Abit AN8 (nForce 4)

2 x 512 Mb kingston valueRAM DDR 400

WinFast PX6600 GT 128 MB

80GB SATA harddrive
5250 SATA2 Harddive

1 DVD rom

Coolermaster extremepower 430W psu

LCD Samsung Syncmaster 932b 19 inci

now the question is should i upgrade the pc or just buy a new 1? because the motherboard is so old and all the part are expensive even the ram (DDR). if buy a new one, i dont have that much budget, may be i have to wait till mid of the year.

if i want upgrade i would like to upgrade the RAM to 2 gig but compare to DDR2, DDR ram is much expensive, i feel like is not worth it

If i want to upgrade the graphic Card, i want the 8600 GT, but i would like to know it is overkill since my CPU is just only AMD Athlon 64 3000+ whereby the cpu is the limit to the performance. if the were the case, any card that u can recommend for me like the nvidia 7 series.

the other question is can my PSU support this upgrade?

I'm a FPS gamer

please help me, i feel that my rig is so ugly when playing games
sotplug
post Jan 5 2008, 03:44 PM

The old noobie...
920 posts

My opinion, 1GB enough unless you're using Vista.

If myself, I'll try the graphic card upgrade first. If things don't come out well, can still use the graphic in new PC.

Guriseruda
post Jan 5 2008, 05:32 PM

660 posts

QUOTE(sotplug @ Jan 5 2008, 03:44 PM)
My opinion, 1GB enough unless you're using Vista.

If myself, I'll try the graphic card upgrade first. If things don't come out well, can still use the graphic in new PC.
ya ur pc still can run a game... just need to change a better Gc .. get 8800gt la.. hot now hehe++

and how much is ur budget oh ?

This post has been edited by Guriseruda: Jan 5 2008, 05:33 PM
kok_hui
post Jan 5 2008, 05:47 PM

439 posts

ur pc not too slow lah, 1GB ram is enough for XP, just change a better graphics card to play game loh. 8600 is ok if ur budget is small, no need to worry about processor speed, game just depend on graphics card speed, ur 430W psu sure can support it.
RegentCid
post Jan 5 2008, 06:08 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

change ur new mobo and processor first...what is ur max budget?

TSSylwest
post Jan 5 2008, 08:07 PM

72 posts

My budget now is small (500) that why i consider 8600 gt

if buy new system i may be need to wait till mid of the year. i dont know i can wait that long. play all game in low setting so so sore eye... if processor speed is not the limit, i may be buy GC.

but i need your all advice, should i upgrade GC or just wait till mid of the year to get a new rig. budget is very tight sleep.gif but still gaming is my passion. any advice???
RegentCid
post Jan 5 2008, 08:16 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Ram also need change to Kingston 2G ddr2 667mhz le...so ur mobo can support ddr2? got Pci-E slot?
mmohdnor
post Jan 5 2008, 08:26 PM

1,021 posts

Abit AN8 doesnt support ddr2 ...only ddr

luckily ur mobo has pcie, at least can get a good card that fits ur budget..
try to find 86gt/gts or 2600xt ...maybe can get it cheaper in garage sales thread

This post has been edited by mmohdnor: Jan 5 2008, 08:27 PM
Guriseruda
post Jan 5 2008, 08:49 PM

660 posts

ya for this movement just get a 8600GT is good already rclxms.gif

next time got money then only change the mobo and proc and RAm ..

This post has been edited by Guriseruda: Jan 5 2008, 08:52 PM
RegentCid
post Jan 5 2008, 09:02 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

if like this will get system bottleneck lu
TSSylwest
post Jan 6 2008, 12:31 AM

72 posts

system bottleneck? because of low cpu and RAM?

if that were the case, can u suggest any other graphic card??

RegentCid
post Jan 6 2008, 12:35 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

u need get better Proc and Mobo and Ram also....if ot what GC also will get bottleneck...because ur ram is too low and Proc speed is low mar....can't process the data that sent by GC
TSSylwest
post Jan 6 2008, 12:41 AM

72 posts

i know what u mean, can u suggest any other GC, lower end one that doesn't overkill by RAM and Proc speed. this can save me some budget... no ikat perut
RegentCid
post Jan 6 2008, 12:46 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Asus En7600GS silent 512mb Tundermatch sell RM385 should be Ok
TSSylwest
post Jan 6 2008, 01:16 AM

72 posts

wooo!!! 8600 gt sold at 399.. y that 7600GS cost that much?? i though is like 200 something
bryanyeo87
post Jan 6 2008, 01:18 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

because it is 512mb.

but its stupid to get 512mb for a 128bit based card. the card's core can barely get enough bandwidth from a 256mb but a 128bit interface. what more 512mb?

the only place that 512mb should belong to is a 256bit based card.
RegentCid
post Jan 6 2008, 01:18 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

512mb de 256mb is RM220
OC4/3
post Jan 6 2008, 01:52 AM

4,746 posts

ATI Radeon X1800/X19x0 Series,Nvidia Geforce 7800.7900 off garage sale will be a good step up or get X1950GT off pczone for RM405.

0.0170sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:52 PM