Need advice on repaying PTPTN loan, all ur News and Questions on PTPTN

lipton tea
post Oct 2 2009, 11:57 AM

71 posts

hi,

I've graduated in year 2006. Didnt pay my ptptn loan until Dec 07. Started paying in January 2008 until now

every month. In 2008, i pay 200-300 every month, then for this year 2009, i increased my payment to RM 500 every month to avoid the high interest charges.

"KOS PENTADBIRAN TERKUMPUL TAHUN SEMASA SETAKAT OKTOBER 2009 : 458.38 "

Up til now, my salary is only RM 1.8k,after epf n socso is RM 1681, deduct RM 500 every mth for ptptn, deduct petrol RM 280 per/mth, food & other expenses RM 300, RM 200 for parents.......luckily im still staying with family otherwise, if need to pay rental....habis lah!

Currently, still need to pay 13k, so estimated in 2 yrs plus can pay off all....
lipton tea
post Oct 5 2009, 12:42 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(chan1314 @ Oct 2 2009, 05:40 PM)
since the interest is so low, only 3%,
y dun pay lesser , and use the extra money to do investment ?
u may use the money to invest something which can get more return than ptptn interest.
I dun want to pay less coz hope to clear off asap so i can save for something else. Use my money to invest in something like what? haha....i also dunno....the thing is, the faster u pay off, the better ma....if u can pay up, might as well clear all ur debts...even tho' interest is 1% or 3%, still is interest ma....lol.
lipton tea
post Oct 5 2009, 05:06 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(pisang @ Oct 5 2009, 02:58 PM)
may i ask if we want to pay one lum sum to settle the loan... got any discount/rebate?
hmm, i dun think if you pay lump sum u will get discount or rebates....but u will definitely save alot on the admin charges....imagine every mth the amount that you have to pay....by paying lump sum, you save on the interest charges...if you can pay all in one lump sum, might as well go ahead, but of coz make sure u have enuff emergency funds la....
lipton tea
post Oct 18 2009, 06:24 PM

71 posts

hi, i really cannot tahan liao....i wanna pay off everything in one lump sum d......13k left....
lipton tea
post Oct 19 2009, 10:16 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Oct 18 2009, 11:47 PM)
well.. i have paid off one lump sum.

My point is: if you are clear now, then you will psychologically feel better, as investment not always earn money; it lose sometimes.

So clear it, then invest. FD rate is so low now, no use keep at bank..
Wu Ming,

I cant put my money in FD coz interest is so low....ive got 2k in maybank FD and interest only 2.1% compared to the interest of ptptn's 3%
For investment purpose, there are so many types of investment funds out there, dun even know which is good and this could take me months or even a few years to know which investment suits me...(to do research and stuff).
Which mutual funds/shares/stock do you invest in Wu Ming?

Epalbee,

I totally agree with u....paying off in one lump sum will make u psychologically feel better....and FD rates...oh my..such low interest.....epalbee, congrats to u on paying off ur ptptn loan! I want to feel tat weight lifted off my shoulders too....
lipton tea
post Dec 10 2009, 07:36 PM

71 posts

usually i will pay by installment every mth via their fpx website using maybank2u.com.my account and usually will have no problems when processing....today morning time, i paid a large amount of money and then then i wait for their updated statement but nothing happen....still showing the previous amount from last month......ive already written an email to them with all my transaction details and my personal particulars, why does this happen? Do you think they will deduct my amount and update the online system soon???

lipton tea
post Nov 21 2011, 07:26 PM

71 posts

on the subject of ptptn, my friends and i were having a meal the other day and they shared their experiences with me,
guess what.......one already graduated like 4 years ago and til now havent paid a single cent! He did get some warning letter and stuff and he still did nothing about it.....furthermore, he just came back from a trip overseas last week and was not blacklisted!

Then my 2 other friends added that they have yet to make any payment as well since they graduated like 3 years and 2 1/2 years ago respectively. I asked them why they have yet to pay a single cent since they're all working and have really stable jobs. They also say that they do not have any financial burdens or commitments. Plus, they also received some letters like warning and final warning and reminders and stuff...

Do you think PTPTN is too lenient?
lipton tea
post Apr 19 2012, 03:05 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ Mar 19 2012, 12:25 PM)
Congraz bro. I hope I can finish repayment by 28.
This one is worth framing up rather than my degree.
Wu Ming, how much left you need to pay?
I'm also 28 this year, working almost 4.5 years already.
Most of it is contract basis...
All my savings gone to settle PTPTN nia.....=.="
summore my basic salary <2k
must go seek for a higher paying job liao...
then can settle ptptn in one lump sum
lipton tea
post Apr 19 2012, 04:50 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ Apr 19 2012, 03:28 PM)
Hi Lipton Tea,
About RM30k lor. I dunggu guy at school. SPM no skor many A's and not bumiputra. So tak dapat gahmen uni.
I started paying since last year. Every year I lump sum RM10k + interests.
Aiyoh, you have to start looking for better paying jobs loh.
My advise you have to demand your basic pay higher. Company other benefits bullshit you should push it aside first.
Hi, oh you pay yearly....currently im dumping RM 500 every mth....
After settling my PTPTN, i plan to buy low cost apartment but.....for my salary, im not entitled for the RM 75k home....since i have to earn at least RM 2.5K only eligible....

0.0767sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:36 AM