Need advice on repaying PTPTN loan, all ur News and Questions on PTPTN
BlackPen
Feb 11 2014, 07:45 PM
QUOTE(oldman @ Feb 11 2014, 12:20 PM) I usually have problems accessing the detailed account section of the PTPTN website on the weekends... weekdays is okay, usually Weekend is off day  weekends can't access I wondering what is "9811 BYR INS KEPADA SYKT" this appear twice a month  The amount is few cent to 1 ringgit  and "9812 POTONGAN INSURANS" credit me around RM140+- twice in a years This post has been edited by BlackPen: Feb 11 2014, 07:49 PM
BlackPen
Jan 6 2022, 06:05 PM
Hi all,
I'm considering paying the full amount of PTPTN to grab the discount of 15% given by our beloved government by using KWSP Account 2. After the workout which seems like not worth doing so? here is my calculation
Here is my calculation:- PTPTN amount of RM 38,500.00 Monthly payment RM 245.50 (RM 212.92 payment and RM 34.58 interest) Full payment to save RM 5,775.00 (15% from RM 38,500)
If monthly stick to the monthly pre-payment required 181 months (RM 38,500.00 / RM 212.92 = 181 months equivalent to 15 years) to clear the PTPTN.
With this 15 years, KWSP Account 2 compound interest of 5.5% p.a (assumption) will be earned about RM 49,200.00.
In order to save you RM 12,033.98 (RM 5,775.00 plus RM 6,258.98 (RM 34.58 x 181 Months)). You're losing RM 37,166.02 (RM49,200.00 - RM 12,033.98)
Meaning to say, it's not worth clearing PTPTN using KWSP Account 2. Any sifu can enlighten me? Just a simple calculation.
This post has been edited by BlackPen: Jan 6 2022, 06:11 PM
BlackPen
Jan 6 2022, 07:07 PM
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jan 6 2022, 06:17 PM) The govt is not asking borrowers to withdraw from EPF. If you think is not a good decision, then cont with the instalment. Anyway, just settled yesterday through CC and converted to 12 months interest free instalment. [attachmentid=11071069] Yea, government not specifically mention borrowers to withdrawn money from epf account 2 to clear the outstanding, but government are encouraging borrowers to clear the debt. That why government giving out discount. I’m just sharing the calculation for discussion which is the best way nor best interest to pay the ptptn loan. This is what lowyat forum for and not just reply “if you think not a good decision, then continue with the instalment”. It’s not benefits to this thread. This post has been edited by BlackPen: Jan 6 2022, 07:26 PM
BlackPen
Jan 6 2022, 07:28 PM
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Jan 6 2022, 07:23 PM) Withdrawing epf money with compound interest to payoff is never a good decision from the start. Epf is for retirement and never a solution to settle a debt. I’m agree with you. This option might not the best but KWSP did given an option to borrowers to payoff / offset by using account 2. No harm to compare the option to opt the best option. Some borrowers might think it’s worth? Who knows? Might have different opinions worth to discuss for? This post has been edited by BlackPen: Jan 6 2022, 07:29 PM