Technical LCD TV/Display Discussion Thread, technical discussion on LCD TV/Monitor
LeoLilieno
Dec 31 2009, 10:00 AM
I plan to buy PS3 very very soon. I have one question though. I want to use my computer LCD instead of buying one new LCD TV. My model is Samsung 226BW and it says that it support DVI (I am using the white colour port connecting to my PC rather than the normal blue colour). Is there any possibilities of me using it to enjoy PS3's High Definition image? Pls advice and thanks in advance.
LeoLilieno
Dec 31 2009, 10:59 AM
I just checked CNET site and it stated that my LCD do support HDCP. So, what is my next step to connect it to PS3? Can I use my PC Speaker as well for the sound output?
LeoLilieno
Mar 8 2010, 09:25 AM
I am using my Samsung 22"LCD monitor and it works fine except that it starts, the screen will say "Unsupported Format/Resolution" or something like that which I will have to press any monitor button to kill it. Its just annoying. How to solve it? By the way, since I am sharing this monitor with my PC and I dont want to change the DVI cable always, is there a switch in the market which I can buy so that I dont have to plug in and out so often? I am afraid that constant plug/unplug will loosen the grip of the connector. Pls advice. Thanks in advance.
LeoLilieno
Mar 8 2010, 01:34 PM
If i remember correctly its 226 something. I am at office and the monitor is at home.
LeoLilieno
Mar 8 2010, 02:28 PM
Meanings that I use the normal VGA for my PC and use the DVI for PS3? Will it affect my PC image then. i always max out the resolution. How to solve the popup that appears when I play PS3?
Really dont have a 2 way connector that allows me to switch without plug/unplug?
LeoLilieno
Mar 8 2010, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(opjust @ Mar 8 2010, 05:27 PM) exactly the way I use at the moment.. am using 24inch AOC for my ps3.. when bought i know that there is no dvi input..as i plan to change cable everytime I want to play.. suddenly pop out an an idea.. I use VGA to connect to my DVI graphic card and it turn out great! then use HDMI cable for my ps3 as my monitor got HDMI slot.. I want to play my ps3 just changed the output source via the menu button at my LCD panel.. easy as 1 2 3... hehehe! Dont really understand ler as i am a big noob here. My monitor allows 2 type of connection. One is DVI (white head) and another one is blue head(VGA I suppose). So, you mean that I use DVI purely for PS3 and the blue head one purely for my PC? I dont even know that I can choose the output source. Please advice further and thanks a lot.
LeoLilieno
Mar 8 2010, 06:00 PM
ok friend. Going to try. By using the DVI-VGA converter, will it affect the picture quality? Or its not that noticeable from human's eye.
LeoLilieno
Mar 8 2010, 06:27 PM
So, you basically plug your DVI cable into this converter and then plug it into the VGA slot of your monitor right? Wanna double confirm and the will go and buy it either today or tomorrow. Thanks friend.
LeoLilieno
Mar 8 2010, 06:40 PM
Oh ok. Sorry for making you confuse. I think I will just go to the IT Accesories shop and ask. As long as the graphic wont be affected, I am fine. i just dont want to plug/unplug all the time. Thanks, friend. Have a nice day.
LeoLilieno
Mar 17 2010, 01:25 PM
QUOTE(karwaidotnet @ Mar 17 2010, 10:38 AM) not so much relevant to my question, as im not using or intending to use dvi-to-hdmi converter. i'm expecting some one here that shares the same scenario as me to confirm my queries. One LCD monitor sharing with both the PS3 and PC. most of the people seems to be either using a vgabox (which i find deteroriate the PC image) or a dedicated 32/40/50 inch LCD screen for the PS3 (which i dun have the budget to purchase one at the moment) another thing is - currently im connecting the PS3 optical output directly to the Logitech speaker. if i'm connecting my PS3 to the LCD monitor via HDMI, would the sound still being output from the PS3 directly to the speaker or it will now be diverted to the HDMI cable? i.e. the optical cable would now need to be plug to the LCD monitor optical output instead. thanks  So, your monitor has both HDMI and DVI port then. Mine is different. Only VGA and DVI port. Plan to use that DVI for PS3 and the VGA for PC. Will have to buy a converter for VGA>DVI though as my graphic card cannot slot in VGA cable. When you mention VGA Box, may I know how that works?
LeoLilieno
Mar 17 2010, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(opjust @ Mar 17 2010, 02:24 PM) yah! exactly if u want the sound come from the speaker select the audio output via AV cable.. if u want sound from monitor select both via HDMI.. Added on March 17, 2010, 3:00 pmwah! it has been very long.. haven't settled ut prob??? He he he he. belum ler. So busy until no time to go and buy the converter thing. Maybe going to do it tonight.