High Dividend Counters, Better than putting in FD
Cubalagi
Apr 5 2014, 12:05 PM
QUOTE(enkil @ Apr 5 2014, 11:43 AM) Any other stock worth banking on? I checked out the recently listed IVCAP Islamic Dividend ETF. Uses the MSCI sustainable dividend screening + shariah screening and is currently invested in these stocks. KLK Maxis Digi Axiata Glomac UOA Gas Malaysia Ta Ann Old Town UMW Holdings Mah Sing WCT TDM TM Lafarge Paramount Pharmaniaga SEGI CSC Steel Any comments from the sifus on these stocks for good dividend yield? This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Apr 5 2014, 12:07 PM
Cubalagi
Apr 10 2014, 10:08 PM
QUOTE(pisces88 @ Apr 10 2014, 10:14 AM) i 1 also dont have.. maybank not in the list =/ You can get all 19 stocks by buying the ETF. Last done price today was RM1.005.
Cubalagi
Apr 11 2014, 07:23 AM
QUOTE(pisces88 @ Apr 10 2014, 10:56 PM) very good idea  i didnt know that.. I am currently trying to build up good dividend portfolio of stocks for long term. Adding bit by bit using savings. At the moment, I only have some REITS (Axreit and Pavreit). To diversify, I am seriously considering to add this ETF to the portfolio. The ETF manager shareholder is Khazanah and EPF, so very strong. Next, I also plan to add some strong and good dividend paying financial stocks. (Looking at Maybank and Bursa). Thats the plan. Problem is now money (esp Maybank)
Cubalagi
Apr 12 2014, 12:43 AM
QUOTE(pisces88 @ Apr 11 2014, 07:40 PM) The ETF confirmed got dividend? is it based quarterly or once a year? http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...nual-dividends/
Cubalagi
Apr 13 2014, 12:56 PM
QUOTE(pisces88 @ Apr 12 2014, 01:44 PM) in your opinion will the dividend be as consistent/higher than REITs? I dont think the dividend is going to beat REITS. Fund manager expect 4+ percent. The idea is diversification. There will be times when REIT price is up but stocks are not performing like between 2012 to early 2013. Then around mid 2013 the situation started to reverse. Stocks up and REIT down.
Cubalagi
Jan 6 2021, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(moosset @ Jan 5 2021, 09:16 PM) didn't read the whole thread but be careful not to be blinded by high dividend yield. After disposing Maybank, my main dividend counter on Bursa is now Malakof, which I expect to give about 7% yield at current levels. I have also started to accumulate KLCC, which I expect 5+% yield when times get better. These are of course no guarantee. I also still hold one of the Dana infra bond from 2013, which gives me about 4.6% yield govt guaranteed until 2028. This post has been edited by Cubalagi: Jan 6 2021, 12:39 PM
Cubalagi
Jan 6 2021, 03:14 PM
QUOTE(lowya @ Jan 6 2021, 02:21 PM) most stocks' volatility in percentage far exceed the dividend yield, you might win the hill but lose the forest if left uncheck, such as KLCC example, people working from home and sell online, many office space and shop lots are empty. companies with growth use capital for expansions instead of paying div, stagnant companies pay div, most investors sell out on companies with negative growth, but different views are welcome. Thank you for your feedback. I have my own style of investing which has served me well over the years in boom and bust times. I stay diversified but with a tilt towards certain macro-economic outlook. I have growth, cyclical and income play in my portfolio.