Penang's Overclocker Club Official Thread V3

Dreamworks
post Jan 10 2008, 11:45 PM

Shining with 3x2+1 stars!
2,141 posts

Yo gsan, have you sold your DS3? If it's revision 2.1 (And not yet sold tongue.gif ), there's a hidden feature yet to be unlocked! drool.gif
Dreamworks
post Jan 11 2008, 12:01 AM

2,141 posts

I said feature, not trick tongue.gif But anyway, some may find this useful but some just don't care...

Heard of ASUS EPU? Heard of ASUS AI Suite? Always wanted to know how much watt that overclocked proc of yours is eating? laugh.gif I always wanted to know my proc's power consumption, and now I can! Thanks to GIGABYTE DES, just update the BIOS and this hidden feature is unlocked brows.gif

http://www.giga-byte.com/FileList/WebPage/...es-overview.htm

Dreamworks
post Jan 11 2008, 12:26 AM

2,141 posts

Erm... No.

Seems like GIGABYTE made some changes on the hardware components of revision 2.1, so only that revision or newer supports the feature and software. They stated it somewhere in their site, forgotten liao sweat.gif But I do know that the last model to support DES is P35-DS3 rev. 2.1, lower end models like the DS3L, S3L, etc. won't have it. And the naming will add an E in front, becoming EP35-DS3 for future boards produced, which could be the reason why DS3 was facing shortage when I want to buy last month shakehead.gif

Taken from their site:
Important Notice :
The following motherboards can be upgraded to enable Dynamic Energy Saver:
GA-P35-DS4 rev. 2.1 / GA-P35-DS3P rev. 2.1 / GA-P35C-DS3R rev. 2.1 / GA-P35-DS3R rev. 2.1 / GA-P35-DS3 rev. 2.1
Please visit GIGABYTE website download the latest BIOS and Dynamic Energy Saver Utility.

E : Dynamic Energy Saver Design; D : Ultra Durable2 / Ultra Durable Design

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Jan 11 2008, 12:30 AM
Dreamworks
post Jan 11 2008, 09:37 AM

2,141 posts

Don't feel bad, DES is rather useless for OCers as the program will not work if the FSB is not on default rclxub.gif They should at least let use monitor how many watts doh.gif

And it's also useless for E2140 users, because our procs only consume 25 watts on load shocking.gif If I switched on DES, idle is only 3 watts sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Jan 11 2008, 09:38 AM

0.0397sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:15 AM