Nokia [Nokia(tm) N82 Official Thread], Storytelling rediscovered

cheeleong
post Jan 28 2008, 11:37 AM

19 posts

hi guys...

after reading this topic regarding GPS function in N82, I still have 1 question.

Can I still get routing functions (*means it will ask you to turn left or right) IF i turn off A-GPS?

This is the most important thing for me smile.gif

Glad if anyone can help me out with this question.... biggrin.gif

cheeleong
post Jan 28 2008, 12:05 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(Wuahaha @ Jan 28 2008, 11:45 AM)
A-GPS requires an active connection to a network online via GPRS or 3G watever. I've tried disabling the connection, I'm still able to use all (well maybe not all) the GPS functions for positioning and routing. You need to pay for the Nokia Map navigation, but you can try the Garmin solution provided on the first page icon_idea.gif
Ahhh.... thanks for clearing out my doubts dude...appreciate that..

You mentioned "maybe not all"... so what kind of functions you can't use without A-GPS? Mind to tell me mre abt it? thanks... blush.gif
cheeleong
post Jan 31 2008, 09:55 AM

19 posts

Hi guys... I jus got my N82 yesterday biggrin.gif

but i found out that my screen has 2 to 3 brighten pixels scattered here and there when my phone display is showing a very dark screen...

i was afraid that i has a "dead" pixels... but when it is showing bright picture, for example booting up the phone (Nokia words with white background)... everything was fine... just that there are 2 to 3 pixels are brighten when it is showing dark screen...

anyone has the same prob with mine? i'm quite sure it's not dust or the screen protector... or maybe i'm a perfectionist?

Help.....
cheeleong
post Jan 31 2008, 11:04 AM

19 posts

Yes.. I did check... but it only can be spotted in a dark room..

Didn't notice it when i was buying it...

Can it really be DEAD pixels? cos it is still showing lights in white background.. i thought dead pixels wont give any lights at all?
cheeleong
post Jan 31 2008, 11:06 PM

19 posts

Thanks for your help dude.. It's an AP set.. bought it from Low Yatt.. They agreed to change the phone.. but now no stock.. too bad huh... guess i have to wait..

oh by the way... do u guys realize that the video recording in "high quality" is a lil' laggy? or is it jus me?

I thought we are almost having the same spec with N95 right? My fren's N95 has superb video recording quality... correct me if i'm wrong.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by cheeleong: Jan 31 2008, 11:17 PM
cheeleong
post Jan 31 2008, 11:33 PM

19 posts

yea recording that time seems a bit lag... but my playback is still a little slow..

I tried 2 types of video recording.

1. the camera is still and i move some objects; for example: my hand.. the quality and FPS is not too bad..

2. try to rotate the camera to left and right... this is the worst part... when the video is playing, it's a lil' lag and frame drop..

try for yourself... dang.. seems like my phone has all the bad issue.. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by cheeleong: Jan 31 2008, 11:42 PM
cheeleong
post Feb 1 2008, 12:29 AM

19 posts

well... i didn't do any zooming... just normal rotating left and right, slow and fast.

I didn't notice any slow mo like Neo dodging bullets..

For example, supposingly an object moving from left -> middle -> right... but when frame rate drops it will become left --> suddenly to right...

I hope you guys understand what i mean...

sigh... i really like this phone with xenon flash... but all these happened made me no mood with this phone already sad.gif

might join the N95 8GB family....

edit: just tried zooming... this and that... sound still there.... donno what happened to Wahahaha's phone

This post has been edited by cheeleong: Feb 1 2008, 12:33 AM
cheeleong
post Feb 1 2008, 01:07 AM

19 posts

Ok I uploaded the video file..

here's the link http://rapidshare.com/files/88110169/02012007004.mp4.html

My video recording setting is
-TV High quality
-stable on
-audio recording on
-memory in use => phone memory

now.. you guys tell me is this video laggy or not.. or i'm just expecting too much from this phone?

i spotted the lag around 0:15 to 0:16 sec of the video while playing using computer.. the lag is more obvious when i'm turning the camera slowly.. if i play this video on my phone, more lag here and there.. u can try to put this video into your phone.
cheeleong
post Feb 1 2008, 11:00 AM

19 posts

so after you guys watched the video, meaning to say N95 and your N82 has the same video output quality?

so it's not my phone hardware/software problem la? hehe.. biggrin.gif
cheeleong
post Feb 3 2008, 09:49 PM

19 posts

Hi guys..

Sadly.. I returned my N82 (with some stuck/hot pixels; only 4 days old without any phone call made) to the hand phone shop in Low Yatt. They agreed to exchange with new N82 once they got stock; yet they keep telling me no stock. They also mentioned after CNY they can't exchange already and I must claim warranty. Made me so no mood to this baby.

I felt like being cheated... but it's my fault as well.. never really checked for dead pixels when i bought the phone. Heck.. it is really hard to check when most of the store are bright!

I was thinking of getting N95 8GB from them since they no stock for N82, so i tested the N95 8GB carefully and checked for dead pixels this time. Guess what? There is also 2 dead pixels on the N95 8GB screen!!! In the end, I agreed to trade in my N82 for them and rugi 100 bucks sad.gif Most probably they are going to sell off my phone to some customers that didn't notice few little pixels. Oh well, i think this is what we call business eh? Earn twice from 1 phone.. from me and the next customer.. mad.gif

For the best way to check for dead pixels, create a 320*240 JPEG filled with Black color with MS Paint and save it in your old phone and transfer this pic using bluetooth to the new phone and check with it. (if you have a bluetooth phone)

CNY coming already.. i suggest you guys stop buying phone. No stock and the current stock might not be in good condition. The price is sky high as well..

Hope my sad experience helps...

This post has been edited by cheeleong: Feb 3 2008, 09:54 PM
cheeleong
post Feb 4 2008, 09:30 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(pigcat @ Feb 4 2008, 12:45 AM)
Actually if you think in the seller point of view, if somebody buy a phone from you then after 4 days return to you and want to change a new set, first thing comes to mind that there's risk to take back the phone like the phone dropped once or simply just kena water or battery exchanged or something, whatever the excuse from the buyer. Because seller won't take the risk to get rid of stock with minor blemishes which is very troublesome as buyers today are more alert than yesteryears.

In the LCD world stuck pixel is very common so there aren't any definite policies due to the nature of design. So the only thing can be done is to check kao kao upon purchase...However more than 3 pixel is already very serious for only 320x240 resolution, CheeLeong maybe you should have claim the warranty but only if yours is authorized set not AP...
Yea... you're right. I did put myself in their situation. Actually they can just tell me to claim warranty and they can stop "layan" me. But they didn't.. they still layan me and tried to get new phone for me to exchange. They kept telling me no stock and i'm not sure how genuine is that.

I was so fed up in waiting and they suggested me to keep the phone and claim for warranty after CNY.

Pigcat.. according to you.. "maybe you should have claim the warranty but only if yours is authorized set not AP..." meaning i can't claim for LCD warranty for AP set?

If you're right, I'm so lucky to trade in this phone and rugi 100 bucks rather than more problem happens in the future like cannot claim warranty and need to charge me this and that.... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by cheeleong: Feb 4 2008, 09:31 AM
cheeleong
post Feb 4 2008, 04:30 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(pigcat @ Feb 4 2008, 12:20 PM)
Apparently yours is AP set, although I don't have any experience about claiming LCD warranty with AP company but I can imagine unless the LCD is broken or not functioning or else AP won't give a damn anyway. Dunno lah since you've traded your phone with just RM100 rugi I don't think there's any worse than normal people who lost A LOT for trading phones like that even the set is new.

As I've mentioned you can try to download the PSP Hot Pixel Fix video and run for like an hour and see... hmm.gif
Yea.. i did try out few of them on the net.. none of them worked.

Oh well... like you said... it's still depends on luck sometimes... experiences of buying new phone counts as well.

Stop buying new handset now!!! CNY coming... it's very dangerous to buy new product when the stock is less.. percentage of defected phone also higher shakehead.gif

0.0180sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:35 AM