High Dividend Counters, Better than putting in FD

Kamen Rider
post Oct 30 2008, 09:07 PM

554 posts

BAT will pay final dividend of 75 cents (tax exemption) and will be ex this Friday.

BAT performed hit RM43.00 yesterday and lowest 40.50 within these few days...and today closing at 42.00

So if you buy it 40.50 and sale it at 43.00 then you buy back at 41.50 today...
so total gain = 1.00 + 0.50

and if tomorrow ex at 42.00 then you get the 75 cents...

So? what are we waiting for?
buy ...buy buy............................

Kamen Rider
post Nov 3 2008, 01:22 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 31 2008, 03:05 PM)
To make some correction, to be precise, it is not tax exempted, it is single tier dividend. Previously it declared as Rm1.00 less tax, now with single tier system, it become 75 cents "tax exempted" which is not actually tax exempted.
Thanks for the correction and information. But it seems like no different for us as share holder, correct me if I am wrong again.. smile.gif

For more information, just came across with below stories....

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...18&sec=business
http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...81&sec=business

Correction on BAT 76 cents
EX-date : 04/11/2008
Entitlement date : 06/11/2008
Payment date : 17/11/2008
Kamen Rider
post Nov 3 2008, 01:58 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 3 2008, 01:54 PM)
No, it has big different for those pensioner and those income tax bracket significantly lower than the corporate tax rate ie 24%.
Because they can't claim back the excess income tax being paid.
It has no different if one's annual income is more than Rm100K.
oh my goodness.... they are desperate of money.... blink.gif
Kamen Rider
post Feb 1 2009, 09:13 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Jan 31 2009, 08:23 PM)
Can we summarized a list of high dividend counter with DY greater than 5%. I will put in my list and pls add in the list for our reference.

AXREIT
QCAPITA
ATRIUM
STARHILL
YTL POWER
JTINTER
AMWAY
BAT
NESTLE
CALRSBERG
PANAMY
PUBLIC BANK
TANJONG
GUINESS
BERJAYA SPORT TOTO
LPI
Pls feel free to add on this list  notworthy.gif hunting for dividend counter now  sweat.gif
Of all the above, my portfolio picks based on my priority will be below:
BAT
YTL-POWER
PBBANK

of course, the entry price will be as low as possible.....

PANAMY , heard that recently if not mistaken, they closed some plants, am i right? So in this down turn, ppl will cut down spending on consumer products, so what do u think???

Kamen Rider
post Aug 8 2009, 11:11 AM

554 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Aug 8 2009, 10:43 AM)
As long as company make profit enable to pay good dividend, then it is a holding game.

Look at long term, a lot of time, a lot of time, it is the dividend stocks outshine others.
People said BAT can't move, but it has moved from 15.00 to 47.00 without calculated the annually dividend given.
People said xyz goreng stock moves faster, can easily move 10-20% in a few day, but look back, hey, ten years ago, it was 1.00, now it is 0.80, without any dividend given in between.

In stock market, any return rate in double digit in teen number is considered a good performance already.

A lot of people said those dividend stocks can't move much, and return rate is low (5-7% yield), so they opt for those penny, goreng, quick moving stock, but most ended up losing money on those stock. So if you look back, you will glad you have some stocks that lead you some net gain one.

In stock market we have several outcome after sometimes

1) loss
2) breakeven
3) Gain but low return but still higher than FD (as mentioned)
4) Gain in double digit

So if you investment fall into 3), it is not that bad. You are better than the rest of 50%. In reality, majority (>50-60%) people lose money in stock market.
BAT is a big cap company and it is considered like a Dinosaur which moving very slow and steady ..... while Penny stocks are likes small flies which movement is fast and inconsistently and some time fatigue and stop there forever where need energy booster to revive it.....

I have heard that people will sure lose money when they first step into share market...and they need to pay for school fee in order to gain the experience and knowledge.........................

but many of us using technical analysis, while probably small portion using fundamental analysis wit the combination of technical analysis...... and heard that there are ppl just a traders who use technical charts etc...can survive in share market.... so I guess they can sustain the marathon run and earn money from stock market in bear and bull times.......

2009 is the good example, where bear comes and now start the bull rally....and many of us have gone thru this 2 situations... and probably gaining profits while getting the key experience on it...
but yet....is the global economy already back to normal, are we in the recovery trends.... only economists know... probably after the facts....for me i am hoping another downturn ..as i don;t think the economy already in recovery stage.... smile.gif

Kamen Rider
post Aug 8 2009, 10:19 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Aug 8 2009, 11:31 AM)
Technical or fundamental analysis, people will lose in the bear market. You have just started during the bull run, so got analysis or not, you still will earn. Just like when I started out 10 years ago, it was just after the 1997-98 crash and the market was recovering. I hopped on without any knowledge and without analysis, still able to earn 30% in that year. But I learned my lesson soon after that during 911 that no matter what analysis you do, in such a sell-off, EVERYONE will lose.

Confidence is good in the market, but overconfidence is bad for young people like you. Survive for one year is NOTHING in stock market. You must be able to survive ALL the time to prove that you're good. Those technical analysts will only show themselves during bull run, but they hide themselves during bear market. It's all the same if you have noticed, so do not pray them like some kind of God.

Ya.... I always believe that if the investment strategy is reliable, whether you invested 5 cents or 5 millions, you will get the returns.....and more important the strategy able to sail smoothly during bear times and bull times.... brows.gif

So far the longest hold period for me is 3.5 years icon_rolleyes.gif and the shortest hold period is only within 1 hour sweat.gif ..... haha..... what exactly i am doing...a investors or traders or just a blind gamblers..... i always wanted to become a investor and always remind myself to apply whatever investment philosophy from the gurus.... but yet...the emotion always triggered me to sell off and fear and greedy cry.gif always the evils that controlling my movement.....
now i am hoping to hold the counter as long as possible...probably i will set a target of 5 years horizon......... rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif

So far what i can see that APOLLO volumen very slims.... and i couldn't believe that their products are those chocolates cakes...in small packets that targeting school kids... and yet they can pay so good dividend....

i have tried to search around like Public bank, bjtoto, tanjong, amway, bat, apollo, mamee, jti, carlbergs, ytl-power, guiness etc.... and yet to find one.......... smile.gif

This post has been edited by Kamen Rider: Aug 8 2009, 10:38 PM
Kamen Rider
post Aug 9 2009, 08:19 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 9 2009, 12:52 AM)
Kamen Rider,

<< Ya.... I always believe that if the investment strategy is reliable, whether you invested 5 cents or 5 millions, you will get the returns.....and more important the strategy able to sail smoothly during bear times and bull times....  brows.gif >>

This is a bunch of BS.

Let me give you a few example of how much of BS this is.

A) If you have 1 millions in TOTAL asset and you ONLY put 10K in stock market, will you SWEAT during BEAR MARKET??  Of course, not.

B) What happened if you put in 500K in stock market? Now, will you sweat?? Can you sleep at night??
<<Ya.... I always believe that if the investment strategy is reliable,>>

A SMART person know their limit and take necessary precaution and insurance.

At this point of time, I am having 3 years worth of EMERGENCY FUND so that if I lose my job and no income, I can survive for 3 years.  With that, then, I have confident in investing.  I believe that my investment strategy is sound but I keep enough reserve for me to survive.

Know your limit.  Know what you DO NOT KNOW.  Know that you can be wrong.  Take precaution so that even if you are WRONG, you do not get killed.

<< So far the longest hold period for me is 3.5 years  icon_rolleyes.gif and the shortest hold period is only within 1 hour  sweat.gif ..... haha..... what exactly i am doing...a investors or traders or just a blind gamblers...>>

Basically, you have NO STRATEGY.

A strategy required you to KNOW

A) When to buy aka what price to buy

B) When to sell aka what price to sell

C) How you can make money?? Dividend?? Capital gain?? How much?? What is your target??

D) How you can LOSE MONEY?? Under what condition will you sell??

And, you need to know (A) to (D) before you buy something.

A long time ago, I LOST 50% of my asset in stock market.  I sold in a panic.  I have NO STRATEGY.  I could not sleep at night.  I have to sell.

Now, I LOST 30% of my asset in recent bear market.  I sleep like a baby.  I expected this to happen one time or another.  I did not change my portfolio.

Dreamer

P.S.: In this thread, we are talking about high dividend counter.  In this case, you NEVER sell as long as the counter giving out the expected and reasonable dividend.
thanks for the feedbacks...

A) If you have 1 millions in TOTAL asset and you ONLY put 10K in stock market, will you SWEAT during BEAR MARKET?? Of course, not.

B) What happened if you put in 500K in stock market? Now, will you sweat?? Can you sleep at night??
<<Ya.... I always believe that if the investment strategy is reliable,>>

For (A) & (B), I know that when putting 1 million, the fear emotion will circulate us, and if the will power not strong, we probably will cut lost during the bear market...., however, if the counter is fundamental strong and we have the ability to hold it...... and this is provided those money is a spare money....
thus, i would said that whether 1 million or 10k, the key thing is ourselves who believe that the counters we choose are based on our stock selection criteria and i still believe only solid fundamental counters can sail smoothly during bear market...... thus either 1 million or 10k, it is not the matter of amount, it is matter on the strategy we use.... if 10k shrink to 5k, even though we lose only 5k, but yet we lose 50% our capital in our port folio....
cool2.gif

A strategy required you to KNOW

A) When to buy aka what price to buy

B) When to sell aka what price to sell

C) How you can make money?? Dividend?? Capital gain?? How much?? What is your target??

D) How you can LOSE MONEY?? Under what condition will you sell??

And, you need to know (A) to (D) before you buy something.[I]

A long time ago, I LOST 50% of my asset in stock market. I sold in a panic. I have NO STRATEGY. I could not sleep at night. I have to sell.

Now, I LOST 30% of my asset in recent bear market. I sleep like a baby. I expected this to happen one time or another. I did not change my portfolio.

Thanks for above A) to D) , these are the good questions that i need to continue to ask my self and understand what shall i do and plan ....

Ya for me i lost before investing in warrant, penny stocks previously and ..... at least i know there are ppl who succeed in using fundamental analysis....a lot of well know gurus like WB, Benjamin Graham, ... thumbup.gif ..... and i believe that invest in share market is not an science, it is a philosophy, a investment philosophy which very abtracts and some time very clear.... which we need to experience it....

i think this is the good thread i am following, as i need to learn from you guys and use the information as reference and i will judge which are the information are able to guide me to sail smoothly....

and as for 5 years, you guys would have laughing smile.gif mad.gif vmad.gif that this is not a long term, it is consider very very short for a long term smile.gif

Kamen Rider
post Aug 22 2009, 08:21 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Aug 20 2009, 11:55 AM)
usually when the announcement is out, the share price would rally and priced in already.

so wiser way is spot for them before the announcement.  nod.gif
... yes...for instance, recently bat just rally up to 49 plus ...then later retract back after ex-date to 45, it went down to 44.00....... biggrin.gif

and just receive the check for dividend 1.13 ........ rclxms.gif

bat may be going to face the sin tax...soon..... hmm.gif

Kamen Rider
post Aug 24 2009, 07:24 AM

554 posts

this morning i met with my neighbour and as usual we both greeting each other... after that my neighbour told me that he is going for a "battle" ........ i wondering what is it..... later i got to know my neighbour on the way to genting highlands.....

wondering... in the share markets... how many of us...everyday wakes up in the morning and going to a "battle" in share markets... .as only this type of 'war' create excitement, thrillers and some more people said... this is the real "war"...and they need to be day and 'fight' and 'concur' the share markets.....

hmm.gif wondering many said about... "you win a battle, but you lose in a war" can describe one trade or invest in share market...
Kamen Rider
post Sep 15 2009, 06:17 AM

554 posts

For your reading pleasure ....... BAT is like a golden goose...if you can hold it for 10 years....
of course we 'projected' tobacco industrial biz is stabilize along the 10 years........................................

one thing for sure this coming October of 2009, market expects an increase of sin tax for tobacco, gambling, liquors, beers industries....
as we will see how these sin tax will result a hike in selling price of above items, at the end it is the consumers that need to fork out the money ........

1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008
Turnover 1,964.0 1,947.0 2,036.0 2,772.0 3,010.0 3,073.0 3,199.0 3,236.7 3,564.2 3,612.5 3,830.0 4,135.0
Profit 483.0 629.0 380.0 506.0 607.7 662.9 758.2 782.1 592.8 719.7 731.0 811.0
EPS 169.0 220.0 133.0 177.2 212.8 232.2 265.5 273.9 207.6 252.0 256.3 284.3
Net DPS 154.0 155.0 100.8 170.0 245.4 216.0 310.0 248.4 250.1 254.0 256.5 265.0

10 years (1999 - 2008) total Dividend received = RM23.16
12 years (1997 - 2008) total Dividend received = RM26.25

Kamen Rider
post Sep 15 2009, 10:22 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Sep 15 2009, 11:17 AM)
Market always worry about sin tax increment will hurt those 'sin' business company, which always ended up make them make even more profit, as those tax increment always got temporarily effect only, afterwards any cost will pass to consumers which people still willing to fork out more money to buy.

The major worry is always rampant smuggling that take a share of the business away from the company.
Ya the smuggling thing is the one that causing the tax was being by pass.... and we are hoping it can be catched by the enforcement party....
and this smuggling also ...playing a factor as when sin tax the more it goes up, the more activities will be happening...... anyway there must be a balance between both things..... hmm.gif

so any one invested or investing or planning to invest in tobbacco counters...???

Added on September 15, 2009, 10:24 pm
QUOTE(simplesmile @ Sep 15 2009, 11:59 AM)
Is the sin tax increment (a) or (b)
a. last year tax RM0.50 1 box. This year increase to RM0.53 1 box.
b. last year tax at 15%, this year increase to tax at 16%

If the increment is like (a), then I understand why people keep buying. Because the increase tax is just merely a reflection of inflation.
But if the increment is like (b), and every year add %, then surely one day will reach 50%, 70%, 100%.
not really understand what u mean by a and b as both also increasing..... ??

This post has been edited by Kamen Rider: Sep 15 2009, 10:24 PM
Kamen Rider
post Oct 2 2009, 05:34 AM

554 posts

Ya... October already... soon all the key companies to release their Q3 financial reports.... smile.gif

Hoping for surprise !!!!!!!!!!!
Kamen Rider
post Oct 3 2009, 10:05 AM

554 posts

Finally cigarette tax gone up 1 sen to 19 sen which derived to 5.6% increment ..... so would tobacco company able to sustain it financial results again.... so what would be this coming budget that fall on Oct 23th .... will there be any hike.....

i suppose now a 20 packs cigarette is at RM9.00.... , what would be the new selling price....

most of people think that RM10.00 still another phycology resistances price...

hmm.gif
Kamen Rider
post Oct 28 2009, 06:20 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Oct 28 2009, 08:04 AM)
Never follow what ppl say. I think "knowing what you are doing is the upmost important"

I agree with what Jason said as i am doing this way too. After my dividend is high enough (So far only 1 counter for me) i can use the dividend to pick up any dividend / growth stock i want.

But not saying that you are wrong either just that different strategies.
mind to hint what sector or what counters u invest......... :

DiGi to pay 80% of earnings as dividends compared to 50% currently

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...57&sec=business

from above article, it said that "DiGi also said it will raise more debt to “better work its balance sheet.” Such funds will be used for capital expenditure and repayments to shareholders."

Isn't that company with less debt or net cash, will be a good attraction company...?

And furthermore, it mentioned that to raise more debt to repay back to shareholders ....

I am confused on this raise debt to be more efficient in working capital...

This post has been edited by Kamen Rider: Oct 29 2009, 03:32 PM
Kamen Rider
post Nov 2 2009, 10:06 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(maxchua @ Nov 2 2009, 01:11 PM)
Its been long since i graduated, but i remembered some theory i studied in economic class, saying that a company is best 100% leveraged, thus you dont have to invest anything to get returns. because of the ROE thingy...if i remember correctly.

As for Digi, i think its still in its expansion phase, thus needing a certain amount of cash to do so. But from their actions, you can see that they know what their existing investors want which is High dividend, without this high payout, they are afraid that their shares might tank. Thus they are thinking of ways to increase or maintain their share price by giving out more dividends due to competition (maxis).

If you were to ask if they are doing the right thing to increase leverage in times like this and if its a wise choice to borrow money to pay shareholders, ..... i dont know, only time will tell. I like digi as a whole, but the current share price is too high for me to swallow. Shareholders should be quite happy to hear that they are getting more dividend regardless of where the funds are coming from ....hahahaha....as long as not from the shareholder's pockets (rights issue).
First thing for sure, right issue is the most unfavorable to investors, as instead of getting the dividends from the company, the company now slaughter you to get more money...... which eventually is diluting the shares you possess for the company.....

but on the other hand, i would not think that gearing or leveraging loan for company working capitals, as whatever the company earns, at the end also need to pay the interest on the loans taken..., so this sure will eating up the profits for the companies...., where as when a company is in a net cash, with appropriate working capitals, it generates profits...and the profits will directly contributing to EPS...and eventually all profits will be shares among the investors as dividends etc....

another point is by paying high dividends, could it be the parent company who controls most of the shares wanted to squeeze the "juice" or money out from the child companies (one this child companies) already achieve a stable business....and this probably the time, for parent company to get more or get the continuous returns from the child companies..and one of the way is through a continuous high dividend policy comittment ...this will ensure...the parent company will get all the profits from the child company.... am i righti in this sense... ?

unless the debts taken hold a very minimum interest rate then that would be a very "cheap" working capitals.......

question, which is the company you would buy or possess.....

1. A Well Established company with net cash, high profits, high dividends

2. A Well Established company with high debts, high profits, high dividends

3. A Growth company with net cash, high profits, low dividends

4. A Growth company with high debts, low profits or making lost with zero dividends

Added on November 2, 2009, 10:14 pm
QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 2 2009, 03:44 PM)
Theory always remain as theory.

The theory of stock market is even simple -> buy low, sell high. So easy one, what so difficult to make money in stock market?  whistling.gif

Leverage is double edge sword, high leverage company can grow fast, but if stumble, everthing gone overnight. Bankers that provide you the leverage can pull the plug if situation changed. Just like last year crisis, lot of company cannot refinance their debt, eventually went down.

If company is borrowing money to pay dividend, I can assure the stock will plunge, as investors are not stupid, if the company is not making profit while still giving dividend through borrowing, it won't be sustainable, it can be seen through their financial report as well.
As indeed, buying low and selling high is the most fundamental strategy, but yet, how many of us doing that.....

when market bearish, everyone is selling and even with good opportunity to buy into a good value company at decent price, i would doubt that everyone will say "wait for it to go lower, then can get a good bargain"....

and when markets turn to bullish, everyone is buying and chasing stocks like mad, and everyone scare of missing the boats and eventually buy at higher price for any counters they are chasing..and most of them will hope that it gonna go higher and higher, the sentiment is so great, until people will buy into company that never generate any profits before...but due to hot market, people all blindly "invest"................

So borrowing money to pay dividends is not a good strategy......... by right borrowing money at a very reasonable interest rate, is meant for business expansion, re-finance high interest debts, then that would considered a good strategy..... am i right?.................................. so far any company borrow money to pay dividends.... ????? I wonder.... smile.gif

This post has been edited by Kamen Rider: Nov 2 2009, 10:19 PM
Kamen Rider
post Nov 3 2009, 09:55 PM

554 posts

http://www.cnbc.com/id/33599584

In its largest acquisition to date, Berkshire Hathaway said Tuesday it will acquire the 77 percent stake in Burlington Northern Santa Fe that it doesn't already own for $100 a share in cash and stock.

Wow.... this is a big buy...by Warren Buffet....

Added on November 3, 2009, 9:59 pm
QUOTE(sdas86 @ Nov 3 2009, 07:19 PM)
I see. smile.gif Could you recommend some consumer stocks?
i think just observe around...

if you see ppl drinks milo, nestum etc ...then go for Nestle

if you see smokers who smoke like no body biz ...then go for BAT, JInter

if you see ppl eating instance noodles...then go for mamee, nestle, etc

if you see ppl using yellow man to make phone call...then go for DIGI

if you see ppl always makan KFC...then go for KFC....

i suppose many many things we can observe

This post has been edited by Kamen Rider: Nov 3 2009, 09:59 PM
Kamen Rider
post Nov 6 2009, 07:17 AM

554 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ Nov 6 2009, 03:40 AM)
wah... c like this way ka?

if I see ppl .... then Im too late ady loh....

I suppose many many things we can foresee...
wait a minute.... "foresee" is like betting on something based on numbers, based on trends, based on guts, based on instinct.....

means we are forecasting share markets...... forecasting some earning results...., so are we able to "foresee" correctly.... or probably >50% correctly...

hmm.gif

Kamen Rider
post Nov 7 2009, 09:13 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Nov 7 2009, 07:21 PM)
kaiserwulf,

Companies with stable repeat sales would most probably be the better bet for stable dividends. You have listed 2 sectors with very good repeat sales, but you forgot about staple food companies and other beverages. Snack companies do give good dividends as well, but that is more cyclical. Another bet is to look for MLM companies and petroleum giants.
snack companies .... mm.... heard of mamee, apollo with decent dividends.... but my worry they are small...cap... companies ???
Kamen Rider
post Nov 7 2009, 10:28 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Nov 7 2009, 09:38 PM)
Apollo eventhough small cap but the dividend is sustainable. Futhermore they exports their products. When the price was RM 2.5 i wait for RM 2.2 but too bad... watching it shoot up till 3.00+ .....
read before from a book, something like this ... "if you found a good company to hold, and when it price are reasonable based on PE ratio and good future return, then it would be making sense to an extra premium of buying it ......................"

yes something we always wanted to buy as low as possible, but yet we may miss the opportunity of buying it at the price we discover it...and we probably may not buy it as when its price already appreciate ...... e.g. i have experienced this is apollo, mamee, hai-o, nestle, digi, etc..

Kamen Rider
post Nov 8 2009, 10:19 PM

554 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Nov 8 2009, 12:34 AM)
Kamen Rider,

How many big cap stocks/bluechips pay good dividends? What I am trying to say here is to not judge a dividend stock by size, instead judge it by the profit sustainability. Isn't that where the dividends come from? And mind you, it's easier to accumulate small cap stocks for dividends rather than larger cap stocks.

Just my opinion.
Thanks for sharing .... for small caps .... it is small profits though the profit using EPS and DPS to calculate, still very attractive, but yet they probably are have potential to grow if they can expand their biz, but yet...there sure a risk for this small caps.... if they are unable to sustain their biz...

where as for big caps, they have already established their biz model and currently is performing harvesting on its profit....and so far i found they are few counters are able to provide good dividends if you buy at right price... just recently 6-9 months ago the downturn due to global financial meltdown has provided a good opportunity to grab the big caps..at the most attractive price,....though many of us still waiting for their share price to drop some more... smile.gif

just my 2 cents, as every investors or traders have their own ways of choosing their favorite counters.....

for Apollo, i have read thru their annual reports...but yet still not making a buy during its price at around 2.50... smile.gif but no regret for me as I still follow my way of choosing stocks.... smile.gif

Added on November 8, 2009, 10:21 pm
QUOTE(Jordy @ Nov 8 2009, 06:21 PM)
protonw,

To accumulate big cap stocks like PBBANK, you will have to increase your capital by the thousands (though you are only buying 100 each time). Smaller cap stocks < RM3 can be bought with only RM300 for 100 units. That is the only difference.

Also, when buying small cap stocks, the possibility for appreciation is higher. So you could have sustainable dividend and capital appreciation.
mm... it is not advisable to buy in 100 units for < RM3.00 share, as the broker fee already eating up your profit margin ....

normally a RM4k above is more advisable.... for today even with BAT or DIGI, if you were "sapu" 100 units, it will cost you 4k plus and 2k plus.... smile.gif

This post has been edited by Kamen Rider: Nov 8 2009, 10:21 PM

0.0649sec    0.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:24 AM