125 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Bottom

Investing in US stocks, Does anyone know how?

zamans98
post Nov 27 2009, 10:49 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

what the fcuk?

LONG LVS, INTC, URE, UYG.. GO GO GO
danmooncake
post Nov 27 2009, 10:52 PM

Market Up, Market Down...Wheee..
10,123 posts

Dubai... . what Dubai?

The dips are being bought! LOL!! biggrin.gif
zamans98
post Nov 27 2009, 11:32 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

what d fcuk? INTC and LVS rebounded. Hell, just wait and see. Will re-enter next monday, perhaps after empoyment news?
danmooncake
post Nov 28 2009, 12:12 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Nov 27 2009, 11:32 PM)
what d fcuk? INTC and LVS rebounded. Hell, just wait and see. Will re-enter next monday, perhaps after empoyment news?
zamans bro,

IMO, today is opportunities for long. I double dip on TCK and DSX during early session and decided not to short FAS (thank goodness sweat.gif ). Dubai is really non-issue to US market. Uncle Sam printing power is more powerful.

I'm eyeing ERX now.. great price when Oil is down. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Nov 28 2009, 12:13 AM
epalbee3
post Nov 28 2009, 01:17 AM

1,345 posts

not the dip yet..

enjoy watching for some days.. smile.gif

danmooncake
post Nov 28 2009, 03:14 AM

10,123 posts

Closing update 3:01am

Dow 10309.92 -154.48 -1.48%
Nasdaq 2138.44 -37.61 -1.73%
S&P 500 1091.49 -19.14 -1.72%

IMO, this Dubai thingy wasn't that bad..after the market has opened, the
oversold condition quickly became BUY THE DIPs.

We have pared losses about 50 pts at closing already.

I've trimmed a little excess for DSX and TCK at peak during Intraday to grab a little profit out of the way.
Holding both at same level (1/4 position).

Didn't grab any ERX today - didn't meet my price.

Next week, it will be interesting to see if Mr. Bear barber wants to continue the hair cut. laugh.gif

sulifeisgreat
post Nov 28 2009, 11:34 AM

1,121 posts

usa did not down 2.5% haha... vmad.gif
lovely, this will be an interesting year end window dressing
from now, right up to the year end

my dark art position in place (also load up on faz) & good luck to all cool2.gif
dun u jus love pivot points, either u get it right or wrong speculating brows.gif
relax la, y so agitated? as usual, sifu market will decide the outcome rclxms.gif as i m not a fortune teller mah
if u r forever fans, nothing to worry about, movement does not concern u laugh.gif
also not compulsory to click the spoiler, its design to agitate the other categories reader & provoke arguments... haha, ain't it fun! to break the monotony of the forum
p/s go & enjoy the holidays + if u r other categories readers, dun la fall into spoiler trap icon_rolleyes.gif today is READING DAY, since got free time as holiday.
this is not abt half brain or stupid issue, this r momo in action & they do leave deep impression footprints. the layman investors r stil in a state of shock & they will do nothing but watch... where's my popcorn

Republic Of Debt

Dubai: Many were taken by surprise at the impact the Dubai debt crisis had on world markets. They shouldn't have been. Debt — and its misuse — has been the No. 1 economic issue of our time.

What's the big deal, some wonder? After all, Dubai's total debt of $60 billion or so is but a rounding error on the U.S. deficit of $1.4 trillion in fiscal 2009. Yet world markets plunged sharply when Dubai announced that its debt-fueled building boom had left it unable to pay its bills — despite a tripling in the price of oil.

True, Dubai no longer has much, if any, oil under its sand. But it's one of seven emirates that make up the United Arab Emirates, and the others do still have oil. The fact that the Dubai government refused to step in and guarantee the payments of the Dubai World group — which, by the way, is 100% government-owned — was seen as a bad omen for the world economy.

What if other countries followed suit?

Maybe this is another recognition of just how leveraged the world economy has become. Many nations today seem to have bet their entire futures on mountains of debt — and the U.S., long a holdout from the trend, seems ready to join their ranks.

As recently as 1989, the countries that make up the Organization of Economic Cooperation and Development, the so-called rich nations' club, had public debt averaging 59% of GDP — which at the time was thought to be excessive.

As of 2008, that had jumped to 79% — and total government indebtedness will possibly soar above 90% this year.

As the OECD itself has said, "These proportions are likely to increase significantly in the coming few years," due largely to stimulus packages put in place to fight the economic recession.

That governments, owing trillions of dollars in debt, might start opting one by one to not pay them is a scary idea to investors. It would cause a global collapse.

And even some countries we don't think of as highly indebted in fact are. Take Japan. Granted, it has a high savings rate. But during the 1990s, it financed a dozen "fiscal stimulus" packages to get its economy moving again.

Today, its debt is a whopping 170% of GDP — the most in the developed world. Those "stimulus" packages did nothing, except stimulate debt. And the U.S. is about to duplicate that mistake.

And what about China, which we always hear is sitting on $1.2 trillion in U.S. debt? Aren't the Chinese pretty much debt-free?

Hardly. As China expert Gordon Chang says, that country's banking system is essentially insolvent. Writing in Forbes, he notes that when Beijing's bank regulator announced two weeks ago that it might force banks to raise long-term capital, the nation's stock markets plunged sharply on record high volume. Why? Investors, though dazzled by China's 1.2 billion consumers, also know that much of China's "miracle" has been funded by bad debt.

All this should be a warning to the U.S. Congress, which continues to fiddle as its fiscal house burns. If not careful, Congress' plans for nationalizing the health care system, its $700 billion TARP bailout program, its $787 billion "stimulus" package, cap-and-trade and a host of other new spending programs will push the U.S. to the same brink as Dubai. Only it will be bigger. Much bigger.

Just a year ago, total U.S. public debt stood at $5.8 trillion. This year, it's $7.6 trillion, on its way to $10 trillion by 2012. Service on the debt is $200 billion now; in 10 years, it'll be at least $700 billion.

A stagnant economy with double-digit employment and massive debt greater than our annual output are no legacy for our children and their children.

At some point, American voters will have to wake up to the reality of what their representatives have created — a Republic of Debt.

WARNING : as usual, below for livermore, speculator & gamble lovers onli, categories other than tat, dun click it & spoil ur day nod.gif

Darkmage12
post Nov 28 2009, 09:26 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

Does Public Bank offer services to trade US stocks?
epalbee3
post Nov 29 2009, 10:02 AM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Nov 28 2009, 09:26 PM)
Does Public Bank offer services to trade US stocks?
Only CIMB invest offers online services in the country. (RM40++ per trade).

The cheapest US brokers are Sogotrade (USD3 / free 100 trades) and Just2Trade (USD2.5).

For beginner, you may use Sogotrade.

But if you only want to buy once buy a lot and sell it a few years later, you can use CIMB invest.
normanTE
post Nov 29 2009, 11:07 AM

259 posts

i have a bunch of friend in singapore,
they ask me how will you sure sogotrade wont burst as they claim even though they are sipc insured, will they still exist after 50yrs.
this group of friend that i know of is long term investor, they are investing in jnj, pg, ko, kft,mo,rai,xom.
so they need some secure in there place they keep their stock.
there is no doubt it have happen many time in usa that many brokerage that broke their manage sold their client share and hide somewhere in tahiti island.
so that sipc have to act to compensate all investor,
sorry to tell that the last time indymac that went down it took them forever for that fund to be paid to any investor.

this is a attachement to open a usa habc premier account with share trading facilities.
the trick is you need at least 100,000 usd to open this account.
but i believe for those in this circle is a peanut.
you will get a check books. debit card and hsbc premier mastercard for free ,as long you mantain 100,000usd at any time.
ontop of those you can establish a hsbc premier account in singapore hongkong australia or uk once you are premier customer.
sound good?
after all if hsbc does collapse i believe that none of the financial institution wont face any trouble

contact this persn for more info;
Gregg D Jensen
gregg.d.jensen@us.hsbc.com
Phone. (716) 841-1557

Added on November 29, 2009, 11:11 ammalaysia cimb la maybank la all pretty safe too but where is your check book, debit card or mastercard?
after all their credit card not user friendly as hsbc is global.
if you are a frequent traveller try hsbc premier.

This post has been edited by normanTE: Nov 29 2009, 11:11 AM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  hsbcusapremier.zip ( 220.16k ) Number of downloads: 5
mH3nG
post Nov 29 2009, 01:17 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Nov 29 2009, 10:02 AM)

The cheapest US brokers are Sogotrade (USD3 / free 100 trades) and Just2Trade (USD2.5).

But if you only want to buy once buy a lot and sell it a few years later, you can use CIMB invest.
I thought they charge a minimum of USD25 per transaction if you use CIMBinvest?
epalbee3
post Nov 29 2009, 01:35 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(mH3nG @ Nov 29 2009, 01:17 PM)
I thought they charge a minimum of USD25 per transaction if you use CIMBinvest?
Yupe.. u rite.

RM40++ is for HLebroking using phone broking.

Added on November 29, 2009, 1:40 pm
QUOTE(normanTE @ Nov 29 2009, 11:07 AM)
i have a bunch of friend in singapore,
they ask me how will you sure sogotrade wont burst as they claim even though they are sipc insured, will they still exist after 50yrs.
this group of friend that i know of is long term investor, they are investing in jnj, pg, ko, kft,mo,rai,xom.
so they need some secure in there place they keep their stock.
there is no doubt it have happen many time in usa that many brokerage that broke their manage sold their client share and hide somewhere in tahiti island.
so that sipc have to act to compensate all investor,
sorry to tell that the last time indymac that went down it took them forever for that fund to be paid to any investor.

this is a attachement to open a usa habc premier account with share trading facilities.
the trick is you need at least 100,000 usd to open this account.
but i believe for those in this circle is a peanut.
you will get a check books. debit card and hsbc premier mastercard for free ,as long you mantain 100,000usd at any time.
ontop of those you can establish a hsbc premier account in singapore hongkong australia or uk once you are premier customer.
sound good?
after all if hsbc does collapse i believe that none of the financial institution wont face any trouble

contact this persn for more info;
Gregg D Jensen
gregg.d.jensen@us.hsbc.com
Phone.     (716) 841-1557

Added on November 29, 2009, 11:11 ammalaysia cimb la maybank la all pretty safe too but where is your check book, debit card or mastercard?
after all their credit card not user friendly as hsbc is global.
if you are a frequent traveller try hsbc premier.
well, i have my credit card, debit card and cheque book with local banks.
I think CIMB invest is quite safe, but you have to pay higher brokerage fees.
yupe, your USD100k is quite large, don't risk yourself as USD25 does not mean anything to you.

For us, we are playing peanuts.

Mind to share about "indymac "?

Added on November 29, 2009, 1:45 pmdid you say HSBC?

It is very affected by Dubai..

risk is everywhere.

Investment Rule No 1: Don't put all eggs in a basket.

This post has been edited by epalbee3: Nov 29 2009, 01:45 PM
Darkmage12
post Nov 29 2009, 05:15 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Nov 29 2009, 10:02 AM)

I was just double confirming that PBB did not offer trading in other countries cos a stupid friend of my keep talking nonsense which totally doesn't make sense like yesterday he said US was up when it was all over the news that it plunged doh.gif . I'm using scotttrade now. Thinking of trying others soon but most of my buys are for long term.
danmooncake
post Nov 30 2009, 01:43 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Nov 29 2009, 05:15 PM)
I was just double confirming that PBB did not offer trading in other countries cos a stupid friend of my keep talking nonsense which totally doesn't make sense like yesterday he said US was up when it was all over the news that it plunged doh.gif . I'm using scotttrade now. Thinking of trying others soon but most of my buys are for long term.
The first thing I learn about trading US, don't pay too much attention to any local brokerage or local investment advisers or even friends who think they know. They just know as much as you are. Nowadays, all the info are available to you first hand from the Internet directly including US Govt data. You just have to make best use of this info whether you're Bull or Bear.

IMO, since you're not a day trader, Scottrade deal is pretty good and it is safe (SIPC) biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Nov 30 2009, 01:45 AM
sulifeisgreat
post Nov 30 2009, 08:22 AM

1,121 posts

do u feel bored yawn.gif soon its showtime cool2.gif
time to load up on more ammo & have patience during this mega sale
otherwise, gamble buy the dip theory

we all have access to almost same data
but all interpret it differently, also
action is definitely louder than words brows.gif

most theories can only be use for a certain timeframe, coz sifu market will never allow arbitrage to exist whistling.gif
remember trust no one & no tips nod.gif
for now, we r all standing on the same track, hei! what is tat coming out from the tunnel ahead? bruce.gif

Attached Image or Attached Image

zamans98
post Nov 30 2009, 10:58 AM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

Trade details. Look at the commissions paid shakehead.gif

Still, since MBtrading is better in many area such as SHORTing of stocks, fast on-line help, not too strict on the margin requirement, so I stick to 'em.

Attention ETF traders - Margin requirement for ETF x2, x 3 increased ! WTF.. vmad.gif

danmooncake
post Nov 30 2009, 11:17 AM

10,123 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Nov 30 2009, 10:58 AM)

Attention ETF traders - Margin requirement for ETF x2, x 3 increased ! WTF..  vmad.gif
Yeah, I got the same message last week...

Just gotta be careful don't cross on the borderline margin. Just load up on cash whenever possible. nod.gif

sulifeisgreat
post Nov 30 2009, 11:34 AM

1,121 posts

so funny, shorts being screw... haha bruce.gif
i m not closing my shorts position, still gambling & maintaining shorts position but increase cut loss level
in meantime, since buy the dip scenario still in play, gotta continue the fun ride & spent baby spent cool2.gif

danmooncake
post Nov 30 2009, 12:04 PM

10,123 posts

Depending on what you're short in.. but those holding 3x ETF bear like FAZ and ERY will most likely be
on suicide watch, not because of the market rally..because of the inherent broken down decay already took place.

This post has been edited by danmooncake: Nov 30 2009, 12:06 PM
zamans98
post Nov 30 2009, 01:20 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Nov 30 2009, 11:34 AM)
so funny, shorts being screw... haha  bruce.gif
i m not closing my shorts position, still gambling & maintaining shorts position but increase cut loss level
in meantime, since buy the dip scenario still in play, gotta continue the fun ride & spent baby spent  cool2.gif
true, "short" sellers are being squeezed, authority "punished" by slapping a bigger fine aka upgrade of margin requirements.

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Nov 30 2009, 12:04 PM)
Depending on what you're short in.. but those holding 3x ETF bear like FAZ and ERY will most likely be
on suicide watch, not because of the market rally..because of the inherent broken down decay already took place.
woot, those are CASINO LEVEL chips. Never so far I hold or trade 3x ETF, be it LONG or SHORT

125 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:58 AM