128 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Bottom

Technical LCD TV/Display Discussion Thread, technical discussion on LCD TV/Monitor

Arool
post Jan 11 2010, 08:16 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(gnsumas @ Jan 10 2010, 03:19 PM)
You don't need a HDMI switcher smile.gif

One way could be hooking up your PC and 360 to a VGA box (most have VGA and component in and VGA out).

Another way could be hooking up PS3 and 360 to HDMI and DVI (one use HDMI, one use DVI)

VGA box around RM100, HDMI>DVI around RM50. Much cheaper than HDMI switcher  icon_rolleyes.gif
Hehe,but HDMI i used switcher r sure easy to setup.got 4 HDMI input port thumbup.gif .oh.it comes with remote control too icon_rolleyes.gif .

lazarus7247
post Jan 15 2010, 06:36 AM

291 posts

Hey guys im having a samsung 2233sw as my monitor currently. I have yet to buy my ps3 but i wish to use my monitor as the Display for my future PS3.

I do understand that the lcd monitor does not have audio like lcd tv does and my 2233sw do not have any hdmi ports. Only 1 analog and 1 dvi port.

I do have a set of 2.1 speakers which i can use for audio for my ps3. The problem is how do i hook it up with my ps3 ? What should i be doing to get it working with my ps3 ?

Thanks in advance for any useful information.
orangbulu
post Jan 15 2010, 06:38 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(lazarus7247 @ Jan 15 2010, 06:36 AM)
Hey guys im having a samsung 2233sw as my monitor currently. I have yet to buy my ps3 but i wish to use my monitor as the Display for my future PS3.

I do understand that the lcd monitor does not have audio like lcd tv does and my 2233sw do not have any hdmi ports. Only 1 analog and 1 dvi port.

I do have a set of 2.1 speakers which i can use for audio for my ps3. The problem is how do i hook it up with my ps3 ? What should i be doing to get it working with my ps3 ?

Thanks in advance for any useful information.
In the settings, you can set video out to hdmi, and audio out to RCA (i think the red white cables are called rca?). Then you can just buy a hdmi to dvi converter and hook ur ps3 to your samsung. For the audio, you need a rca male to 3.5mm female converter. Then you plug your speaker to the 3.5mm side.

Added on January 15, 2010, 6:40 amJust a heads up, monitors dont really upscale well, i'm using samsung 2243 swx as my display.... the games in 720p, can see the pixel... furthermore you are sitting so close to the monitor, compared to tv.

If I knew this issue, i would've paid more to get a 720p TV instead or 1080p if i have extra cash

This post has been edited by orangbulu: Jan 15 2010, 06:45 AM
gundamalpha
post Jan 15 2010, 10:27 AM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(orangbulu @ Jan 15 2010, 06:38 AM)
Just a heads up, monitors dont really upscale well, i'm using samsung 2243 swx as my display.... the games in 720p, can see the pixel... furthermore you are sitting so close to the monitor, compared to tv.

If I knew this issue, i would've paid more to get a 720p TV instead or 1080p if i have extra cash
Not really, scaling ability depends on the engine. There are also HDTVs with crappy scaling, and marvelous scaling on monitors. But nothing beats an dedicated external scaling machine though.
SKY@All
post Jan 15 2010, 02:16 PM

45 posts

hi there. anyone know whr to buy the hdmi > dvi converter?

Added on January 15, 2010, 2:20 pmmy locate, JB

This post has been edited by SKY@All: Jan 15 2010, 02:20 PM
alston1203
post Jan 16 2010, 08:37 AM

19 posts

hi all, face some problem need some advice from you all....
most of the games in ps3 in 720p or 1080p?
cause i will get my ps3 next week, now still cant make decision want to buy HD ready or Full HD LCD TV, for me ps3 just for gaming not for blue-ray movie.....
please gv me some advice thanks!!!
gundamalpha
post Jan 16 2010, 09:11 AM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(alston1203 @ Jan 16 2010, 08:37 AM)
hi all, face some problem need some advice from you all....
most of the games in ps3 in 720p or 1080p?
cause i will get my ps3 next week, now still cant make decision want to buy HD ready or Full HD LCD TV, for me ps3 just for gaming not for blue-ray movie.....
please gv me some advice thanks!!!
Most of them 720p
orangbulu
post Jan 16 2010, 09:59 AM

384 posts

Just buy 1080p. TV is for long term usage.
killeralta
post Jan 17 2010, 04:19 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Jan 15 2010, 10:27 AM)
Not really, scaling ability depends on the engine. There are also HDTVs with crappy scaling, and marvelous scaling on monitors. But nothing beats an dedicated external scaling machine though.
i just bought the asus VH242H monitor, the scaling was good as i dun really see any pixel when playing metal gear solid ......
llk
post Jan 17 2010, 06:21 PM

4,157 posts

I have encountered display problem, i can hook with my 42in Full HD Panny LCD TV with HDMI cable but when i hook with my another 32in Sharp LCD TV using HDMI cable nothing display. I try to reset by holding the on/off button, result still same. Perhaps anybody can give advice.
aaronwee
post Jan 17 2010, 11:00 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(orangbulu @ Jan 15 2010, 06:38 AM)
In the settings, you can set video out to hdmi, and audio out to RCA (i think the red white cables are called rca?). Then you can just buy a hdmi to dvi converter and hook ur ps3 to your samsung. For the audio, you need a rca male to 3.5mm female converter. Then you plug your speaker to the 3.5mm side.

Added on January 15, 2010, 6:40 amJust a heads up, monitors dont really upscale well, i'm using samsung 2243 swx as my display.... the games in 720p, can see the pixel... furthermore you are sitting so close to the monitor, compared to tv.

hi bro,
what's ur take on a 22" LCD TV like Sony KLV-22S570A ? u think it will be better than monitor?
orangbulu
post Jan 18 2010, 12:04 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(killeralta @ Jan 17 2010, 04:19 PM)
i just bought the asus VH242H monitor, the scaling was good as i dun really see any pixel when playing metal gear solid ......
MGS runs at 1080p. Try infamous, a bit blurry

Added on January 18, 2010, 12:06 am
QUOTE(aaronwee @ Jan 17 2010, 11:00 PM)
hi bro,
what's ur take on a 22" LCD TV like Sony KLV-22S570A ? u think it will be better than monitor?
Honestly, i cant give you an answer as I have not used that tv before with a ps3. I played on a 40inch sharp hdtv, looks amazing compared to my monitor. But like i said, playing on hdtv, you sit further away which may be a huge factor that affects what you view.

edit: i think you can google this issue. I heard that only ps3 suffers from this issue as it does not have an upscaling chip in it. it leaves the upscaling to the developers and TV. ON the other hand, xbox360 has a built in upscaler so they do not suffer from this issue when they hook up to monitor.

This post has been edited by orangbulu: Jan 18 2010, 12:08 AM
JasonSky
post Jan 22 2010, 01:54 AM

Spectre
757 posts

I am running on Sharp Aquos 32" with full HD 1080p support and I have a minor problem with my PS3 when playing games with 1080p.

The problem is the audio is jumpy... as in the music skips every 30 sec or so - graphics are smooth just the audio. But when running on 720p no problem on audio or graphics at all.

Graphic and Audio currently set to HDMI with Auto settings. So far tested on all my 3 available ports:

Port 1 - Skips every 10 sec or so
Port 2 - Skips every 30 sec or so
Port 3 - Skips every 10 sec or so

Unfortunately I do not have an extra HDMI cable to test more.

Do you guys think its a PS3 Settings or HDMI Cable or LCD problem?
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 22 2010, 09:25 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Jz wanna ask, does anyone encountered this problem before. My LCD TV keeps on switching off by itself, so i consistently pull out the HDMI cable and then put it back it for like 3-4 times and then only it works, so i thought it was the HDMI cable, I went and bought a really good and expensive HDMI cable recently, and still the same shit is happening. Any suggestions?
llk
post Jan 22 2010, 10:00 AM

4,157 posts

I have this problem with my 32" LG LCD TV before, call up LG service center & they informed it is the power supply component spoilt. Fortunately still under warranty & they send over the technician to change it FOC. Maybe you can check with the LCD brand service center.
XenoFr3ak
post Jan 22 2010, 10:09 AM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Jan 22 2010, 10:00 AM)
I have this problem with my 32" LG LCD TV before, call up LG service center & they informed it is the power supply component spoilt. Fortunately still under warranty & they send over the technician to change it FOC. Maybe you can check with the LCD brand service center.
OK Thanks.
killeralta
post Jan 25 2010, 05:55 PM

244 posts

i'm using a LG w2253 monitor but when i plug in my ps3 it says digital out of range 377khz/30Hz? any way to solve it?
cheyumm
post Jan 31 2010, 02:58 PM

37 posts

hi all, I just sold my Australian ps3 last week and I'm getting anew one from M'sia next week.

Whats the main the difference between the SG set and MY set, are they all the same? I mean they're both Asian Ps3.

and how's playstation online gaming with streamyx 512k? Is 512k good enough?

I also need recommendation for 42inch lcd with price range between Rm2k-Rm3k, right now I'm thinking of either

Panasonic TH-L42S10K
or Toshiba 42RV600E

cheers

This post has been edited by cheyumm: Jan 31 2010, 03:04 PM
gajah44
post Jan 31 2010, 10:25 PM

34 posts

ok im panicking a bit now. Just got a ps3 today. Connected it to my sharp 42a77m lcd via hdmi.

In the ps3 menu, i keep getting disconnected to my lcd. Suddenly no image for a few seconds(5-10s) and then it comes back on. Tried playing mgs4 but no sound. It was ok when i tested it at sonystyle

CAn anyone help? Is it the settings, cable or something wrong with my lcd.
Thrust
post Jan 31 2010, 10:28 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

QUOTE(gajah44 @ Jan 31 2010, 10:25 PM)
ok im panicking a bit now. Just got a ps3 today. Connected it to my sharp 42a77m lcd via hdmi.

In the ps3 menu, i keep getting disconnected to my lcd. Suddenly no image for a few seconds(5-10s) and then it comes back on. Tried playing mgs4 but no sound. It was ok when i tested it at sonystyle

CAn anyone help? Is it the settings, cable or something wrong with my lcd.
most likely is your cable. I had the same problem when trying to display at 1080p. Change HDMI cable & now it works flawlessly.

128 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Top

0.0212sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:37 PM