Sony-Ericsson ☼ SONY Ericsson P1i ☼ V2, The Ultimate Smartphone

karlcheong
post Jan 26 2008, 04:10 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Jan 26 2008, 02:56 PM)
did you ppl realize by the user list growing to more than 40 ppl.
we're actually owning more than 40 p1 (s) that is worth more than 60k?  doh.gif
thumbup.gif 60K P1 thread how about that

Added on January 26, 2008, 4:16 pm
QUOTE(shawnloong @ Jan 26 2008, 03:05 PM)
oh... i meant when you are using the qwerty keys to type instead of the on-screen keyboard
While you are typing, look at top centre, there is a box icon showing "Aa" means alpha mode, now if you press Alt one time, it will turn to "12" means one time numeric mode, press again it will turn to "123" means numeric mode.

Get it...

This post has been edited by karlcheong: Jan 26 2008, 04:20 PM
Shufflerz
post Jan 26 2008, 06:15 PM

913 posts

Questions:

1. Why everytime I restarted my phone, my format of date and time will change back to default.
* e.g : My setting is 24 hours view and dd/mm/yyyy. After I restart my phone, it will change back to AM PM view, and yy/mm/dd.

2. Sometime when I activate my camera function, it will stop at the "Initialing Press 0 for Help" screen there. After that, my camera will not be functioning, until I restart the phone.

3. How to un-assign the desktop icons? Mean like I've already assigned a few of them, but I don't want it now, can I do that?

This post has been edited by Shufflerz: Jan 26 2008, 11:39 PM
shawnloong
post Jan 27 2008, 12:08 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(karlcheong @ Jan 26 2008, 04:10 PM)
While you are typing, look at top centre, there is a box icon showing "Aa" means alpha mode, now if you press Alt one time, it will turn to "12" means one time numeric mode, press again it will turn to "123" means numeric mode.

Get it...
IMO, you don't get me.

I know there is a box icon showing "Aa" or "123"...

BUT while i am typing... it only appears if i turn on and use the ON-SCREEN KEYBOARD.
IF I WERE TO TYPE WITHOUT THE ON-SCREEN KEYBOARD, (meaning with the qwerty keypad)

IT DOES NOT APPEAR.

Get it...?

This post has been edited by shawnloong: Jan 27 2008, 12:10 AM
squall_kay
post Jan 27 2008, 02:58 AM

5,726 posts

any sifu can recommend the best video setting for p1i
(format, bitrate, fps)
thanx
karlcheong
post Jan 27 2008, 03:19 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(shawnloong @ Jan 27 2008, 12:08 AM)
IMO, you don't get me.

I know there is a box icon showing "Aa" or "123"...

BUT while i am typing... it only appears if i turn on and use the ON-SCREEN KEYBOARD.
IF I WERE TO TYPE WITHOUT THE ON-SCREEN KEYBOARD, (meaning with the qwerty keypad)

IT DOES NOT APPEAR.

Get it...?
Are you saying that the on-screen keyboard does not pop out automatically each time you are typing. You want the P1 to show the on-screen keyboard each time you are typing (irrespective of whether you are using on-screen keyboard or qwerty keypad). Right ?

If that is the case, sorry I cant seen to find any of these function yet. Probably 3rd party software can do it

Added on January 27, 2008, 3:24 am
QUOTE(Shufflerz @ Jan 26 2008, 06:15 PM)
Questions:

1. Why everytime I restarted my phone, my format of date and time will change back to default.
* e.g : My setting is 24 hours view and dd/mm/yyyy. After I restart my phone, it will change back to AM PM view, and yy/mm/dd.

2. Sometime when I activate my camera function, it will stop at the "Initialing Press 0 for Help" screen there. After that, my camera will not be functioning, until I restart the phone.

3. How to un-assign the desktop icons? Mean like I've already assigned a few of them, but I don't want it now, can I do that?
1. This is the firmware bug. Upgrade to newer firmware or re-install the firmware one more time, it will correct after that.

2. Didnt come across that

3. Cant un-assign / undo. Can only replace

This post has been edited by karlcheong: Jan 27 2008, 03:30 AM
JdOtL
post Jan 27 2008, 09:05 AM

196 posts

Yap, 40pl already, my name not in it yet, and i bet there are more people not reporting in, this is a great phone, but the fact that it lack of call in recording function force me to get a second phone, otherwise this will be a perfect phone for the price.
squall_kay
post Jan 27 2008, 11:41 AM

5,726 posts

after 2-3 days using p1i.i think w810 produce better quality pics compare to this p1i (after update p1i, it still cant compete with w810 quality pics)
read in neoman..this p1i use not so good lens compare to w810 or perhaps still software prob that not being address...now i miss my old w810 (which lie in hp shops cry.gif )

aside from that, this p1i rocks rclxms.gif
nohal
post Jan 27 2008, 02:20 PM

Gorrila MXE
2,001 posts

anyone found key mapper software for P1?....and autostartup for programs?.....glad to hear if have....lol...

Added on January 27, 2008, 2:21 pm
QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jan 27 2008, 11:41 AM)
after 2-3 days using p1i.i think w810 produce better quality pics compare to this p1i (after update p1i, it still cant compete with w810 quality pics)
read in neoman..this p1i use not so good lens compare to w810 or perhaps still software prob that not being address...now i miss my old w810 (which lie in hp shops  cry.gif )

aside from that, this p1i rocks  rclxms.gif
lol...i missed my W810 also dude......gave to my mum...lol....

This post has been edited by nohal: Jan 27 2008, 02:21 PM
shawnloong
post Jan 27 2008, 03:35 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(karlcheong @ Jan 27 2008, 03:19 AM)
Are you saying that the on-screen keyboard does not pop out automatically each time you are typing. You want the P1 to show the on-screen keyboard each time you are typing (irrespective of whether you are using on-screen keyboard or qwerty keypad). Right ?

If that is the case, sorry I cant seen to find any of these function yet. Probably 3rd party software can do it
no not the on screen keyboard... but just the indicator box icon showing "Aa" or "123" so that i know what i'll be typing
cause everytime there is no indicator, i start typing, when i finish a word, i realize it's on numeric and i have to erase it and start all over again...
or i have to press one button 1st to test out whether its numeric or letters...shakehead.gif

ITS REALLY IRRITATING!

anyone else experiencing a similar situation?

BUT THANKS FOR ALL YOUR HELP! HIGHLY APPRECIATED! notworthy.gif

Added on January 27, 2008, 3:40 pm
read in neoman..this p1i use not so good lens compare to w810 or perhaps still software prob that not being address...now i miss my old w810 (which lie in hp shops  cry.gif )

maybe the pictures look better on the w810 because of it's smaller screen display (hence, pictures tend to look clearer/sharper) compared to the wider P1i screen display that might expand the picture making it appear less sharp.
all IMO smile.gif

but i agree on your last statement thou lol thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by shawnloong: Jan 27 2008, 03:44 PM
squall_kay
post Jan 27 2008, 10:52 PM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(nohal @ Jan 27 2008, 02:20 PM)
anyone found key mapper software for P1?....and autostartup for programs?.....glad to hear if have....lol...

Added on January 27, 2008, 2:21 pm

lol...i missed my W810 also dude......gave to my mum...lol....
if anyone hv...i also wan that program..

u ok arr..at least u still can see ur w810..i cannot already..now getting used to type wth p1 qwerty..my typing very slow like siput... sad.gif

Added on January 27, 2008, 10:57 pm
QUOTE(shawnloong @ Jan 27 2008, 03:35 PM)

Added on January 27, 2008, 3:40 pm
maybe the pictures look better on the w810 because of it's smaller screen display (hence, pictures tend to look clearer/sharper) compared to the wider P1i screen display that might expand the picture making it appear less sharp.
all IMO  smile.gif

but i agree on your last statement thou lol  thumbup.gif
huhu..maybe.but when transfer to pc..the pictures from p1i quite wash out...but after ajusting the brightness level..its quite ok..
but i oso notice some forumers in esato also complain this p1i pics quite grainy (don have this prob) and wash out...hope next fw update will gve better pics quality.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by squall_kay: Jan 27 2008, 10:57 PM
Lestat
post Jan 27 2008, 11:40 PM

392 posts

well...my name not in the list too. it doesn't bother me anyway..

just wanna report in what i found out yesterday. after shooting a few pics with phone, i straight keep it in the pouch (coz i know it will go into power saving mode later). 3 hours later, my phone batt already fall to around 10% from 80-70% initially. and the phone felt a lil more warm.

my guess is, power saving mode only applies to the screen (it went off). in my case, the camera still running and consume power. i've yet to try this again to confirm my theory. no time la...anyone wanna try?

shawnloong
post Jan 28 2008, 01:13 AM

184 posts

QUOTE(Lestat @ Jan 27 2008, 11:40 PM)
well...my name not in the list too. it doesn't bother me anyway..

just wanna report in what i found out yesterday. after shooting a few pics with phone, i straight keep it in the pouch (coz i know it will go into power saving mode later). 3 hours later, my phone batt already fall to around 10% from 80-70% initially. and the phone felt a lil more warm.

my guess is, power saving mode only applies to the screen (it went off). in my case, the camera still running and consume power. i've yet to try this again to confirm my theory. no time la...anyone wanna try?
yea i agree with you (eventhou i didnt try your lil experiment lol).
i do believe it's just for the screen display going off, other applications still go running...
weird isnt it hmm.gif

dont get why SE never sees this silly faults.

Added on January 28, 2008, 1:30 amI found a small lil fault IMO.

Ok, i normally put my phone upside down in my pocket so it would be easy for me to just peep into my pocket to see if there is any msg/miss call because there is a green light indicator that blinks saying you have a msg/miss call...

But at times, I pull out my phone and to my horror see msg/miss calls without the green light blinking!

I have then come to a conclusion that, if you already have a msg/miss call, yes the light will blink, but say one of the buttons on your phone was pressed accidentally without you noticing, then the green light goes off.

Then this green light isn't that useful after all huh?

I mean come on, doesn't SE notice all this small but very noticeable faults?
Hope it's not just me thou

This post has been edited by shawnloong: Jan 28 2008, 01:31 AM
squall_kay
post Jan 28 2008, 07:24 AM

5,726 posts

QUOTE(shawnloong @ Jan 28 2008, 01:13 AM)
yea i agree with you (eventhou i didnt try your lil experiment lol).
i do believe it's just for the screen display going off, other applications still go running...
weird isnt it  hmm.gif

dont get why SE never sees this silly faults.

Added on January 28, 2008, 1:30 amI found a small lil fault IMO.

Ok, i normally put my phone upside down in my pocket so it would be easy for me to just peep into my pocket to see if there is any msg/miss call because there is a green light indicator that blinks saying you have a msg/miss call...

But at times, I pull out my phone and to my horror see msg/miss calls without the green light blinking!

I have then come to a conclusion that, if you already have a msg/miss call, yes the light will blink, but say one of the buttons on your phone was pressed accidentally without you noticing, then the green light goes off.

Then this green light isn't that useful after all huh?

I mean come on, doesn't SE notice all this small but very noticeable faults?
Hope it's not just me thou
this is true.. sad.gif
yuheng
post Jan 28 2008, 09:00 AM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

i m not in the lists as well....cry.gif

happy user here laugh.gif
zul_kar9shedan
post Jan 28 2008, 01:42 PM

is that true lens w810i better than p1i? rclxub.gif
lowyatguy
post Jan 28 2008, 01:46 PM

=Certified Counter-Striker=
3,144 posts

QUOTE(zul_kar9shedan @ Jan 28 2008, 01:42 PM)
is that true lens w810i better than p1i? rclxub.gif
at least w810i do not suffers from Green tint issue i suppose? biggrin.gif
nohal
post Jan 28 2008, 02:55 PM

Gorrila MXE
2,001 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Jan 27 2008, 10:52 PM)
if anyone hv...i also wan that program..

u ok arr..at least u still can see ur w810..i cannot already..now getting used to type wth p1 qwerty..my typing very slow like siput...  sad.gif
lol...true bout the W810...i can see it....

bout the p1 qwerty...i also slow like siput....but slowly im getting better of it...

QUOTE(lowyatguy @ Jan 28 2008, 01:46 PM)
at least w810i do not suffers from Green tint issue i suppose? biggrin.gif
why i didnt see any green tint...even watch in the computer screen?.....btw my p1 is january/08 batch....
Travies
post Jan 28 2008, 09:27 PM

1,048 posts

glad to see more and more p1i owner here... let's rocks..

typing with qwerty keyboard is good... u have to get used to it. somehow it might faster than normal phone typing once u used to it.... hehe!

w810i sound can be better than p1i as it is Walkman series, while p1i is in PDA series bro. Dun compare p1i with k series phone too. Instead why not u compare p1i to other PDA such as o2 zinc etc.
one thing i disatisfy about my p1i is the screen color only in 262k color. not sharp enough if comparing to nokia 16.7 million colors. really sad of this matter...
Shufflerz
post Jan 28 2008, 11:46 PM

913 posts

QUOTE(Travies @ Jan 28 2008, 09:27 PM)
glad to see more and more p1i owner here... let's rocks..

typing with qwerty keyboard is good... u have to get used to it. somehow it might faster than normal phone typing once u used to it.... hehe!

w810i sound can be better than p1i as it is Walkman series, while p1i is in PDA series bro. Dun compare p1i with k series phone too. Instead why not u compare p1i to other PDA such as o2 zinc etc.
one thing i disatisfy about my p1i is the screen color only in 262k color. not sharp enough if comparing to nokia 16.7 million colors. really sad of this matter...
IMO, the P1i QWERTY is too rubber'ish already, I'm still working hard on it.
Unlike the M600i, I can type very fast and smooth.
When come to P1i, I will stuck half way as the rubber to ... sticky(is it the right word?) already.
262k color is standard already lo, why you need such sharp screen?
I mean does there any other PDA phone out there with 16m color?

This post has been edited by Shufflerz: Jan 28 2008, 11:47 PM
squall_kay
post Jan 29 2008, 12:33 AM

5,726 posts

mine p1 doesnt suffer the green tint issue...for me. this p1i only produce comparable quality with w810, but the size is bigger n more detail..but the pics qulity are no match compare to k800/k810...ive read from gsmarena, while doing their review..they also mention abt the p1i pics quality compare to k800series which they believe becoz they reviewing the preproduction unit (proto 123)..nway, every phone has own advantageous and disadvantageous..js im hoping with the price of p1i, it shud hv the pic quality as good as k800/k810...hope next FW will improve it... smile.gif

128 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0213sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:14 AM