High Dividend Counters, Better than putting in FD

kamemada
post Mar 4 2010, 04:29 PM

165 posts

Guys, a fast question... got a screenshot here. Which one is the dividend?
Say to calculate it;- 1000shares * Par Value * Dividend = ?
Earning per share(Sen) or Dividend(Sen)?
Confuse.

Thanks in advance!
kamemada
post Mar 4 2010, 05:01 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(htt @ Mar 4 2010, 04:36 PM)
They already calculate for you liao.
1,000 share *130 cents = RM1,300.

By first sight, think that's wrong...
Share price should be 14.9*27.92c=416c=RM4.16
Dividend should be 0.31*RM4.16=RM1.28 (close to RM1.30, so the RM1.30 should be correct)

What company have NAV of RM1.5695 distribute out RM1.30 as dividend? They want to close shop liao?
Oh LOL. So I just straight away multiply shares with dividend(sen) column.
Thanks alot! Very new with this dividend thing.

Added on March 4, 2010, 5:09 pmAnother quick question.

When a stock is at *C status, I can straight away buy the shares and can straight away sell it back when the stock is at *X status, correct?

Which normally the holding time will be about 3-4days, correct?

Only for the purpose of getting dividend.

Thanks!

This post has been edited by kamemada: Mar 4 2010, 05:09 PM
kamemada
post Mar 4 2010, 05:55 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Mar 4 2010, 05:18 PM)
not worthy for doing so, as share price would be adjusted back after the ex-date.

if your intention is to buy for long term & enjoy the decen dividend annually, best is buy after ex-date, then start to accumulate from there.
So lets say I want to get CCB(which now in C status) and enjoy its dividen; I just wait until after the X-date, and then buy the shares?
How long should I hold it? Until the next X-date? Or the whole year?

Sorry very new here.
And thanks!

This post has been edited by kamemada: Mar 5 2010, 01:24 AM
kamemada
post Mar 6 2010, 05:51 AM

165 posts

If I want to pick one, what would it be?
I have 10k, should I split it into two? 5k each.

kamemada
post Mar 7 2010, 02:27 PM

165 posts

Alrite another noob question from me. wink.gif

I've checked the "Entitlements by Ex-date" at Bursa website. Want to clarify, for those future Ex-Dates, can I still buy now to get the dividend?

For example;- Amway - 4th Interim Single Tier Dividend 7.0 Sen 10/03/2010

Example only. No intention to buy Amway or any stock at the moment. Need to prepare myself before "fly over".

Thanks!
kamemada
post Mar 7 2010, 04:13 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Mar 7 2010, 03:30 PM)
Yes you can.
Thanks skidd!

0.8278sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:01 AM