sHawTY
post Dec 20 2007, 07:41 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Dec 20 2007, 06:36 PM)
@sHawTY

your proc highest can oc to how many?
Wait, now that you've asked, now only i realize my Q6600 G0 has the lowest "Req. Vcore" blush.gif
Anyway, for your question, i don't know man, i only oc my Q6600 G0 to 3.2GHz [400X8].

I'm a mild oc'er, not a hardcore oc'er. laugh.gif

That's what i do since the my first C2D processor.
I've had 3 e6600 & one e6420. before

1st. E6600 ES - [Sold]
2nd. E6600 OEM - [Sold]
3rd. E6600 Retail - [Sold]
4th. E6420 Retail - [Sold]
5th. Q6600 G0 OEM - [Using Now]

I ran all of them at 400MHz [Bus Speed] X 8 [Multiplier] - [3.2GHz [Clockspeed] @ 1600MHz [Rated FSB]]

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Dec 20 2007, 07:44 PM
sHawTY
post Dec 20 2007, 09:59 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Dec 20 2007, 08:46 PM)
So many E66xx... shocking.gif  wats the diff in them anyways?
ES: Engineering Samples - Originally for Intel Laboratory use.
OEM: Original Equipment Manufacturer - Doesn't come with heatsink or any sorts of warranty from intel.
Retail: Boxed With 3 Years Warranty - Processor's that you bought from the shops.
sHawTY
post Dec 21 2007, 01:43 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

I will test out the maximum speed i can go with my Q6600 G0 later once i got my Abit IX38 Quad GT.

@ Hyde`fK, buying the Abit IX38 Quad GT, is that a really good idea?
What i'm trying to ask is, is that board a real performer?
sHawTY
post Dec 21 2007, 03:36 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Dec 21 2007, 02:50 AM)
@sHawTY

How much you get for it? The board is not bad but just aware that the board won't boot if set to high vcore. Abit IP35-E does have that problem though.
Well, i'm getting it from kvmcom.
He state in his topic the price is RM780.

I PM'ed him for the availability and the best price.

waiting for him to reply my PM.

Too high vcore? I'm using Abit IP35-E right now by the way.
Well, i'm not a hardcore oc'er anyway, i'm just looking forward for a board that can really stabilize the whole system with my Q6600 G0.
I'm also looking for a board that has the third PCI-E X16 slot so that i can slot in another graphic card for my 2nd monitor so that the 2nd monitor won't burden the GC that i use for gaming.

So is it a wise choice to upgrade from the IP35-E to IX38 Quad GT?
sHawTY
post Dec 21 2007, 10:38 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ Dec 21 2007, 09:35 AM)
That's not the case. Even if run at 3.5Ghz and with high vcore, won't boot either.
Oh wait, now that thing stops me from buying the board. sweat.gif

Aaaa.
What board should i go for now, i really really need a new board to replace mine, got really tired with this f*cked up IP35-E. doh.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 21 2007, 01:12 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(IcEMoCHa @ Dec 21 2007, 12:11 PM)
Go Mars... biggrin.gif just got mine...
Mars doesn't have the third PCI-e X16 slot.
If it has, i would have it by my hands now. smile.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 21 2007, 10:08 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(kinwai88 @ Dec 21 2007, 01:59 PM)
Does that mean merom proc can clock higher?
No.
That's because laptop processors are made to use low vcores.
Sometime it uses half of the vcore compared to desktop processors.

That doesn't meant it will perform well in overclocking. smile.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 22 2007, 12:25 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

5 minutes ago, i raised FSB to 450MHz but the multiplier stays at 8, and guess what, the "Maximal Requested Vcore" still stay on 1.250V. wub.gif

PS: 450MHz [Bus Speed] X 8 [Multiplier] = 3.6GHz [Clockspeed] @ 1800MHz [Rated FSB]

Sadly, i forgot to take the screenshot.
My system is not stable though, didn't play with the vcore hard enough to find either my system is stable or not. blush.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 22 2007, 01:30 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Dec 22 2007, 01:28 AM)
I think the maximal req. vcore is still remain no matter what speed you are running. actually the theory is very simple, let say for E6750, default speed is 2.66GHz with maximal req. vcore is 1.250v only, so it still can go more higher as there is a distance to pump up the vcore, compare to other E6750 which the maximal req. vcore is more than 1.250v, eg 1.350v
Does that mean i can go alot higher with my Q6600 G0? blink.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Dec 22 2007, 05:19 AM
sHawTY
post Dec 23 2007, 12:10 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Dec 23 2007, 12:00 AM)
humang aii... such a low VID there... thumbup.gif blush.gif...
Low?
Beat this: A Q6600 G0 with a VID of 1.2000V brows.gif

sHawTY
post Dec 23 2007, 12:16 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Dec 23 2007, 12:13 AM)
btw, izzit stable enough?  icon_rolleyes.gif  laugh.gif
Bang, VID tu tak berubah la.
Mmg datang original dgn processor.

Ko try la ubah ubah FSB, ko tgk sendiri yang VID tu takkan berubah langsung. smile.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 23 2007, 04:45 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Dec 23 2007, 02:34 AM)
come on bro, oc it kaw kaw la  laugh.gif
Patience man, waiting for my new motherboard.
I can't go anywhere with this IP35-E.

Still deciding on which motherboard to buy. laugh.gif

So many choices.
1. Abit IX38 Quad GT
2. Asus Maximus Formula SE
3. Abit IN9 32X Max WiFi <-- The weakest in OC'ing. Sheesh, Why do i include this board in the list? Probably because it has what i need, the third PCI-E Slot.
4. DFI Lanparty DK P35 <-- Yeah, This one is the best in oc'ing, but the bad part? Getting it is so hard!
5. EVGA 680i SLi Rev. A1 <-- The most expensive!
sHawTY
post Dec 23 2007, 01:58 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(gsan @ Dec 23 2007, 10:04 AM)
dunno the price for EVGA 680i but the price for Maximus Formula SE is around RM1100, so I wonder why you will put DK P35 in your choice list? you should go for DFI LP UT/LT X38  icon_idea.gif
Because i can get Maximus Formula SE at much much lower price than the price you state earlier? laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Jan 3 2008, 02:30 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

Some update with my newly bought EVGA 680i SLi Rev. A1. It seems that the Maximal Req. Vcore will stay the same even if you change the board.

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jan 3 2008, 02:31 PM

0.0192sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:11 PM