Brake pad skimming, needed?

imperialrealcs
post Dec 19 2007, 12:10 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(lennnostra @ Dec 18 2007, 11:46 PM)
hi. i have search around the forum and cant find any info about it..

my car is just 2 yr 30000km only, and the mechanic told me i need to skim my brake disc...

is it normal for a 2 year car need a disc skimming? can any one share some info?
why the hell u want to skim ur brake pad in the 1st place? juz buy another new set lor then bed in properly
i think what he meant is skim the disc rotor.. but it is not nescessary as well as long as ur disc rotor is still flat smile.gif
do u have braking difficulties like shaky when hard brake?
last time i skim 1 side rm30
imperialrealcs
post Dec 19 2007, 12:25 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(lennnostra @ Dec 19 2007, 12:16 AM)
yes i wan to change my brake pad. and he told me that my brake disc need to be skimed. i also feel 2 yr and 30000km sooo less ler.

is the disc surface suppose to be TOTALLY flat? i can feel very fine circular lines on the surface when i touch it with my finger.

i mean skim the disc, not the pads  =)

normal brake no problem.. once i brake at high speed got feel a bit vibration, not till shaking lo
got vibration = not flat anymore
yes, it is supposed to be very FLAT or ur brake efficiency decrease lor.. for example:
u r travelling at 60km/h and hard brake.. ur car stop faster in flat road or bumpy road?
imperialrealcs
post Dec 19 2007, 02:54 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(tcting @ Dec 19 2007, 01:47 AM)
Mostly due to wear and tear only... Your disc will be not flat but not noticeable... No point skimming it if you didn't find any problem with brake eg: vibration or noise...
alot caused lah.. most prominent cause is after a long journey drive and the disc rotor is hot, u rinse or wash the whole car and kena the disc rotor
imperialrealcs
post Dec 19 2007, 01:17 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(lennnostra @ Dec 19 2007, 10:04 AM)
i see.. then guess i gotta skim it..

wont got side effects right?

and btw will rs brake pads eat the disc up?
side effect : ur rotor getting dinner

QUOTE(egoiste @ Dec 19 2007, 11:23 AM)
u skim the brake disc..not the brake pad..btw..i skim last time 70 a pair...u need to skim if u can see lines on the disc..
b4 this my 'haus' brake pad makan the disc until can see small longkang on the disc
70 a pair laugh.gif
ad few more dollars can get new vented rotor 1 side tongue.gif

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Dec 19 2007, 12:45 PM)
cant see meh? i can see it le i check already? how abt others? if cant see also i ll upload the link here
cant see
imperialrealcs
post Dec 20 2007, 02:38 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Dec 19 2007, 01:24 PM)
huh? vented rotor disc less than a hundred??
Eneos selling same thing for MyVi at 399...
are we talking about the same thing here unsure.gif
hmm, that is customer price.. thats all i can say whistling.gif
or maybe i wrongly see the pricelist tongue.gif

0.0181sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:09 AM