New Zealand - Working Holiday Scheme

TSsonice
post Dec 30 2007, 04:35 AM, updated 18y ago

Anyone planning to go New Zealand with working holiday visa? icon_rolleyes.gif

I'm planning to take a long break from my current job. 6/7mths. whistling.gif

Planned to go with working holiday visa, work the hell out (kiwi fruit packing / grading in Tauranga) for the first 5 or 6 months, accumulate $$ and start traveling on the 6th or 7th month for a month long then get back home and heading for a new job.

And hopefully there is some NZ$ thumbup.gif to bring home, which enuff to survive for few months while looking for a new job back home in Malaysia.

Anyone any ideas?

Will be glad to hear.... icon_question.gif

Added on December 30, 2007, 3:36 pmWhere is all the New Zealand kaki..... hmm.gif

Added on January 2, 2008, 4:43 pm unsure.gif really no one join me??? sad.gif

Added on January 8, 2008, 1:08 amhello....?

anyone??

Added on January 8, 2008, 1:09 amreally no one going New Zealand arr....?? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sonice: Jan 8 2008, 01:09 AM
czai84
post Jan 9 2008, 10:30 PM

190 posts

i am planning to go new zealand !@!@!! but i don have enuf money yet..
but i saw some 1 back from there is finding ppl to work at there.. as fruit picking and packing.. will go there on end of march or april.. i am planning to go there work and mayb travel?
SUSsharkteef
post Jan 9 2008, 10:40 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

working holiday is great if u're up to it.

if south island u be prepared to work in farms. its nice and cosy and u will be treated well. fruit picking not so, but sheep (wool/meat) farms are always hiring a hand. sheep farms earn more with harder workloads.

what other advice do u need ?
its always cold in south island, its shitty in north island. its expensive so i doubt even if they do pay u minimum wage which i dont think so, u might not end up with enough to come back home extras.
est322
post Jan 10 2008, 12:01 AM

I still planing where to go after CNY,will consider New Zealand also.
czai84
post Jan 10 2008, 07:42 PM

190 posts

sharkteef, what is the temp in south island? i get a job fruit picking job in North island in this End of March.. is it Kiwi fruit?
TSsonice
post Jan 10 2008, 11:39 PM

QUOTE(czai84 @ Jan 10 2008, 07:42 PM)
sharkteef, what is the temp in south island? i get a job fruit picking  job in North island in this End of March.. is it Kiwi fruit?
czai84... which part of North Island are you going?

I'm goin to Mt. Maunganui in Bay of Plenty........i got an offer from this employer - Huka Pak House. doh.gif need to work 11.5 hours/per day and 6 days / week. vmad.gif Anyone heard abt it b4...? But i'm still searching for other employer...i'll prefer to work with Seeka co.

Is anyone knows the income tax rate in NZ? Is malaysian eligible for tax exemption?

This post has been edited by sonice: Jan 10 2008, 11:40 PM
SUSsharkteef
post Jan 11 2008, 12:27 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

QUOTE(czai84 @ Jan 10 2008, 07:42 PM)
sharkteef, what is the temp in south island? i get a job fruit picking  job in North island in this End of March.. is it Kiwi fruit?
i dont know what farm u're in.
their fruit grows all year long. temp at south island is lower than in north. If its end of march it shudnt be too cold. winter starts in may. christchurch wont be too cold. maybe around the region of 10 degrees in may.

arrowtown will hit 0 and below easily at the beginning of winter. peak winter u slowly wonder la. dunedin also pretty cold. haast also should freeze your @ss.

if u go down south on the way to queenstown, there's this farmshop called MRS Jones. she's a legend. a real legend , she exports fruits and flowers.
and ***hint** always needs a helping hand. she's a kind lady and believe me, u wanna pluck fruits, go with her. she'll teach, guide and care for u.
oh and eat her pessimons ! thats my fav.
czai84
post Jan 11 2008, 11:11 PM

190 posts

hm... i ll mark down MRS Jones..
i am still in the planning..

i found this when doing reseach.. i think is nice
things to know about New Zealand

Added on January 11, 2008, 11:13 pmhttp://www.mrsjonesorchard.co.nz/ <-- is this the website?

This post has been edited by czai84: Jan 11 2008, 11:13 PM
SUSsharkteef
post Jan 13 2008, 02:48 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

yup it is.

my suggestion, if u do go down to south island, stay longer at queenstown. its a lil bit more pricier there, but its really awesome. not too far away is arrowtown. i actually bought my lodge there. like a getaway/retirement home for me. there's a lot of help needed around queenstown. employment is still high especially for working hands.

feel free to ask me any questions and i'll do my best to answer them.
dEfrAgmEntEr
post Jan 13 2008, 07:46 PM

260 posts

is this legal ?

i mean seriously, coz i heard certain countries doesnt let u getting a job while staying there..

and TS is a girl ? really ? wub.gif thumbup.gif

(i could be interest coz i hate my job, but i'm not quite ready for 6-7 months of fruits) laugh.gif
TSsonice
post Jan 13 2008, 08:27 PM

QUOTE(dEfrAgmEntEr @ Jan 13 2008, 07:46 PM)
is this legal ?

i mean seriously, coz i heard certain countries doesnt let u getting a job while staying there..

and TS is a girl ? really ?  wub.gif  thumbup.gif

(i could be interest coz i hate my job, but i'm not quite ready for 6-7 months of fruits)  laugh.gif
if you are under Working holiday visa you will be able to get the working permit legally for 6 months. Now due to NZ labor shortages, if you are holding travel visa, u might be able to get a 6 weeks working permit legally.

i hate my job too....that's why i will take a long break.... but anyway you dun have to fruits only for 6-7 mths.... you can fruit for 2-3 mths (to break even hopefully) then start traveling along the island... have a long break enjoy ur life..... whistling.gif

czai84
post Jan 13 2008, 09:58 PM

190 posts

hi sharkteef,

my fren told me his father's fren say somewhere near queenstown, is a orchard so i think is farm work.. gross pay is 1k nzd per week, is it possible?
of cos my gross mean b4 deduct rental,tax,daily expenses
i did try to ask is it MRSJOnes.. he say not sure.. what he know is.. bcos of the cold and wind.. its going to be a tough job so the pay is high

This post has been edited by czai84: Jan 13 2008, 10:14 PM
SUSsharkteef
post Jan 13 2008, 10:26 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

only certain countries allow working holiday visas and NZ is one of them.

If its near queenstown there isnt many fruit farms. Queenstown is a full commercial tourism area, therefore the industry would revolve around it.

New zealand has a minimum wage payment scheme. (this only applies to ppl with actual work visas/permanent residence) i think its at NZD6 per hour. Depending on how many hours u work, yes it is possible to earn 1k per week (assuming if its in ringgit 1k)
Taxation on working holiday visa ONLY in the south island (meaning christchurch blah blah blah) is lower than regular residence.

@czai84 - Mrs Jone's orchard is nowhere near queenstown. its basically in the middle of nowhere. wind is extreme and yes the cold is all year round. NZ is cold all year round. Job is not exactly tough. i've tried fruit farms and garden nursery's but i didnt like it. I prefer to work with farm animals. more passion for animals. Everyday i used to look at the sheep and say, eh look at my mutton run .....lolz. i named some of the sheeps. kari, assam and claypot. hahahaha.

i can only advice u on what's going on under south island. If u need advice for north island, u have to get it from my other friend. she's been in auckland and wellington for 16 yrs now. pm me for her info and i'll give it to you.

To those who wish to travel and work, or just travel, south island holds many uninteresting things for you. peace, quiet, serenity. Shops close early, really really early. Weather is unpredictable, though cold all year round, it may force strong winds on u at any point of time. Main GDP comes from agri. tourism is only a small part. Queenstown is pure tourism. if u like bungee jumping's or 4x4 trailing, or jetboat rides, queenstown is a place for you. u can choose to work a more thrilling job by getting hired with them. AJ's bungee jumping on kawarau....cool.

the lower the south u go the more dead the place gets.

And try not to step foot at otalgo. Haast also try not to go la. if really wanna go, mebbe for a day cukup.

czai84
post Jan 13 2008, 10:49 PM

190 posts

thx for the very useful information!! bcos i likes life style in NZ ,peace and quiet.. i hope can stay longer at there...
SUSL0st
post Jan 13 2008, 11:31 PM

66 posts

hmm how much budget i need first if i were to take a job there ?

i know im very tight budget these month cry.gif
SUSsharkteef
post Jan 14 2008, 01:38 AM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

QUOTE(czai84 @ Jan 13 2008, 10:49 PM)
thx for the very useful information!! bcos i likes life style in NZ ,peace and quiet.. i hope can stay longer at there...
i wish u the best of luck too. i have no doubt u'll like it there. lifestyle is extremely slow moving down in the south island. if u feel bored, take a jetstar trip to melbourne. domestic flights are cheap. moreover jetstar is like airasia.

oh and do malaysia proud. Kiwi's are friendly people. do the same for them.

QUOTE(L0st @ Jan 13 2008, 11:31 PM)
hmm how much budget i need first if i were to take a job there ?

i know im very tight budget these month cry.gif
i have no idea what u're talking about. but your airfare should be in the regions of RM2k for return ticket. Airport tax is RM800-900 (pending november 2007) That's just to fly you there. If you need to know anythign else, do post them here and i'll try my best to answer them. cheerios.

czai84
post Jan 14 2008, 11:28 AM

190 posts

i might going with sonice..because her nick already mention So Nice, and she is really a nice person XD

sharkteef,
if i am going there with whs, before my visa end can i find a person or boss to extend my visa? of cos i will be working for him.. i wanna try to extend my stay over there mayb 1 or 2 yrs?.. i wish to take PR in nz if possible..i like slow moving life hehe, i don wan my day to end so fast like when i am in kl.. although sabah is also moving slow. i might wan to visit brisbane if there is a chance, my best buddy is studying over there XD

SUSsharkteef
post Jan 14 2008, 12:37 PM

Not Godlike
2,504 posts

PR is not easy to obtain in NZ. You have to fulfill points. If you do plan to stay for a long time, i suggest you get PR and a permanent job there.
You need to have at least a bachelor's degree and a permanent job contributing to its economic growth. Then you stand a better chance of obtaining PR.

Sonice is going to North Island. Perhaps you may find some thrills and spills around Rotorua, wellington or auckland. It's not as cold as down south. warm even sometimes. But either way, always a good experience to travel abroad.
yo_yo
post Jan 14 2008, 02:33 PM

337 posts

QUOTE(sharkteef @ Jan 13 2008, 10:26 PM)
only certain countries allow working holiday visas and NZ is one of them.

i think its at NZD6 per hour. Depending on how many hours u work, yes it is possible to earn 1k per week (assuming if its in ringgit 1k)
the per hour wage is actually more than NZD 6. last time my earning is NZD 9 per hour as a waitress and NZD 10 as a cashier but the cutthroat taxes reduced my wages a lot. and i'm not sure if holiday working visa holder has limited hours of work. if you are lucky, you can get part time job that is NZD 20 per hour.

QUOTE(sharkteef @ Jan 14 2008, 12:37 PM)
PR is not easy to obtain in NZ. You have to fulfill points. If you do plan to stay for a long time, i suggest you get PR and a permanent job there.
You need to have at least a bachelor's degree and a permanent job contributing to its economic growth. Then you stand a better chance of obtaining PR.

Sonice is going to North Island. Perhaps you may find some thrills and spills around Rotorua, wellington or auckland. It's not as cold as down south. warm even sometimes. But either way, always a good experience to travel abroad.
well if you want to have PR realy easily why don't you look up the NZ immigration and you would see a list of jobs that will grant you PR without much hassle like being a hairdresser. i actually don't understand why hairdressers can get PR instantly but my friend who has hairdressing qualification is now a PR there.

you will be lucky if you are able to get a permanent job there since NZ government has set a rule that employers can only employ foreigners if they have advertised at least a three places such as newspapers and online classification and no local citizens suit the requirement. i know many employers are not willing to go through all those hassles just to help you to get a working visa.

and another thing is NZ is well known for its pristine environment so go to places where you can see their natural environment. and don't forget to visit the LOTR spots. what you see in the movie is what you see in NZ. if you go to Rotorua, go to the hobbit's place. and try seeing their native animals.

the weather is unpredictable sometimes so do take extra care when you are there. when i was in wellington, i didn't really take care of my body and now i'm having athritis due to the cold in wellington. shakehead.gif
czai84
post Jan 14 2008, 02:41 PM

190 posts

hi yo yo, thx for ur information! its useful too. i guess by doing the job which the local ppl dont prefer to do will have the more chance to grant a PR..so yo yo ur still at nz ?

125 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0340sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:00 PM