High Dividend Counters, Better than putting in FD

rayloo
post Oct 15 2008, 10:24 PM

467 posts

Nobody interested with relatively flat counter like AMWAY?

I suppose only Amway membership. tongue.gif
rayloo
post Oct 15 2008, 10:30 PM

467 posts

I suppose only Amway membership.

I mean only Amway members would buy their share. biggrin.gif
rayloo
post Oct 18 2008, 06:35 AM

467 posts

All sifus...can I know what is Dividend Cover Times ?
rayloo
post Oct 4 2009, 02:38 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(n0v1ce @ Oct 4 2009, 09:27 AM)
Dear all senior, may I know which high dividend counter that is reliable (sound management + decent dividend against inflation)?  I plan to get some for long long term (>20 years) and save them for my offspring, Thank you for your advice notworthy.gif
My portfolio.
1) Public Bank
2) YTL Power

Please pay full attention on your entry price. It matters the most. But if you decide to keep it as your plan 20 years, any sooner the better.
rayloo
post Oct 6 2009, 01:14 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(poker @ Oct 5 2009, 10:43 AM)
rayloo

what would be a 'fair' entry price for PBB?
I tag PBB below RM6 as fair value. Obviously and notoriously our price is overpriced. Studies indicate that our banks book value is the highest among the region.

I take the risks that PBB distribute high dividends, so that I would reduce the cost significantly after few years.
rayloo
post Oct 7 2009, 07:39 AM

467 posts

QUOTE(n0v1ce @ Oct 7 2009, 04:43 AM)
Is this sensible?  Mean not wise to invest until they drop to stated price?  Is that possible?  Thank you
Pardon me for my innocence, as my portfolio inclines to finance sector sweat.gif
In fact it is the best to invest only when it comes to at least near to the intrinsic value, to reduce the risks. You see Warren Buffet does not spend until market declines to the price he wants, he waits like crocodiles under the river for many years patiently until its prey approaches. Before that we can accumulate our bullets. Make every shot counts.

I waited quite some time, then I entered PBB at RM7 at the begginning of the year. I think by next year the dividends received would make my entry price reseonable. For those with low diviidend yield I do not dare to use the strategy. I will insist to wait until the price meets my target price.

Just to share. smile.gif

This post has been edited by rayloo: Oct 7 2009, 07:41 AM
rayloo
post Oct 7 2009, 09:57 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(n0v1ce @ Oct 7 2009, 11:35 AM)
What did WB do with his cash-on-hand during market hike?  Say if you got 250K on-hand now but those high dividend counters are not close to theirs book value, where do you park your money?  Where can I get the info of one's industry P/E for benchmarking purpose.  Thank you
This is a very interesting idea, WB I am not sure, maybe under his pillow. biggrin.gif But if I were you to have RM250K now, I would allocate some in ASM or ASW, REITs, and some to speculate property in cash term plus some in FD. Maybe other sifus have better idea to share ?

You can have those P/E from newspaper stock page.
rayloo
post Jan 19 2010, 12:12 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(jtleon @ Jan 19 2010, 11:11 AM)
May I know where I can see all available DY data sorted within the same sector?

QUOTE(banana @ Jan 19 2010, 11:47 AM)
hi all, may I know which website do you recommend that we can check the current / historical dividend payout?
Star Business Online, register first and you will see what you want.

rayloo
post Mar 5 2010, 09:36 AM

467 posts

QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Mar 5 2010, 08:25 AM)
Yesterday and Today Sin Chew Jit Poh have articles on high dividend stocks that giving > RM1.00 and also listed out all company that giving dividend yield from 8% to 194%

I believe that the only way to categorize a good high dividend stocks, it must meet below criterias

1. Dividend must be sustain or growth every year.

2. Dividend must be paid by company consistently for the past 10 years, 15 years or more.

3. Dividend paid out must be coming from the profits from core business. Not coming from selling of others assets.

4. Dividend paid out must not be coming from debts or loans.

5. Dividend yield at least 2 folds of current FD rate.

..................... Thus with above criterias, i wonder what the good counters are............

Well said !! rclxms.gif

0.0430sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:55 PM