21 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Hermit Crabs version 2.0, All about land and sea hermit crabs.

bee002
post Sep 30 2008, 12:23 AM

96 posts

before i go i just planned to buy 2 or 3 if size is small

but finally i bought 3 even the size is medium - big.

i found the their eyes are a bit different from what i have.

all eye of them looked a bit not as clear compare to my old one.

the momment i put them in my bowl of out of 3 straight change the shell

here some of the photo taken with my handphone

This post has been edited by bee002: Sep 30 2008, 11:12 AM
blitzboy
post Sep 30 2008, 06:48 AM

136 posts

Hi bee002...
where are the photos ? the images doesn't load up.
bee002
post Sep 30 2008, 10:52 AM

96 posts

i already upload the photo. you can try refresh and see

do you notice the one of the crab changed its shell frm photo# 3 to #4?

Added on September 30, 2008, 6:06 pmi facing a little problem ,
now in my pool i got half is small river stone (as you can see in the photo) and half of beach sand. washing the small stone isn't a problem for me , but how am i going to wash the sand, since they all are so small in particle. if i put in the water when and i stir the sand with water, how i extract the rubbish or dirty thing from the sand if the thing does not float? and i also facing problem then i pour the water the sand follow the water come out together, and went together to my bath room drain,where i scare my drain will get blocked because of the sand..

any good idea?
this is my first time using sand, so fast i just use stone where very easier to clean

This post has been edited by bee002: Sep 30 2008, 06:07 PM
TSonscreen
post Oct 1 2008, 04:48 AM

Nomby
675 posts

Ah.. those sand.. you wash it and the dirt will float. Later, you a unwanted frying pan or sacrifice a frying pan just for sand cooking.

Pour the sand onto the pan and heat it. Took me 2 hours.
bee002
post Oct 1 2008, 10:28 AM

96 posts

why need to cook the sand? For it to dry? Can i just put under sun?
zoejehuty
post Oct 1 2008, 02:24 PM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

hi there, long time wan to keep hermit crab alrady, and now in melaka here got sale already, small till big one, damn happy seeing it.
now wanna ask about the minimum requirement for keeping the hermit crab.
wat i know is jus sand, various rock and stone, driftwood and water...
i did heard about need those salt water for marine fish one, but in the same time i heard dunnit, jus plain water then can already...
any info about it ?
bee002
post Oct 1 2008, 11:20 PM

96 posts

i think better have. some more not very expensive , i bought one about 700ml container size about rm9 only.

i am looking for driftwood , i saw some shop very expensive about rm30 just a small piece ,where can i get a bigger and cheap one ? or can i have any driftwood replacement?
TSonscreen
post Oct 2 2008, 02:58 AM

Nomby
675 posts

The purpose to "cook" the sand is to heat up the sand to kill bad bacterias and its the fastest way to dry up the washed sand. Putting in the sun is possible but longer time to dry and also chances of getting wet again tongue.gif

Driftwood, you can get cheap large driftwood from any pet shop. Make sure you soak it with hot water before using it.

Best to put salt water and fresh water together, usually, the crabs love to soak in salt water and drink fresh water. For the sand theres many types to use, avoid colored sand and coarse sands. Best sand to use is playsand from toy'r'us or the sand bee002 mentioned. Refer to the pics he posted, you get to have a glimpse on how fine the sand is.

Anyway, i am itching to buy 2 strawberries >.<
zoejehuty
post Oct 2 2008, 04:29 PM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

wat's the minimum things to have in order to keep hermit crab ?

blitzboy
post Oct 2 2008, 07:59 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(zoejehuty @ Oct 2 2008, 04:29 PM)
wat's the minimum things to have in order to keep hermit crab ?
To keep hermit crab. You will need the following items.

1. 2ft glass tank (can also use plastic tank) with covered tank lid
2. beach sand
3. 1 feeding dish
4. 2 small bowl (1 for freshwater & 1 for saltwater)
5. Red Sea brand sea salt.
6. some sea shells of various sizes
(preferably same size or slightly larger than what the hermit crab is currently using)
7. Driftwood (for hermit crab to climb or hide)
8. aquarium lighting
9. aquarium fan with on/off switch. (optional item)

Hermit Crab feed on various organic matter. They quickly get bored when given the same food all the time.
You can feed your crab as follows.

1. bread
2. raw sweetcorn
3. papaya
4. apple
5. Dried crab diet such as Hikari Crab Cuisine or Hagen CrabWorX

You need change the feeding menu from time to time, so they won't get bored on eating the same taste.

This post has been edited by blitzboy: Oct 2 2008, 08:02 PM
Hiyuki
post Oct 3 2008, 01:01 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(blitzboy @ Oct 2 2008, 07:59 PM)
To keep hermit crab. You will need the following items.

1. 2ft glass tank (can also use plastic tank) with covered tank lid
2. beach sand
3. 1 feeding dish
4. 2 small bowl (1 for freshwater & 1 for saltwater)
5.  Red Sea brand sea salt.
6.  some sea shells of various sizes
    (preferably same size or slightly larger than what the hermit crab is currently using)
7. Driftwood (for hermit crab to climb or hide)
8. aquarium lighting
9. aquarium fan with on/off switch. (optional item)
Hermit Crab feed on various organic matter. They quickly get bored when given the same food all the time.
You can feed your crab as follows.

1. bread
2. raw sweetcorn
3. papaya
4. apple
5. Dried crab diet such as Hikari Crab Cuisine or Hagen CrabWorX

You need change the feeding menu from time to time, so they won't get bored on eating the same taste.
Can try cucumber n carrot oso.

My hermits never wanna change shells. I provide them with few choices, shapes n sizes, but it's been 3 weeks n they never change into any. Weird? Wats wrong?
zoejehuty
post Oct 3 2008, 07:52 PM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

other than beach sand, can i jus use rocks? or those that LFS like to use those white stone look one...

blitzboy
post Oct 3 2008, 08:41 PM

136 posts

QUOTE(Hiyuki @ Oct 3 2008, 01:01 PM)
Can try cucumber n carrot oso.

My hermits never wanna change shells. I provide them with few choices, shapes n sizes, but it's been 3 weeks n they never change into any. Weird? Wats wrong?
From my experience it is normal, the hermit crab has the right to stay put in the same shell or change to a new shell where ever or whenever it wishes to.

You can refer to my article I have written about keeping marine hermit crab, in which I recommend you some shell that is mostly preferred by hermit crab. You need to check the shell type which you give to your crab, the opening shape whether is it round opening, D shape opening or oval shape opening, which is prefered by most hermit crab.

QUOTE(zoejehuty @ Oct 3 2008, 07:52 PM)
other than beach sand, can i jus use rocks? or those that LFS like to use those white stone look one...
stones can be a decoration to the tank and shall not be used as the gravel because the hermit crab cannot dig and cannot burrow into the sand. In the natural habitat of the hermit crab, they spend most of the day time buried in the sand.

This post has been edited by blitzboy: Oct 3 2008, 08:44 PM
zoejehuty
post Oct 4 2008, 12:47 AM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

ooo, so normally those sand u get form LFS or get straight from beach ?
blitzboy
post Oct 5 2008, 12:18 AM

136 posts

QUOTE(zoejehuty @ Oct 4 2008, 12:47 AM)
ooo, so normally those sand u get form LFS or get straight from beach ?
straight from the beach and must collect the sand from a clean area....
zoejehuty
post Oct 5 2008, 03:24 PM

Z.O.E.
1,170 posts

hmm... okok, then about the saltwater? wat kind of saltwater brand do i need to get from?
TSonscreen
post Oct 6 2008, 05:44 PM

Nomby
675 posts

Red Sea Salt is the best brand you can go for.

It comes in bottle form or pack form. It is sold in any pet shop / fish shop since its one of the widely used brand.

Added on October 6, 2008, 5:46 pm@bee002, i started to notice the TINY Ecuadorian behind the giant strawberries tongue.gif It is sooooo cute in the size contrast. Particularly the first pic.. hehe

This post has been edited by onscreen: Oct 6 2008, 05:46 PM
empty_reg
post Oct 11 2008, 10:04 PM

249 posts

Wow, strawberries finally arrive in malaysia. is not easy to get them here, strawberries are endangered. they are less hardly then ruggs. what's the going price?
junshern222
post Oct 20 2008, 08:15 PM

235 posts

anyone selling hermit crabs here?
Coner32
post Oct 20 2008, 10:02 PM

119 posts

I saw Strawberry Hermit Crabs selling at RM18.00 each near my housing area.... Bukit Tinggi, Klang.

21 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:20 PM