Nokia [Nokia(tm) N82 Official Thread], Storytelling rediscovered

tzethye
post Dec 27 2007, 02:20 PM

61 posts

er..guys..i found out some thing bad about garmin xt..after u install garminxt,your copy n paste function will malfunction...what i meant is the # button...it cannot mark the songs list in my music player after i installed garmin...but after uninstall it,the key works perfect again..anyone faced this same issue on their n82?add me in too..i bought mine for 1860...best christmas present..ehehe
tzethye
post Dec 28 2007, 01:27 AM

61 posts

wow...really thanks a lot for the solution for the text input malfunction...by the way,on the maps application,i was told that n82 has 3 months trial..however,when i tried to navigate,it asked me to purchase service via credit card...is the 3 months gps not valid in malaysia?any of u tried navigating using nokia maps with voice?
tzethye
post Jan 15 2008, 03:12 PM

61 posts

guyss...i know this might sound like an off topic...but did any of u all scratched ur n82?i scratched mine a little on top of the screen and i m now hunting for n82 front cover...did any of u all happen to see any cover on sale any where?any ideas on how to remove the front cover?it looks quite tricky...
tzethye
post Jan 16 2008, 12:20 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(gigohlo @ Jan 15 2008, 03:32 PM)
well, i love my phone very much.. wun so easy let it get scratched tongue.gif dunnit find cover la.. jus go buy crystal casing.. wait for the black ed to launch, then go fix black cover  thumbup.gif wait at most also 3 mths only mah lol
3 months its too long n i m afraid my n82 will be scratched very badly by that time...i put it in my jeans most of the time,the back part i m not worried,as some claims it to be scratch resistant,but the front part is what i m worried of..like n76,the silver chrome will chip off later on...i m scared that n82 will hv such prob as well...but seriously,if got black n82 cover,i would love to buy it..original or pirated casing also nvm...silicone casing mks the phone looks like a brick leh....haih....
tzethye
post Jan 20 2008, 03:29 PM

61 posts

did any one here figure out how to open the front covers??i manage to pull up the front cover above the keypad slightly,but it still doesnt come..i dare not use more pressure to pull it out as there r still no covers on sale right now...there's dust underneath the screen n i desperately need to clean it...if anyone here manage to open the front plate,share with me...K???
tzethye
post Jan 27 2008, 08:03 PM

61 posts

besides silicon and crystal casing,did any one manage to find n82 front cover in low yat?i ve beeen huntin for it for weeks now,but so far still no signs of pirated n82 casings...damnn....anyone found n82 casing in other places??
tzethye
post Feb 1 2008, 10:15 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(chin_kh @ Feb 1 2008, 08:15 PM)
Since "smartmovies" needs to be registered, does anyone knows wat other softwares tat have the same functions as smartmovies? I mean can convert movie files into n82 ...
seriously,screw smartmovie...the best player for n82 is its own real player...its just the matter of how u convert ur videos...well,if u can,try n download xilisoft video convertor...google it somewhere n u should get it...once u get the converter,convert your videos to mp4 with this settings ....
Resolution:640x480,video bitrate =1500kbps, sound bitrate; 128kbps,sample rate 48000khz.....

i compared the video to smartmovie n real player totally kicks ass in terms of quality...besides that,u can even assign mp4 videos as video tone in profiles,but u cant do that with avi videos.... thumbup.gif
tzethye
post Feb 1 2008, 10:35 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(gzero @ Feb 1 2008, 10:21 PM)
dude, that's exactly reason why we are getting smartmovie. There are loads of downloadable movies out there which are in avi format and cant be played with real player. Unless real player start supporting avi playback, the next best software for avi playback is smartmovie itself.

and maybe you havent seen the official smartmovie video converter itself. because it's so dam simple and straightforward, not to mention it's a very small/light software, you can convert a a movie from a format to another in a matter of few clicks of button, optimized specially for N82. ( you can select optimization for other models as well). Yes, i have used xilisoft convertor and bunch of other converters before and nothing beats this smartmovie converter.
i have all the players in my n82,from real player, core codec player,power movie player,divx player,and smart movie,i can tell u,real player has the least functions,but it is the only player that can support vga quality videos... n its videos can be used as video tone...i used smart movie convertor before.,but the thing about it is,smart movie convertor 's video resolution is on 320x240,which isnt as clear as vga resolution...only real player can play vga mp4 videos on n82 clearest...but the only draw back is,u got to hv a huge memory card for it cos a 4minutes music video will consume 40 mbs of space...hehe...if u wan smartmovie convertor which are cr*cked, try search in www.dotsis.com...they should have it there...i hope i can help....smile.gif

maybe bcos i m a perfectionist,thats y i love to convert very high quality videos for my n82...i mean,if ur phone has the ability to view such high quality videos,y dont u push it to the max???hehe.....

This post has been edited by tzethye: Feb 1 2008, 10:38 PM
tzethye
post Feb 1 2008, 10:52 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(gzero @ Feb 1 2008, 10:41 PM)
what i am trying to say is that even if you have 640x480, it wont make a difference if you play on your phone because it is limited by your phone resolution. if you play it on computer, then it is another case. that's why the smartmovie converter only has 320x240 option and not higher because it's specially designed for mobile video conversion. of course real player is good and the only thing i liked about real player is the fact that it can play RM formats, and more importantly to stream internet videos which cant be done by SmartMovie but could not play AVI format. However, Smartmovie cant stream video, cant play RM formats but it can play AVI. Hence, you will need both player in order to cover each other weakness smile.gif
vga does made a difference...its much sharper compared to qvga videos used on smartmovies...u hv to try to believe it...at firsst,i also thought that how on earth can vga videos be clearer on a qvga screen,but the fact is,its sharper..i converted videos with qvga n vga videos with the same bitrates to test it,n vga videos r shaper... i believe pig cat has viewed vga videos on his 8gb n95 too..hehe...bcos of my high requirements for my videos,i had bought a 4gb sdhc card,n only 100mbs left bcos of my videos...hahaha.....when will 16 gb cards reach our shores???hmmm.....

i agree with you to keep all the players on the phone to cover all the weaknesses..hopefully,1 day,nokia will come out with new firmware to include wmv,mkv,avi,rmvb,and all sort of video codecs on n82...for nowi guess i ll keep all my video players in it.. thumbup.gif
tzethye
post Feb 1 2008, 11:01 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(pigcat @ Feb 1 2008, 10:58 PM)
I did try convert VGA and QVGA and play them on my N95 8GB, it's a lot clearer with VGA resolution. I can't explain why, just clearer. wink.gif
with that huge screen on that n95,its gotta be fun to view videos on it..i toyed around with n95 8gb before,n i hv to say,damn,...if only n82 has such big ass display,it would be awesome...hahaaa!!but too bad,i can only afford an n82 tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tzethye: Feb 1 2008, 11:15 PM
tzethye
post Feb 2 2008, 06:56 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(pigcat @ Feb 2 2008, 02:32 PM)
I think I figure out the reason. The concept more or less the same as 5megapixel photo resize to 1600x1200 vs a 2megapixel photo with original untouched 1600x1200 resolution. flex.gif
i guess u r right...hmmm...maybe i ll convert videos to vga from now on....gaga....probably,i ll convert mp3s to m4a files as the sound quality remains the same,only the file size is smaller...hehe...in that way,i can save up more space for videos...hehe
tzethye
post Feb 3 2008, 12:31 PM

61 posts

er...i converted and transferred 600 songs in my n82...and now,the music player is pretty laggy whenever i refresh it for new songs detection...even when i delete songs,it lags...anyone has this prob???
tzethye
post Feb 3 2008, 12:48 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(adrianzz @ Feb 3 2008, 12:40 PM)
wa so many song..u using 2gb card??
nope..i m using a 4gb sdhc card...but 600 should only eat around 2gbs if u convert all with to m4a format by using nokia music manager...i convert it and let it transfer to phone before i sleep n voila....the next morning,600 songs inside my hp...gagaga...but the only prob is there is a noticeable lag in the music player,however,other phone operations are still normal...i guess there's a sacrifice for that load of music...... cool.gif
tzethye
post Feb 3 2008, 01:53 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(adrianzz @ Feb 3 2008, 12:58 PM)
y nt try 2 make a folder for the song?arange in order..wil tat help?
all songs are arranged orderly in folders...same prob occurs when refresh songs...but when play or skipping songs,no prob..so,when refresh for new songs must wait for around 1 or 2 minutes lo.thats the price to pay for putting too much songs i guess. rclxm9.gif ..thanks for the suggestion though,hehe.....

Added on February 3, 2008, 1:54 pm
QUOTE(seruzz2003 @ Feb 3 2008, 12:59 PM)
hi just wanna ask a question.

does the n82 with latest firmware offer flash lite 3 in the browser already?
nope..still cant view youtube on its web browser...but u can download emtube to watch youtube videos as a solution

This post has been edited by tzethye: Feb 3 2008, 01:54 PM
tzethye
post Feb 3 2008, 02:07 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(gzero @ Feb 3 2008, 01:55 PM)
alternatively, if you have wifi at home, go to Video Centre -> Add services -> Youtube service
it will let you stream youtube content using the built in  RealPlayer
hehe..too bad...house no wifi,so i use uni's wi fi lo for streaming videos...if stream via phone line,i think i ll probably be able to buy another n82 before cny if i stream videos everyday since the data rate cost is so damn high.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by tzethye: Feb 3 2008, 02:09 PM
tzethye
post Feb 3 2008, 02:20 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(adrianzz @ Feb 3 2008, 02:13 PM)
get the unlimited data plan la.. tongue.gif ..wat telco u using btw?
maxis prepaid...but i never heard of maxis prepaid offering unlimited data plan oh...if got,i wan to apply also...
tzethye
post Feb 3 2008, 02:33 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(adrianzz @ Feb 3 2008, 02:21 PM)
i tink tat for postpaid only...nt sure though
i guess no luck for me then...stick to uni's wifi lo...or download at home...
tzethye
post Feb 3 2008, 09:34 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(gigohlo @ Feb 3 2008, 04:36 PM)
refering back to the video recordng.. Now that u guys have mentioned it, i also realise tht it lags. Never really realized this in the past coz i was comparing wit my n80 tongue.gif

But that day i compared with my friend's n95 8gig. Really got lag if compared to n95 8gig dry.gif

and btw, whats the app u all use to convert movies? the exact name? i have xilisoft too. but how come mine cant convert to mp4? sad.gif
probably the lag in video recording is because of the original sd card...the original sd card is a normal speed..i am now using 4gb sdhc to record,n i hv to tell u,its fast,i shaked around the phhone while recording,and yet the video is still smooth...i think the card speed affects the videos quality..of course n95 8gb is fast bcos it records directly to the phone memory..maybe u can try recording it to phone memory to check out if there's any lag...about xilisoft,which type u r using?they have plenty of convertors,mine is xilisoft video convertor...there are other xilisoft such as xilisoft avi mpg converter,xilisoft wmv convertor etc...try downloading xilisoft convertor where it can convert all types of videos... smile.gif
tzethye
post Feb 4 2008, 07:54 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(gigohlo @ Feb 3 2008, 11:47 PM)
did all that already.. restart phone many times adi.. anymore ideas?  icon_question.gif
EDIT: aiks.. can adi dry.gif i realise tht my ram was at 86.4mb when it shud b 90++ when there are no other apps running at the background. Funny.. why earlier i reboot it still remained at 80++mb?
did u install any fonts into the phone?if got remove them..or else,u cant use data transfer mode
tzethye
post Feb 4 2008, 10:07 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(gigohlo @ Feb 4 2008, 08:59 PM)
nope.. no extra fonts. i tink theres an app tht i installed thts slowly eating up my ram  rclxub.gif  not confirmed anyways.. jus my guess
i guess, resetin the phone is the safest bet....but then,its up to u...u can still transfer using pc suite...still ok though

1.5317sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:31 AM