Anticipating turns Disappointing movies, Whats your A t D movies for 2007

TSrhoyo
post Dec 18 2007, 09:18 PM, updated 18y ago

-
2,800 posts

Ok guys what do u guys think the anticipating movies u guys really hope for but turns disappointing .

me forsure .

all the marvel movies sucks for this year . ( spidey 3, ghostrider, fantastic 4 )

hopefully next year ironman will be ok ..
NicJolin
post Dec 18 2007, 09:19 PM

Stop monitoring =)
1,053 posts

Marvel movie used to suck anyway =/
War of the world memang disappoints ppl alot
alanyuppie
post Dec 18 2007, 09:20 PM

2,834 posts

golden compass failed to SHINE. should've been named wooden compass instead.
MR_alien
post Dec 18 2007, 09:46 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

when is ironman gonna be released??
phat
post Dec 18 2007, 09:48 PM

328 posts

Im dissapointed in hitman.i dunt know if other ppl says otherwise,but it fails to attract my interest.hhmm...
QuickFire
post Dec 18 2007, 09:50 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

Spiderman 3, Transformers, 300, Breach, and a few others I cant think of now.
MR_alien
post Dec 18 2007, 09:51 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

transformer is a failure??...lolx!!!!...kkakakakaka
Mgsrulz
post Dec 18 2007, 10:17 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

spidey 3 didnt live up to expectations,but IMO,it was expected seeing how it introduced AND killed at least 2 villains doh.gif (intro venom/sandman,"kill" venom/new gobby)

Disappointments of this year:
Transformers (flashy effects,nothing else)
Golden Compass (story cut too many corners,i think...dont understand much of it)
POTC 3 (found it boring)
Harry potter (didnt expect to be blown away,but still was disappointed doh.gif )
Shrek 3 (similiar to HP)
Rush Hour 3 (jokes feel so cheap)
Superbad (didnt laugh at all laugh.gif )
mosai
post Dec 18 2007, 11:00 PM

144 posts

how can u not laugh while watching superbad? smile.gif .For me the dissapointment for this year will definately be spidey 3 and also The Dark is Rising. Waste money only
funnyTONE
post Dec 18 2007, 11:17 PM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Dec 18 2007, 10:17 PM)
spidey 3 didnt live up to expectations,but IMO,it was expected seeing how it introduced AND killed at least 2 villains doh.gif (intro venom/sandman,"kill" venom/new gobby)

Disappointments of this year:
Transformers (flashy effects,nothing else)
Golden Compass (story cut too many corners,i think...dont understand much of it)
POTC 3 (found it boring)
Harry potter (didnt expect to be blown away,but still was disappointed doh.gif )
Shrek 3 (similiar to HP)
Rush Hour 3 (jokes feel so cheap)
Superbad (didnt laugh at all laugh.gif )
Wow, either yoou have superior taste in movies or you have no taste at all. happy.gif
Except for Golden Compass and Shrek 3, I can't disagree with you about the others as dissappointing. But hey, one man's poison is another man's meat.

On the contrary, I felt that Transformer was better than expected. I remember that alot of people were saying that Transformer was a miss, but the box office proved that wrong. Plus I can't imagine a better director/producer collaboration than Michael Bay and Steven Spielberg. Back to the topic, Ghost Rider would be the worst dissapointment for me.
Mgsrulz
post Dec 19 2007, 12:42 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(mosai @ Dec 18 2007, 11:00 PM)
how can u not laugh while watching superbad? smile.gif .For me the dissapointment for this year will definately be spidey 3 and also The Dark is Rising. Waste money only
no idea laugh.gif
read alot of reviews prior to watching it,and thought i'd be in for a treat(especially since i loved knocked up) but turned out the opposite rclxub.gif

QUOTE(funnyTONE @ Dec 18 2007, 11:17 PM)
Wow, either yoou have superior taste in movies or you have no taste at all. happy.gif
neither tongue.gif

at times i love crappy movies,and dislike good movies(and sometimes the opposite laugh.gif )

On the contrary, I felt that Transformer was better than expected. I remember that alot of people were saying that Transformer was a miss, but the box office proved that wrong.
if you're going by the numbers,spidey 3 made more than TF,but doesnt mean it is any better tongue.gif

Plus I can't imagine a better director/producer collaboration than Michael Bay and Steven Spielberg. Back to the topic, Ghost Rider would be the worst dissapointment for me.
agreed thumbup.gif
funnyTONE
post Dec 19 2007, 12:54 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

Do you think the coming Indiana Jones gonna be a dissapointment? Hmm...hardly I guess, but its kinda funny to imagine Harrison Ford at his age running across the globe and bull whipping natives and goons while carrying off the leading actress (his biatch) on the other hand. Fuhh....sure pencen after that en. harrison. happy.gif
bonedragon
post Dec 19 2007, 12:56 AM

351 posts

yea rush hour 3 was terrible for me. No plot at all. Just fight fight fight, oh let's go there, fight fight fight, hey he said go there, fight fight...repeat 10 times.
Disciple
post Dec 19 2007, 01:59 PM

Master of Disaster
2,272 posts

Transformers, Spiderman 3 and Ghost Rider..
chibi_tenko
post Dec 19 2007, 02:12 PM

I see. I pinch. I squeeze
1,250 posts

Except for Golden Compass and Shrek 3, I can't disagree with you about the others as dissappointing. But hey, one man's poison is another man's meat.

On the contrary, I felt that Transformer was better than expected. I remember that alot of people were saying that Transformer was a miss, but the box office proved that wrong. Plus I can't imagine a better director/producer collaboration than Michael Bay and Steven Spielberg. Back to the topic, Ghost Rider would be the worst dissapointment for me.
I agree that Transformer was better than I expected. I went to watch the movie with very low expectations but was pleasantly surprised. It wasn't an, what you call, an awesome movie but it's not bad. The human characters are likeable and the Transformers themselves look awesome.

However, I would like to hear why you guys name some of the movies as 'highly anticipated but turns out to be a disappointment'. What was your expectations before you guys go into the cinema to watch the movie? For example, if you go to the cinema to watch Lust, Caution expecting the same acting from Tony Leung, then it's fine. If you expect lotsa sex scenes or etc etc but get none of it when watching the movie, do you consider it a 'disappointment'?

I've read some of the posts in The Warlords and some of them were ranting that the movie's too boring - not much war scenes, too much dialogues, no pretty girls, etc etc. Perhaps most non-chinese educated viewers were misled by the title, The Warlords - expecting war, war and war only. The title translate to the oath of brotherhood, so basically, this movie centres on the bond between 3 men who made a blood oath. I believe most of the people read the reviews before going to watch the movie and yet they complain there's no this and that after watching it.

You go to a zombie movie, you expect zombies, lotsa gore and mediocre acting (well, most of the time). Don't come out complaining that 'there's only gores and zombies, disappointed coz no storyline/bad acting'.

You go to a war movie like say, Saving Private Ryan, expect war scenes and lots of dialogue. Don't complain the storyline with "what a stupid movie, so many people to save one soldier" etc etc crap.

This post has been edited by chibi_tenko: Dec 19 2007, 02:15 PM
emino
post Dec 19 2007, 02:50 PM

IG - riezforester
5,967 posts

Eragon. Was really looking forward to watch it, but god, never again.
screech
post Dec 19 2007, 03:26 PM

398 posts

The Golden Compass.
sukun
post Dec 19 2007, 04:37 PM

471 posts

is this thread suppose to mean, bad-ending-movie by any chances?
popopi
post Dec 19 2007, 04:39 PM

1,197 posts

Hitman is lame...... a little bit too predictable.
clemong_888
post Dec 19 2007, 07:37 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

transformers,after the hyped and all, i was disappointed. i didn't like the story and most of all, i didn't like the graphics..it just looked too cheesy to me..
mukhlisz
post Dec 20 2007, 02:19 AM

373 posts

Spidey 3... ugh

Pirates 3... bleugh

here's hoping Batman & Ironman won't disappoint!
Reimao
post Dec 20 2007, 03:07 AM

Hola~!
709 posts

GC is one OVER-HYPED movie...while Rush Hour din live up to its predecessor..Shrek was ok(its hilarious)..POTC underachieved..Hitman lame..Transformer loved it(there's a kid living inside everyone and im one of them)..Eragon speechless..Ghost Rider stupid..erm...Did i say GC scuked?oh ya..i did..

This post has been edited by Reimao: Dec 20 2007, 03:09 AM
sayming
post Dec 20 2007, 03:37 AM

"Welcome, to my DEATH MACHINE, interloper!"
3,410 posts

This year has many promising titles but they all turned out to be crap.
Spiderman 3, Hitman was lame as hell, I don't feel Transformer broke any ground in the movie industry, probably for fans though. Eragon looked cheap, Ghost Rider was a cheap movie with lousy action, Rush Hour wasn't very entertaining, Harry Potter wasn't magical anymore.

The movies I think lived up to the hype are Bourne Ultimatum, Ocean's Thirteen, I felt PotC3 was great but most loyal fans didnt like it I guess, 300 was pretty good, Beowulf was a mediocre movie but really showed off some potential next-gen animation technology.
whoopa
post Dec 20 2007, 04:28 AM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

ghostrider was thsi year .. i tot it was a movie in 2005 lol doh.gif ...
goldfries
post Dec 20 2007, 04:48 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i see quite a few people judge shows based on hype.

that's why i never follow any hype nor have any expectations when it comes to shows. smile.gif

"Transformers" was a show very well done but I prefer "Live Free or Die Hard".
sukun
post Dec 20 2007, 08:11 AM

471 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 20 2007, 04:48 AM)
i see quite a few people judge shows based on hype.

that's why i never follow any hype nor have any expectations when it comes to shows. smile.gif

"Transformers" was a show very well done but I prefer "Live Free or Die Hard".
Yeah. With Michael Bay's angle, you can't ask for more than that!
Die Hard 4 nicely done as well. Bruce Willis is just one of my favorite actor. I enjoy his Die Hard 3 series with Samuel L. Jackson. Scripting is hilarious and non-stop action just to answer those telephone booth. smile.gif
popsicle toast
post Jan 10 2008, 06:53 PM

29 posts

eragon was a complete joke.
dialogues were utter crap.
kobe8byrant
post Jan 10 2008, 07:20 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

Just been browsing back a page and found out that Rush Hour 3 and Hitman were anticipated? Anticipated by the individual or commercially?

Anyway for me Harry Potter. That's about it that was disappointing.
Version 2
post Jan 11 2008, 05:56 AM

54 posts

Biggest dump last year was RE: Extinction. Had high hopes but like always meh. SM3 was also bad but I enjoyed the comdey and the action was ok.

Blacksheep was the biggest surprise for me. Looked crap but it was kinda ok.
herzeleid
post Jan 11 2008, 11:40 AM

770 posts

golden compass
AVP
Aeon_Clock
post Jan 11 2008, 01:52 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

to be honest...it feels like the movies this year were not as good as they were last year or so. I only enjoyed Transformers and I Am Legend this year. Other movies were quite disappointing. If there's anything to blame...I'm guessing its the TV-series industry. They've come up with many great series to watch and are always keeping us on our toes, begging for the next episode to air soon. Who doesn't enjoy LOST? Prison Break? How about Desperate Housewives? The only advantage a movie has...is adrenaline packed action and really good CGI - like from Harry Potter.
spartacvs
post Jan 14 2008, 07:30 PM

I thought my jokes were bad!
1,281 posts

Spiderman 3 was just utter crap and doesn't have the soul in it like the original movie and the sequel. It was the top of my "Must-Watch" list and it didn't take me the whole movie to shift it to my "Must-Avoid" list. It was the biggest disappointment of all Marvel comic adaptation movie and coming in second is X3: The Last Stand.

This post has been edited by spartacvs: Jan 14 2008, 07:31 PM
led_zep_freak
post Jan 14 2008, 08:27 PM

5,231 posts

Shrek 3... The second was pretty good, but the 3rd was rubbish.
soraxroxas
post Jan 14 2008, 09:18 PM

170 posts

eragon wasted my rm8!!!

shrek 3 also, cant wait for the show cause shrek 2 was just too damn good. but haiz......

golden compass..... OMG=.= no comment. when the show finnish i said to my friend :"WTF"
beck_ken
post Jan 14 2008, 10:45 PM

4,716 posts

you guys mostly post up my anticipating turns disappointing movie

so from this year on, never pay high hopes on those movie cuz will end up disappointed. Go to the movie with normal minded may be ended up some surprise...
siaukia
post Jan 16 2008, 09:25 PM

1,491 posts

i woudl put my highest list to American Gangster,
nia ma hei i think either they purposely simply edit or just want to be yau yeng, i thought if its 1 scene got the problem then ok la ican forgive them, its like 5-6 scenes wtf

wasted my rm10 pundek

what problem? look inside the movie for flying MIC. i mean, what the hell they make film so long time already dont know this basic stuff?
Mgsrulz
post Jan 16 2008, 09:44 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(siaukia @ Jan 16 2008, 09:25 PM)
nia ma hei i think either they purposely simply edit or just want to be yau yeng, i thought if its 1 scene got the problem then ok la ican forgive them, its like 5-6 scenes wtf

wasted my rm10 pundek

what problem? look inside the movie for flying MIC. i mean, what the hell they make film  so long time already dont know this basic stuff?
i have no idea what you're saying sweat.gif
can rephrase?
SUSXbox 360
post Jan 16 2008, 09:47 PM

83 posts

I have watched a lot of films in theatre. But this film... above all (or under all?) is "utterly unbelievable crap". It's so bad... I just felt... cheated and wasted... it just tried SO hard.... (P)hailed completely...

I am talking about

ERAGON

The 1 and ONLY thing that was great about the film... the movie sountrack by Avril Lavigne

tZZ
post Jan 16 2008, 09:50 PM

466 posts

wasted my rm10 pundek

what problem? look inside the movie for flying MIC. i mean, what the hell they make film  so long time already dont know this basic stuff?
Seriously, what the f*** are trying to say ?
SUSXbox 360
post Jan 16 2008, 09:55 PM

83 posts

wasted my rm10 pundek

Translation :

"American Gangster" is among my top highest rated films of all time.
<censored>. However, I think they (film makers) purposely edited/cut the film to be much more fantastic. I thought the "overly done" scenes were at a minimal, but I found 5 to 6 scenes of this sort.

Wasted my RM10 <censored>.

What was the exact problem? Watch the movie for visible microphone.
I mean, what were they thinking making the film which has a long running time when they don't even know how to handle the microphone on set?

demio121
post Jan 17 2008, 09:33 AM

2,084 posts

Spidey 3 is my most disappointed movie last year. I have high hope especially after spidey 2. Not that its particularly bad but hope was high and it just turn out average.

there are tonnes of bad movies last year like RE, AVP etc... but I am not hoping for anything with those.
khaidani
post Mar 16 2008, 08:36 PM

385 posts

hm...to those who said some great movies such as transformer was a bad movie, did u went to cinema with ur gf?

bcoz, I do feel all movies that i've watched is like nothing when I go with girl, I better go alone or with male friends.
BurgaFlippinMan
post Mar 17 2008, 11:05 AM

Wachaaa!
6,486 posts

Transformers is NOT a great movie in any way. Its not a great great movie, it is not a great silly summer action movie, it is not a great sci-fi fantasy movie and heck, its not even a great Michael Bay movie. Its just decent forgettable fun thats all.

Added on March 17, 2008, 11:08 am
QUOTE(Xbox 360 @ Jan 16 2008, 09:47 PM)
I have watched a lot of films in theatre. But this film... above all (or under all?) is "utterly unbelievable crap". It's so bad... I just felt... cheated and wasted... it just tried SO hard.... (P)hailed completely...

I am talking about
ERAGON
The 1 and ONLY thing that was great about the film... the movie sountrack by Avril Lavigne
WTF?! Give credit where its due! The soundtrack was a pretty good effort by Patrick Doyle, and the Avril song was rubbish.

This post has been edited by BurgaFlippinMan: Mar 17 2008, 11:08 AM
defaultname365
post Mar 17 2008, 11:28 AM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

QUOTE(BurgaFlippinMan @ Mar 17 2008, 11:05 AM)
Transformers is NOT a great movie in any way. Its not a great great movie,  it is not a great silly summer action movie, it is not a great sci-fi fantasy movie and heck, its not even a great Michael Bay movie. Its just decent forgettable fun thats all.

Added on March 17, 2008, 11:08 am

WTF?! Give credit where its due! The soundtrack was a pretty good effort by Patrick Doyle, and the Avril song was rubbish.
Wow... Transformers is NOT a great movie ? OMG... biggrin.gif The critics may not have liked it that much but I certainly did.

So what was SO wrong about my Eragon comment? Does it hurt you somewhere when opinions are said?

obefiend
post Mar 17 2008, 01:18 PM

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilluminati
863 posts

transformers is a disspointment. lame plot to be honest

here is my list:

Hitman
No Country for Old Men
Ghostrider
Ang Lee's Hulk
POTC: At Worlds End
Godfather 3
The Departed
BurgaFlippinMan
post Mar 17 2008, 01:29 PM

Wachaaa!
6,486 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Mar 17 2008, 11:28 AM)
Wow... Transformers is NOT a great movie ?
Nope. It doesnt even compare to some of Bay's work like The Rock. Heck, its not even Armageddon. And its nowhere near to the mother of all stupid summer fun movies, Independence Day.

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Mar 17 2008, 11:28 AM)

So what was SO wrong about my Eragon comment?
What is SO wrong is that the soundtrack isn't even by Avril. All she did was write a song for it. Its Patrick Doyle you should be praising.
Tachikoma
post Mar 17 2008, 01:37 PM

Dot
2,864 posts

Plus I can't imagine a better director/producer collaboration than Michael Bay and Steven Spielberg. Back to the topic, Ghost Rider would be the worst dissapointment for me.
I'd rather they cut Michael Bay out of it and just let Steven Spielberg get on with his job. Transformers isn't a failure in my book because having high expectations for any movie directed by Michael flashyexplosions Bay ... nah.
Feliz
post Mar 17 2008, 02:31 PM

67 posts

For Me, I think Golden Compass and Hitman disappointed me
BurgaFlippinMan
post Mar 17 2008, 02:34 PM

Wachaaa!
6,486 posts

How can Hitman be a disappointing movie? It was expected to suck, therefore it met all expectations. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by BurgaFlippinMan: Mar 17 2008, 02:34 PM
obefiend
post Mar 17 2008, 05:59 PM

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilluminati
863 posts

QUOTE(BurgaFlippinMan @ Mar 17 2008, 02:34 PM)
How can Hitman be a disappointing movie? It was expected to suck, therefore it met all expectations. tongue.gif
not me. i was expecting it to be at least coherent and makes sense. what is this crap about shooting from 2 kilometers away? holy crap! best sniper in the history of sniping!

then its the pointless nudity. hey i like nudity as the next guy but when its pointless its kinda kill the mood. what else. oh ya. they changed his origin. that one is just unforgivable!
Makakeke
post Mar 17 2008, 06:44 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(obefiend @ Mar 17 2008, 01:18 PM)
No Country for Old Men
How is that even close to a disappointment?
kobe8byrant
post Mar 17 2008, 08:18 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(BurgaFlippinMan @ Mar 17 2008, 02:34 PM)
i LOL-ed hard.

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Mar 17 2008, 06:44 PM)
no bang bang?
QuickFire
post Mar 17 2008, 08:24 PM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Mar 17 2008, 06:44 PM)
the (non-)ending? For me it's a valid excuse. till today I still do not know what to make of the ending. And I cant rewatch the movie either... because someone borrowed my dvd and it will be ages before I see it again lol (that's how it works with my friends, they pass the dvds to everyone they know until and finally a friend would ask me if I want to watch the movie, not knowing that the dvd is actually MINE !!!!)

I dont really mind the ending, and I wasnt disappointed because I already expected something like that, but someone please explain your interpretation?
kobe8byrant
post Mar 17 2008, 08:48 PM

12,275 posts

The Coens just interpreted the ending the way the book is..
Makakeke
post Mar 17 2008, 08:58 PM

310 posts

It's not an easy ending to interpret really. I have my own simple, unclear interpretation which ultimately leads to the meaning of the movie title but i don't think it's accurate so I don't think I will share it here tongue.gif

But like kobe said, it was the ending of the novel and the Coens faithfully adapted it (which I thought was very brave). But excusing the last few minutes, it was heck of a movie.
Godevil
post Mar 17 2008, 09:08 PM

Engineer
1,226 posts

Cloverfield for me...
kobe8byrant
post Mar 17 2008, 09:36 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(Makakeke @ Mar 17 2008, 08:58 PM)
It's not an easy ending to interpret really. I have my own simple, unclear interpretation which ultimately leads to the meaning of the movie title but i don't think it's accurate so I don't think I will share it here tongue.gif

But like kobe said, it was the ending of the novel and the Coens faithfully adapted it (which I thought was very brave). But excusing the last few minutes, it was heck of a movie.
Even with the last few minutes when Jones narrated, it was still a heck of a movie. Could you blame them for NOT going off track? You can't please both sets of fans. Try having To Kill A Mockingbird and send Boo to jail! laugh.gif
+3kk!
post Mar 18 2008, 10:36 AM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Mar 17 2008, 08:24 PM)
the (non-)ending? For me it's a valid excuse. till today I still do not know what to make of the ending. And I cant rewatch the movie either... because someone borrowed my dvd and it will be ages before I see it again lol (that's how it works with my friends, they pass the dvds to everyone they know until and finally a friend would ask me if I want to watch the movie, not knowing that the dvd is actually MINE !!!!)

I dont really mind the ending, and I wasnt disappointed because I already expected something like that, but someone please explain your interpretation?
i think it has something to do with the old men thing, remember the speech when the movie starts? ya.....

goldfries
post Mar 18 2008, 10:43 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(BurgaFlippinMan @ Mar 17 2008, 11:05 AM)
Transformers is NOT a great movie in any way. Its not a great great movie,  it is not a great silly summer action movie, it is not a great sci-fi fantasy movie and heck, its not even a great Michael Bay movie. Its just decent forgettable fun thats all.

diff people diff opinions on this.

for me, it was really great. i enjoyed it from start to the end, just love everything on how it's done........ other than it showcased more human that robots. biggrin.gif

on the other hand, i've known many people who went to the cinema 2 times or more just to watch again.
Klesk
post Mar 18 2008, 11:50 AM

3,469 posts

yea, Transformers was a big turkey for me too, coz Michael Bay was directing it, if Steven Spielberg had taken the director's seat it'll be ten times as awesome...
navilink
post Mar 18 2008, 09:23 PM

【ツ】
10,783 posts

pirates of caribbean 3 for me!!! captain jack not so cool as 1 and 2 and the weird dreamy scenes of captain jack about the crabs is totally boring heck!!!!! and sao feng?! wth so fast die ... and not cool like the real actor chow yun fat!

0.0263sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:37 PM