Meizu (a.k.a. MiniOne) M8, 3G, Touch Screen

TShocksoo
post Dec 15 2007, 06:29 PM, updated 18y ago

191 posts

Note: Information extract from DYE_SLayer of Meizu Forum (link here)

Meizu

What is the Meizu M8?

Meizu M8 (aka MiniOne) is a phone, sorta looking like the Apple iPhone, with about the same features and others (according to Popular Science Magazine, it has been dubbed the "iPhone Clone").

user posted image user posted image

What are the specs?

Specs were released sometime in May. Here they are in english (from Meizu Me):

Dimensions: 105mm x 58mm x 11.8mm (H x W x T)

Band: GSM+EDGE(M8),WCDMA/HSDPA/GSM/EDGE(M8 w)

Processor: ARM11 667MHz + Video Codec

Display: 3.32", 16600K, 720x480 pixel resolution, Touchscreen TFT LCD rclxms.gif

PC Interface: USB 2.0 Ultra Fast Data Transfer

Flash Memory: 4, 8 or 16GB of built-in basic Memory

Operating System: Windows CE for Meizu M8 (Based on Windows CE6.0)

Video Playback: AVI, MPEG-2, RM(VB), MPEG-4/H.263/H.264 at 30FPS

Camera: 3.0 MPx camera on back. Supports auto-focus, no flash. drool.gif

Battery: 1500 mAh Li-ion

Support For:
GSM + SCDMA Networks (3G & 3.5G to come later)
Bluetooth 2.0
Wi-Fi
TV-out
Line-out
Video Conferencing
USB Host / OTG
GPS (Add-on)
Additional Features:
Light sensor allowing the phone to automatically adjust screen brightness in accordance to the lightning in the environment.
Tilt and movement recognizing sensor that will allow it to auto-adjust screen orientation in accordance to tilting. It can also recognize movements (ie. shaking), a feature which can be used for games.
NEW!! In a Meizu news conference, an agent at the conference posted a picture of a powerpoint presentation. It suggests that the MiniOne will have the following features:

-Video camera funtion
-picure function
-TV output
-games
-external keyboard function
-USB Host
-"DMB" (i don't know what this is)
-LINE-IN function, possibly for microphones
-GPS function
-Wireless internet
-Bluetooth

When will the phone be released???

The M8 exact release date is unknown. However final prototypes have been created and is the phone in production. Marketing and packaging are being designed (unconfirmed). We can expect it on the market sometime in the late 4th quarter of 2007 (rumors said December 8, 2007) to 2Q of 2008.

How much will the phone be?

UPDATED: There will be three versions: a 4gb, 8gb, and 16gb.

4GB - 2000 CNY (about RM900) rclxm9.gif
8GB - 2500 CNY (about RM1120) rclxm9.gif
16GB - 3500 CNY (about RM1600) rclxm9.gif

Will the M8 work outside of China?!?!?

Yes, since the M8 will be using GSM, which US service provider AT&T Cingular and T-Mobile use. I'm not so sure of Europe but they use T-Mobile as well (I think). There is a SIM card slot in the back of the phone (confirmed here: http://www.meizu.com/bbs/dispbbs.asp?board...=544644&page=1)

Latest News (24th May 2008):
A month ago, Meizu CEO Jack Wong announced that the user interface was to be redesigned by eico design, a well-known Chinese design firm that has worked with the likes of Lenovo, Google and Phillips.

Earlier today, Jack confidently released a few photos of the new, redesigned UI for his fans on the Meizu BBS. (Source from http://www.meizume.com/)

This post has been edited by hocksoo: Jun 2 2008, 10:15 PM
TShocksoo
post Dec 15 2007, 07:35 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(pigcat @ Dec 15 2007, 07:14 PM)
Just wonder why China people love unoriginal stuffs? Can't they just come out something original since they've accumilated so much experiences by copying so many phones?

However this should beat the hell out of the iPhone with all those superb specs! Too bad no flash... hmm.gif

...still scare the battery explode thing lar... ohmy.gif
Well, I dun mind copy. Although in fact Meizu did produce your product plan before iPhone launch.
For me, as long the product is great and spec is good.

I think finger tough phone is going to be the trend for coming years. Nokia, SE both ald have their own design in place and should show their own touch screen phone next year.
TShocksoo
post Dec 15 2007, 09:24 PM

191 posts

haha... I like iPhone... but i dun like the size... this M8 size look well fit for me... rclxms.gif
TShocksoo
post Dec 15 2007, 09:30 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(cradle0fFilth @ Dec 15 2007, 09:23 PM)
is the brand meizu good?
china brand...hnmm..

some 1 prove me wrong? wel, jus wana find out more info..
They are quite a brand company in China. They made MP3 player. I think you can find a lot of Meizu MP3 player in market here or even in lowyat forum.

Copycat or not, as long it is better than the original, then it is still great. At least they make a version that even better and affortable... smile.gif

This post has been edited by hocksoo: Dec 15 2007, 09:32 PM
TShocksoo
post Dec 15 2007, 09:43 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(themanwithnoname @ Dec 15 2007, 09:36 PM)
yeah. can play mp3s..mp4s..have 3mp camera sumore have autofocus. if got wifi sure can pawn iphone d. lol
Ya, there is WIFI... icon_rolleyes.gif
TShocksoo
post Dec 16 2007, 02:48 AM

191 posts

QUOTE(pigcat @ Dec 16 2007, 12:28 AM)
Apparently, it is. sweat.gif

At least better than the stupid iphone lo can record video (how stupid is that? cannot record video sweat.gif).

Seriously I don't mind if Meizu or whatever copied the concept like HTC touch but to me it's just a complete rip off...Oh well, hope it's better than iphone then everybody will be using it haha Mr. Job will be panic like hell. laugh.gif
Well, to be fair, iPhone now can record video and can even record in high quality using 3rd party app. See here.

Meizu M8 will available next year but not sure can buy it from local retail shop. The reason I put this phone up here in this forum is to create interest among lowyat forumer and hope more and more ppl know abt it. Hope it will create high demand and someone will bring this phone to Malaysia and sell it... laugh.gif

Added on December 16, 2007, 2:49 am
QUOTE(Vervain @ Dec 15 2007, 11:26 PM)
where is the camera? don't tell me its the small tiny silverish dot at the back of the cover
There are 2 cameras in the phone. One in front, which is 0.3MP, another at the back, which is 3MP.

This post has been edited by hocksoo: Dec 16 2007, 02:50 AM
TShocksoo
post Dec 16 2007, 09:06 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(fahmitue @ Dec 16 2007, 06:24 PM)
Anyone selling this phone?I'm very interested since my old Samsung almost die already doh.gif
The phone will only launch next year around second quarter. So you will have to wait and hope it will sell here... smile.gif
TShocksoo
post Dec 17 2007, 11:04 AM

191 posts

Haha... you guy should let the law decide whether Meizu is copycat. For us, the consumer, we just look at whether the product is good and whether we like it. If you like M8, then you just like the product and not because it is iphone like.

But I think there will be many similiar phone like IPhone coming out soon, from SE or Nokia. IPhone just bring out the trend.

For IPhone supporter, I can understand why they angry at those similiar product that sell at lower price. Because this take away the uniqueness of IPhone they enjoy.
TShocksoo
post Dec 17 2007, 05:26 PM

191 posts

I sent an email to Meizu enquire about the M8 sales to Malaysia and this is the feedback:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Dear Hock Soo,

Thanks for your email and attention on Meizu.

Mini One mobile phone is under development now, and expected to be released around Q2 of next year and we are looking forward to selling it to Malaysia rclxms.gif . We'll keep you posted on our progress.
Thanks and best regards,
Ella Wong
===================================================
Meizu Technology Co., Ltd.
Add: Meizu Tech Bldg., Technology & Innovation Coast, Tangjia Bay, Zhuhai 519085, Guangdong, China
Tel: (86-756) 6116261 Fax: (86-756) 6116250
E-mail : market@meizu.com

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This post has been edited by hocksoo: Dec 17 2007, 05:28 PM
TShocksoo
post Dec 17 2007, 07:37 PM

191 posts

If Meizu M8 able to launch their product next year to all over asia, I will say Apple will suffer a lot due to their agreement with AT & T. Since IPhone is not officially supported in Asia. Meizu will gain upper hand in the market against Apple.

If I am Meizu, I will do a lot of marketing campaign in Asia before launch and gain market interest since IPhone not able to enter the Asia market officially. By the time Apple able to offically sell IPhone in Asia, Meizu ald gain most of the market share and with this price, it will be hard for IPhone sales. hmm.gif
TShocksoo
post Dec 19 2007, 06:28 PM

191 posts

QUOTE(hurricane21 @ Dec 19 2007, 05:44 PM)
m8 is absolutely nice.
windows ce summore.
when arrive malaysia?
It will only release Q2 if next year. Currently not sure how to get it in Malaysia but I have email Meizu on this and they will update me on this.

Added on January 14, 2008, 11:19 amNew update. Refer to first page. rolleyes.gif

- New picture release
- Meizu M8 support 3G.
- Estimate release date 20th June 2008.

This post has been edited by hocksoo: Jan 14 2008, 11:19 AM

0.0231sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:52 PM