Technical LCD TV/Display Discussion Thread, technical discussion on LCD TV/Monitor

futra
post Apr 5 2008, 11:02 AM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Feb 25 2008, 10:29 AM)
Just bought a Samsung 931BW last nite at compuzone,great LCD now can really experience HD graphics but can go max 720p its quite good enough though nex angpow will buy bigger LCD hehehe,Thanks bro for ur advise very helpful of you if not i would end up with the benq with no HDCP  rclxm9.gif

Added on February 25, 2008, 10:33 am

WII uses HDMI port? If got u can buy HDMI-DVI converter cable can get at benard moh @ city bazaar rm60.00 b care full when u buy dis cable lotsa shop will con and price can reach up to rm140.00,last nite when i bought my LCD at compuzone got 1 ps store nex 2 it i ask price they say rm140.00 then i argue ans say its pricey they drop to rm90.00 then rm80.00 they say its gold plated blah blah  vmad.gif ,at benard rm60.00 same exact cable and packing  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(tanghm @ Feb 29 2008, 06:01 PM)
I'm using Samsung 206BW with HDMI->DVI cable.

It displays up to 720p only, 1080i and 1080p will have nothing on screen with a message not supported resolution.

My friend uses 226BW and he confirm it works with 1080i and not 1080p
He said, 1080i sux, 720p looks way better.

PM duh2k, he's the one using 226BW tongue.gif
hey guys, i've been doing a lot of readings here and finally i bought myself a brand new 931bw yesterday rclxms.gif i dont have a ps3 (yet) so currently im connecting it to my laptop at the moment which works just fine. im wondering where do u guys get those hdmi->dvi cables and what's the usual price? i surveyed a few computer/game shops here and i was confused whether it's a male/female type.. i asked some of the shop keepers, they also told me about this vga box thingy which adds to my confusion.. but at the moment im sticking to this certain cable -> http://www.play-asia.com/paOS-13-71-2q-77-...en-70-1xna.html as one of u guys posted earlier.. and yes some shops differ between rm50 to even up to hundreds?? blink.gif
i know in order to connect to ps3 wud require me to hav hdmi->dvi cable, but how about connecting to a ps2? what type of converter/cables do i need to connect to my ps2? hope some of the sifus here cud guide me, thanks guys.
- - - - - - - - - -
nvm.. i've found what i wanted. doh.gif

This post has been edited by futra: Apr 8 2008, 05:03 PM
futra
post Apr 20 2008, 11:06 AM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(ji_en @ Apr 19 2008, 06:57 PM)
how big is a 19 inch? pics pls

is the gaming experience much much better on a 22inch?

tq.. newbie here too
well.. not really big for an 'awesome' viewing pleasure, just ok lah. obviously 22" is better. and pls bear in mind, LCD Monitors and LCD TVs are two different things.

LCD TVs = have speakers
LCD Monitors = usually dont have speakers (so u nd seperate audio system)
futra
post Nov 17 2008, 11:45 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(ono177 @ Nov 15 2008, 11:08 AM)
plz help...want to buy dis lcd tv..but confuse to choose bet dis 2 lcd..

LG 32LG53FR (FULL HD) RM 2150 VS SHARP LC-32D30M-FR (HD READY)-2050

they said sharp is better coz they made their own panel but LG is cheap even though full hd but 'cannot tahan'..

LG dual layer n sharp one layer which is LG better...

if i choose LG, are they give more singnificant impact on graphic wise??

so all sifus here ..help me..which one better for gamiing n better value for money in term of durability..i need to buy before homedec ends..thanks..

bro.. where do u see this LG 32LG53FR model selling? cant seem to find it on their (local) website..
futra
post Nov 18 2008, 09:39 AM

1,267 posts

that's a sweet deal.. damn i missed it then.. i believe that's the only LG 32" that's full hd. no worries, i'll keep searching. glad u resolved that white spot issue bro.. happy gaming!
futra
post Nov 18 2008, 11:07 PM

1,267 posts

i know larr.. but it's best to get everything while it's cheap and available in its small size.. i know there are other 32" that only supports 720p.. for those who are held back by high cost, this is best bang for buck, i might say smile.gif but then again like broalexchan76 said, it's limited.. *sigh*
futra
post Nov 25 2008, 09:33 AM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(bluffy83 @ Nov 25 2008, 01:43 AM)
how about this monitor then... SynsMaster 226BW by Samsung.. is it good for ps3.. lets say if i want to use it with ps2.. how ah.. i cant find the 3 holes.. (i mean red,white and yellow holes).. what vga box guys?  icon_question.gif

i've tried playing PS2 on the 19" and 22" samsung via vga box.. pic still blur than the usual even at highest res..

simple explanation, vga box is a 'converter' that converts signals coming from those 3 coloured wires (from ps2) to a monitor through the vga cable.. usually ppl get vga box for pc to watch tv on their pc monitor... ps2 users however use the vga box to use the existing pc monitor as a tv for the ps2..

i bought a few vga box for trial-n-error purposes, and my advice is to get a proper lcd tv.. not a lcd monitor.. end up using the lcd monitor as a 2ndary monitor for my laptop, and bought a lcd tv for my ps2

0.0180sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:23 AM