Technical LCD TV/Display Discussion Thread, technical discussion on LCD TV/Monitor

danmooncake
post Jul 30 2008, 01:12 PM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

QUOTE(staticxtreme @ Jul 30 2008, 01:04 PM)
bro..
what you think if i get Samsung LA32A330 ?
is it good enough for ps3?

thanks..
Don't buy LA32A330! It is low end and you'll regret it for gaming.
It is good for watching TV and best HighDef is only 720p.

For gaming, pay a bit more and go for LA32A550, it is full 1080p, extremely
fast response for gaming (5ms), and very bright (15,000:1 contrast ratio).

danmooncake
post Sep 10 2008, 01:02 PM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(ronramka @ Sep 9 2008, 09:47 AM)
I just bought a HDMI to DVI cable, wanted to play my PS3 on my LCD monitor but tak bole laaaaaa  sad.gif  sad.gif  sad.gif

I have done some research, the LCD must be HDCP and my lcd support that.. can somebody help me.....

btw my lcd monitor is Samsung SyncMaster 961BF...

Can you explain what exactly can you see when you use that cable HDMI-to-DVI on your LCD?
Any signals? ..any blinking???

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Sep 10 2008, 01:03 PM
danmooncake
post Nov 4 2008, 05:25 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(Omochao @ Nov 1 2008, 08:03 AM)
LOL...I know......was playing Intial D on it and cant see what the heck the writings are......damn...I wanted to play on the LCD and it phailed.....still back on to topic regarding bout the post I posted earlier...any solutions???
In order to see the high def with decent quality (720p or better),
you need the LCD TV to be at least 32 inch sitting about 3-5ft away.

If using only 19~21 inch LCD, you can't see because the writings are too small.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Nov 4 2008, 05:25 AM
danmooncake
post Nov 9 2008, 01:15 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(demyeme @ Nov 8 2008, 11:57 PM)
wakakaka.. 10k only ma, its worth it.. economy mrosot is the best time 2 buy ler.. many
price drop nw but games increase.. haiz
New TV price will continue to go down.. but since games are always new stuff and new technology coming up.
it will stay high for new.. but after a while. you can get cheaper bargain like those Greatest Hits series.

If you have 10K, then surely can afford to get good Full HD with 52" or better.

danmooncake
post Jan 20 2009, 05:02 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(rhys86 @ Jan 20 2009, 03:52 AM)
hey guys need some advice...

i have a Samsung T220...

may i know wat settings can i apply to scale to get better display..
wat is the ratio?? 16:10??

and i would like to ask can it support HD display.. cos as i read reviews it has hdcp...
if can support HD.. is it advised to set 720p or 1080p to a 22 inch wide screen..
sorry a bit noob in this

would like to double confirm.. whether tis LCD is suitable to use with the PS3 =)
thanks sifus
IMO, anything less than 32", 720p should be ok.
Anything 32" or higher... 1080p would be better for gaming..

If watching TV only only.. perhaps 720p should be ok until 42".
For 42" or higher.. get full 1080p for BluRay or upscaled DVD.

If watching Astro and OTA only, you don't need to get LCD.
Stick with your old CRT until Astro/OTA signal gets to digital high def next time.

For PS3, any display with HDMI is best for it. Go with the display with HDMI native otherwise
you've to convert with a dongle.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jan 20 2009, 05:03 AM
danmooncake
post Jun 27 2009, 09:40 PM

10,123 posts

Actually, don't get the 37" inch TV if the precious size is already 32" inch
because the upgrade doesn't really make much noticeable difference.

You'll see difference more if the TV upgrade is 10 inches or more.

Here's my recommendation:

24" or less <- Don't be silly, might as well stick to your old PC monitor sad.gif
32"~37" <- Good for gamers, sitting 2-3m away
42"~46" <- Nice size tv for most family.
52"~58" <- Premium upgrade if you have a bit more dough
60"~72" <--Elite! Very nice for your living room, wow your friends and family!!! thumbup.gif

I noticed some of you are Samsung owners. Me too.
Have both 32" 1080p (game room/office) and 52"1080p/120hz (family living room).
When compared to other models, I found Samsung LCD TVs are extremely bright with deep black level.
Very happy with the quality. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jun 27 2009, 09:51 PM
danmooncake
post Jun 30 2009, 05:38 AM

10,123 posts

What's the cheapest cap ayam 32" LCD TV that one can buy today? tongue.gif
danmooncake
post Jun 30 2009, 09:18 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Jun 30 2009, 09:11 AM)
yup dont go for GC  laugh.gif

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jun 30 2009, 05:50 AM)

GC.
I saw it for RM1299. lulz.

Is another cap ayam cheaper than GC?

Need one that is at least 720p, 32" - no frills needed.. heck don't care if it only has one HDMI port
as long it is good enough for PS3 gaming and Astro watching.

Anything that is less than RM1000? This is not for me of course... just a gift for someone else, yeah I'm cheap. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Jun 30 2009, 09:20 AM

0.0384sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:11 PM