Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> (WTW) Want to Warn, Some Dell Notebooks are Refurbished Notebooks (New)

ignatiuspereira
post Jan 6 2008, 08:31 AM, updated 18y ago

I would like to warn people here that some Dell notebook sellers, NOT all, in this forum, sell Refurbished Dell notebooks but claim it is brand new with 1 year warranty. They will never tell it is Refurbished and mislead you thinking it is brand new and they will tell you that they get it cheaply because they buy bulk.

The truth is, they buy cheaply from Dell Outlet (http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/default.aspx?c=my&cs=mydhs1&l=en&s=dfo)

and it comes and looks exactly the same as a brand new machine, BUT, it is a USED machine that has been REFURBISHED by Dell and given their 1 year on site warranty. It maybe even a 6 months old machine but Dell refurbishes it. Dell even packs it neatly in their box as if it is brand new.

Like today, Dell Factory outlet selling lots of Latitude models.....http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/topics/segtopic.aspx/products/refurbished/my/en/latitude?c=my&l=en&s=dfo
Usually Vostro and Inspiron high spec models get snapped up immediately. Most machines cost RM3800 but are sold for RM2400 and below.

I fell victim to this in this forum. The seller misled me and told me it is brand new. However, I investigated further as the machine became faulty after I bought it.

How do you know that it MAYBE Refurbished? ONE probability would be when the seller sells it at RM2400 but when you build the machine online it cost RM3600, then, maybe, it could be a REFURBISHED machine.

Second way is to look cafefully under they keypad, you may see a bit of dust. But in most cases, you cannot see any difference at all, the machines look 100% brand new. Dell even wraps the machine up in bubble foil and seals it. All your manuals and CD and DC power brick are sealed in plastic too.

Just think, even if one buys bulk, nobody can discount from RM3600 to RM2400. Like that, nobody will ever buy from Dell online and people will all buy from this Forum.

Please note that some sellers are doing this and NOT all in this forum.

This post has been edited by ignatiuspereira: Jan 6 2008, 08:53 AM
ignatiuspereira
post Jan 6 2008, 08:35 AM

I don't want to be sued. I am just warning innocent prospective buyers like myself
ignatiuspereira
post Jan 6 2008, 09:34 AM

QUOTE(thunderbird @ Jan 6 2008, 09:17 AM)
this is not a secret...

i know that long time ago.
if you knew this long ago, you should have warned people in this forum. I hope moderator will pin my topic up to warn people.

I was shocked later to find out that my machine is refurbished.

Logic will speak for itself, if one can buy a machine that cost RM3600 for RM2400, nobody will even bother buying from Dell Online nor buy Toshiba, Fujitsu or even Compaq and Acer.

ignatiuspereira
post Jan 6 2008, 09:43 AM

not preconfigured, they are refurbished. How preconfigured machines can sell for even cheaper than Fujitsu or Toshiba?

The Dell I bought was a Inspiron 1520, Core2Duo 1.6, Windows Vista Premium, 2GB, 160GB Hard Disk, Geforce 8600, Webcam, Trueview TFT etc etc for RM2400.

Is this preconfigured? If so, nobody will buy notebooks from LYP and just buy from this fourms.

And most importantly, system licence was ACTIVATED.

Pre configured systems ....

The following steps are taken during the Inspection: Dell will verify that the Original Dell Security Seal over the carton box is not broken or tampered with.
Dell will conduct a test to ensure that the software license have not been used before.

A few people selling Dell here sell their machines with Licence Activated and also, carton box seal open.

This post has been edited by ignatiuspereira: Jan 6 2008, 09:47 AM
ignatiuspereira
post Jan 6 2008, 12:53 PM

QUOTE(devil75 @ Jan 6 2008, 10:06 AM)
how come cannot say seller name ?
i seriously do not think he can sue u
if he can wat's the point of having a trade dispute thread ?
seller sure very happy keep earning so much by selling refurbished items.
when I say sue, I was being polite. I am scared he come and pukul me and burn my house down. After all, he knows my phone number and getting one's address from the telco is not a problem.

Anyway, many people have pm me (about 12 pms) asking who the seller is, I am not going to throw names for fear of my safety. All I can say is that the seller is quite prominent here and has sold many Dell notebooks.

But I am confident he is not the only one doing this here. Like I said, how can you sell Rm3600 product for RM2400?

Only possibilities.

a) If item was stolen

b) Item is second hand of refurbished

This post has been edited by ignatiuspereira: Jan 6 2008, 01:13 PM
ignatiuspereira
post Jan 6 2008, 04:45 PM

QUOTE(alston_147 @ Jan 6 2008, 03:48 PM)
from the spec u provided... i knew who oledi....
ended with "e" rite  tongue.gif
Alston, fyi, his name does not end with "e". Do you think this is a game? A guessing game? This WTW message is to warn people to be more discerning and careful and not to be misled. Pls be more serious.

As I said I am not throwing any names.
ignatiuspereira
post Jan 6 2008, 07:29 PM

QUOTE(heavenhell90 @ Jan 6 2008, 07:22 PM)
huhuuu~~ i think i know who's the seller here in LYN selling the refurbished dell lappy.. i nearly fall into one.. lol..
not just one seller lah, I think there are more than one!
ignatiuspereira
post Jan 6 2008, 07:53 PM

QUOTE(Hakkinen @ Jan 6 2008, 07:46 PM)
Not only laptops, there are harddisks, optical drives, monitors are refurbished as well

Not only iT Equipments, there are many products is refurbished as well, such like car spare parts, handphones, etc etc..

but why people still want to buy ? what to do..it is cheap and usable, everything is expensive now, money not enough to spend..so everyone is looking for things that with good buy and below their budget.

So the forum is a flea market to those who want to buy cheap things, if they are not, I believe that most buyers will buy it from an authorised shop instead of hunting a good stuff here. This is very realistic..
I agree with you Hakkinen and thanks for the lovely pm. Yes you are right, refurbished is worth it, however, sellers must disclose honestly and give this option to the consumer and let the consumer decide.

It is dishonest to sell something as Brand New when it is Refurbished.

It is as bad as a Virgin wife telling her husband she is Virgin before marriage when she has slept with hundred men or was an ex prostitute or vice versa.
ignatiuspereira
post Jan 6 2008, 08:55 PM

Viking, there are many sellers selling refurbished notebooks and claiming its brand new.

It is unfair for a buyer to buy a Dell notebook being misled that it is Brand New.

Refurbished units, like earlier mentioned by djlah, if unlucky, got lots of problems and we have to call Dell Onsite to come and repair it not just once but possible many times, until the issue or malfunction is resolved. I had to call Dell 3 times and each day I tool unpaid leave, my pay was deducted RM200.

Most of us, have to take leave from work to wait for Dell Onsite to visit our house to repair the unit. Each day of leave is worth hundreds of ringgit to many people.

All this uncessary hassle is not fair to a buyer who thinks he is buying a brand new product which, of course, USUALLY brings less problems and malfunction.

The consumer needs to be informed what he is buying. This is fair practice.

This post has been edited by ignatiuspereira: Jan 6 2008, 09:01 PM
ignatiuspereira
post Jan 6 2008, 10:05 PM

QUOTE(Director @ Jan 6 2008, 09:06 PM)
ignatiuspeieira.....it is vital that u state the seller of your notebook as the problem u are facing is a fact. By covering mask of the unethical seller, u are actually misleading us that all Dell computer seller in lowyat.net is selling refurbished units. I hope u would consider my opinion as this is very important. Does dell representative confirm with u that the unit ur having is a refurbished unit?
Director, believe what you want to believe. This is a mere WTW for future prospective buyers. Whoever wants to buy from Dell sellers, they can do so.

My notebook is confirmed a Refurbished.

FYI, Dell sells their PC's online. They only have a showroom at Midvalley Megamall.
ignatiuspereira
post Jan 6 2008, 11:46 PM

QUOTE(WilliamGoh @ Jan 6 2008, 10:39 PM)
it's very misleading to say that dell's refurbished unit has a lot of problems... as stated in dell's refurbished website, all refurbished units were tested and passed before being sold... it's not like dell were selling malfunction refurbished systems... please put a name here... there are many people selling dell's laptops here, it's VERY UNFAIR to other honest sellers here...
That is why I mentioned that NOT ALL are dishonest. One or two are. Let the buyer beware and use his or her discretion before buying. No need to name drop. Again I reiterate, the WTW on the first page clearly states that "NOT ALL".

Armed with the knowledge that there are possibilities of refurbished systems being sold and being potrayed as Brand New, prospective buyers can now make informed decisions.

Added on January 6, 2008, 11:52 pm
QUOTE(Hakkinen @ Jan 6 2008, 10:47 PM)
ignatiuspereira, mind to tell me what happen to your laptop ?
LCD failure. LCD had to be changed. Of course this is probably bad luck on my part because Dell Refurbished systems undergo stringent test and are of good quality. But sadly, the issue here is not about quality nor warranty claims.

It is about the Sale of Goods and that the product does not fit the description ie buyer is misled to believe that product is "brand new" but instead is sold a Refurbished product.

Anyway, I am closing the topic as I am fed up and tired of typing. This WTW is merely to make people aware, relate my bad experience and not meant to be such a lengthy discussion. I don't have the time nor energy to keep answering pm's and reply to this thread. Thanks to everyone and good bye.

This post has been edited by ignatiuspereira: Jan 6 2008, 11:58 PM

0.0194sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:19 PM