msn, Skype on ichat

TSTeraPox
post Dec 12 2007, 06:02 PM, updated 19y ago

961 posts

hi guys.

I'm a noob for Mac.. I'm wondering.. is there anyway that we can run skype or msn under ichat and have a video chat with friends?

it's cool if we can do so, coz we can make full use of the special effect features that comes together with the new ichat,especially the "backdrop".

please gimme some advice... pros...

thank you a billion in advance...
TechnoDude94
post Dec 12 2007, 06:44 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

Try searching in Google whether can or not. But I don't think it will work. I am trying to make it work.
don8ld
post Dec 12 2007, 10:05 PM

R.I.P Gary Moore
1,267 posts

i think it wont work
Balok
post Dec 13 2007, 12:02 AM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

i use MSN messenger in a mac.

can't use MSN from iChat sad.gif
don8ld
post Dec 13 2007, 12:40 AM

R.I.P Gary Moore
1,267 posts

QUOTE(Balok @ Dec 13 2007, 12:02 AM)
i use MSN messenger in a mac.

can't use MSN from iChat sad.gif
yea u gotta download it seperately
suiryuu
post Dec 13 2007, 12:45 AM

333 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Dec 12 2007, 06:02 PM)
hi guys.

I'm a noob for Mac..  I'm wondering.. is there anyway that we can run skype or msn under ichat and have a video chat with friends?

it's cool if we can do so, coz we can make full use of the special effect features that comes together with the new ichat,especially the "backdrop".
please gimme some advice... pros...

thank you a billion in advance...
well actually i use msn in iChat last time, but need to use jabber to connect to msn. ermm my advice is use Adium for ur msn and download skype. ermm iChat that use msn, can't support video and audio if i didn't mistake. cause i tried b4.
don8ld
post Dec 13 2007, 12:49 AM

R.I.P Gary Moore
1,267 posts

QUOTE(suiryuu @ Dec 13 2007, 12:45 AM)
well actually i use msn in iChat last time, but need to use jabber to connect to msn. ermm my advice is use Adium for ur msn and download skype. ermm iChat that use msn, can't support video and audio if i didn't mistake. cause i tried b4.
adium allows you to do video and audio ??
kazasho
post Dec 13 2007, 12:56 AM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

nope not work
u have to use jabber but no video n audio support
better use gmail account to use ichat feature
local_machine
post Dec 13 2007, 08:52 AM

431 posts

i tried google and follow all the settings for gtalk.
but its still not working for iChat.
can anybody provide the working setting for me?

This post has been edited by local_machine: Dec 13 2007, 08:57 AM
rx330
post Dec 13 2007, 08:54 AM

11,811 posts

isight and msn just doesnt work....
jensen_tidus
post Dec 13 2007, 10:58 AM

360 posts

i tried using ichat for msn chat using jabber....
to be honest, it is really complicated to set up and the results is very disappointing...

juz use adium for ur msn like everyone said, from wat i know from adium website is tat the engineers are working hard on a next version which include audio n video chat in the future release.

suiryuu
post Dec 13 2007, 01:14 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(don8ld @ Dec 13 2007, 12:49 AM)
adium allows you to do video and audio ??
nope vidoe and audio is not working in adium. ermm actually i want to ask anyone interested to iChat with aol account. i can't afford to pay for .mac account. hehe some more aol account is for free. if anyone interested to try the iChat for 4 video chat conference pls inform me. i'm also hoping to try that.
allvin
post Dec 13 2007, 02:45 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(suiryuu @ Dec 13 2007, 01:14 PM)
nope vidoe and audio is not working in adium. ermm actually i want to ask anyone interested to iChat with aol account. i can't afford to pay for .mac account. hehe some more aol account is for free. if anyone interested to try the iChat for 4 video chat conference pls inform me. i'm also hoping to try that.
Btw, you can just use the ".mac account" for free if you just want to use for ichat only, without those webspace. Mine already expired lo but still can chat with other ppl. wink.gif
rx330
post Dec 13 2007, 02:52 PM

11,811 posts

but can the .mac address be used?

i remember ofr the ,mac address is sgd 10 per annum rite?
suiryuu
post Dec 13 2007, 03:07 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Dec 13 2007, 02:45 PM)
Btw, you can just use the ".mac account" for free if you just want to use for ichat only, without those webspace. Mine already expired lo but still can chat with other ppl. wink.gif
so u said .mac account can be used even after the expired 60 days. but u c, aol.com can have free account plus u can use the mail also. it can even use in iChat. so which one better depends on u. haha

ed0gawa
post Dec 13 2007, 03:12 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

Hmm.. since this is about "chatting progies"

Anyone noticed that the video chat quality of Skype sux in OSX?
It often "jam" and the FPS is like damn low ...

While in Winsoze (boot camp) the skype video chat runs much smoother.

This post has been edited by ed0gawa: Dec 13 2007, 03:13 PM
allvin
post Dec 13 2007, 05:37 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(suiryuu @ Dec 13 2007, 03:07 PM)
so u said .mac account can be used even after the expired 60 days. but u c, aol.com can have free account plus u can use the mail also. it can even use in iChat. so which one better depends on u. haha
huh.gif

For me, i rather use google acc or hotmail acc for mail services. tongue.gif

Just use as chatting btw. And i rather choose @mac.com, more unique whistling.gif
verced
post Dec 13 2007, 08:00 PM

168 posts

If you want video + voice chat, the only way to go is Skype.

Yahoo supports video, but no voice. Odd ain't it?
suiryuu
post Dec 13 2007, 08:35 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Dec 13 2007, 05:37 PM)
huh.gif

For me, i rather use google acc or hotmail acc for mail services.  tongue.gif

Just use as chatting btw. And i rather choose @mac.com, more unique  whistling.gif
ermm depends actually. haha, yeah ur .mac account is the most unique with expired but use as chatting. hehe

rx330
post Dec 14 2007, 11:01 AM

11,811 posts

umean skype is compatible with isight?

0.0155sec    0.42    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:42 AM