Hardware Calling All Aluminum iMac Owners!, Any issues with your screen?
TSscum_bag
Dec 21 2007, 12:57 AM, updated 18y ago

I have been a Mac user for quite a long time and was looking to purchase a new machine badly! The only thing that holding me from purchasing the gorgeous iMac is the worldwide report of their sucky screen issues. Since I've never heard any of the issue from our local owners, how did your units fare?
For those who aren't aware of the issue, for the 20" there's noticeable gradient from top (dark) to bottom (light) For 24", the most obvious is the gradation from left (bright) to right (dark). Others includes yellow tints and screen bleeding.
I'm really looking forward to buy the 24-inch but since this issue has become very notorious, are there ANY iMac with a good screen out there?
Timber
Dec 21 2007, 01:17 AM
I am a proud owner of a new iMac 20 inch. I don't have a 'golden eyes' but I think my iMac screen beats any LCD/CRT/my old G4 powerbook screen in my office anytime. My iMac screen kick ass.
76radius
Dec 21 2007, 01:20 AM

QUOTE(Timber @ Dec 21 2007, 02:17 AM) I am a proud owner of a new iMac 20 inch. I don't have a 'golden eyes' but I think my iMac screen beats any LCD/CRT/my old G4 powerbook screen in my office anytime. My iMac screen kick ass. I seconded, not issue for me too for the iMac 20" 2.4Ghz.
Crusader
Dec 21 2007, 08:28 AM
Maybe my 24" don't have such problem or I'm considered lucky not to have the "golden eyes".
rx330
Dec 21 2007, 09:01 AM
hi 5 timber , radius, crusader no prob with my 20 incher as well
ZhaoYun
Dec 21 2007, 09:06 AM
Had been using it (24") for more than 2 months now, the screen is nothing short of GORGEOUS !
However, I am not talking from a true photographer perspective. Photographer who use lots of Photoshop might think otherwise as they need absolute accurate colour profile.
But if you are just an average user like the majority, the screen is just, SUPERB !
Timber
Dec 21 2007, 12:09 PM
One thing I have to admit, the new white keyboard is nice to type on but not as lasting It's already turning yellow and dark on the keys. Guess this will suffer the same fate as the rest of the white MacBook.
TSscum_bag
Dec 21 2007, 12:10 PM

Hmm... It seems you guys does have the perfect screen after all (which is my first time!). Either people over at the Apple discussions are really picky or average user did not notice the gradient. I worked a lot with graphics and glossy screen is really a taboo for me. Here are some pictures for those who wanna see pictures of generic defective iMac 20" and 24" screen (LOTS if people having this problem): http://picasaweb.google.com/TheLoobyCan you guys check if you have one?
Timber
Dec 21 2007, 12:20 PM
QUOTE(scum_bag @ Dec 21 2007, 12:10 PM) Hmm... It seems you guys does have the perfect screen after all (which is my first time!). Either people over at the Apple discussions are really picky or average user did not notice the gradient. I worked a lot with graphics and glossy screen is really a taboo for me. Here are some pictures for those who wanna see pictures of generic defective iMac 20" and 24" screen (LOTS if people having this problem): http://picasaweb.google.com/TheLoobyCan you guys check if you have one? Now looking at this with a solid blue background, now I do see the dark gradient on my iMac LCD. Oh well, it is not that critical to me anyway. No longer kick ass, but it does kick some balls
rx330
Dec 21 2007, 12:56 PM
timber,i got myself a free rubber for the keyboard
ZhaoYun
Dec 21 2007, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 21 2007, 12:56 PM) timber,i got myself a free rubber for the keyboard  Talking about the word "rubber", I remember my experience using the word "rubber" with an American. I told her that she can use a rubber to clean her MBP, she just stares blankly at me and her eyes is like popping out !!! She told me "You can use your rubber on your penis but I am not going to use any rubber on my MBP !!!" I was stunned and speechless and at the end, we both lol ! No offense, just to share a joke...
TSscum_bag
Dec 22 2007, 11:34 AM

QUOTE(ZhaoYun @ Dec 21 2007, 03:42 PM) Talking about the word "rubber", I remember my experience using the word "rubber" with an American. I told her that she can use a rubber to clean her MBP, she just stares blankly at me and her eyes is like popping out !!! She told me "You can use your rubber on your penis but I am not going to use any rubber on my MBP !!!" I was stunned and speechless and at the end, we both lol ! No offense, just to share a joke...  LOL That's a good one!
bratzz
Dec 22 2007, 12:32 PM
My 1 month old 24" imac ALU 2.8Ghz has some screen isssues. On a blank background & at lower brightness setting, I can clearly see the color degradation frm left to right. Corners are particularly dark. However I do NOT feel it affects me too much, despite using the imac for photography. It's not perfect (the screen) but it's definitely the best machine I own so far. Upgraded to 4GB during the recent PC Fair and I'm extremely pleased with my first mac experience!
trashley
Dec 24 2007, 01:38 AM

no problems for my 4mths 24"
rx330
Dec 24 2007, 08:57 AM
kekekkeke, i purposely use rubberr.... becos it feels like one an act like one
hellfried
Dec 25 2007, 01:02 PM
i guess it comes down what you are planning to use your imac for. i have nothing to do with graphics designing or even photo editing. i watch a lot of video on it though. i am extremely happy with my imac 20" screen so far. i just got my brother to buy me a keyboard protector for my aluminium keyboard from the apple store in singapore. it covers it very well but the keys do not feel as natural as when it was not protected. and yes, the protector is just a piece of 'rubber' This post has been edited by hellfried: Dec 25 2007, 01:06 PM
Timber
Dec 27 2007, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 21 2007, 12:56 PM) timber,i got myself a free rubber for the keyboard  Speaking of rubber, I remembered I read somewhere that you can clean your keyboard with a pencil eraser. I tried it this morning and it works!!!
TSscum_bag
Dec 27 2007, 10:57 AM

Won't the shavings from the pencil eraser get into the small gaps between the keys?
Timber
Dec 27 2007, 11:04 AM
Hmmm....the shavings seems to be large enough not to drop into the gaps. But clean it with care lor....
rx330
Dec 27 2007, 03:13 PM
wow, use eraser ar?