Laptop or Desktop

TSFreez87
post Dec 31 2007, 07:28 PM, updated 18y ago

blink.gif currently i am using a pentium III processor and i am planning to buy a new pc. I am puzzling whether to get myself a laptop or a desktop. I use to play game and download movie via the net. Can anyone give me some comment. To me, i prefer laptop because of it's mobility. In the same time i find that desktop have more benefits than laptop. Argghhh, i am really confuse. Which one should i get????? pls help me sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif
PeeNut
post Dec 31 2007, 07:42 PM

Captain
808 posts

Which game u prefer to play? How much ur budget? Is it ok if ur graphic for game u only able to run medium and u dun mind?

For me, I seldom play game except for dota. So for me, I'll go for laptop as it is mobility and less bulky. I have a pentium 3 at home for download only.
Aquariusdenz
post Dec 31 2007, 07:44 PM

1,533 posts

wrong section... please ask at hardware forum... there have more pros... smile.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Dec 31 2007, 08:06 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(Freez87 @ Dec 31 2007, 07:28 PM)
blink.gif currently i am using a pentium III processor and i am planning to buy a new pc. I am puzzling whether to get myself a laptop or a desktop. I use to play game and download movie via the net. Can anyone give me some comment. To me, i prefer laptop because of it's mobility. In the same time i find that desktop have more benefits than laptop. Argghhh, i am really confuse. Which one should i get????? pls help me sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif
How old are you? Will you utilise your laptop more than your Desktop?

Answer the two questions and you will know which to choose. If you're Uni student and you really need a laptop, go for it. If not stick with the conventional.
cyew86
post Dec 31 2007, 08:12 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

desktop for gaming
laptop for mobility, if ur works need it
natakaasd
post Dec 31 2007, 08:15 PM

2,188 posts

~~A Report has been done for a move.

~Cheers!
LovesReborn
post Dec 31 2007, 10:59 PM

1,739 posts

seriously ask yourself, do you NEED the mobility or WANT the mobility.
if mobility is not that important, go for desktop. you can get an above average desktop with average laptop's price.
spartacvs
post Dec 31 2007, 11:20 PM

I thought my jokes were bad!
1,281 posts

Most people go for laptop mainly because of the mobility advantage but a little while later, they got bored with it and realize that laptop isn't what they really want. If you are student, I would suggest that you go for desktop and as LovesReborn mentioned,
you can get an above average desktop with average laptop's price.
, you can save up quite a sum of money, which you can use to upgrade your desktop, should you choose a dekstop.

fcuk90
post Dec 31 2007, 11:27 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

if you only use at home and didnt bring it everywhre..then desktop is more worth and suitable..desktop pc is cheaper than laptop...

This post has been edited by fcuk90: Dec 31 2007, 11:28 PM
emy_xvidia
post Dec 31 2007, 11:33 PM

2,735 posts

i need mobility, but i dont fancy laptop because of its lower 'horsepower' compared to desktop.. so i prefer desktop, bring it everywhere i go.. lol.. laugh.gif
skylinegtr34rule4life
post Dec 31 2007, 11:37 PM

13k elite :P
13,340 posts

PC FTW. there is no way you can play crysis in any laptop unless you throw 50k 4 one alienware gaming laptop. laugh.gif
jonathanchee315
post Jan 1 2008, 02:49 AM

582 posts

QUOTE(skylinegtr34rule4life @ Dec 31 2007, 11:37 PM)
PC FTW. there is no way you can play crysis in any laptop unless you throw 50k 4 one alienware gaming laptop. laugh.gif
Em any laptop with 8600 also can play la. No need 50k

drgadgets
post Jan 1 2008, 06:12 AM

178 posts

I find that many ppl buy laptops but then leave them in their rooms and use them as if they're desktops. Before buying a laptop, make sure that you really need the mobility. many ppl have dreams of taking their work with them but later feel its too much of a hassle/unnecessary.
post Jan 1 2008, 06:15 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

Budget budget budget, mana budget ko?
For me, i suggest you buy a brand new pc is better than crappy laptop.
I mean like budget around Rm2,000
ir1z
post Jan 1 2008, 09:46 AM

The God of Death
1,629 posts

QUOTE(jonathanchee315 @ Jan 1 2008, 02:49 AM)
well as far as i can say my laptop dell inspiron custom rig with 7900GS can play crisis at low-medium depends on reso. And that laptop cost around RM7700
TSFreez87
post Jan 2 2008, 12:59 AM

QUOTE(ir1z @ Jan 1 2008, 09:46 AM)
well as far as i can say my laptop dell inspiron custom rig with 7900GS can play crisis at low-medium depends on reso. And that laptop cost around RM7700
Wow, that is really expensive. I fancy laptop because of its mobility. I think i will get a desktop instead.... What kind of cpu should i get if i want to play need for speed prostreet?

Added on January 2, 2008, 1:17 am
QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Dec 31 2007, 08:06 PM)
How old are you? Will you utilise your laptop more than your Desktop?

Answer the two questions and you will know which to choose. If you're Uni student and you really need a laptop, go for it. If not stick with the conventional.
i am 20 and currently i am doing my degree in MMU. Really tough... sad.gif

This post has been edited by Freez87: Jan 2 2008, 01:17 AM
fcuk90
post Jan 2 2008, 01:22 AM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(Freez87 @ Jan 2 2008, 12:59 AM)
Wow, that is really expensive. I fancy laptop because of its mobility. I think i will get a desktop instead.... What kind of cpu should i get if i want to play need for speed prostreet?

amd athlon 4000+ x2
biostar TA690G
2gb ddr2 667 ram
8800gt 512mb
silverstone st56f
dvd writer
80gb hdd
17 or 19 inch lcd

roughly around rm2.5k
ir1z
post Jan 2 2008, 07:42 AM

The God of Death
1,629 posts

QUOTE(Freez87 @ Jan 2 2008, 12:59 AM)

well if that said then ur definitely better off with a desktop.....
RegentCid
post Jan 2 2008, 09:25 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

u want great laptop with mobility + gaming.....buy DELL XPS 1350...cyrsis no problem if low setting
sniper on the roof
post Jan 2 2008, 09:37 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(Freez87 @ Dec 31 2007, 07:28 PM)
blink.gif currently i am using a pentium III processor and i am planning to buy a new pc. I am puzzling whether to get myself a laptop or a desktop. I use to play game and download movie via the net. Can anyone give me some comment. To me, i prefer laptop because of it's mobility. In the same time i find that desktop have more benefits than laptop. Argghhh, i am really confuse. Which one should i get????? pls help me sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif
If you've lived with a PIII until today, suffice to say that you're not bleeding edge, not in the game of constant updates and throwing tonnes of money into computing.

As such, I would lean towards a laptop + lotsa external HDDs.

Or a desktop + an Eeepc tongue.gif

QUOTE(spartacvs @ Dec 31 2007, 11:20 PM)
Most people go for laptop mainly because of the mobility advantage but a little while later, they got bored with it and realize that laptop isn't what they really want. If you are student, I would suggest that you go for desktop and as LovesReborn mentioned, , you can save up quite a sum of money, which you can use to upgrade your desktop, should you choose a dekstop.
I thought it's the other way round. Anyway, upgrade path is a myth unless you're doing it every other month.

Let's say you bought a LGA775 board 2 years... only to find it cannot support core 2 duos.... or an AM2 board that doesn't fully support AM2+ cpu's.

Or the vga card upgrade only to be spoilt by the fact that psu tarak cukup powaaa.

Or DDR --> DDR2 --> DDR3.

QUOTE(jonathanchee315 @ Jan 1 2008, 02:49 AM)
That's not playing it the way its meant to be played tongue.gif

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 2 2008, 09:25 AM)
u want great laptop with mobility + gaming.....buy DELL XPS 1350...cyrsis no problem if low setting
low setting.
ir1z
post Jan 2 2008, 10:19 AM

The God of Death
1,629 posts

the xps is only expensive due to its casing and how it looks, thus ur better off getting a custom one instead which is worth more of for your money spent....
TechnoDude94
post Jan 2 2008, 10:27 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

I recommend that you get a desktop but the decision is yours as your the paying the money. If I were getting a destkop with RM2500 I would choose fcuk90's choise. Just my 2 cents.

0.0161sec    1.12    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:33 AM