CLOSED

Terence573
post Dec 16 2007, 12:44 AM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

Wow with the price margin like that better get 8800GT 512MB better.....top up rm100 from 700 to get in bulk.
Terence573
post Dec 17 2007, 11:09 AM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

QUOTE(mikelee @ Dec 17 2007, 10:40 AM)
So whats your final choice ya?  smile.gif

======================

By the way, I am getting my 88GT soon and I would like to know what are the procedures you guys follow in installing this card?
Is these steps correct?

1) Get Nvidia 88GT related driver.
2) Get Driver Cleaner.
3) Uninstall old Nvidia Driver from Control Panel
4) Restart computer.
5) Log into Safe Mode. Remove all Nvidia related drivers. Turn off comp.
6) Remove old card. Place 88GT.
7) Start back comp, install Nvidia 88GT related driver.
8) Done
Pop it in.......install drivers done deal.Haha.Sorry this is my messy way ( dun have time to do a clean install).But it runs like normal.

Added on December 17, 2007, 11:11 am
QUOTE(Punish @ Dec 17 2007, 08:07 AM)
for me its a waste of your money to buy the OC ver..cuzz u can oC it yourself...its the same thing anyway...

GTG
Yeah juz add a decent cooler and ready to OC urself.Mine is stock sweat.gif plan to get a cooler

QUOTE(capriodimitri @ Dec 17 2007, 09:48 AM)
I disagree on the comment. My current system/gpu is bottleneck by my CPU. Give you benchmark examples:

At 600/900, 3D Mark 06 : 9250
At 650/950, 3D Mark 06 : 9350
At 700/990, 3D Mark 06 : 9480

The system would never reach 10K due to cpu limitation. Even my 8800GTS 320MB reached 9300 at 620/980. I am waiting for my Phenom.
My OC'ed e6420 to 3.0Ghz almost can reach 12k...Purely CPU score.

This post has been edited by Terence573: Dec 17 2007, 11:11 AM
Terence573
post Dec 18 2007, 12:13 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

Or have to mod the bios so the temp readings would appear again?
Terence573
post Dec 20 2007, 05:10 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

Hmm Glaciator....More like a ZV9 inspired cooler....and a hint of how bad the 8800GT stock cooler is.With the temp right now without pump up the fan speed.It would die in just 1 year I guess.
Terence573
post Dec 20 2007, 06:50 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

QUOTE(rsangel @ Dec 20 2007, 06:12 PM)
Try using rivaturner to set up fan speed at 60% or higher... =_=

Idle temp - 70c.... that is very high
Yeah get it to run at auto fan speed..Search for rivatuner auto fan speed guide.

You can feel the hot air is blowed out like hair dryer's.
Terence573
post Dec 20 2007, 06:54 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

QUOTE(longpants @ Dec 20 2007, 06:51 PM)
hahaha. Sorry if I am in the wrong thread. There are too many threads on 8800 GT ler. The description of the thread says "The Only G92 Card That Matters".

Anyway, my comp in the living room and dont have air cond. sad.gif
Oh, I just installed Rivatuner. The default fan speed was like 29% on idle. But now my idle 60% liao after doing some tweaking. Nothing wrong tweaking it by two fold right?

Probably my last option is to get third party cooler.
Probably fan lifespan will be shorter I guess.

The best is to get 3rd party cooler.
Terence573
post Dec 20 2007, 11:35 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

QUOTE(intothefantasy @ Dec 20 2007, 10:27 PM)
go get rivatune and try adjust ur speed fan around 70%..see the temp...ur idle really ganas
Why on earth nvidia want to set at 29% fan speed whilist their 8800GT is cooking eggs-able...haha.

Should implement auto fan speed lor...After a year the card dies.Then warranty only 1 year. Now did you pondering what I pondering..?

Added on December 20, 2007, 11:37 pm
QUOTE(iadejam @ Dec 20 2007, 11:30 PM)
hi guys im new here..so really noob lah..planning to get 88GT by this saturday...what brand is the best..my current resolution is 1680 x 1050..considering gigabyte..but would love to get that zotac amp version...did you all guys know where to get those zotac amp version GC??..i search thru the price list in lowyat.net main page,,dont have lor??...so where to get haa??
Get at bulk section...Or you can DIY urself for a amp version.Buy normal 8800GT and get better cooler and then OC.

This post has been edited by Terence573: Dec 20 2007, 11:37 PM
Terence573
post Dec 20 2007, 11:55 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

QUOTE(longpants @ Dec 20 2007, 11:45 PM)
Haha, I know the Idle temp of 70 C is ganas. Stock without extra fan mar. But now I just set up Rivatuner already.
I downclock my GC from 700 to 600 mhz and Fans settings are:
Less than 65C - 60% fan speed.
More than 65C - 80% fan spd
Above 70C    - 100% fan spd.

So the Idle now 62-63C lor. What about you guys?
For load temp, haven't get to test that yet.

But by default (which is auto fan speed), why nVidia set their fan speed at 29.8% when idle? that idle temp was like 70C !!! rclxub.gif
Thats why I say they ( nvdiot ) try to kill ur card slowly. vmad.gif

I know that they say the card can withstand 100C no problem.

But heat is not a friend to com component though....It's a killer.Slowly..
Terence573
post Dec 21 2007, 12:18 AM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

QUOTE(brewoe_1988 @ Dec 21 2007, 12:14 AM)
Hi guys,just got my PNY 8800gt 1 week ago from bulk order,like the card design so much and most important things it can play all the latest game effortlessly...

btw my gc card temperature with fan speed 60%:

Idle temp - 55 C
Load - 80-85 C
Dude hdwarexpert customer ar haha.Me too.

Working flawless on most games....except crysis lar.
Terence573
post Dec 21 2007, 04:35 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

Looks more like cloth cleaner left behind fiber after cleaning the stock thermal paste.
Terence573
post Dec 21 2007, 07:19 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 21 2007, 05:25 PM)
It's the fibers from the cotton wool I used to clean off the paste so we can see the markings on the chip. It's funny how it doesnt appear to the naked eye but when u macro shot with a camera every little detail comes out.  biggrin.gif
Any solution u use with the cotton wool?

Terence573
post Dec 22 2007, 12:16 AM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 21 2007, 09:49 PM)
I always use Zippo fluid.
Zippo fluid is alcohol izzit? blink.gif Can use alcohol with electronic ar?

QUOTE(iadejam @ Dec 22 2007, 12:09 AM)
ok cool.thanks man.buy a normal 88GT,get a cooler and oc it...wht brand u recommend gigabyte?? and what brand of cooler are the best for this particular GC....i dont know how to OC lah.i need get certain software ka to DIY OC...and abt zotac amp version 88GT is dat the OC one...??
Hmm any brand will do....or straight away get a dual slot cooler like rsangle posted 1...the MSI brand.

OC will need rivatuner.Which I use now.But you can find others that will do the job also.

Yes dude the AMP! is pre-overclocked. cool2.gif

This post has been edited by Terence573: Dec 22 2007, 12:17 AM
Terence573
post Dec 22 2007, 12:27 AM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

Hmm MSI 1GB dual slot cooler...wonder if it was OCed edition?
Terence573
post Dec 23 2007, 11:31 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

Good thing that I buy from bulk....save me $ to get 3rd party go to up to AMP! edition.

I only learn to change 3rd party cooler during my 6600GT era which it heats hell lot.After changing to zalman cooler the temp was kept at very nice luke warm.So I have gud experience with zalman cooler.

1 slot cooler looks cool...but not "cool".

Terence573
post Dec 24 2007, 10:20 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

QUOTE(kianweic @ Dec 24 2007, 07:31 PM)
If I were in Europe I probably won't buy a heater also I won't buy a 3rd party cooler.

Just fit 2 of those Geforce 8800GT into my computer 24/7.

That'll will warm the room up plenty enough....hehe
Use ambient temp to fight off heat wow blink.gif .....when it will happen in our country?Maybe when the world becomes like "Lost Planet". brows.gif
Terence573
post Dec 25 2007, 11:55 AM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

sweat.gif
QUOTE(brewoe_1988 @ Dec 25 2007, 11:34 AM)
wondering every time i increase the fan speed through riva tuner will it decrease the lifespan of my gc?coz the default fan speed only 25% and it make the gc so damn hot when playing games like crysis or nfsps.......... rclxub.gif
Dude pump ur fan speed more.....say like 70 or 80%.Pump up ur speaker volume.But then again .... fan lifespan.
Terence573
post Dec 25 2007, 08:41 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

Even my MSI Ti4200 stock fan still running flawlessly..Remember it was year 2002 that I bought that.It's bout five years....run on 24/7 duty.
Terence573
post Dec 26 2007, 05:47 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

If it is to mod the stock cooler to any 3rd party cooler.....What chipset inside that needed to apply headsink except the RAM chips??
Terence573
post Dec 26 2007, 06:13 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

QUOTE(skymyxe @ Dec 26 2007, 06:08 PM)
[/spoiler]

I'd say around 70C is still OK for the GC, and it wouldn't be a problem to run the fan at full speed. You'll see a significant drop of temperature then. The fans are built to run at those speeds so don't worry much to run it at full speed. Moreover, it ain't like you're still wanna use the same GC after 5 years time. By the time, you'll change it, so why not fully utilize the card now  icon_rolleyes.gif
So OC + stock heatsink + 100% fan speed....This okay.? hmm.gif brows.gif
Terence573
post Dec 29 2007, 04:26 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Dec 29 2007, 04:09 PM)
Inno3D,Leadtek, XFX, Zotac and eVGA are having the new cooler now. Which previous cooler onli 65mm 13 fins, & the revised come with 75mm 15fins AFAIK.

http://en.expreview.com/?p=118
Now they realize the heat problem. vmad.gif

0.0202sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:11 PM