Anyway, i bought BAC 9 - 10 April bull call spread. Earn multiples of 5X..hehe
Wish you all good luck in trading..
Reason: betting on Goldman, JPM announcement will be good. Boosting financial shares
Investing in US stocks, Does anyone know how?
Apr 14 2009, 12:27 AM
1,120 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
Today US financial shares rally even though DOW stay in RED all the time...
Anyway, i bought BAC 9 - 10 April bull call spread. Earn multiples of 5X..hehe Wish you all good luck in trading.. Reason: betting on Goldman, JPM announcement will be good. Boosting financial shares |
Apr 14 2009, 07:49 AM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 14 2009, 06:02 AM) Goldman hits the home run after hours reporting. We may see things pop up by the next day for banks stocks. Time to take my profits on FAS. Aikss..BAC (11), Citi up to 3.80 all bull market.Regretted that i do bull call spread. Should long straight call only. Wrong strategy in this super bull run Miss alot of potential profits. |
Apr 19 2009, 10:09 AM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 18 2009, 06:20 AM) Good morning, I guess you missed the initial bull run for financials this week.. anyway, it was good enough for me. Bought FAS on Wednesday during pullback, sold FAS early this morning before closing.. pocketed $2K. Yup, agreed with this. BRIC countries will be first countries rebound from economy crisis especially China.You are correct, FAS/UYG aren't for long play. XLF is a better play financial for long if you want to buy and forget. Here's a recap of this week, the financials were definitely stars this week, started with Wells Fargo, Goldman, JP Morgan, and followed by Citi today. All of them reported have surprise earnings with good numbers, and some with better than expected outlook and still a bit more cautious going forward. Are they sustainable?. I'm not sure at this time. At least, the market sentiments are much better than last two weeks, some people were nervous because if financials aren't showing any signs of at least we're at the bottom.. the depressions are there. Wall Street hits the 3 month high with DJ hitting 8131. For long, I'm not into Financials but into emerging markets like China and Brazil (iShares) which I believe will definitely has more even more growth opportunities given how their economies were standing up especially during this global recessional period. Hopefully, we'll continue to hear more good news from those regions as their govt are prepping to release their GDP data. The economy stimulus plan that announced/executed since last Nov been taking its momentum to boost its economy although first quarter GDP not that good enough. Nonetheless, i believe its second quarter will have some improvement there. Well, personally FXI is my best choice as it invest in top 25 most biggest / liquid companies in China |
Apr 20 2009, 07:06 PM
QUOTE(autoforexgroup @ Apr 20 2009, 05:09 PM) sogo trade? have not heard before. why don't you open a U.S. brokerage account directly with the broker in U.S.? If you use 3rd party brokers, you will be charged a hefty commission rate What sogo trade? Does it have SPIC protection? or any US government guarantees?You can try www.interactivebrokers.com they have an Asian hub in HK. You can use that broker to trade U.S. stocks, ETF and options Totally agreed, why need to open 3rd party brokers here given that we can open US account directly using Internet connection This post has been edited by dreams_achiever: Apr 20 2009, 07:07 PM |
Apr 20 2009, 09:38 PM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Apr 20 2009, 09:32 PM) Big News for Tech Stocks - Oracle (ORCL) Buying Sun Microsystems (JAVA). But seem too late to buy now.Sun Microsystems popped up 35%. Rumor is, IBM failed to buy Sun earlier may re-offer higher price. Should keep this SUN stock in view. monitor the call volume. See whether got any insider trading or not. Miss a big boat. Last Friday lowest for JAVA 8 May Call=19cents. And today pop up to USD1.10. Thats almost 6X |
Apr 21 2009, 10:14 AM
QUOTE(SEIKO^WATCHES @ Apr 21 2009, 12:38 AM) You can refer to this link:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SogoInvest So far from the descriptions provided, it quite reliable and insured by SPIC as well. As rule of thumb, do your own analysis before decide to open with them. |
May 9 2009, 12:05 PM
May 10 2009, 12:56 AM
QUOTE(SEIKO^WATCHES @ May 9 2009, 01:11 PM) Personally there will still have plenty legs for bull run. This is just the beginning.I would say buy on dips whenever it retrace. Check for TA and watch out for fundamental data from US. Monitor the US progress. This post has been edited by dreams_achiever: May 10 2009, 12:58 AM |
May 15 2009, 07:40 AM
QUOTE(yawnay @ May 15 2009, 02:39 AM) Hi to all OptionsXpress trader, No need to install anything as it is using web-based for trading. (normal trading)just one simple question, do you have to download certain software to trade? I will be doing trading on my office computer and it wont allow me to install any software.(i am following US working hours). Thank you But if you want to view FlexChart or trade using Xtend(some sort of desktop trading), it need to install java application. |
May 15 2009, 07:45 AM
QUOTE(normanTE @ May 15 2009, 07:12 AM) hi all, Personally to me doing tt things are rather easy. Wonder why how complicated it is? Just easy as 1,2,3 well, etrade, dont have minimum ; if ure account less than ten k, then they will charge 40 usd every quater. personally i prefer optioexpress than ameritrade.com i have all those account etrade.zecco.sogotrade,ameritrade,optioexpress,osk188hk, i think ameritrade is still lagging during peak hours. sogotrade; jangan harap. etrade is the best in town, if u have deep pocket. they use to offer debit card to all account user. i think they have withdrawal them, same with ameritrade. Added on May 15, 2009, 7:14 ampersonally i am doing online wire to my aboard account, take less than 24hours from uob/hsbc hongkong to us depository account. I fill in the RHB TT online form at morning 7am, and the money will be deposit into my US bank at same day maybe around 10-12pm EST time |
Aug 17 2009, 07:23 PM
I'm back..Long time didn't check here dy
Anyway, time to short. Bear has come to overpower bull Been short since last Friday and still holding... Wait hold until tomorrow PPI data come out. From expectation, it is worst. Maybe deflation issue will arise and bring market down again |
Aug 25 2009, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(mynewuser @ Aug 25 2009, 06:51 PM) Haha..thats why we all here invest in US stocks market rather in KLSE.NYSE exchange is the most largest stock exchange in the world. So imagine that all the big funds invest there, ... sure got big volume with high volatility that will boost shares more than 30% in single day(for selected high growth stock such as AIG, BAC, etc..) |
Aug 27 2009, 05:14 PM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 27 2009, 10:01 AM) With over 1000% increase for this year and hitting 52 weeks high, Wah, you guys aim quite high volatile stocks.I think this one has run its course already. I won't buy it. Usually i aim those big company stocks such as BAC, C and trade options related to it. Thinking to try find some stocks that can reach double or triple its stock price. How you guys find such stocks? Thanks |
Aug 27 2009, 08:24 PM
QUOTE(GHz @ Aug 27 2009, 06:24 PM) I am the same boat as you. I am looking at GE as well. Usually when i tt during morning time, the monies will reach my US account by night at the same day.Arrgh. My fund still not credited to my trading account but already deducted from my bank account through ACH. Hopefully will credited when office hour start is US. So efficient Recently, the players seem moving towards insurance stocks. These type of stocks rally up kao kao. For example, AIG almost quadruple dy. Same as HIG as well. This post has been edited by dreams_achiever: Aug 27 2009, 08:24 PM |
Aug 28 2009, 10:24 PM
QUOTE(GHz @ Aug 28 2009, 04:14 PM) I'm trading options here. Just pick your favourite stocks and trade calendar spread options.Less risk and importantly, is using small capital to trade big stocks. Small knife cut big tree (Note: options trading involved high risks) QUOTE(GHz @ Aug 28 2009, 06:49 PM) OptionsXpress also provide pre-market quote. And you can trade during after-market and pre-market hour. Added on August 28, 2009, 10:25 pm QUOTE(zamans98 @ Aug 28 2009, 08:59 PM) Nice selection of stock watch there..hehe. Especially LVS..kinda tempting to look into its option chains. This post has been edited by dreams_achiever: Aug 28 2009, 10:25 PM |
Aug 29 2009, 08:07 AM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 29 2009, 05:51 AM) Scratch out 5 days.. because this week is a wash.. we ended up where we started. DMC, based on your remarks above -> seem very suspicious and i decide to check on itNext week.. September! Here is what i found out: After putting yesterday’s The Best and Worst Months for the S&P 500 Index (1926 – 2007) post together, I decided to take a closer look at the month of September. Here’s what I found out. It’s typically a bad month for stocks – or at least the S&P 500 Index. Take a look at the following graphic which looks at September’s return from 1926 – 2006: http://allfinancialmatters.com/2007/09/06/...nth-for-stocks/ And i've shorted ..hehe |
Aug 29 2009, 08:15 PM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 29 2009, 08:46 AM) Puts options in place? Yup. Has placed my put options.Yeah, the bulls getting tired and weary. All we need is some bad news around the corner (which is slowly already building with warning signs but market been ignoring) and this could roll over. Dow has been extremely OB and congesting over OB area. Sooner or later it will drop to OS region before resuming uptrend. So prepared for roller coaster ride in September. Market will celebrate Lehman Brother's bankruptcy anniversary by plunging down This post has been edited by dreams_achiever: Aug 29 2009, 08:15 PM |
Aug 30 2009, 09:18 AM
20% abit too much. I'm targeting 6-8% also enough already.
I believe 8800 - 9000 range is strong support. Every one will buy because economy is recovering. Overall i'm still bull. It's just that market need to have healthy trend by correcting itself before resuming uptrend. Everytime DOW reach new high, there will be seller on top of it pushing it downwards. So the bull don't have much momentum left to continue the uptrend. Today news: U.S. Regulators Shut Down Three Failing Banks, Pushing 2009 Total to 84 http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=206...id=aSdMMGzkt1do Seem every weekend there is some banks closed by US regulators. Economy is not fully recover yet. kelynn0713: US market are quite volatile compared to KLSE. I advise better to trade in KLSE first before moving to US market. Get familiar with trading stocks in KLSE. The movement is slow yet stable. It will be good starting point for newbie |
Aug 30 2009, 11:18 AM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Aug 30 2009, 09:36 AM) Definitely.. more and more banks are going under. There are already prediction next year.. 200+ more to collapse. wa lao..200++. Won't it be too exaggerated? lolz.US FDIC already run out of insurance money. This is going to be nasty. Lets hope on Monday, Dow will collapse and I will collect profits from shorts..hehe |
Aug 30 2009, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(mikehwy @ Aug 30 2009, 11:33 AM) Hello, Its depend on individual preferences. Personally i used stochastics + RSI + ADX + MACD histogram.about your options trading. what are the tools (TA) that you are using ? i am now learning the put and call, but i am still uncertain about the TA to use. for example, the trainer needs us to complete the exercise berfore going in, and the 9 TAs include - BB, MACD, SMA, EMA, PAR SAR, OS, etc etc, and after this, i have to fill in a technical form that includes - Target Price, Entry Price, Stop Loss, Profit/Loss, Intrinsic Value ... may i know what tools you use? thanks pal. Added on August 30, 2009, 11:55 amAnother question i wish to ask please: - i am opening an account for options trading, but it seems that the Op.....xpress needs my passport but mine has long expired. any solutions or other reliable companies that i can open an account for US trades? thank you. I think you can use your Msian ID as verification document instead of passport. You can try ask live support see whether can or not. Or can try etrade, AMERITRADE, etc.. This post has been edited by dreams_achiever: Aug 30 2009, 03:16 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0454sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:18 PM |