Any recomendation on guitar cables??
I heard that custom making a Canare Gs-6 is an option...
But anyway..let me hear from u guys...
Really noob in this cable thingy....
[WTA] Guitar cables, want to ask
Dec 16 2007, 01:29 AM, updated 19y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
144 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Serdang, KL |
Any recomendation on guitar cables??
I heard that custom making a Canare Gs-6 is an option... But anyway..let me hear from u guys... Really noob in this cable thingy.... |
Dec 16 2007, 01:35 AM
2,650 posts Joined: May 2005 |
just get a decent ibanez cable will do.
Dec 16 2007, 06:37 AM
1,170 posts Joined: May 2007 |
QUOTE(judas @ Dec 16 2007, 01:29 AM) Any recomendation on guitar cables?? Those are quite expensive... IMO, you won't hear much difference...I heard that custom making a Canare Gs-6 is an option... But anyway..let me hear from u guys... Really noob in this cable thingy.... I'm using Neutrik cables on my stereo output guitar (around RM80), and normal Ernie Ball Ultraflex cables on my mono output guitars (around RM35)... Can't hear the tonal differences... Or you can say too noob to hear the difference I used Neutrik because its the only better quality cables with TRS L-shaped heads, I'm not gonna shell out RM500 for a cable... Do check out Neutrik for slightly cheaper heads compared to Canare |
Dec 16 2007, 09:40 AM
404 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: brisbane |
i was told by my mate to get fender or planet wave, they are better than average and wont cost an arm and a leg for noobies like u and me...i'm curious w/ this issue too
Dec 16 2007, 12:27 PM
283 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
May I know how loud were u playing to check the tonal differences/noise ?
Dec 16 2007, 03:18 PM
56 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia |
Ibanez Series DS low noise instrument cable should serve you right. Its a heavy duty cable an with afortable price. I bought it for RM40+ in Kuching, and I think it should be in store at a cheaper price in KL.
FEATURES: ·Coaxial - type shielded cable ·Aluminum foil shield under braided shield provides 100% shielding coverage and greater durability. ·Extra flexible PVC wrapped outer jacket. ·Heavy Duty 1/4" plugs. ·Special cable tie included for rapid wrap ups. |
Dec 16 2007, 04:04 PM
1,179 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: SS2, Petaling Jaya, Selangor |
Yup, agree with the Ibanez cable.
However if you are very rich with a very high budget, just get monster cables |
Dec 16 2007, 04:28 PM
224 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
right now i have 2 cables
a Ki Sound (korean) and a planetwaves u can get Ki Sound(which is gold plated) at Woh Fatt for about 50 bucks for 10 feet. My planetwaves i bought in singapore I dont really hear much difference, to me as long as they are gold plated and have a brand than im ok already |
Dec 16 2007, 06:34 PM
4,765 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
hijacking thread. where can i get dimarzio cables in KL? need some tough cables for gigs. planet wave keeps failing me
Dec 16 2007, 07:02 PM
489 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
I use planet waves cables. Dont get those colourful or china brand cables, they only last a couple of months before hissing badly. My planet waves cables have been with me for a couple of years already without any problems.
Dec 16 2007, 07:21 PM
good sounding is a thing, long lasting is another
i've read a lot about cables that sounds good but starts to fail after a couple of months |
Dec 16 2007, 07:35 PM
1,399 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: KL PJ |
echobrainproject : in JS music, once saw a Dimarzio Vai cable for around 450 and a yngwie cable for aroud 250, they shud hav other varieties...
This post has been edited by crazychris: Dec 16 2007, 07:36 PM |
Dec 16 2007, 07:36 PM
472 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Me To You |
eeerrrmm..
noob here.. y guitar cable oso got so many kinds?? got difference?? |
Dec 16 2007, 08:00 PM
1,334 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: <====== |
using fender cable for years, very nice, the finish at the "head" was nicely sealed, and allow some bent.. go get it !
Dec 16 2007, 08:01 PM
13,063 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Toronto |
Yeah, JS Music has a bunch of DiMarzio cables.
I'm slowly switching to Monster Cable as they have a very low noise ratio and also durable as hell........ If you know how much I torture my equipment, then you should know how I appreciate the strength of the Monster Cable. But to save cash, I might use DiMarzios for my pedals. |
Dec 16 2007, 08:50 PM
224 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
wats monster cables?
Dec 16 2007, 09:14 PM
26 posts Joined: May 2007 |
monster cable is somehow the cable used by slash lol .. im using the china made cables .. lol .. its still lasting me for quite a while already .. i've used it since early this year til now .. np at all :s
Dec 16 2007, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Dec 16 2007, 08:01 PM) Yeah, JS Music has a bunch of DiMarzio cables. Durable as hell? Looks like I need to get my hands on these I'm slowly switching to Monster Cable as they have a very low noise ratio and also durable as hell........ If you know how much I torture my equipment, then you should know how I appreciate the strength of the Monster Cable. But to save cash, I might use DiMarzios for my pedals. Any local distributor here? Or do I have to order online? |
Dec 16 2007, 10:48 PM
Sinamex in Time Square brings them in.
But they are quite expensive........ about RM200-300 for a set. |
Dec 17 2007, 02:20 AM
1,171 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: temporarily Munich |
if you can stay away from those rubber sealed heads. Always try to get heads that you can open to fix or resolder broken contacts. Because most broken contacts always happen in the head. I've never had a broken contact in the middle of the cable before.
Dec 17 2007, 10:18 AM
620 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Penang, Malaysia |
If your lead is not too long, then it wouldn't really matter what brand of cable you use.
Reason is, for long leads lower quality cables tend to have higher capacitance, thus attenuating your high-frequency signals, making your sound muffled. There are some good cables that are oxygen-free etc etc which could help to lower capacitance if you run very long leads from guitar to the amp. Otherwise, you would be more concerned about the reliability of the cable, especially the jacks. I think the PlanetWaves cables are not too bad, and they even a compression spring jack which ensures that you always ahve a tight connection to the jacks you are connected to. You can even opt for angled heads if you like. The disadvantage is that their jacks are one piece plastic which means you cannot repair them if they are spoiled. A no name brand cable would work to just make sure the soldering work is done properly and you can always replace the jacks when they are spoiled. This post has been edited by supercolossal: Dec 17 2007, 10:18 AM |
Dec 17 2007, 05:23 PM
capacitance? do u mean impedence? not trying to pick u up but i'm new to guitar scene, so dont confuse me, hehe...
Dec 17 2007, 06:46 PM
2,972 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: OSINT |
So, for acoustic-electric cable, should I buy the good one, or just find a common cable?
Dec 17 2007, 06:50 PM
Never skimp on quality, no matter what you use.
A planet Waves should be fine, but don't get the one with the "noise cut". Just the regular cables will do. The Noise cut has a button which cuts the tone completely. I had one of those, but it died on me. |
Dec 17 2007, 10:03 PM
QUOTE(vintec @ Dec 17 2007, 05:23 PM) capacitance? do u mean impedence? not trying to pick u up but i'm new to guitar scene, so dont confuse me, hehe... Impedance includes resistance, inductance and capacitance. I stressed on capacitance because having high capacitance on your cables is like having a low-pass filter between your guitar and the amp, causing your high frequencies to be attenuated.But if your cables are not that long like I have said, this effect is negligible. |
Dec 18 2007, 12:28 AM
1,171 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: temporarily Munich |
Dec 19 2007, 07:21 PM
Actually every electrical connection will have these three properties, it is just a matter of whether they are desirable or not. If not, to what extent they can be tolerated without affecting the sound quality.
Dec 20 2007, 02:17 AM
tue true
hoping to grab the ibanez 96 series cable |
Dec 21 2007, 12:40 AM
767 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Brisbane, Australia |
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Dec 17 2007, 06:50 PM) Never skimp on quality, no matter what you use. LoL! You torture it?A planet Waves should be fine, but don't get the one with the "noise cut". Just the regular cables will do. The Noise cut has a button which cuts the tone completely. I had one of those, but it died on me. ==== I have compare cables before, tone and noise difference. Anyone can expand on this? |
Dec 21 2007, 02:32 AM
My cables are really tormented... The head always gets loose after the first week of playing.
Now I am more careful due to $$$ |
Dec 21 2007, 01:15 PM
370 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I went to jalan pasar to buy cables, heads
Gonna solder them myself =p My first attempt !! |
Dec 21 2007, 01:27 PM
2,013 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: abyss |
using planet wave rite now.. not really "cost u an arm n leg" kinda price tag, but definetly do better than those cheapo cables. using cheapo cables gav me a lot noice on the connector..
Dec 21 2007, 01:45 PM
I torture all my gear. Hey, if it ain't road worthy, why buy them at all.
Ironic because I don't go on the road |
Dec 21 2007, 03:40 PM
1,092 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
QUOTE(supercolossal @ Dec 17 2007, 10:03 PM) Impedance includes resistance, inductance and capacitance. I stressed on capacitance because having high capacitance on your cables is like having a low-pass filter between your guitar and the amp, causing your high frequencies to be attenuated. For those wondering, capacitance is mainly contributed by the type of passive shielding (thickness and material) used. Generally, the thicker the shield the higher the capacitance, which as explained already, is not desirable. However, shields are needed to block out RFI and EMI; the thicker, the more effective. Like everything else, there's always pros and cons.But if your cables are not that long like I have said, this effect is negligible. Anyway, the concept of making a good cable is simple. It's just striking the right balance between the forces that results in impedance (Z). That's where all the mumbo jumbo techincal sh1t starts. An example to the high capacitance problem above would be to attach filter networks, or go for active shielding. Do note that the guitar cable is generally short length, carries a signal that is limited in frequency range, and is generally not used in electrically noisy environments. That said, I doubt all these theories can be applied. |
Dec 21 2007, 03:53 PM
Dec 22 2007, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(Party2DMax @ Dec 21 2007, 03:40 PM) For those wondering, capacitance is mainly contributed by the type of passive shielding (thickness and material) used. Generally, the thicker the shield the higher the capacitance, which as explained already, is not desirable. However, shields are needed to block out RFI and EMI; the thicker, the more effective. Like everything else, there's always pros and cons. You got it right. Those parasitic effects can be negligible esp on short cables and more so with the limited frequency range from guitar signals. But, some people can hear the difference, and ultimately it's your pocket (and ear) that determines how expensive you cables should be.Anyway, the concept of making a good cable is simple. It's just striking the right balance between the forces that results in impedance (Z). That's where all the mumbo jumbo techincal sh1t starts. An example to the high capacitance problem above would be to attach filter networks, or go for active shielding. Do note that the guitar cable is generally short length, carries a signal that is limited in frequency range, and is generally not used in electrically noisy environments. That said, I doubt all these theories can be applied. |
Dec 25 2007, 05:01 PM
370 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(crazychris @ Dec 21 2007, 03:53 PM) if ur saying using mic cables Just soldered my cables.then...hrmm hope u dun mind the noise my fren use to do tat, until he use a GUITAR cable lower noise unless ur saying GeorgeL cables haha It sounded SO Good !!! Sounds so much "fuller" and buzzing eliminated. Much better than the "nice" Ibanez cable I'm having now. It only costed me 4 meter cable = rm 12 2 Audio Jacks = rm 7 plus soldering tools that were pretty cheap |
Dec 25 2007, 06:13 PM
Was about to buy the Steve Vai signature cables, until I realize they cost more then my monster cables!!!!!!
Dec 25 2007, 06:31 PM
239 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Klang Valley. |
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Dec 16 2007, 08:01 PM) Yeah, JS Music has a bunch of DiMarzio cables. Another added bonus is that they come with a lifetime guarantee I'm slowly switching to Monster Cable as they have a very low noise ratio and also durable as hell........ If you know how much I torture my equipment, then you should know how I appreciate the strength of the Monster Cable. But to save cash, I might use DiMarzios for my pedals. |
Dec 25 2007, 08:22 PM
3,396 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: KL |
What? Even cables have signatures???
Dec 25 2007, 10:15 PM
Heck, even the burger god, Yngwie Fjookin' Malmsteen has his own signature cables!
Dec 26 2007, 01:01 AM
yup yup signature series
Vai cables are around 450 while Yngwie half the price btw wher u guys get the monster cable? who sells them? |
Dec 26 2007, 01:08 AM
6,339 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Dec 26 2007, 01:30 AM
tats too tiny for people to notice la..
Dec 26 2007, 09:32 AM
Actually anybody can endorse anything as long as you are famous.
I remember seeing an ad about some special jeans for rockers, and they even have artists that endorse that |
Dec 26 2007, 10:53 AM
This only gave me the impressions that these "artists" are serious moneysuckers...
Dec 26 2007, 11:03 AM
It's all about the money. Look at Mustaine......
He switched from ESP to Dean not because ESP made bad guitars, but according to him "Seems like the better business deal"...... |
Dec 26 2007, 11:14 AM
30,735 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
but since mustaine is like a christian redneck...im sure he also felt like going back to true US made stuff
Dec 26 2007, 11:53 AM
........and one of his models are Korean made......... nice.
Dec 26 2007, 12:10 PM
2,283 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
Eh how come got difference meh?I just use the thickest cable with gold head I can find.Nice to whack people with thick cables...
Dec 26 2007, 12:46 PM
whack people??!!
T-T |
Dec 26 2007, 09:41 PM
239 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Klang Valley. |
QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Dec 26 2007, 12:10 PM) Eh how come got difference meh?I just use the thickest cable with gold head I can find.Nice to whack people with thick cables... thats so much fun when your bandmates are screwing off Back on topic, which stores in malaysia stock monsters? This post has been edited by liew90kw: Dec 26 2007, 09:44 PM |
Dec 26 2007, 10:17 PM
I think (or more like hope) that Sinamex in Times Square stocks them. They don't come cheap though.
Will most likely get the Monster Rock cables.... like what I'm using now: http://www.monstercables.com/productdisplay.asp?pin=2307 This post has been edited by blacktrix: Dec 26 2007, 10:20 PM |
Dec 26 2007, 10:30 PM
30,735 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
sinamex i think have a couple more monster cables for electrics...somewhere in the region of RM200 each...forgot how long.
and i think thats gonna be the last you'll ever see of them there unless you special order. |
Dec 26 2007, 10:35 PM
If not, will probably get some average ones, wait for my trip to US next year and buy back a whole bunch of them.
Dec 27 2007, 12:59 AM
if balck trix reli buying,
i can order a monster bass cable from u? |
Dec 27 2007, 07:24 AM
Next year only talk......... going in July......
Dec 27 2007, 10:06 AM
il put a reminder den haha
using ibanez series96 for now |
Dec 27 2007, 11:55 PM
24 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: Penang (originally from Finland) |
The best cable I ever had is a Bespeco Viper. The have super fat ends you know where the plug is attached to the cable itself, no way you can ever break them. You could tow a car with a Bespeco cable, the salesman told me =D I still have and use one that I bought when I started playing in my first band years ago. They come in kinky colors too, red, green, purple etc. I have no idea if you can get Bespeco stuff in M'sia but I certainly would recommend them! Sound quality wise..there's no difference in cables except for the thin chinese RM10 cables. It's 99% about the pickups etc, and the grounding. If the place you play in has bad sockets then there's buzz in everything and so on.
| Change to: | 0.0288sec
5 queries
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:53 AM |