Before buying Share, What to do?

cherroy
post Dec 19 2007, 10:52 AM

25,802 posts

A CDS and a online trading account will do.

CDS account opening is RM10 if not mistaken.

Online trading account charges can be varied depends on broker house, some none, some do charge but won't too much Rm10-20 for admisnistration charges.

Move to stock market section.
cherroy
post Dec 19 2007, 11:07 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(ragnarokx @ Dec 19 2007, 10:58 AM)
now the charges for buy and sell of a share is how much?
Let say the share is RM5.00 in stock market list(RM5000?)
Currently, the minimum standard lot trading is 100 shares/lots, if the share price is Rm5.00 then you can buy as little as 100 shares x Rm5.00 = Rm500. But you have to pay the mininum commission of Rm12 (next year Rm40) + stamp duty + claering fee.

PS: commission rate can be varied, mostly online trade will get 0.42%.

Look at the online trading portal side FAQ, there are details explaination and information.
There are plenty of online trading link website at the 'Useful link' section. Google it.

Cheers.
cherroy
post Dec 19 2007, 11:26 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(amirbashah @ Dec 19 2007, 11:22 AM)
Hi,just want to ask any of you guys.Say if I want to do dollar cost averaging and invest RM1000 per month.Is it possible to do that without buying them in lots.For example I buy a company's stock at RM1 per share in January.That would leave me with 1000 shares right?So if the price decreases to RM0.70 in February, I would have 1428
shares. 1000 shares equals to 10 lots. 1428 shares would be 14.28 lots (Is this possible?).I hope you guys can understand my question.
You can buy 14lots at the open market and 0.28lot (28 shares) from the odd lot market if you really want to. Why so hassle about? 1400 cannot? need 1428? 14 lots will do the job already. Odd lots generally are trading a slight discount compared to open market price.

cherroy
post Dec 19 2007, 11:46 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(amirbashah @ Dec 19 2007, 11:31 AM)
I meant doing dollar cost averaging.Because DCA involves buying shares regardless of its price. I know you understand the concept.Just invest RM1000 per month and doing it automatically. I didn't mean I purposely want to buy odd lots.
Theory is theory when come to practical side, can twist or rounded up a bit lah. So in your example case, buying a 14 lots will do fine for the DCA already.
cherroy
post Dec 19 2007, 11:56 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(amirbashah @ Dec 19 2007, 11:50 AM)
I see.Thanks anyway.Can DCA be done automatically by brokers? Or I have to do it myself?
No, generally for stock market trading as remiser won't have so easy time to do it for you.
There are some online trading portal that allow you key in a particular order for a period of time, but not amount of money.
Eg. you want to buy ABC stock at Rm1.00 but it currently trade at Rm1.05. You can instruct the site to auto-key in for you everyday until a specified period until it matches.

UT, can, as one can do standing instruction to invest on every month at fixed amount.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Dec 19 2007, 11:57 AM

0.0164sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:08 PM