AMDŽ Socket-AM2/AM2+ Overclocking thread (V4), Cockcroach AMD :P

capriodimitri
post Jan 16 2008, 01:52 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(DevilMan @ Jan 16 2008, 12:24 PM)
didnt sell, sayang my pc lor.  wub.gif  wub.gif  wub.gif
hahaha, exchange with our fellow mate here.
Me la, keke. Hope 790FX will able fully utilize the quad core. I dunno your BIOS setting, if you need to disable TLB patch manually, tell me oh, I know the way. Increase 10% ++ for my mobo.

I am wondering if 5000 B.E. can OCed to 3.4Ghz? What vcore you using now? I will pit this against Windsor and put more benchmark here. Previous 5600+ can do SuperPI 32MB at 24m. Is it ok/fast?
AoiNatsume
post Jan 16 2008, 02:09 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

bro db, already sms u liao sweat.gif
i left the reciept at home... was assuming that it will arrive today because it was shipped out the first thing in the morning yesterday. Hasnt arrive bro?
dj.eRicZzz
post Jan 16 2008, 02:09 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Jan 16 2008, 02:07 AM)
well... it depends on how u guys use it as well. As we all know, most of crucial performance rams are packed with D9GMH which is the favourite amongs overclockers. Knowing that, people tend to push them alot therefore resulting in problems.

As we all know, overclocking risk is shortening the lifespan of your hardwares, in this case, the lifespan of the crucials are shortened much faster than the others.
my ram 'died' yesterday....now shes thirsty for voltage...only can boot after adding vdimm sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif and now installing vista....till last step completing installation there stuck sad.gif
AoiNatsume
post Jan 16 2008, 02:15 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

lol ericz, thats the symptom many of people using crucials are having. THey wont just die on you, suddenly they will need ALOT of voltage to run.
dj.eRicZzz
post Jan 16 2008, 02:22 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Jan 16 2008, 02:15 PM)
lol ericz, thats the symptom many of people using crucials are having. THey wont just die on you, suddenly they will need ALOT of voltage to run.
shit larrr....damn...feel like selling it off =(...any my vista problem anyone know?
AoiNatsume
post Jan 16 2008, 02:36 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

try instlaling using another price of ram, if still fails means your tracersa re beyond rescue bro.
dj.eRicZzz
post Jan 16 2008, 02:37 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Jan 16 2008, 02:36 PM)
try instlaling using another price of ram, if still fails means your tracersa re beyond rescue bro.
u mean fail as in installing vista fail or what?
ah_khoo
post Jan 16 2008, 02:40 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

holy shite... my kvr on d9dcl also d same thing, need lotsa voltage (2.45v) to be prime stable @ ddr2 1000. but previously on intel it needed 2.2v only... could this be d same like eric case... sweat.gif sad.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Jan 16 2008, 02:41 PM
TS-pWs-
post Jan 16 2008, 02:59 PM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jan 16 2008, 02:40 PM)
holy shite... my kvr on d9dcl also d same thing, need lotsa voltage (2.45v) to be prime stable @ ddr2 1000. but previously on intel it needed 2.2v only... could this be d same like eric case...  sweat.gif  sad.gif  cry.gif
Nope. IIANM, bro soulfly did point out that AMD timing more tight than intel. smile.gif

-pWs-
ah_khoo
post Jan 16 2008, 03:11 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jan 16 2008, 02:59 PM)
Nope. IIANM, bro soulfly did point out that AMD timing more tight than intel. smile.gif

-pWs-
d funny thing is, ddr2 970~980 ish is primable with 2.25v, but ddr2 1000 wont boot at 2.35v (got beep during boot up). at ddr2 1000 with 2.25v is bootable & sp 32M passed, blardy ram, dunno wat's wrong with it... doh.gif vmad.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Jan 16 2008, 03:20 PM
dblooi
post Jan 16 2008, 03:15 PM

1,404 posts

wooohoooo
received RAID card and 4pin to 8pin convertor rclxm9.gif
testing start now brows.gif
AoiNatsume
post Jan 16 2008, 03:29 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

hehe, great to hear it reached you thumbup.gif
DevilMan
post Jan 16 2008, 03:42 PM

==[ Hardware Swinger ]==
653 posts

QUOTE(capriodimitri @ Jan 16 2008, 01:52 PM)
Me la, keke. Hope 790FX will able fully utilize the quad core. I dunno your BIOS setting, if you need to disable TLB patch manually, tell me oh, I know the way. Increase 10% ++ for my mobo.

I am wondering if 5000 B.E. can OCed to 3.4Ghz? What vcore you using now? I will pit this against Windsor and put more benchmark here. Previous 5600+ can do SuperPI 32MB at 24m. Is it ok/fast?
I believe my mainboard is stopping me from OC higher. Have another guy here (forget the nick) also having the exactly same mobo and processor only reaching 3.2 at 1.433Ghz. Did a research, saw a lot review able to push 3.4 easily at 1.43.
Msi is bad for overclocking, maybe its not really build for the X2. Lucky is way cheaper that Asus and others.
soulfly
post Jan 16 2008, 03:45 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Jan 16 2008, 02:15 PM)
not only crucial. other ram will also behave like that... especially micron chips. why? because they feed too much current. not voltage...but current.

reduce the drivestrength that should reduce the risk.

high drivestrength = ram killer

but not all motherboard has drivestrength setting in the bios, so u have to use 3rd party tool like systool or something.

why it's always crucial? because everybody buy crucial... easy to find at garage/bulk section. tell me how many ppl bother to buy corsair or ocz nowadays tongue.gif

This post has been edited by soulfly: Jan 16 2008, 03:46 PM
ah_khoo
post Jan 16 2008, 03:54 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jan 16 2008, 03:45 PM)
not only crucial. other ram will also behave like that... especially micron chips. why? because they feed too much current. not voltage...but current.

but not all motherboard has drivestrength setting in the bios, so u have to use 3rd party tool like systool or something.

why it's always crucial? because everybody buy crucial... easy to find at garage/bulk section. tell me how many ppl bother to buy corsair or ocz nowadays  tongue.gif
nice piece of info there soulfly, thanks for sharin... rclxms.gif
xixo_12
post Jan 16 2008, 04:06 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(alive88 @ Jan 15 2008, 12:56 PM)
like bro soulfly said, its not challenging, but for me, when ive bought three procs, and they all sucks, ill beg for a guarantee proc..so far, its not a really guarantee proc, its just u have to go extreme to get extreme..like my previous brisby even i go extreme(1.625 vcore) i only gain 2.9..not even intermediate performance..

anyone bought ta770 yet?waiting for the result..last time regretted buying this 590sli..owh,xixo, hows ur custom WC?later nk try..ill go visit u when ur converter arrived..
retired...

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jan 15 2008, 02:07 PM)
Well said  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Ops...aiming 100% oc??  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

-pWs-
aiming 100% but now need to focus on my study first... i have final project

QUOTE(ocz @ Jan 15 2008, 02:10 PM)
IF xixo is aiming for 100% OC with Ice WC,this will be crazy. sweat.gif
not crazy anymore.. look at this

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry15177530
AoiNatsume
post Jan 16 2008, 04:12 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jan 16 2008, 03:45 PM)

why it's always crucial? because everybody buy crucial... easy to find at garage/bulk section. tell me how many ppl bother to buy corsair or ocz nowadays  tongue.gif
yea very true indeed, another thing is that, crucial are bloody cheap. If ur looking at OCZ, dont bother anything lower than PC8000, anything below PC8000 does not comes with D9GMH
TS-pWs-
post Jan 16 2008, 04:34 PM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(capriodimitri @ Jan 16 2008, 08:07 AM)
Ya, try that, actually putting 236 fsb. running good through the benchmark with the default Vcore. I am selling due to my BIOS issue. Otherwise, I am keeping it. On the bug, I can disable the TLB and enable it. That's how to compare with B3 stepping. Those waiting for B3 might want to consider as it need to wait till May. The bug very unlikely to cause system hang, as most of us do not run 100% cpu process all the time. Only virtualization on servers.
Do you try Orthos on it? Is it stable??

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Jan 16 2008, 03:11 PM)
d funny thing is, ddr2 970~980 ish is primable with 2.25v, but ddr2 1000 wont boot at 2.35v (got beep during boot up). at ddr2 1000 with 2.25v is bootable & sp 32M passed, blardy ram, dunno wat's wrong with it...  doh.gif  vmad.gif  tongue.gif
DDR2 970-980 w 2.25v. Is it fully stable w that?? hmm.gif

QUOTE(dblooi @ Jan 16 2008, 03:15 PM)
wooohoooo
received RAID card and 4pin to 8pin convertor rclxm9.gif
testing start now brows.gif
Wootsss smile.gif

-pWs-
ah_khoo
post Jan 16 2008, 05:05 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jan 16 2008, 04:34 PM)
Do you try Orthos on it? Is it stable??
DDR2 970-980 w 2.25v. Is it fully stable w that?? hmm.gif
yup, prime stable... smile.gif

still can't figure out why ddr2 1000 is bootable with 2.25v & 2.45v but not 2.35v... vmad.gif
FuiLo
post Jan 16 2008, 07:17 PM

252 posts

QUOTE(nadeng1987 @ Jan 16 2008, 05:03 AM)
Bro fuilo. Start Oc-ing using multiplier 10 and ram divider 400(cpu/10= 1:1). See how far can your cpu go first. You're using value rams i supposed. Don bother OC it yet. Focus on your cpu first. And one more thing, does your proc really need to pump vcore at 2.8Ghz? Most 4000+ brisbanes dont have to add vcore to reach 2.8.
Thanks for the advice bro nadeng1987..but if i leave the vcore at stock value i can't finish calculate super pi 32m..even
with vcore at 1.325v..after so many tries then only i can finished calculating super pi 32m at 1.35 vcore..so wat could be the problem?n 1 more thing my noob mobo can only set the maximum value of vcore up to 1.35v rclxub.gif ..n 1 last thing could it be the memory v dimm volt problem as i didn't increase any voltage there and leave it at running at 1.9v ..sorry i m really noob in overclocking sweat.gif hope sifus here can point out my problems.. nod.gif

100 Pages « < 81 82 83 84 85 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:48 AM