High Dividend Counters, Better than putting in FD

tohca
post Dec 8 2011, 11:22 AM

656 posts

QUOTE(omgimnoob @ Dec 8 2011, 09:18 AM)
Anyone aware of what is happening to Uchitec? High dividend conuter, but the price kept dropping like nobody cares...
EPF has been disposing this counter since Nov like mad. Maybe need the money for GE....
But thanks for highlighting this share. I've managed to pick up some.

This post has been edited by tohca: Dec 8 2011, 01:37 PM
tohca
post Dec 24 2011, 10:07 AM

656 posts

QUOTE(my1ststep @ Dec 23 2011, 11:13 PM)
I hope this topic can benefit to all the lowyat members here. To invest in high dividend counter in KLSE, one of the most important key is to consider the dividend policy. We should also make sure the company's business is growing in term of the revenue & profit. Without these 2 components, the dividend policy is meaningless. But, it is really hard to find such a stock in malaysia.

Some of the counters as below:
1) TECNIC
2) WELLCAL
3) PIE
4) BSTEAD
5) HARTA

If you are holding these stocks for pas few years, you will notice that you are getting more and more dividend when their business is growing.

You can find more info about KLSE stock with dividend policy from the website below:
MalaysiaStock.Biz - Dividend-Policy
[attachmentid=2601921]

Hope you guys enjoy it and share all your information about dividend policy here.
Thanks for sharing. Yes it is a very useful list. But Panajie has an awesome list of div cum growth stocks in her portfolio, however most are very highly priced stocks. Not within reach of humble investors like me.
tohca
post Dec 24 2011, 07:24 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Dec 24 2011, 10:59 AM)
Nowadays per unit is 100 shares already.
There is no such thing of high priced stock that are not affordable.

Nestle is Rm50, you bought 100 shares = RM5k
Another dividend stock is Rm5.00, you bought 1000 share = RM5k.

If both have dividend yield of 5%.
You get the same amount of dividend from your 5k invested, aka Rm250.

Don't be influenced by the stock price, Rm0.50, RM5.00 or RM50.00.
If they have the same dividend yield, they are the same.
True, but my funds are limited. So my purchases are normally limited to between 1 - 2K each time per counter and to accumulate over time.. An example is Digi which has now come to my range of affordability after the 10:1 bonus. Well one day perhaps I'll reach that level......... hmm.gif

Added on December 24, 2011, 7:34 pm
QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 24 2011, 12:22 PM)
Tocha, you over flatter me already. I am sure everybody can do that, you can have the exact portfolio like mine. It doesn't matter if you can afford 100 shares each initially, you discipline yourself to top up whenever you have extra cash.  Eventually you will be amazed by the number of shares you accumulated. 

P/s: I bought nestle lately. It was just a mere 100 shares aka RM5000. I also start from small. When my bonus & salary comes in in January, I am going to collect another 100 shares. That's how it works. smile.gif
Thanks for sharing your 'secret'. You're an inspiration for all of us wannabe successful long-term investors. Wished these big-ticket counters do more share splits ala Digi.

I've recently negotiated with a broker that's giving me 0.25% brokerage and no minimum brokerage and no upfront cash. So I can now buy small amounts of any counter each time without penalty of min. comm. Only complaint is the Gomen Stamp Duty which is per RM1K instead of 0.01%. So I always try to maximise that by buying as close to RM1K or 2K.
thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by tohca: Dec 24 2011, 07:34 PM
tohca
post Jan 2 2012, 02:28 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(kueyteowlou @ Jan 2 2012, 12:24 PM)
HLE can just provide 0.1% without any upfront cash what... lol..

why do you still need to nego with remiser? hahaha go check out with HLE...  wub.gif
You mean you can get:
1. No minimum brokerage of RM8?
2. Up to 2X trade funding for cash in your trust account and up to 2X the aount of shares you have?
That would be wonderful. If that is so, I think there will be a long queue for HLe.

But I'll check all the same as I, and I think most traders too, are looking for the best deals. That's why the forum here is a great place to share our experience and deals which we think can give us the edge
tohca
post Jan 3 2012, 10:24 AM

656 posts

QUOTE(kueyteowlou @ Jan 3 2012, 10:16 AM)
maybe my sentence has some problems..

http://www.hlebroking.com/v2/

check this out...

0.1% and RM8 minimum
That's much better. But no need cash upfront to place buy bids? You must be one lucky fella, or HLe just simply like you. drool.gif
OR
you kuehteow la......

This post has been edited by tohca: Jan 3 2012, 10:24 AM
tohca
post Jan 3 2012, 11:00 AM

656 posts

I think brotan is correct la... at least that's what happens technically and reflected in the closing price (green/red). But occassionally, like Digi and a few others it goes North even after div N bonus, like some of panajie's shares ...
tohca
post Jan 3 2012, 01:03 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jan 3 2012, 11:34 AM)
hmm... what is correct then? we really gain something from the dividend or actually it is just a "feel good" thing but don't really gain at all?
After the X-date the share price is immediately reflected (minus the dividend paid). Whether the price then goes up or down depends on how the market feels about the subject counter. Doesn't matter whether you 'feel' good or not. but in most cases (so far as I know) most counters go south after the Xdate. Some real solid counters like panamy, dlady, digi, and a few others (where the market is confident of the continuing growth and performance) will continue north even after the Xdate.
tohca
post Jan 3 2012, 01:28 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jan 3 2012, 01:18 PM)
thanks bro. question is if everything else equal, does dividend stock gives you real more return compare to those who don't?
don't really understand your question. Do realise that the div paid out comes out from the real value of the company, thus it is immediately reflected in the share price on X date. Example if the share closing price immediately before X date is RM1.00 and the dividend is Rm0.20, then on X date it is RM0.80.

But if you are asking wheter a co. that gives div is better than ones that don't, then of course I believe it is, because div comes from real cash (not just paper profits which can be easily manupulated). But there are of course exceptions.
tohca
post Jan 3 2012, 03:06 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(my1ststep @ Jan 3 2012, 02:13 PM)
You can take a look on wellcal, tecnic, bstead, pie also. They are growing company and high dividend stocks also.
Yup. Excellent companies. But like anything else, do buy a little at a time and not all at one go. No one knows when is the lowest or bottom, so best to average out over time and accumulate these shares.
tohca
post Jan 3 2012, 06:08 PM

656 posts

my1ststep only deals with fundamentally sound counters, so u can bet they are. but no harm doing your own research.
tohca
post Jan 4 2012, 07:01 AM

656 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ Jan 4 2012, 01:02 AM)
Thanks for the information. But I do noticed that most of this stocks are all time high..  rclxub.gif Shouldn't I wait for retracement before jumping to any boats mentioned above?  icon_question.gif
Absolutely. Timing is everything in trading. That's why I use the RSI model to help me find good entry and exit points. It does not work all the time (as pointed out by dinamika) but is simple and effective enough to work in the long run (anywhere from 3 to 5 years). You may lose out some opportunities during a bull run and sell a little too late during a crash if you only use the RSI. But for fundamentally sound high dividend yielding companies, the risk is much lower.

But seriously, how often does one see a super bull run or a market crash? I think many of us are anxiously waiting for the next market crash in a while now.

This post has been edited by tohca: Jan 4 2012, 07:03 AM
tohca
post Jan 4 2012, 10:45 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(my1ststep @ Jan 4 2012, 07:38 PM)
I used to do that, wait them for correction and buy at low price. But at the same time, i have miss out a lot of good counters like paramon, harison, bstead as they never come down and all the way up. If you take a look at Harison, Panamy, Tecnic's chart, you probably cannot tell when is the correction period and best time to buy it.
Their business are getting better and better and at the same time, they are giving us more and more dividend, so i think it is best to buy consistently just as what you did.
You can always use charts to help you to time your purchases and sales to help you with these shares. If you are more conservative, then rely more on RSI, and if you are more aggressive then you may want to try StochRSI. I've appended below the charts for these 3 counters which you mentioned. If you use RSI then there will be just a couple of times a year which you can buy and sell these shares. But if you use StochRSI then the window opens wider (of course so does errors).

Have a look at them and see if you can apply them to help you make more money.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
tohca
post Jan 5 2012, 10:57 AM

656 posts

umm yummy div cumming....
but looking at the charts and if using the rsi, they look like currently closer to the overbought position.
tohca
post Jan 11 2012, 05:49 PM

656 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jan 11 2012, 04:13 PM)
Time flies. This topic has been here for 5 years.

One of my resolution of this year:

I want to own atleast one E-Dividend cheque with 4 figures amount $$$$ biggrin.gif
How's that even possible? RESPECT!! notworthy.gif

0.6540sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:01 AM