High Dividend Counters, Better than putting in FD

plumberly
post Feb 3 2012, 06:19 PM

4,761 posts

Heard that Panasonic Japan is having problem in their plasma TV sector due to competition from Samsung & LG. Similar story closer to home with Panasonic Spore. Electrical revenue for Spore has dropped, relying more on revenue from the medication sector, as per the recent newspaper.

With this gloomy headwind, will Panasonic M'sia continue to give such high dividend ? Appreciate your comments. Thanks,
plumberly
post Feb 29 2012, 08:34 PM

4,761 posts

What do you guys think of Amway as dividend payer ? My concern is the association with the USA's volatile economy with its parent company in the USA.

Any other good dividend paying stocks ?

plumberly
post Jun 26 2012, 07:26 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Jun 25 2012, 08:29 PM)
Are they paying consistent dividend at 7% to 8% for years (5, years, 10 years)? or they just occasionally paying only ??
Also interested and thus did some homework.

Luxchem DY 2009 = 12.1 - 5.7, 2010 = 8.1 - 6.3, 2011 = 8.4 - 7.0 (dividend range - based on the highest and lowest share price for the year).

Can't find data for the 2nd company.

Good one to invest ?
plumberly
post May 29 2013, 09:04 PM

4,761 posts

A head-up for those with FD in BR and the like. I don't quite understand the report and hope one with banking/financial knowledge can summarise the problem in 1 or 2 sentences for lay-person like me. Thanks. I now have 80% of my FD in BR. So, need to keep a close eye on this.

Read it twice and I still don't see the problem. Lending too much for personal finance and thus higher NPL (non performing loan) potential? The lenders are mainly govt servants and the NPL issue will only be a problem if the govt is in dire strait financially. So ...?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2737232/+2420 see tikaram's posting

plumberly
post May 29 2013, 10:27 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ May 29 2013, 09:20 PM)
Why you worry, when the bank hv investor with more money in their bank to hv so call EU HAIR CUT? example BN cronnies
By the way this topic shld discuss at Persoanl Financial management
I put it here more as an alert for those with FD in BR. Then they can decide whether to continue their deposits there or not, if it is really that risky.

Cheerio.
plumberly
post Apr 26 2014, 05:57 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(Dividend Warrior @ Apr 26 2014, 05:24 PM)
Yup. The value of my portfolio is around RM$668k if converted to Malaysian Ringgit.  smile.gif
Wah!

If you don't mind, what were your portfolio annual total returns (dividends & capital) for the past 3 years? Just curious.

Cheerio.

0.0442sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:40 PM