Mountain Biking, ~ version 4.0 ~, Ride Till You Puke

dvng
post Dec 26 2007, 08:54 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(myaho2 @ Dec 26 2007, 08:34 PM)
how much??...must be expensive...saw on singapore website selling for sgd 1000!!!!
forget about singapore for items you can get here..i'm sure bikepro and KSH has Hope hubs..its just that the shipment only come once in three months..therefore when it arrives dont wait, once it is sold you really have to wait..i was in singapore twice last months and i only items which you cant get here.. i bought a A2Z hubs, 36 engagements, it weighs 160g front and 200g Rear.. Specialized Deviant Fullface Helmet 900g only (not even carbon)..Shimano stuff (forget about it), RockShox Revelation Dual Air 100-130mm (malaysia dealer is not bringing in this fork). Chris King stuff is cheaper here...Specialized stuff have to get in Singapore..no dealer here..let you know on one thing..Specialized only take order for 10 nos or above for a single item..therefore you only get glove, water bottle, grips etc here..fast moving items..imagine to bring in helmets 10 nos for each item,,we dont have the market here and too many brands as well..lbs here only brings in stuff which are fast moving..thats why you only see Santa Cruz, Yeti, Scotts, Ellsworth, Titus, Haro, Intense, Turner etc.and some odd rare brands. So far i am the only person who rides a 08 Speshy Stumpjumper..the other three frame is still hanging in BikePro..
dvng
post Dec 27 2007, 07:39 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(myaho2 @ Dec 27 2007, 04:31 PM)
akchang....new guylah...not nigthstalker...its onimusha_m16 who has the new bike  tongue.gif

Added on December 27, 2007, 4:34 pm

Thanks for the heads up dvng....but to get Hope hubs at KSH very rare...anyway just take a look at it in sg....if too expensive KIVlah ... tongue.gif

Added on December 27, 2007, 4:36 pm
nice bike...wat the spec?...you cycle in melaka only?

just got myself a new topeak handpump from KSH.....talk to leong about the SC frames.....got really hooked on a superlight anodized greyish colour frame.....looks so nice & extremely light !!!! shocking.gif cost...rm 4700 !!!  rclxub.gif ...need to start buying more 4D now  tongue.gif

BTW ...meowster....saw your white heckler frame waiting for u !!! tongue.gif
forget the superlight..get the heckler..its much more versatile than the superlight..

dvng
post Dec 31 2007, 09:11 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Dec 31 2007, 03:39 PM)
i dunno, i was 2 oxygen deprived and scared out of my mind to notice specific bikes and ppl. maybe got see them, saw a lot of freeriders or downhiller at the top of the highest part of bukit kiara. it is a cool place. just let me get up to standard first, still scared of some of the drops that i saw.

weaknesses:
didnt lean back far enough,
didnt adjust the brakes' bite point so not so quick to lock, some more i have speed dials! shame on me!

strengths:
at least i didnt turn back once i committed to the trail, ride, walk or fall i did finish the trail.
and i outclimbed some girl girl rock climbers up a trail, haha probably the only time i will outclimb rock climbers.

so i must improve or get a new full sus ride  brows.gif
kiara is not for the faint hearted...i have been goin there non stop for 5 months and still struggling with some of the trails which have steep descent with switchback..balance is key and get your butt off the seat and push down on your pedals at level for traction and balance..move your body front, aft and sideways..stay off your brakes at all times..watch where you are going at least 10 to 30 feet away..and lastly keep riding kiara like there's no tomorrow..dont expect to conquer Kiara by just riding FRIM or other trails..it doesnt work that way..you need to master the technicalities of the kiara trail to enjoy riding there..if not just stick to normal xc at less challenging trails and get youself some body armour including fullface helmet if you do not wish to rearrange your face...besides ther's no novice trail in Kiara..enjoy the Land of Kiara while it is still there......
dvng
post Jan 3 2008, 11:44 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(me0wSter @ Jan 2 2008, 08:11 PM)
Can't believe what i've just done..

Booked a Stumpjumper FSR Pro. OMG!!! What did i do..
cool, which year stumpjumper..i am riding the 08 model..i am using Revelation Uturn Air 100-130mm..better than the Fox..in terms of tunability...plush as well..
dvng
post Jan 3 2008, 12:27 PM

218 posts

the destruction has started..the agung is bulldozing some of the trails so he can ride his horse there..some of the trail in barrucuda, lower short, around the mountain, boulder is already destroyed..traks need help..to keep the trails..please volunteer your effort..afraid meow may not get get the opportunity to ride his stumpy in kiara..

Added on January 3, 2008, 12:29 pm
QUOTE(dickybird @ Jan 3 2008, 12:10 PM)
Dvng speaks the truth, dunno how long before some developer pays off somebody from putrajaya or kl and bulldozes the place for high end condos etc. just like they are going to do to what remains of sg buloh. thanks for the advice, been thinking about how i could improve...
and then i found out i bent the rear shifter cable adjuster just as it comes out of the shifter.  cry.gif i sure hope it can be put back in.

Added on January 3, 2008, 12:25 pmstumpjumper pro 08? cry.gif
i also want but money no enough!
fyi.. a fully build up stumpy will cost in the region of rm12k...even with used parts mine came up to almost rm10k..i am now looking at a 'new' sx trail II frame..170mm travel..

Added on January 3, 2008, 12:36 pm
QUOTE(dvng @ Jan 3 2008, 12:27 PM)
the destruction has started..the agung is bulldozing some of the trails so he can ride his horse there..some of the trail in barrucuda, lower short, around the mountain, boulder is already destroyed..traks need help..to keep the trails..please volunteer your effort..afraid meow may not get get the opportunity to ride his stumpy in kiara..

Added on January 3, 2008, 12:29 pm
fyi.. a fully build up stumpy will cost in the region of rm12k...even with used parts mine came up to almost rm10k..i am now looking at a 'new' sx trail II frame..170mm travel..
and why did meow change his mind from a 'heckler' to stumpy with only 120mm travel..if i can do it again.. i would have gone for either the Heckler 150mm or Bullit 160mm travel, Yeti ASX 160mm travel or SX Trail II 170 mm travel..i found out the hard way...the stumpy just seems to have stuck in between..but purely xc only..and little or no jumping and dropping at all.....sigh...i will keep the stumpy in xc race spec only...freeriding is out of the question..

p/s meow, the stumpy can only take a maximum 120mm travel fork only...unlike the 07 model which can go up to 140mm..

This post has been edited by dvng: Jan 3 2008, 12:38 PM
dvng
post Jan 3 2008, 12:39 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Jan 3 2008, 12:38 PM)
how much is it?
the sx trail II is the same price as the stumpy pro 08..or more..but the build up will cost more.. a Fox Vanilla 36 Van or Marzocchi 66 is gonna cost RM2.8k and above..i reckon RM14k fully build up..

This post has been edited by dvng: Jan 3 2008, 12:41 PM
dvng
post Jan 3 2008, 07:32 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(me0wSter @ Jan 3 2008, 07:10 PM)
Here says 120mm, fakawi forum says 130mm but as advertised on at the Specialized website is 140mm..  shocking.gif  shocking.gif
well, i am riding one, and i have the service handbook or instruction book which says not more than 120mm..the manual in the specialized website is 07 model..the fakawi tribe is me and i am using 130mm which is technically speaking stretching the stumpy travel by not more than 10% of the recommended travel..still it will void your warranty if ou use any fork which is more than 120mm..the 07 model allows fork travel up to 140mm..clear????

This post has been edited by dvng: Jan 3 2008, 07:34 PM
dvng
post Jan 3 2008, 08:13 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(me0wSter @ Jan 3 2008, 07:54 PM)
Hmm, but the bike which i clicked on fell under the 2008 category! Lol.
i doubt you are clicking the correct model....the stumpy 08 is only restricted to 120mm front travel fork..if is 140mm i will be using the Fox Vanilla oledi...if you still dont believe..come and inspect the manual which is with me..btw..paste me the link which says 140mm...

http://www.specialized.com/bc/SBCBkModel.jsp?sid=08SJFSR

This post has been edited by dvng: Jan 3 2008, 08:15 PM
dvng
post Jan 3 2008, 08:58 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(me0wSter @ Jan 3 2008, 08:44 PM)
Wonder if we're talkin about the same bike.  Your link points to S-Works Stumpjumper FSR while im talking about Stumpjumper FSR Pro.  And i wonder what model am i actually getting! Lol.  After all, BoonFoo did say he was brining in a bunch of Specialized stuff.
they are the same bike..the pro is the aluminium frame while the fsr is the carbon..they both have the same platform...and still it is 120mm travel..the enduro is 150mm..boon foo got three stumpy s,m,l. The ones he is bringing in is the SX trail frame..which is on a long waiting list..and that is a freeride bike..

This post has been edited by dvng: Jan 3 2008, 09:00 PM
dvng
post Jan 3 2008, 09:16 PM

218 posts

wat size is the last frameset...Large i suppose..
dvng
post Jan 20 2008, 07:03 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Jan 20 2008, 04:03 PM)
sure dude anyone can join...

what bike u using btw?

anyway just came back from kiara lol...

manage to get a cross-section of my saddle lolz...

note to self : do not use an XC saddle for DH use and be carefull on the first run of the day...

u may be going too fast for that section which is what i did -.-"
yes...i was there and witnessed the whole episode of crash and splitting of saddle in half..bottomline..stay away from selle royale gel saddle or you may end up being sodomised by your seatpost...

dvng
post Feb 4 2008, 11:29 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(me0wSter @ Feb 4 2008, 09:50 AM)
No.. Not really.. Dint manage to pump my tires before the ride.  Everything seemed very unstable..
the stumpy need to be tuned...fork and shock so that it is well balanced..too low travel and the stumpy is nervous..to high travel whilst raising the bb is also nervous..too stiff shock also nervous..main thing is lsc at front.. and also brain setting...keep it supple at the back..i believe yours is a vanilla..the stumpy is brilliant but need to be tuned properly..too bad i am sellin my stumpy 08 after only 6 months...its basically a xc bike good for long ride with small descend and small jumps..i am switching to a burlier bike which can descend fast,twisty tracks with some jumps...the stumpy is not suitable for this kind of abuse..anybody intersted..

dvng
post Feb 26 2008, 09:04 PM

218 posts

QUOTE(me0wSter @ Feb 26 2008, 07:05 PM)
You mean invisible! tongue.gif

So far no problems there for me!  Got Stumpy from there without a hitch!
that's bcoz you are buying the stumpy from him..but nevertheless bikepro is okay..just that you need to be a bit proactive in asking BF for what you want. Anyway, there's a Giant Reign (second) for sale at RM2900.00, with a Tora fork..very good condition..i just bought a Fox36 Van there today..ouch..for my SX Trail II. saying goodbye to my stumpy....
dvng
post Feb 28 2008, 11:13 AM

218 posts

get the reign..its a damn good bike for rm2900/=, i doubt you can find something similar in ksh, love the raceface crank on the reign..
dvng
post Mar 1 2008, 10:47 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(akchang @ Mar 1 2008, 09:32 AM)
demio121,
well, hardly bike shop here repairs things...the only thing they will say is to buy a new one...aih...sad...
why don't you see whether the 'uncle' at ABC @ Sri Damansara can repair or not. Everything can be repaired, the thing is whether somebody is willing to spent the time to do it..
dvng
post Mar 3 2008, 11:07 AM

218 posts

most lbs in town is not qualify to service high end fork..even bikepro sent their fox fork to singapore for full service..ksh..forget about them..their marzocchi fork are prone to seals leak and god knows where they sent it to (btw ksh is SEA marzocchi dealer)...reason is..fork seals and bushing and the small stuff that goes into the fork are expensive therefore the lbs doesn't have spare parts..even if they have they are not qualified to strip and replaced the parts and tuned the fork..rockshox is serviced by ginhuat who send it back to taiwan/singapore i supposed..bottomline..get a fork which has warranty..at least..
dvng
post Mar 3 2008, 07:44 PM

218 posts

well..as for kiara you either love it or loathe it..its technical and short..not everyone likes kiara..i love it since the first day i went there on my own..i use to push and walk some of the steeper portions..i am learning bit by bit..i only choose the trails i want to ride on that particular day depending on my enthusiasm..always ride within your ability..and you will enjoy it better..if you just like to pedal and enjoy the scenery and fresh air then kiara is not for you..and also a longer travel bike in kiara is more suitable for ultimate enjoyment..unless you have tons of skills and strength, then a hard tail will also do. For a more relaxed ride in Kiara, i would suggest, 2k (clockwise), twin peaks, pure quill, around the mountain, snakes & ladders, X road then exit carnival. I will skip flintstones, rock garden, shaolin, garden, middlestone and 4k. Enjoy whilst it is still there...
dvng
post Mar 6 2008, 11:31 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(FiftyOne @ Mar 6 2008, 02:49 AM)
this april 2nd till 7th maybe will stop by in penang or ipoh or 1 or 2 days

hahaha for me marzocchi  really tahan bomb one... really bomber's choice ah... manitou and rs mostly avg but most prefered for  normal cross country/xc

dunno why loh... many dhler also use marzocchi  back here in kch.... looks like the fork nvr rosak one
the only marzocchi model worth buying is the 66 and 888. The rest are mediocre compared to rs or fox. You can actually get Marzocchi in Singapore for much less than the ones in ttdi. They are totally overpriced in Malaysia. I settled for a FOX as servicing and warranty is top notch. I doubt the Marzocchi dealer here in kl knows how to service the fork here.

This post has been edited by dvng: Mar 6 2008, 11:36 AM
dvng
post Mar 7 2008, 11:52 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(me0wSter @ Mar 7 2008, 11:27 AM)
The Marz in KSH to me is kinda over priced..
very..check out replaycycles in singapore..they are sellin the same stuff at least RM1k cheaper than ksh...
dvng
post Mar 11 2008, 08:44 PM

218 posts

forget the superlight..get the heckler instead...very versatile bike xc/am/fr...

0.0358sec    1.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 03:17 AM