Hermit Crabs version 2.0, All about land and sea hermit crabs.

blitzboy
post Apr 9 2009, 01:11 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(g-string @ Mar 10 2009, 05:51 PM)
hi...want to ask the crab sifus.

i think one of my crabs is molting. its hiding in the sand for the past 1 to 2 weeks. after looking around, i can see part of it protruding from the sand, but the rest is inside. anyways, how do you know if its dead or not?

i'm not sure what part is protruding, or its the old shell?  i poked it, but it didn't move. there's a slight smell, but i figure its from the sand. not overpowering or anything.

from what i read, once its molted, it will eat the old shell for nutrition. normally when molting, can you move them to a ISO tank??? if while molting, i move him, will he die?? hehehe. sorry, noob here.
you should leave it alone and let it molt naturally. and also you have got it right, the hermit crab will eat the old exoskeleton to replenish lost calcium in the process of molting. the crab will not eat the exoskeleton immediately, once you notice the old exoskeleton is detached from the crab's body means the molting is successful, and you need to move it to the ISO tank because it is vulnerable even the slightest nudge from other crab tank mates may result to loss of limbs.

Again HANDLE WITH CARE. You can move your crab back to the main tank once you notice it is eating, walking and active again, and check whether has the new exoskeleton become solid and hard, because it protects the crab. Newly molted hermit crab have soft exoskeleton.

As for the smell, you need to identify tell the difference between the smell of moisture in the sand, the smell of the hermit crab habitat that you have set up yourself. If it smells the same means the hermit crab is still alive, and hermit crab may die from unsuccessful molting(the crab failed to release itself from the old exoskeleton), and a dead hermit crab will emit a very strong smelly stench, like something is about to rot. (experienced hermit crab keepers you know what i mean).

blitzboy
post May 3 2009, 12:35 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(cartographer @ May 2 2009, 04:43 PM)
hi everyone... im also very interested in hermit crabs as pet and hoping to get some... but is it true that it lives only 4 years in tank compared to in nature 40 years? is it possible that i release it on its 3rd year so tht it may live for another 36 years?
When I started keeping hermit crab, I bought them from shops. I have been reading a lot and researching about them since age of 12 although I never had chance to keep them since then due no one selling and just catch them from the beach and releases them back before I leave the beach. So I started comparing the land hermit crab that I bought and those that I caught, it shows remarkably resemblance and its adaptive nature to the captive environment due to its diet varies from forms of vegetation and fruits that are normally available at the local grocery. Since this personal discovery I experienced, I no longer buy hermit crabs unless for specific species like strawberry hermit crab, not a local species. Instead I drive down to the beach and catch them. Wild caught hermit crab are far more active, and aggressive than those in pet stores. If you can create a terrarium that mimics to the best & closest possible to its natural habitat the hermit crab will thrive and will remain as active. It really works, but cost high, and a lot of maintenance work to keep clean and tidy.

I have more than 4 years experience in keeping land hermit crabs. During my early years, I lived in a rented place and move around every year or 2 due to job related reasons. Everytime when I move, I always decide that it would be easier for me to empty the entire tank and clean up before moving out. I will dispose off the sand, gravel, the drift wood, clean up the whole tank, and clean the accessories and pack them in a box. So what I do to the life hermit crab?

I place them in a bucket and drive to a beach and release them. I choose to do it at night and I brought proper lighting equipment and safety boots. I know of a location which is a natural habitat for a very huge land hermit crab colony, in which i have to walk for a few kilometers, and climbing rocks. It is very dangerous, believe me. When I arrive I set up the lighting and I saw lot's of land hermit crabs all over the place!!!! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif I am very familiar to the geographical landscape of the area.

You Have to be very careful as you may kill one or two if you step on them by accident. watch your step. I carried the bucket full of my captive hermit crab and releases them one at a time. I observed that a colony of land hermit crab is a combination of different species from purple claw to Equadorian. I observe the crabs that I released will walk around and identify its surround and soon getting along with the rest of the colony. Soon all of my hermit crabs disappears from visible range blending among the rest of the colony. I can no longer tell which is mine and which was from the colony.

The night was silent, with only the sound of waves, sea breeze, crickets and sound of chirping hermit crabs, hermit crabs also makes noise when they walk on the sand, it can be obvious in such a huge colony. To answer your question, in such ideal natural environment the hermit crab will surely live longer !!! rclxm9.gif

The above experience is unforgettable. I was sitting on a rock, drinking water from my bottle, watching the stars and also enjoying the moon lit beach with some lighted up area using my flash lights.

Even I will live longer given that I had a chance to live near there. According to a survey, human living by the sea tend to live longer, over a 100 years old !!!

This post has been edited by blitzboy: May 3 2009, 12:55 AM
blitzboy
post May 3 2009, 01:08 AM

136 posts

I have done releasing of hermit crabs a few times already.
I am always happy seeing them joining to the colony in their natural habitat.

And Why do I do it at night, although it is dangerous for me?
It is because if I release them during the day, they would be exposed to heat and sunlight, and may die from it, if they unable to to find a hiding spot and no other hermit crabs within range. Further more hermit crabs are most active at night.
blitzboy
post May 4 2009, 09:48 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(cartographer @ May 4 2009, 11:33 AM)
Which beach would u release them? And how u know that there has manty other hermit crabs? Im sure u r very expert in hermit crabs n will b great if u can show me ur hermit crabs 1 day. Where is ur location?
i choose not to disclose the beach location due to it may endanger the hermit crab population there. Pls understand.
I am from Shah Alam. I no longer keep land hermit crab, n now trying out marine hermit crab.

blitzboy
post May 5 2009, 10:31 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(onscreen @ May 5 2009, 10:08 AM)
You can release it in the mid morning from 9am to 11am. Best place to release them is under a shady tree or large rock spots, within minutes they will start wandering around for cool spot for burrow.
at night you can watch many hermit crabs in their natural habitat mah... biggrin.gif

blitzboy
post May 5 2009, 11:51 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(cartographer @ May 5 2009, 10:46 AM)
oic... does marine hermit crabs lives longer and not as vulnarable as the land hermet crabs?
if you have a marine aquarium, with some clown fish, cleaner wrasse and damsel fish. Marine hermit crab will be a good tank mate that crawl the bottom of the tank picking up leftover food and particles.

Marine hermit crabs are not as messy as keeping land hermit crabs. Marine hermit crab are also less choosy on it diet, it eats dead fish and sinking fish food in flakes or pellets or even sea algae.

You just need to control & maintain the water parameters & salinity and frequent water changes necessary weekly or bi-weekly at 10% to 25% of a full tank of sea water.

In this case you need to have ready mixed sea water, prior to the water change.

I have posted a video and pictures about marine hermit crabs in previous postings you can have a look.

As to the lifespan to marine hermit crab, it is still unknown to me. Anyone knows are welcome to post here.

This post has been edited by blitzboy: May 5 2009, 12:50 PM
blitzboy
post Aug 5 2009, 04:43 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jun 29 2009, 12:08 AM)
Go ahead and ask. I guess alot of old members have stopped coming in here. For me, I stopped keeping hermits coz I decided to concentrate on other pets. But  do have a crab. A Mangrove crab which I find easier to keep. But I can still remember about hermit crabs.
What is Mangrove Crab?

I have heard of Fiddler Crab, Land Crab, Freshwater Crab, Mud Crab, Shore Crab.

All the crabs i said above also can be found in Malaysia shores, and are adapted to live in mangrove swamps.

Rainbow crab is 100% land crab, but need freshwater puddles to keep the gills moist. The color is dark purplish body with white pincers.

Freshwater crabs AKA river crabs is fully aquatic crab with dark colored body and white to reddish pincers. It will burrows in river banks for safety when threaten.

This is the first time I see the word Mangrove crab.

Please post a picture of your Mangrove crab.

This post has been edited by blitzboy: Aug 5 2009, 04:52 PM
blitzboy
post Jan 12 2010, 09:47 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(BenSow @ Jan 10 2010, 08:05 AM)
Hey guys is there freshwater hermit crab? If have where to buy? I only see before Starberry hermit for sale at Pudu... Saltwater and not recomended for beginers... Anyway is this a place to ask about crabs too? Cause maybe I will get a rainbow crab put in my turtle tank is that bad?

All hermit crabs requires sea-water a.k.a. salt water, which including land hermit crabs. If you are keeping rainbow crab, then it is fine, to keep in the turtle tank. DO NOT keep the tortoise or turtle together with the crab, because the your crab may risk dying from the turtle or tortoise attempting to eat it. make sure the water level isn't too deep, and the crab is able to climb onto the platform above the water level, failing which the crab will drown.

QUOTE(khairulanuar @ Jan 12 2010, 11:37 AM)
1 question...sorry if this Q are redundant...
what is the best food for the hermit...???
Hermit crab food diet list.

Dried food
Hagen CrabWorX.
Hikari Dried Shrimp.
Fish pellets or flakes.

Raw food.
Sweet Corn
Apple
Papaya
Coconut meat
Carrot
Pear

Do not feed the same food day after day. Change the food from the list every 2 or 3 days. Hermit crab gets bored easily eating the same food all the time.

This post has been edited by blitzboy: Jan 12 2010, 10:08 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0271sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:17 PM