken, you can use normal webcam with Burnout Paradise, coz I think I saw someone mentioned about it before. Anyone can confirm?
TSNinja
post Jan 24 2008, 10:00 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(azmirhere @ Jan 24 2008, 09:29 AM)
ninja mana.aku nak langgar ko
Bukan semalam ko ada takedown aku ke.. tongue.gif laugh.gif

Mine still at 22% completed, and License Class B (Upgrade in 22 wins) for offline play. Spent too much time online. tongue.gif
TSNinja
post Jan 24 2008, 02:16 PM

1,764 posts

Mugshot of the day... user posted image

TSNinja
post Jan 25 2008, 11:04 AM

1,764 posts

So, u guyz dun hav any interesting/funny mugshots to share here? tongue.gif
TSNinja
post Jan 25 2008, 11:43 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(azmirhere @ Jan 25 2008, 11:26 AM)
i think pakai ordinary usb camera also can kot.ninja plzz clarify this
I can confirm that PS2 Eye Toy can be used. So, there should be no problem with normal usb webcam also.

QUOTE(300078 @ Jan 25 2008, 11:36 AM)
Did some research on the button mapping problem of this game! And found out tat a lot of ppl are discussing about it too! Anyway anyone know where can get to extend button for R2 and L2 (those tat make them bigger and easier to press)
Maybe we need something like this:

TSNinja
post Jan 25 2008, 10:48 PM

1,764 posts

Ooo..crap.. online stats was suddenly reseted.. everyone started from zero again.. doh.gif
TSNinja
post Jan 27 2008, 09:10 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(neoardi @ Jan 27 2008, 07:25 PM)
No lah, maybe bcoz i'm so powderful that i'm only suitable for the ignore list.... tongue.gif

BTW, how cool was it to pwn3d some one in BP? I'm very speechless when i saw this... laugh.gif

user posted image user posted image

This is what I called as the 'real' take down pic.. Body flying out of the car after being knocked down..

TSNinja
post Jan 27 2008, 10:25 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Jan 27 2008, 10:21 PM)
you know what would be funny? a game of strip takedown.... each time got takedown the loser must remove one article of clothing. First person to reach their underwear loses.

LOL laugh.gif
If play Burnout with a girl, nice'lah.. brows.gif
TSNinja
post Jan 28 2008, 03:12 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(VashTheStampede @ Jan 28 2008, 03:11 PM)
woo hoo really..! i got usb cam already! rclxms.gif
Yeah, but certain cap ayam webcam does not work. tongue.gif I tried my PC webcam, not detected on my PS3. So, hoepfully, yours is cap buaya webcam.. laugh.gif
TSNinja
post Mar 5 2008, 12:11 PM

1,764 posts

Burnout Paradise V1.2 Update Coming Soon

Criterion Games have update their website with details of the fixes which will be included in the next patch (V1.2). No word of when the updates will be released but expect it pretty soon. Below is the list of improvements which will be made when the update goes live.

The Top 10 problems reported that have been fixed, these are:

* PS3 game can crash when a player is taken down and the player that has performed the Takedown leaves the game.
* The game indefinitely displays "Connecting to Paradise City Servers" if it's having problems pinging the rebroadcast server.
* Disconnecting the controller before a race begines can mean that race timings can be manipulated with players who didn't cross the line first being awarded the win
* Repeatedly joining and leaving a game with 8 players can cause the game to hang.
* Hammering the A (360) or X (PS3) after unlocking a car can cause the game to hang.
* East Crawford and Watt St achievements can not be achieved if the player goes online and sets road rules before attempting them.
* Audio distortion when using 5.1 / DTS and looking rearwards.
* Enhanced 360 streaming performance stops instances where the game seems to pause for a second or so.
* Total time driven in player stats would stick at 145 hours.
* VoIP connection problems with 8 player games.

Game experience enhancements:

* We're going to be running road rule timers in all events and online challenges.
* Tuning Online Takedown logic & physical behaviour to iron out instances where it doesn't feel fair.
* Increase online race timer timeout so players have a greater chance of finishing the race.
* Fix drifting bug when drifting and boosting there wasn't any real control on the brake so players would grind around the walls of the corners. Getting better control.
* Boost fix, stabbing the boost has too much of a jerky behaviour in the car handling.
* Surround sound fix - Centre speaker was 4dB louder, ruining the mix and the speech has now been positioned correctly.
* Tweak Marked Man gameplay AI, was easy to exploit by driving in reverse.
* Increase the # of search results returned for online games.
* Increase Picture Paradise timer so it doesn't kick in so quickly.

Other high priority issues being fixed:

* Some online race start points face the players in the wrong direction
* Instances where Barrel rolls were not registering correctly in Stunt Run
* Instances in Stunt Run where players would crash but not wreck & score multipliers by driving away
* Fixed instances where the counting of Boost Chains would drop out
* Some instances where Revenge Rivalries desync & don't get fixed until players are updated online.
* Some instance where the Host couldn't change the game access if the game was created through an invite.
* Achievements, Awards and Challenges numbers sometimes not updated if the player didn't leave the game cleanly
* Online challenge issues where the challenge couldn't be completed if it was started at the exact time that a player left the game.
* Incorrect rivalry updates when European players played against English or Japanese players. Online connection issues
* Force timeout if the 360 gets stuck on "Connecting to Paradise City Servers" - NAT error
* Rich presence on 360 didn't change correctly when there is a change in the game parameters.
* Instances where Friends were not being displayed on the mini map.

Source: http://play-beyond.net/2008/03/05/burnout-...te-coming-soon/
TSNinja
post Apr 3 2008, 10:16 AM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Apr 1 2008, 05:33 PM)
oh ur sotbest
i mean not license rank
it is the world rank
You need to play Ranked Games to get into World Rank.

0.0384sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:48 AM