Possible to Mod Notebook into Desktop?, Remove notebook casing.
TSnles
Dec 17 2007, 06:45 PM, updated 19y ago
Hi all the sifus here,
Just trying my luck here, see anyone can guide me in modding my notebook into desktop.
I'm now using a notebook but the LCD already spoil and the casing has crack underneath. It's quite an old notebook but it still serve me well just that couldn't play newer games with it. I'm now leaving the notebook aside and connect it to external keyboard/mouse and LCD.
I'm buying a desktop real soon to replace it. I was thinking whether can I remove the notebook casing and put it into a desktop case.
The notebook is BenQ Joybook 5000, Pentium M 1.3ghz 512mb Ram ATI Mobility Radeon 9000.
boris
Dec 17 2007, 07:01 PM
laptop turn into desktop? this must be hard!
jceh83
Dec 17 2007, 07:09 PM
well, the only thing i can think of is
1) connect an external lcd monitor to ur notebook 2) buy a wireless keyboard/mouse set for it..
but to convert it into a ATX would be difficult...
TSnles
Dec 17 2007, 10:55 PM
That's what I'm doing now, connect to LCD and external mouse/keyboard.
But If I remove it from the casing probably will be cooler right. Cause it's running quite hot now.
Voxe
Dec 18 2007, 01:57 AM
How about just removing the screen frame and buy a laptop cooling pad?
lohwenli
Dec 18 2007, 05:21 PM
You can make it into a desktop, but you'll probably have to custom build/modify a case. There is no desktop case that can fit laptop components without custom modification.
Bigblock
Dec 19 2007, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(lohwenli @ Dec 18 2007, 05:21 PM) You can make it into a desktop, but you'll probably have to custom build/modify a case. There is no desktop case that can fit laptop components without custom modification. Yeah that is correct.And u have to lay all the components back...you can have a very slim case...unique
lohwenli
Dec 19 2007, 11:00 AM
Yeah, you can build something like a blade server style case, or a book style one if you have trouble squeezing everything in.
TSnles
Dec 19 2007, 12:33 PM
book style not a bad idea, create a custom case with cardbox can edy lolx.
If I take it out it's gonna be one piece of motherboard with all the component on it right I guess. . .
carpathia
Dec 19 2007, 12:35 PM
er.... buy a KVM replicator and LCD, hide your nb into a casing... done. why wanna go thru all trouble to take out the notebook components?
arjuna_mfna
Dec 19 2007, 02:43 PM
yap it can be done but need a custom casing, u can made it from arcyclic...
lohwenli
Dec 19 2007, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(nles @ Dec 19 2007, 12:33 PM) book style not a bad idea, create a custom case with cardbox can edy lolx. If I take it out it's gonna be one piece of motherboard with all the component on it right I guess. . . More or less. But some components will need additional support, like the CPU cooler which is usually mounted to the casing cos you can't screw directly to the motherboard. Some inspiration for you, though its a desktop I think its pretty relevant to what you're planning. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=507832&hl=
TSnles
Dec 20 2007, 12:26 AM
QUOTE(carpathia @ Dec 19 2007, 12:35 PM) er.... buy a KVM replicator and LCD, hide your nb into a casing... done. why wanna go thru all trouble to take out the notebook components? It's hot and it's ugly to leave it like that.