Technical LCD TV/Display Discussion Thread, technical discussion on LCD TV/Monitor

sammesul81
post Jun 11 2009, 12:34 PM

67 posts

hi, im newbies in ps3, which model lcd monitor is good for ps3? i cant afford lcd tv so im going for lcd monitor only..my budget around rm700. and what's the biggest size for lcdmonitor? icon_question.gif
sammesul81
post Jun 11 2009, 02:20 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(hxcpride @ Jun 11 2009, 01:43 PM)
get samsung that support HDMI, should do good for the ps3.
ok thanks rclxms.gif . and whats the biggest size?
sammesul81
post Jun 11 2009, 03:04 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Cyphereza @ Jun 11 2009, 02:23 PM)
You can actually check www.lowyat.net or hardwarezone's price guide online. Can give you a rough idea whats the biggest size available according to your budget.
can u give link for that?thnks
sammesul81
post Jun 29 2009, 10:18 PM

67 posts

HELLO, IF I BUY 32 LCD HD READY OK KA? NOT FULL HD.. HOW ABOUT LG?OR SONY? MY BUDGET IS RM15++.... icon_question.gif

sammesul81
post Jun 29 2009, 10:24 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(Effy14 @ Jun 29 2009, 10:20 PM)
pegi courth mammoth je bro..can get RM1499 or RM1599 ad..
Samsung or Sharp..

if want cheaper..just take clearance 1..display stock..  smile.gif
huhuhuh im in sandakan la bro.. ko pakai pe
sammesul81
post Jul 4 2009, 01:50 PM

67 posts

hello sifu... what's the major difference between lcd monitor and lcd tv? i know lcdtv is bigger and expensive than monitor but in term of delivering HIGH DEFINITION, which is better? im thinking of taking lcd monitor acer H233H for RM669, but at the same time the sales rep said that lcd monitor can make your eyes fatigue and blind if u stare too long. is it true? icon_question.gif
sammesul81
post Jul 4 2009, 02:11 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Jul 4 2009, 01:59 PM)
Budget is important, but viewing distance is equally so. Obviously the bigger the screen, the further you sit. As for performance, most better TVs have matched up to their monitor counterpart. And as for eye fatigue it's mostly due to excessive brightness the screen produced, especially those with high dynamic contrast ratio. And for blindness to occur, it is possible if you play on a 24" monitor while sitting on a 50" TV distance, or something happen to the monitor and explode right in front of your eyes. Otherwise the sales rep was just BS and try to con you to buy the TV.

And finally my personal opinion, go ahead with H233H if you are sitting right in front of the monitor nod.gif
ok thanks. but which one is better for HIGH DEFINITION?
sammesul81
post Jul 4 2009, 02:21 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Jul 4 2009, 02:17 PM)
Full HD monitor like H233H, RM669. Full HD 32" TV, ~RM2300+. There's no such thing as which is better for HD, if you sit on the right distance you can differentiate all the pixels, if you sit far away you can't differentiate all the pixels even on a monstrous 100" TV. That's why viewing distance is so important.
ok thank you very much...... rclxms.gif
sammesul81
post Jul 4 2009, 03:00 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jul 4 2009, 02:46 PM)
LCD monitor has lesser pixel pitch, so even viewing at short distance also no problem, well, monitor is design for short distance, while LCD TV has greater pixel pitch, and it is aim for distance viewing, like 4-6ft distance for 32" LCD TV

LCD monitor or LCD TV wont make your eyes blind, now is not CRT era, it will cause eye fatigue when the screen is too dark or too bright, because you need to stress your eyes to see the TV.
depends on where you sit and also your usage, if PC gaming, just stick to monitor, they are the best, for home theater, astro or normal TV, LCD TV or plasma the best.
thanks . do u think ps3 gaming will suit with lcd monitor? from your opinion...
sammesul81
post Jul 4 2009, 09:36 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jul 4 2009, 08:39 PM)
of coz can, but make sure your monitor support HDMI input and has the HDCP compliment

get full HD if possible, next time can use for desktop also laugh.gif
thanks again but i dont know what is HDCP compliment and how to check it? is ACER H233H has HDCP compliment?? icon_question.gif im going for that monitor..
sammesul81
post Jul 5 2009, 12:50 PM

67 posts

hi, i bought acer h233h just now... thanks but i have a problem, when i in ps3 internet browser the display not full enough. so how to adjust it icon_question.gif

nevermind, i found it hehe

This post has been edited by sammesul81: Jul 5 2009, 12:58 PM
sammesul81
post Jul 5 2009, 09:19 PM

67 posts

guys, is it true that if we use chicken brand hdmi cable, the result for display is not so good? i read it somewhere and i found monster hdmi cable that cost rm2++ will deliver the display in superb.. icon_question.gif
sammesul81
post Jul 5 2009, 09:33 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(ajis @ Jul 5 2009, 09:26 PM)
looks good enough with my carrefour cable, for RM18
QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jul 5 2009, 09:30 PM)
I have 2 x RM300 HDMI cables (Monster & Wireworld) and 1 x Chicken Brand HDMI............. can't tell the diff between the three so.... tongue.gif
im using lcd monitor, how bout u guys? my hdmi cable comes with this monitor, no gold plated in the cables
sammesul81
post Jul 6 2009, 04:39 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jul 5 2009, 09:35 PM)
i'm using lcd tv....  since it's digital signals, shouldn't worry too much about the cables...
QUOTE(wallance13 @ Jul 5 2009, 10:11 PM)
I guess it's just the looks of the cable makes it pricy.
QUOTE(shinjite @ Jul 5 2009, 10:20 PM)
I am satisfied with my RM30 HDMI cable ~_~
Not necessary to spend so much on cables
QUOTE(wiNd @ Jul 6 2009, 03:11 PM)
using RM40 hdmi cable here..no complain, so far so good.
yesss, biggrin.gif im gonna stick with my chicken brand HDMI cable and so on..
sammesul81
post Jul 6 2009, 04:44 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Jul 6 2009, 04:40 PM)
If you are getting H233H then it will come with one HDMI as well
yup im using that one right now.. lucky enough to get that thumbup.gif
sammesul81
post Jul 8 2009, 01:30 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Jul 8 2009, 09:26 AM)
Never heard of X233H but my personal recommendation would be Acer H233H
yup go for ACER H233H RM6++, bought it last week.. so impressive with the result, got full HD, HDMI input, crsytal brite and plus with HDMI cable rclxms.gif .. definetely perfect for my budget and gaming thirst hhehehe, oh ya X233H is HD only, dont have HDMI input either, i've seen both models and at last i buy H233H
sammesul81
post Jul 8 2009, 06:54 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(kimono38 @ Jul 8 2009, 06:47 PM)
Can H233H support 1080p for ps3 with its provided cable?
hmmm actually im still new on HD by the way when i hook up the cable , automatically my ps3 can detect the signal and so im guessing that cable work perfectly smile.gif
sammesul81
post Jul 10 2009, 01:24 PM

67 posts

hello, which 1 is better? using HDMI to DVI cable?or HDMI to HDMI? its for my acer lcd monitor..
sammesul81
post Jul 11 2009, 05:00 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(gh0sty @ Jul 10 2009, 02:42 PM)
Which would you choose?

32inch LCD TV
HD Ready with 30000:1 Contrast Ratio
Price range from RM1700-2000

or

23inch LCD Monitor
Full HD with 40000:1 Contrast Ratio
Price range from RM600-700

The 32 inch is definately bigger and 3x the price of the monitor whereas the LCD monitor gives you a higher specification and very much cheaper... I am having a hard time deciding... Should I go for quantity or should I go for quality?

hmm.gif
go for LCD MONITOR la, i bought ACER H233H full hd ma RM6++ last week, but if cash its not a big deal for u then buy LCDTV tongue.gif
sammesul81
post Jul 14 2009, 12:21 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(gh0sty @ Jul 12 2009, 09:16 PM)
i bought the acer h233h today...omg... no regrets!!

the quality is just awesomeeeeeeeeeee biggrin.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

0.0243sec    0.99    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:14 AM