whats this? might explain? hmm.gif
share price i guess
m2n-e
post Dec 24 2007, 02:54 PM

-Retired From Modding-
1,269 posts

QUOTE(hoilok @ Dec 24 2007, 02:49 PM)
share price i guess
ic, hmm.gif Sunway Holdings kinda low, anyone invest in it?
panasonic88
post Dec 24 2007, 02:56 PM

37,028 posts

aww i have none of them sad.gif

hhmm, majorities are Industrial Products

a. Ann Joo Resources (RM2.64) - Industrial Product
b. Success Transformer (RM0.90) - Industrial Product
c. PIE industrial (RM4.80) - Industrial Product
d. Coastal Contract (RM2.75) - Industrial Product
e. Sunway Holdings (RM 1.85) - Construction
f. Hap Seng Resources (RM 2.80) - Trading & Services
g. Shangri La Hotel Malaysia (RM 2.41) - Hotels
h. Bousted Holding (RM6.25) - Plantation
i. Hexagon Holdings (RM 6.30) - Trading & Services
f. Sarawak Oil Palm (RM 6.05) - Plantation
feralee
post Dec 24 2007, 03:21 PM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,897 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 24 2007, 02:56 PM)
aww i have none of them sad.gif

hhmm, majorities are Industrial Products

a. Ann Joo Resources (RM2.64) - Industrial Product
b. Success Transformer (RM0.90) - Industrial Product
c. PIE industrial (RM4.80) - Industrial Product
d. Coastal Contract (RM2.75) - Industrial Product
e. Sunway Holdings (RM 1.85) - Construction
f. Hap Seng Resources (RM 2.80) - Trading & Services
g. Shangri La Hotel Malaysia (RM 2.41) - Hotels
h. Bousted Holding (RM6.25) - Plantation
i. Hexagon Holdings (RM 6.30) - Trading & Services
f. Sarawak Oil Palm (RM 6.05) - Plantation
wat r u waiting for?
buy laugh.gif

panasonic88
post Dec 24 2007, 03:36 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(feralee @ Dec 24 2007, 03:21 PM)
wat r u waiting for?
buy  laugh.gif
haha yeah right! laugh.gif

out of so many, i am only interested in BSTEAD (for mid term)

favourite price to enter is 5.8X or lower
TSNeo18
post Dec 24 2007, 03:44 PM

1,850 posts

for me, i think coastal at 2.70 should be ok
Kenny83
post Dec 24 2007, 04:37 PM

134 posts

How about Kamdar?
cherroy
post Dec 24 2007, 04:43 PM

25,802 posts

I prefer big name and big cap one that fund managers can buy those one.

Second liners stocks are hard to play as sometimes stocks can be cheap but due to liquidity issue, fund managers can't buy while retailers also not interested in it, (most retailers like those quick 'goreng' counters) that makes the stocks hardly move and stock price can stay undervalued for long time.

Just my personal preference, nothing right or wrong.

panasonic88
post Dec 24 2007, 05:05 PM

37,028 posts

now i know why i dun have any from the Top 10 mentioned above

i am following fund manager's taste brows.gif
cherroy
post Dec 24 2007, 05:21 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 24 2007, 05:05 PM)
now i know why i dun have any from the Top 10 mentioned above

i am following fund manager's taste brows.gif
rclxms.gif good one. rclxms.gif

We are having same taste as fund managers. Haha.

Seriously, second and third liner stocks in KLSE did have problem of liquidity issue. Some hardly trade more than several hundred lots/day or some don't trade at all sometimes.
amirbashah
post Dec 26 2007, 11:11 AM

274 posts

QUOTE(Neo18 @ Dec 24 2007, 02:38 PM)
Latest Personal Money, January edition.

10 stocks for 2008

a. Ann Joo Resources (RM2.64)
b. Success Transformer (RM0.90)
c. PIE industrial (RM4.80)
d. Coastal Contract (RM2.75)
e. Sunway Holdings (RM 1.85)
f. Hap Seng Resources (RM 2.80)
g. Shangri La Hotel Malaysia (RM 2.41)
h. Bousted Holding (RM6.25)
i. Hexagon Holdings (RM 6.30)
f. Sarawak Oil Palm (RM 6.05)

Let's discuss
What about this year's performance?The 10 companies that they have selected in January 2007?

In my opinion, most of the stocks picked by Personal Money are good.Don't you think so? For example in 2006 alone 9 out of 10 stocks earn profits. To me just follow their recommendations but do you due diligence also smile.gif

This post has been edited by amirbashah: Dec 26 2007, 11:13 AM
TSNeo18
post Dec 26 2007, 11:16 AM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(amirbashah @ Dec 26 2007, 11:11 AM)
What about this year's performance?The 10 companies that they have selected in January 2007?

In my opinion, most of the stocks picked by Personal Money are good.Don't you think so? For example in 2006 alone 9 out of 10 stocks earn profits. To me just follow their recommendations but do you due diligence also  smile.gif
they have stock by stock analsyis on that in January 08 issue. You have to buy to get their content.

cherroy
post Dec 26 2007, 11:19 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(amirbashah @ Dec 26 2007, 11:11 AM)

In my opinion, most of the stocks picked by Personal Money are good.Don't you think so? For example in 2006 alone 9 out of 10 stocks earn profits. To me just follow their recommendations but do you due diligence also  smile.gif
FYI, in 2005-2007, all bourses in the world are registering hefty gain across. Those bourses registered less than 10-15% pa in this period considered poor already.
9/10 stocks gain in this environment may be considered so so or on par only. Better use benchmarking comparison to see whether the stock pick is outperforming the market or underperforming, then it is much better way for judging and comparison.
Not mean to criticise or have any comment on the stock pick by them. Just to highlight the issue and background of the market so that people will compare it in a much more fair way.

Just my 2 cents.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Dec 26 2007, 11:21 AM
amirbashah
post Dec 26 2007, 11:21 AM

274 posts

QUOTE(Neo18 @ Dec 26 2007, 11:16 AM)
they have stock by stock analsyis on that in January 08 issue. You have to buy to get their content.
I guess it's already in store already.Going to get a copy biggrin.gif

I think this year I wont be buying their stock picks.No money yet and moreover I'm afraid there might be a recession next year.

Added on December 26, 2007, 11:31 am
QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 26 2007, 11:19 AM)
FYI, in 2005-2007, all bourses in the world are registering hefty gain across. Those bourses registered less than 10-15% pa in this period considered poor already.
9/10 stocks gain in this environment may be considered so so or on par only. Better use benchmarking comparison to see whether the stock pick is outperforming the market or underperforming, then it is much better way for judging and comparison.
Not mean to criticise or have any comment on the stock pick by them. Just to highlight the issue and background of the market so that people will compare it in a much more fair way.

Just my 2 cents.
Most of the stocks earn a hefty return that year and the highest was 300%.In addition, the stocks were picked by experts.But the drawback was, they only gave a brief explanation on the reason why they picked that particular stock.

I think I'll stick to expert's recommendations rather than relying solely on my judgment. But I still have to do my own research though. I'm no financial analyst biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by amirbashah: Dec 26 2007, 11:31 AM
cherroy
post Dec 26 2007, 02:04 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(amirbashah @ Dec 26 2007, 11:21 AM)
Most of the stocks earn a hefty return that year and the highest was 300%.In addition, the stocks were picked by experts.But the drawback was, they only gave a brief explanation on the reason why they picked that particular stock.

I think I'll stick to expert's recommendations rather than relying solely on my judgment. But I still have to do my own research though. I'm no financial analyst  biggrin.gif
One must always know the reason, if no reason then it is as same randomly 'tembak' already. biggrin.gif whistling.gif

Buying a stock must have a or some reasons of it: cheap? high dividend yield? undervalued? return rate better than others alternative? going to rise (goreng)?
Whether you get it right then this is another story.

TSNeo18
post Dec 28 2007, 09:42 AM

1,850 posts

ok bought COASTAL , 2000unit@2.62!!!

Added on December 31, 2007, 7:47 pmIn the recent issue of the EDGE, there is an interesting pull-out called '20 Companies To Watch In 2008'. They have choosen these stocks and also given small write-ups about these individual stocks. Here I will just list the 20 stocks. They are divided into 2 parts. At the bottom of this post I've also included previous articles that I wrote about some of these 20 companies mentioned here.

The first list is stocks that were picked based on their quarterly earnings and also the industry they operate in.

Tan Chong Motor Holdings
Kencana Petroleum
Sunrise
Kian Joo Can Factory
Muhibbah Engineering
Alliance Financial Group
Kinsteel
Ann Joo Resources
Chemical Company Of Malaysia
YTL Cement
The second list is stocks choosen for possible situational play.

Astro All Asia Networks
Eastern & Oriental
Telekom Malaysia
Time dotCom
TA Enterprise
RHB Capital
Multi-Purpose Holdings
Scomi Group
Proton Holdings
Sime Darby

This post has been edited by Neo18: Dec 31 2007, 07:47 PM
hanif444
post Jan 1 2008, 04:39 PM

1,523 posts

go for transmile
klsestockreview
post Jan 22 2008, 12:08 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(hanif444 @ Jan 1 2008, 04:39 PM)
go for transmile
At these levels? You must be kidding....There might be more downside to this stock before it picks up once its accounts return to the black.
Sandwich2U
post Jan 22 2008, 12:29 AM

Melamine Sandwich
1,112 posts

Don't just simply post "buy xxx" "sell xxx" doh.gif

Appreciate if you guys could share your portfolio here and the reason for you to buy/sell the said shares.

0.0179sec    1.06    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:46 AM