[WTA] Guitar cables, want to ask

supercolossal
post Dec 17 2007, 10:18 AM

620 posts

If your lead is not too long, then it wouldn't really matter what brand of cable you use.
Reason is, for long leads lower quality cables tend to have higher capacitance, thus attenuating your high-frequency signals, making your sound muffled. There are some good cables that are oxygen-free etc etc which could help to lower capacitance if you run very long leads from guitar to the amp.

Otherwise, you would be more concerned about the reliability of the cable, especially the jacks. I think the PlanetWaves cables are not too bad, and they even a compression spring jack which ensures that you always ahve a tight connection to the jacks you are connected to. You can even opt for angled heads if you like. The disadvantage is that their jacks are one piece plastic which means you cannot repair them if they are spoiled.

A no name brand cable would work to just make sure the soldering work is done properly and you can always replace the jacks when they are spoiled.

This post has been edited by supercolossal: Dec 17 2007, 10:18 AM
vintec
post Dec 17 2007, 05:23 PM

404 posts

capacitance? do u mean impedence? not trying to pick u up but i'm new to guitar scene, so dont confuse me, hehe...
Irzani
post Dec 17 2007, 06:46 PM

Just you know why .. why u and i ...
2,972 posts

So, for acoustic-electric cable, should I buy the good one, or just find a common cable?
blacktrix
post Dec 17 2007, 06:50 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

Never skimp on quality, no matter what you use.
A planet Waves should be fine, but don't get the one with the "noise cut". Just the regular cables will do.
The Noise cut has a button which cuts the tone completely. I had one of those, but it died on me.
supercolossal
post Dec 17 2007, 10:03 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(vintec @ Dec 17 2007, 05:23 PM)
capacitance? do u mean impedence? not trying to pick u up but i'm new to guitar scene, so dont confuse me, hehe...
Impedance includes resistance, inductance and capacitance. I stressed on capacitance because having high capacitance on your cables is like having a low-pass filter between your guitar and the amp, causing your high frequencies to be attenuated.

But if your cables are not that long like I have said, this effect is negligible.
Bassix
post Dec 18 2007, 12:28 AM

-----
1,171 posts

QUOTE(supercolossal @ Dec 17 2007, 03:03 PM)
Impedance includes resistance, inductance and capacitance.
i don't get it, so speakers have capacitance too?
supercolossal
post Dec 19 2007, 07:21 PM

620 posts

Actually every electrical connection will have these three properties, it is just a matter of whether they are desirable or not. If not, to what extent they can be tolerated without affecting the sound quality.
crazychris
post Dec 20 2007, 02:17 AM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

tue true
hoping to grab the ibanez 96 series cable smile.gif
Cello
post Dec 21 2007, 12:40 AM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Dec 17 2007, 06:50 PM)
Never skimp on quality, no matter what you use.
A planet Waves should be fine, but don't get the one with the "noise cut". Just the regular cables will do.
The Noise cut has a button which cuts the tone completely. I had one of those, but it died on me.
LoL! You torture it?

====

I have compare cables before, tone and noise difference. Anyone can expand on this?
PetroToxin
post Dec 21 2007, 02:32 AM

1,179 posts

My cables are really tormented... The head always gets loose after the first week of playing. sweat.gif

Now I am more careful due to $$$
C_w_sam
post Dec 21 2007, 01:15 PM

370 posts

I went to jalan pasar to buy cables, heads
Gonna solder them myself =p
My first attempt !!
ben_ang
post Dec 21 2007, 01:27 PM

ITS JINX NOW.POWDER FELL DOWN A WELL
2,013 posts

using planet wave rite now.. not really "cost u an arm n leg" kinda price tag, but definetly do better than those cheapo cables. using cheapo cables gav me a lot noice on the connector..
blacktrix
post Dec 21 2007, 01:45 PM

13,063 posts

I torture all my gear. Hey, if it ain't road worthy, why buy them at all.
Ironic because I don't go on the road tongue.gif

Party2DMax
post Dec 21 2007, 03:40 PM

party2dmax
1,092 posts

QUOTE(supercolossal @ Dec 17 2007, 10:03 PM)
Impedance includes resistance, inductance and capacitance. I stressed on capacitance because having high capacitance on your cables is like having a low-pass filter between your guitar and the amp, causing your high frequencies to be attenuated.

But if your cables are not that long like I have said, this effect is negligible.
For those wondering, capacitance is mainly contributed by the type of passive shielding (thickness and material) used. Generally, the thicker the shield the higher the capacitance, which as explained already, is not desirable. However, shields are needed to block out RFI and EMI; the thicker, the more effective. Like everything else, there's always pros and cons.

Anyway, the concept of making a good cable is simple. It's just striking the right balance between the forces that results in impedance (Z). That's where all the mumbo jumbo techincal sh1t starts. An example to the high capacitance problem above would be to attach filter networks, or go for active shielding.

Do note that the guitar cable is generally short length, carries a signal that is limited in frequency range, and is generally not used in electrically noisy environments. That said, I doubt all these theories can be applied.
crazychris
post Dec 21 2007, 03:53 PM

Bass!!!
1,399 posts

QUOTE(C_w_sam @ Dec 21 2007, 01:15 PM)
I went to jalan pasar to buy cables, heads
Gonna solder them myself =p
My first attempt !!
if ur saying using mic cables
then...hrmm hope u dun mind the noise
my fren use to do tat, until he use a GUITAR cable

lower noise smile.gif
unless ur saying GeorgeL cables haha
supercolossal
post Dec 22 2007, 12:13 PM

620 posts

QUOTE(Party2DMax @ Dec 21 2007, 03:40 PM)
For those wondering, capacitance is mainly contributed by the type of passive shielding (thickness and material) used. Generally, the thicker the shield the higher the capacitance, which as explained already, is not desirable. However, shields are needed to block out RFI and EMI; the thicker, the more effective. Like everything else, there's always pros and cons.

Anyway, the concept of making a good cable is simple. It's just striking the right balance between the forces that results in impedance (Z). That's where all the mumbo jumbo techincal sh1t starts. An example to the high capacitance problem above would be to attach filter networks, or go for active shielding.

Do note that the guitar cable is generally short length, carries a signal that is limited in frequency range, and is generally not used in electrically noisy environments. That said, I doubt all these theories can be applied.
You got it right. Those parasitic effects can be negligible esp on short cables and more so with the limited frequency range from guitar signals. But, some people can hear the difference, and ultimately it's your pocket (and ear) that determines how expensive you cables should be.
C_w_sam
post Dec 25 2007, 05:01 PM

370 posts

QUOTE(crazychris @ Dec 21 2007, 03:53 PM)
if ur saying using mic cables
then...hrmm hope u dun mind the noise
my fren use to do tat, until he use a GUITAR cable

lower noise smile.gif
unless ur saying GeorgeL cables haha
Just soldered my cables.
It sounded SO Good !!! Sounds so much "fuller" and buzzing eliminated.
Much better than the "nice" Ibanez cable I'm having now.

It only costed me

4 meter cable = rm 12
2 Audio Jacks = rm 7

plus soldering tools that were pretty cheap

blacktrix
post Dec 25 2007, 06:13 PM

13,063 posts

Was about to buy the Steve Vai signature cables, until I realize they cost more then my monster cables!!!!!!
liew90kw
post Dec 25 2007, 06:31 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Dec 16 2007, 08:01 PM)
Yeah, JS Music has a bunch of DiMarzio cables.

I'm slowly switching to Monster Cable as they have a very low noise ratio and also durable as hell........ If you know how much I torture my equipment, then you should know how I appreciate the strength of the Monster Cable.

But to save cash, I might use DiMarzios for my pedals.
Another added bonus is that they come with a lifetime guarantee laugh.gif or at least that's what my friend tells me. Never managed to save up enough for monsters so I'm on ibanez cables atm
quarantined
post Dec 25 2007, 08:22 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

What? Even cables have signatures??? sleep.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0192sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:18 PM