CFP or MBA or RFP, which one possesses better prospect?

Darkmage12
post Jan 4 2008, 11:26 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(ante5k @ Jan 4 2008, 09:00 PM)
i was looking at CFP also, whole course around 10k plus. too bad its not related to my field but i'm quite interested in it. sad.gif
unless you are planing to go into finance then that's another story
ante5k
post Jan 5 2008, 01:06 AM

Antediluvian
1,173 posts

not going into finance, my interest and self improvement only....

This post has been edited by ante5k: Jan 5 2008, 01:06 AM
wingcross
post Jan 5 2008, 01:40 PM

603 posts

dun take CFP or other unit trust/insurance certifications. go for Masters. if possible go for specialisation like Risk Management of Finance.
those CFPs arent the same CFP from oversea.

coz when i try to inquiry about those certifications, its only recognized in malaysia only.
TSlengchaihow
post Jan 5 2008, 04:23 PM

How about RFP (Registered Financial Planner) ???

Can someone tell me about RFP??

Darkmage12
post Jan 6 2008, 12:40 AM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

you need to have CFP only can be RFP right?
tinkerbel
post Jan 6 2008, 02:36 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@lengchaihow,
Y don't U finish ur degree and then onli think about this?
TSlengchaihow
post Jan 6 2008, 11:15 AM

but it seems like both RFP and CFP have similar syllabus.
i am just wondering what are their differences ? rclxub.gif

@tinkerbel

My classes have yet to start, so i will still got some times to think about all these.
anyway, thanks for your concern. nod.gif

tinkerbel
post Jan 6 2008, 02:09 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@lengchaihow,
I think it's good to find out what those 2 courses are, but for u think about and to start planning about it seems a little early. Anyhow, wishing u the best of luck smile.gif
lhklmy
post Mar 5 2010, 10:48 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(lengchaihow @ Jan 6 2008, 11:15 AM)
but it seems like both RFP and CFP have similar syllabus.
i am just wondering what are their differences ?    rclxub.gif

@tinkerbel

My classes have yet to start, so i will still got some times to think about all these.
anyway, thanks for your concern. nod.gif
You are right, CFP and RFP have similar syllabus.

The main differences:

1. CFP is both internationally and locally recognised while RFP is loccally recognised.

2. You can get exemptions for RFP if you have completed your CFP studies: RFP has 7 modules, while CFP 6 modules, you will get 4 RFP exemptions while for the remaining 3 RFP modules, just need to sit for exam. If you have RFP, you will only get CFP Module 1 & 2 exempted provided you have passed these two RFP modules.

My advice: go with CFP.

http://www.kmdc.com.my/html/programmes/prog_04cfp_faq.html - for information about CFP (and a little bit on RFP)

http://www.kmdc.com.my/html/programmes/cfp_Exemptions.html - for information about RFP exemptions

http://www.mfpc.org.my - for RFP

http://www.fpam.org.my - for CFP

Added on March 5, 2010, 10:59 am
QUOTE(wingcross @ Jan 3 2008, 06:49 AM)
CFP not recognized in oversea. samething goes to RFP
Hey! CFP is internationally recognised. in fact, it is both internationally and locally (Bank Negara and Securities Commissions) recognised.

The 24 countries or regions that recognised and offer CFP certification program are:

USA, UK, Australia, NZ, China, India, Canada, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Japan, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, Indonesia, Austria, South Africa, France, Germany, Brazil...

Check these sites:

http://fpsb.org/members.html

http://www.kmdc.com.my/html/programmes/pro...fp_faq.html#b22

RFP is locally recognised.

Added on March 5, 2010, 11:06 am
QUOTE(ante5k @ Jan 5 2008, 01:06 AM)
not going into finance, my interest and self improvement only....
Yes, I agree with you - for self improvement and interest, CFP is a good program - learn to manage your own personal finance.

Anyone can take CFP, provided you meet the entry requirement: minimum SPM or equivalent. I heard from 2014 onwards, the minimum entry requirements will be raised to a bachelor degree.

This post has been edited by lhklmy: Jan 29 2013, 03:02 PM
xeroxeropi
post May 27 2010, 02:57 PM

25 posts

if u r interested in doing sthg, just do ur own research and can easily find out the details what.

CFP is internationally recognised in a lot of countries. wingcross was ill-informed.

RFP is the msian certification that is not recognised outside of malaysia.

the two have the same aims thus, their course outlines are identical.
both are good courses. depends on what u intend to do w ur cert, u choose which one suits ur needs lar.

it;s also not right to compare CFP and CFA lor. coz both have diff objectives.

they don't have the same focus. CFP takes on a more overall financial planning (risk management, investment, estate planning, tax planning etc).
as a CFP, u don't need to be the expert in all those fields as long as u can delegate the relevant expertise to ppl who can do it for ur client. eg: u delegate will-writing to ur estate planner contact on ur client's behalf if the client choose to do so.

whereas CFA focuses mainly in investing. ppl expect u to to be the expert in investment.

so can't really compare btw the two. they are apples and oranges.

suggesting ppl to do CFA just to learn more abt investing is really overkill lor.

hope this clears the confusion and comparisons btw CFP and CFA

pls do some research on ur own instead of listening to ppl's hearsays only.
SUSalaskanbunny
post May 28 2010, 12:29 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

to those that mention mba is the easiest is clearly comparing with the obscure schools... any top 20 business school in the world is never easy... to enter is already a challenge
danes007
post May 28 2010, 06:05 PM

47 posts

I'm a spm leaver and i'm currently interested in finance sector. So, which course should i choose? which course would be a better choice in terms of job prospect,salary, work type and etc. Currently, my option is pursuing financial engineering degree at mmu or maybe i can go for CFP but i'm not sure about the requirement yet. thanks in advance. hmm.gif
POYOZER
post May 29 2010, 01:19 AM

Traveler
3,653 posts

I prefer MBA because I am a business minded. I don't care about the professional certificate because I don't want to work under people.

So, I believe it is depend on the needs and goal.

This post has been edited by POYOZER: May 29 2010, 01:39 AM
lhklmy
post Jun 9 2010, 12:03 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(danes007 @ May 28 2010, 06:05 PM)
I'm a spm leaver and i'm currently interested in finance sector. So, which course should i choose? which course would be a better choice in terms of job prospect,salary, work type and etc. Currently, my option is pursuing financial engineering degree at mmu or maybe i can go for CFP but i'm not sure about the requirement yet. thanks in advance.  hmm.gif
For SPM qualification, you can do CFP, not CFA (requires a first degree), and not MBA unless you have accumulated lots of experience in work as an executive/manager. In many advanced countries, you will need a first degree to pursue CFP but not in Malaysia.

These days, more and more people opt for professional certification. IMO, if you have a degree or MBA, it is good for your career if you are professionally certified too. This will give you an edge. If you do not have a degree, then professional might be a good choice, provided you are clear about your career goal.
lexiqa
post Jun 10 2010, 02:16 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(lengchaihow @ Jan 5 2008, 04:23 PM)
How about RFP (Registered Financial Planner) ???

Can someone tell me about RFP??
RFP is regulated and conferred by the Malaysian Financial Planning Council (MFPC) within msia.

this is a professional cert recognised ONLY in msia.

read further here--->RFPhttp://www.mfpc.org.my/index.php?option=displaypage&Itemid=33&op=page#CourseModules

compare RFP with CFP, CFP is internally recognised.

further reading on CFP --->WIKI CFPhttp://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Certified_Financial_Planner

CFP is regulated and conferred by FPAM---> FPAMhttp://www.fpam.org.my/fpam/certification-and-standards/home/certification-process/

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Jan 6 2008, 12:40 AM)
you need to have CFP only can be  RFP right?
no.

BUT u can get certain exemptions for RFP after u done ur CFP (or other related degrees/professional papers) and not the other way around.

u can choose to do RFP first then do CFP but since got exemptions, better do CFP first if u want to get RFP title later also. smile.gif

QUOTE(danes007 @ May 28 2010, 06:05 PM)
I'm a spm leaver and i'm currently interested in finance sector. So, which course should i choose? which course would be a better choice in terms of job prospect,salary, work type and etc. Currently, my option is pursuing financial engineering degree at mmu or maybe i can go for CFP but i'm not sure about the requirement yet. thanks in advance.  hmm.gif
u can only start CFP at age 21 minimum.

so, best advice is, do ur degree first.

QUOTE(POYOZER @ May 29 2010, 01:19 AM)
I prefer MBA because I am a business minded. I don't care about the professional certificate because I don't want to work under people.

So, I believe it is depend on the needs and goal.
getting a professional cert MEANS don't need to work for other ppl if u want lar.

u'll have the license to open ur own firm with it ald.

QUOTE(lhklmy @ Jun 9 2010, 12:03 PM)
For SPM qualification, you can do CFP, not CFA (requires a first degree), and not MBA unless you have accumulated lots of experience in work as an executive/manager.  In many advanced countries, you will need a first degree to pursue CFP but not in Malaysia.

These days, more and more people opt for professional certification. IMO, if you have a degree or MBA, it is good for your career if you are professionally certified too. This will give you an edge. If you do not have a degree, then professional might be a good choice, provided you are clear about your career goal.
yep. this is bcoz FPAM is trying to encourage more ppl to get CFP in msia first.

IMO, professional certs are great extensions to what u learnt in ur degree/diploma. wub.gif
strison
post Jun 15 2010, 11:13 AM

94 posts

ha, recently planning to take up the MBA course..

debbieyss
post Jun 15 2010, 04:00 PM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Jan 3 2008, 04:35 AM)
MBA, I think lots of people are holding it !
Definetely Easy to PASS !
However, the cost can range from RM 6K -30K. (Local University vs Private College/U)
Sunway-Manchester Business School's MBA costs almost RM100k now.
xuzen
post Jun 15 2010, 04:07 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jun 15 2010, 04:00 PM)
Sunway-Manchester Business School's MBA costs almost RM100k now.
They are probably targeting those whose annual income are in the six-figure category.

If you are not, then it is not for you.

Xuzen
lexiqa
post Jun 16 2010, 02:38 AM

525 posts

oops!

just saw a typo. "compare RFP with CFP, CFP is internally recognised."------>shld be "CFP is INTERNATIONALLY recognised"
debbieyss
post Jun 16 2010, 10:45 AM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Jun 15 2010, 04:07 PM)
They are probably targeting those whose annual income are in the six-figure category.

If you are not, then it is not for you.

Xuzen
Therefore,

Education Fees =/= Education Quality

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0307sec    0.97    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:18 AM