Games Alan Wake®, Psycho Action Thriller Game of 2008

TSam_eniey
post Dec 12 2007, 04:41 PM, updated 16y ago

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

From the maker of old timer favourite Max Payne...
Not so much news about this but I have a feeling it's gonna be HOT....

some screenshots...

This post has been edited by am_eniey: Oct 8 2008, 07:49 AM
DarkSaviour
post Dec 12 2007, 04:51 PM

336 posts

0.o something like Alone in the Dark?

TSam_eniey
post Dec 12 2007, 05:14 PM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

not so sure
ataris
post Dec 12 2007, 05:45 PM

Eyes of a Gamer
1,635 posts

woah, could it rival silent hill ?

SUSXbox 360
post Dec 12 2007, 06:31 PM

83 posts

How come so surprised? This is old news... but yet again, the game is only to be released in 2008.
This game is on my list of "Must Buy Xbox 360 Titles". Not many games make it to my list.

Something like Alone In The Dark? Its just like Max Payne, except there is driving around and is very, very spooky and very, very next-gen.

Just think of like... Max Payne + Alone In The Dark = Alan Wake
TSam_eniey
post Dec 12 2007, 06:43 PM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

QUOTE(Xbox 360 @ Dec 12 2007, 06:31 PM)
How come so surprised? This is old news... but yet again, the game is only to be released in 2008.
This game is on my list of "Must Buy Xbox 360 Titles". Not many games make it to my list.

Something like Alone In The Dark? Its just like Max Payne, except there is driving around and is very, very spooky and very, very next-gen.

hopefully what you're telling is true mr xbox360
SUSXbox 360
post Dec 12 2007, 06:54 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(am_eniey @ Dec 12 2007, 06:43 PM)
hopefully what you're telling is true mr xbox360
shocking.gif Dude... don't trust me just check the internet. And yes, its old news.
TSam_eniey
post Dec 12 2007, 07:00 PM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

QUOTE(ataris @ Dec 12 2007, 05:45 PM)
woah, could it rival silent hill ?
from what i read, it's not like silent hill, more like a horror version of GTA
ImSIEBEL
post Dec 12 2007, 07:24 PM

| Mile High Club |
755 posts

woooo can drive wor.. biggrin.gif ..i would love to see Max Payne hit the next gen console.. biggrin.gif
cannavaro
post Dec 13 2007, 03:24 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Ah.. Alan Wake. I remember the demo for the pc version. They ran it on a quad core machine, and supposedly a single core was dedicated to processing a tornado in one part of the game or something like that.

Seems like the hype on this game is no more?
TSam_eniey
post Dec 13 2007, 10:28 AM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Dec 13 2007, 03:24 AM)
Ah.. Alan Wake. I remember the demo for the pc version. They ran it on a quad core machine, and supposedly a single core was dedicated to processing a tornado in one part of the game or something like that.

Seems like the hype on this game is no more?
wikipedia says, this game is for xbox 360 and a very high end PCs because it uses photo realistic quality graphics
SUSXbox 360
post Dec 13 2007, 09:37 PM

83 posts

Hmm... I am 150% sure there will be PC magazines and websites comparing Alan Wake PC vs. Alan Wake Xbox 360...

I mean, the game is "Totally Next-gen" that PC gamers are taunting Xbox 360 gamers : "You can't play it as well as we do... suxors!!"

But as an Xbox 360 gamer, I say... "We'll see about that... (ala GMan in Half-Life 2 Ep1)"

Its truly "THE" game to show how much power is left in the Xbox 360... Remedy folks are good people, both PC and console. They will pull a trick or two, I am sure.

ps : I miss Max Payne. I hope after Alan Wake, the continue with Max Payne 3...

TSam_eniey
post Dec 14 2007, 03:52 PM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

QUOTE(Xbox 360 @ Dec 13 2007, 09:37 PM)
Hmm... I am 150% sure there will be PC magazines and websites comparing Alan Wake PC vs. Alan Wake Xbox 360...

I mean, the game is "Totally Next-gen" that PC gamers are taunting Xbox 360 gamers : "You can't play it as well as we do... suxors!!"

But as an Xbox 360 gamer, I say... "We'll see about that... (ala GMan in Half-Life 2 Ep1)"

Its truly "THE" game to show how much power is left in the Xbox 360... Remedy folks are good people, both PC and console. They will pull a trick or two, I am sure.

ps : I miss Max Payne. I hope after Alan Wake, the continue with Max Payne 3...
hahaha...hope so mate...i still remembering my self a few years ago lingering round my room tring to find a way finishing max payne
lightonokira
post May 4 2008, 10:30 PM

788 posts

Grand theft auto 5 hahaha

this game looks nice

its going to utilize all the cores

thats wat i heard in their forums

sorry just posting this thread w/o infos

using maxis bb so slow = =

any way this game looks damn nice

some screenies

Screenie 1

Screenie 2

Link To Official Webbie

very tempting woo drool.gif

PrivateJohn : Thread merged.

This post has been edited by PrivateJohn: May 4 2008, 11:29 PM
Evirober
post May 4 2008, 11:10 PM

636 posts

hmmmm i thought this was posted ages ago... thanks for the pics.. looks awesome
PrivateJohn
post May 5 2008, 12:12 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

Not much detail of the game yet, hope they reveal more about it this e3....
lightonokira
post May 5 2008, 11:06 PM

788 posts

utilize all the cores eh

sure more RRoD coming
DeLarafi
post May 7 2008, 08:04 AM

Ammar Tycoon
1,423 posts

QUOTE(Xbox 360 @ Dec 12 2007, 06:31 PM)

we were so suprise coz no body even borther want to talk bout it to us. shakehead.gif
lightonokira
post May 8 2008, 08:28 PM

788 posts

haha

this game jsut not much info

im sure when they make some video trailer or something like that sure HANGAT
TSam_eniey
post May 9 2008, 10:24 AM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

rhoyo
post May 9 2008, 05:08 PM

-
2,800 posts

i think alan wake will be like a crossover somewhere like fahrenheit+alone in the dark and silent hill biggrin.gif
defaultname365
post May 13 2008, 11:47 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Arrghhh !!! Dammit ... cry.gif

No Alan Wake In 2008
A Microsoft Spokesperson has told TVG that Microsoft's Gamers Day (soon to start in San Francisco) is showcasing all of the company's major game releases for 2008, strongly suggesting that triple A title Alan Wake (which isn't on show at the event) will quietly slip into the 2009 release window that we all probably knew but hoped wouldn't happen.

Billed as a free roaming, psychological thriller that takes place across six square miles of the town Bright Falls, Alan Wake was originally announced at E3 2005 and subsequently revealed as an Xbox 360/PC exclusive at E3 2006. Since then everything has gone extremely quiet, not even a new trailer in the subsequent years.

The plush visuals, well doctored trailers, and the fact that it's in development at Remedy (of Max Payne fame), clearly frame the title within the triple A bracket. However, given that Microsoft's pride and joy are on show at its Gamers Day (including Gears of War 2), the fact that Alan Wake has been omitted from the hymn sheet clearly suggests that it won't see the light of day in 2008.

Following Microsoft's confirmation that Alan Wake would be shown at GDC 2008 last February (which it wasn't), this latest exception from Microsoft's biggest individual event of the year would seem to cement the game (in wet cement at the very least) as a 2009 release.

http://www.totalvideogames.com/news/No_Ala...3214_4735_0.htm

BTW, Alan Wake has been and is still on my "Must Buy Titles List" since announcement... just like GTA IV

Added on October 7, 2008, 11:56 pmAlan Wake to awake from slumber October 15 rclxm9.gif

http://icgamers.com/articles/8289/alan-wak...october-15.html

New Alan Wake screenshots
http://www.shacknews.com/onearticle.x/55099

Finally... the game trailer is coming !!!

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Oct 7 2008, 11:56 PM
PrivateJohn
post Oct 22 2008, 03:59 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ May 9 2008, 05:08 PM)
i think alan wake will be like a crossover somewhere like fahrenheit+alone in the dark and silent hill biggrin.gif
A reply too late....but, i guess you are right. biggrin.gif

Hot damn! I likey the atmosphere...

DarthDan
post Oct 22 2008, 02:17 PM

Hooooly! shocking.gif Look at em pixelzzz and lightin'.
defaultname365
post Oct 22 2008, 04:35 PM

1,098 posts

I will kneel in front of the game box if the final version looks as good as the trailer / screenshots... biggrin.gif

This game has been in development, what, 4 years already ?

This game is currently my No.1 most awaited (which took over GTA IV's place).

mambo
post Oct 22 2008, 04:36 PM

Me And My Perverted MInd... Never Alone
679 posts

yups a nice scenery aswell... mmmm could be great game... wonder how the gameplay will look like...
defaultname365
post Oct 22 2008, 06:09 PM

1,098 posts

http://www.gametrailers.com/download/41821...cin_tr_h264.wmv

Download the HD trailer now !
technophile
post Jun 2 2009, 03:57 AM

@techsupremo
580 posts

the alan wake gameplay made me jizzed in my pants...
can't wait.
hope it's gonna be released spring next year like they said.
really been waiting for so long for this game.

This post has been edited by technophile: Jun 2 2009, 04:03 AM
Hisyam91
post Jun 2 2009, 11:17 AM

55 posts

Wohoo
So many games shown in E3,
Make me proud to chose the right console laugh.gif
Increasing the Hype, bam! bam!
Guns cant kill, this should be goooood!
' or 1=1 --
post Jun 2 2009, 11:19 AM

ayam sadding
1,443 posts

woh! i thot this became vaporware
Hitman190
post Jun 2 2009, 11:43 AM

589 posts

I like how the light was used as a weapon to make the monsters weak...then finish them off with a shotgun to the face tongue.gif
technophile
post Jun 2 2009, 02:57 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

i just love the atmosphere in the game.
can see from 2005 things are added to the game till today.
like textures, more detailed character models, voice, volumetric fogs and physics..

now i understand what took them so long to develop this..
defaultname365
post Jun 2 2009, 03:00 PM

1,098 posts

...and yet this is what someone said about the game

QUOTE(nafi @ May 31 2009, 12:38 PM)
not aaa title bro...have u seen the demo?
the 80% complete..its suck...just like alone in the dark in a beautiful scenery..
u can google it at gametrailer.com
I hope he takes it all back.

technophile
post Jun 2 2009, 03:05 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jun 2 2009, 03:00 PM)
...and yet this is what someone said about the game
I hope he takes it all back.
lol. i think he forgot that it was remedy that gave us Max Payne.
that game also took 4 years to complete.
defaultname365
post Jun 2 2009, 03:10 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(technophile @ Jun 2 2009, 03:05 PM)
lol. i think he forgot that it was remedy that gave us Max Payne.
that game also took 4 years to complete.
Alan Wake is more of a labor of love more than anything. Set for a 2007 release, then delayed to 2008. Its 2009 and its yet to be released, yet, they are here at E3 2009.

Damn next year I am so gonna beg my dad to try to get a pass for E3 2010. brows.gif I nearly went to the 360 thingy (what's it called...) at Singapore.

DarkSaviour
post Jun 2 2009, 04:09 PM

336 posts

long way to go.. spring 2010... it's Sep window nx year... but quite promising...
-= Virgil =-
post Jun 2 2009, 09:16 PM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

Fabulous lighting effects
PrivateJohn
post Jun 2 2009, 10:46 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

drool.gif
nafi
post Jun 2 2009, 10:54 PM

266 posts

only valhalla will survive alan wake torture;p
kidding

This post has been edited by nafi: Jun 2 2009, 10:54 PM
defaultname365
post Jun 2 2009, 10:57 PM

1,098 posts

Every screenshot is oozing with details and gorgeousness. After watching the gameplay footage, I have to say, those Finnish guys seriously have nothing better to do...

...than to keep polishing Alan Wake to what it is now. Can't wait for this one.

bontaku
post Jun 3 2009, 10:01 AM

60 posts

Cant believe screenshots were posted so long ago! But it does look promising! Esp from the creators of Max Payne - ahhhh -

It reminds me of a bit of the movie Secret Window. lol
amalost
post Jun 3 2009, 10:13 AM

798 posts

QUOTE(bontaku @ Jun 3 2009, 10:01 AM)
It reminds me of a bit of the movie Secret Window. lol
Hmm..yea,the gameplay look a bit like RE
this game is all about storyline (of course with a great gameplay)

defaultname365
post Jun 4 2009, 06:54 AM

1,098 posts

Another winner. All those years and years of work is paying off for sure !

I believe in them... a game built with true passion and commitment for all those time, nearly was written of by some as "vaporware"

Added on June 5, 2009, 9:42 amJust imagine, since 2005, this game has been talked about.

This is Alan Wake in 2005

This is alan Wake in 2009

Major noticable change is his hair. Release in 2010 - - 5 years after the first image!

Added on June 5, 2009, 7:34 pm
QUOTE(DarkSaviour @ Jun 2 2009, 04:09 PM)
long way to go.. spring 2010... it's Sep window nx year... but quite promising...
Nope. Still June 2010.

The Entertainment Software Association made it clear that the E3 2010 takes place from June 15-17, 2010, at the Los Angeles Convention Center.

http://www.actiontrip.com/rei/comments_new...tml?id=060509_5

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Jun 5 2009, 07:34 PM
defaultname365
post Jan 12 2010, 01:34 AM

1,098 posts

Official Gameplay Trailer Released
http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=...76323148&ref=nf

Not even on YouTube at this moment. Savor it! 6 years in the making and the game is slated for a May 2010 release.

Edit:

Watch here:

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Jan 12 2010, 01:44 AM
enCORe
post Jan 12 2010, 11:02 AM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

nice finding mate, looks promising smile.gif
SUSwilsonjay
post Jan 12 2010, 01:19 PM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

confirm may 2010? i worried theyll delay again==.

This post has been edited by wilsonjay: Jan 12 2010, 01:19 PM
defaultname365
post Jan 13 2010, 02:24 AM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Jan 12 2010, 01:19 PM)
confirm may 2010? i worried theyll delay again==.
I would say it is confirmed. Alan Wake went through substantial changes over the past year and a half, they changed the whole "open-world concept, go anywhere start any mission, explore" to "linear adventure"... just like Max Payne series.

This and Splinter Cell Conviction, konferm 2010!

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Feb 13 2010, 05:32 PM
defaultname365
post Feb 13 2010, 05:33 PM

1,098 posts

X10: Waking Nightmare Trailer HD
http://www.gametrailers.com/video/x10-waking-alan-wake/61811

Enjoy!

Microsoft X10 Official Info:

• The Halo Reach multiplayer beta will kick off on May 3. You will be able to access the beta via the Halo 3: ODST game disc.

NEW DEAD RISING 2 VIDS / SCREENS

• Dead Rising 2 will release in North America on Aug. 31, Japan on Sept. 2 and Europe on Sept. 3

• Dead Rising: CASE ZERO, an exclusive download only on Xbox LIVE, will launch prior to the full game and provide a playable prologue that bridges the story between the two titles.

NEW ALAN WAKE VIDS / SCREENS

Alan Wake will launch May 18 in North America and May 21 in Europe. Players can pre-order the title to receive the Bright Falls Bonus Pack, which includes exclusive content like Avatar gear, an Xbox LIVE theme, and a “making of” video.

NEW FABLE III VIDS / SCREENS

• Fable III will be available this holiday.

NEW LOST PLANET 2 VIDS / SCREENS

• Lost Planet 2 will launch in North America and Europe on May 18.

NEW SPLINTER CELL CONVICTION VIDS / SCREENS

• Tom Clancy’s Splinter Cell Conviction will release at retailers starting April 13 in North America, April 16 in the United Kingdom, and April 28 in Japan.

ADDITIONAL UPDATES

• The Xbox 360 Final Fantasy XIII Special Edition Bundle will release starting March 9 for $399, and include a 250GB Hard Drive, two Wireless Controllers, exclusive downloadable avatar items and a Standard Edition copy of the game.

• Perfect Dark, Scrap Metal and Game Room will launch this March as a part of the Xbox LIVE Arcade Block Party.

• Toy Soldiers will kick off the Xbox LIVE Arcade Block Party on March 3
SUSMatrix
post Feb 14 2010, 01:20 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Alan Wake is now officially XBOX360 only exclusive. PC version has been canned.
whistling.gif

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/alan-wake...elled,9663.html
defaultname365
post Feb 14 2010, 02:04 AM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Feb 14 2010, 01:20 AM)
Alan Wake is now officially XBOX360 only exclusive. PC version has been canned.
whistling.gif

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/alan-wake...elled,9663.html
shocking.gif

Wow. First thing that sprang to my mind was there will be no PC vs. 360 side-by-side-did-you-see-that-pixel-was-better comparison.

Kinda surprised considering that Remedy showcased how the tornadoes could churn up the use of full quad-core processors (Intel Core 2) during Intel's Dev Conference. I guess the reception after E3 just gave them the kick. Many reasons I believe. I think it really is a smart move in many ways.

hakbu
post Feb 17 2010, 12:04 PM

72 posts

Do not falter, it will come out soon
enCORe
post Feb 17 2010, 12:23 PM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

I think this would compete a PS3 exclusive title "Heavy Rain",
SUSwilsonjay
post Feb 17 2010, 12:40 PM

1,605 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Feb 17 2010, 12:23 PM)
I think this would compete a PS3 exclusive title "Heavy Rain",
neh heavy rain is no horror game..its an emo game laugh.gif
hakbu
post Feb 20 2010, 10:03 AM

72 posts

ESRB rated it " T "

This post has been edited by hakbu: Feb 20 2010, 10:04 AM
navigator
post Feb 20 2010, 06:44 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Feb 17 2010, 12:40 PM)
neh heavy rain is no horror game..its an emo game laugh.gif
excuse me but what's an emo game?
SUSwilsonjay
post Feb 20 2010, 09:37 PM

1,605 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ Feb 20 2010, 06:44 PM)
excuse me but what's an emo game?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Emo + game
MatchesMalone
post Feb 21 2010, 11:44 AM

106 posts

QUOTE(hakbu @ Feb 20 2010, 10:03 AM)
ESRB rated it " T "
Was expecting 'M' rating. Come on, this is coming from the makers of Max Payne.

I think Microsoft pushed Remedy for a Teen rating to go mainstream.
hakbu
post Feb 21 2010, 12:21 PM

72 posts

Yes, ure not alone bro.
T it is, maybe because Alan Wake not swearing enough and not much gore.
For a horror to get a " T "....

SUSwilsonjay
post Feb 21 2010, 09:58 PM

1,605 posts

cuz obviosuly theres not gonna be any blood or cutting offf limbs..
defaultname365
post Apr 10 2010, 01:00 AM

1,098 posts

Also available via Video Marketplace

Building the thriller

Release date:
NA : May 18, 2010
EU : May 14, 2010

Can't wait. 5 years is too long....! Xbox 360 exclusive!

And even more great news...

The soundtrack features the song "War" by Poets of the Fall, from the band's fourth studio album Twilight Theater.

Poets of the Fall rocks! Haven't heard anything new from them for some time. They were in the soundtrack for "Max Payne" (or is it Max Payne 2 - - "Late Goodbye"?) and when the credits roll on
rolling demo of 3DMark 2005 benchmark I believe.

And... here it is!

Beautiful! biggrin.gif

navigator
post Apr 10 2010, 08:16 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Apr 10 2010, 01:00 AM)
Also available via Video Marketplace

Building the thriller

Release date:
NA : May 18, 2010
EU : May 14, 2010

Can't wait. 5 years is too long....! Xbox 360 exclusive!

And even more great news...
Poets of the Fall rocks! Haven't heard anything new from them for some time. They were in the soundtrack for "Max Payne" (or is it Max Payne 2 - - "Late Goodbye"?) and when the credits roll on
rolling demo of 3DMark 2005 benchmark I believe.

And... here it is!

Beautiful!  biggrin.gif
I liked the 3Dmark05 song. it's really nice even until now!
defaultname365
post Apr 12 2010, 09:35 PM

1,098 posts

Official box art and Special Edition

SHOfrE3zE
post Apr 12 2010, 09:36 PM

Drop It Like It's Hot
1,895 posts

well, that's a pretty boring cover for a hyped game..
defaultname365
post Apr 12 2010, 09:44 PM

1,098 posts

Don't judge a game book by its cover. I like it... very 'mysterious' and 'eerie'.
navigator
post Apr 12 2010, 10:07 PM

375 posts

wow that book looks as buffy as my American Heritage Dictionary.....
MatchesMalone
post Apr 23 2010, 10:24 PM

106 posts

Alan Wake Live Action Prequel Announced

Turn down the lights but keep your flashlight and batteries handy, as Xbox 360 unveils “Bright Falls,” a six-part live action series that serves as a thrilling prequel to the mystery unfolding in “Alan Wake.” Each episode will bring you to the edge of your seat and spur your curiosity with the same eerie and suspenseful cliffhangers as in the game. TV fans will find that the series evokes the same ghostly chills as “Twin Peaks” did when it premiered 20 years ago this month.

The first two episodes of “Bright Falls” will be available for viewing exclusively on Xbox LIVE for Gold members starting April 25 and for all Xbox LIVE members on April 26, before debuting at BrightFalls.com on April 27. A new episode will be released each week thereafter, leading up to the shocking conclusion with the final two episodes on May 17.

EDIT : Link http://www.actiontrip.com/rei/comments_new...tml?id=042310_2

This post has been edited by MatchesMalone: Apr 23 2010, 10:25 PM
defaultname365
post Apr 26 2010, 02:51 AM

1,098 posts

"Bright Falls" Episode 1 and 2 now available for download for Gold Members.

Been ages since I had my Gold account...

Here they are:

gavind87
post Apr 26 2010, 04:27 AM

Wings over Asia
1,147 posts

can't seem to see it in the marketplace
navigator
post May 3 2010, 11:55 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(stevechan360 @ May 3 2010, 08:22 PM)
Finally,a confirming price for Xbox 360 next big hits exclusive title~Alan Wake~

Alan Wake (NTSC/J) : RM150 (box art taken from NTSC/U version)

Alan Wake [Limited Collector's Edition] (NTSC/J) : RM180
Next question: Where do you get the price from????
gavind87
post May 4 2010, 07:55 AM

Wings over Asia
1,147 posts

great price mate , great price !
navigator
post May 4 2010, 05:07 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(stevechan360 @ May 4 2010, 12:45 AM)
Hye bro,get it from my supplier of course,
thank you...
So, that means I can preorder from your for just RM180 for the special edition???

How do I do that?

Promote a bit lerrrrrr~~~~
SUSwilsonjay
post May 4 2010, 06:38 PM

1,605 posts

150 so cheap? O_o
kangaxx
post May 4 2010, 07:13 PM

43 posts

wah rm180 for the CE.

i bet some places rm185 will be the regular edition lol
thurtin
post May 4 2010, 07:51 PM

277 posts

keep the thread clean please. sales stuff shouldn't be here. stick to talking about the game.
kangaxx
post May 4 2010, 11:37 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(thurtin @ May 4 2010, 07:51 PM)
keep the thread clean please. sales stuff shouldn't be here. stick to talking about the game.
ok fine.

i am calling it

at some point in the game, a reference to Max Payne will be made.
defaultname365
post May 5 2010, 03:23 AM

1,098 posts

Oh wow... RM180 for the CE ! biggrin.gif All along I was thinking the CE will cost 'a lot more'.

MatchesMalone
post May 5 2010, 09:06 PM

106 posts

Reviews have started pouring in. IGN gave it a 9 rclxms.gif

http://xbox360.ign.com/articles/108/1087706p1.html

EDIT : Rest are summarized here : http://www.metacritic.com/games/platforms/xbox360/alanwake

Thankfully after 6 years, its not another 'Too Human'.

Now if someone actually brought in the Region 1 version of the game.......

This post has been edited by MatchesMalone: May 5 2010, 09:16 PM
kangaxx
post May 6 2010, 08:32 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(MatchesMalone @ May 5 2010, 09:06 PM)
Reviews have started pouring in. IGN gave it a 9  rclxms.gif

http://xbox360.ign.com/articles/108/1087706p1.html

EDIT : Rest are summarized here : http://www.metacritic.com/games/platforms/xbox360/alanwake

Thankfully after 6 years, its not another 'Too Human'.

Now if someone actually brought in the Region 1 version of the game.......
TOO HUMAN WAS A FUN GAME!!!!!!!!!!

anyways here Giantbomb's quicklook for it

http://www.giantbomb.com/quick-look-alan-wake/17-2431/

SUSzhiyung
post May 6 2010, 11:39 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(kangaxx @ May 6 2010, 08:32 AM)
Yea, Too Human is a decent game! bruce.gif

Reviews not bad, will probably get it.
It is certainly not something like the ever-crappy-buggy-annoying-lousy-money-burning-nerve-destroying Alone in the Dark!
kangaxx
post May 6 2010, 12:51 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ May 6 2010, 11:39 AM)
Yea, Too Human is a decent game! bruce.gif

Reviews not bad, will probably get it.
It is certainly not something like the ever-crappy-buggy-annoying-lousy-money-burning-nerve-destroying Alone in the Dark!
The only cool thing about the new alone in the dark was the jacket inventory.

MatchesMalone
post May 6 2010, 02:55 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(kangaxx @ May 6 2010, 08:32 AM)
Good that you enjoyed it, but to me after all the hype and time they took to develop it, the end product felt broken and rushed.

Plus I expected more from Silicon Knights.
navigator
post May 6 2010, 05:54 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(fei long @ May 6 2010, 05:48 PM)
rm 8 version release ady,.
You're not supposed to talk anything about pirate games here.
defaultname365
post May 6 2010, 09:15 PM

1,098 posts

Gosh... this game is so gonna be amazing.
jOlv
post May 7 2010, 08:20 AM

woot!

gonna preorder my copy this weekend! smile.gif
Busquets
post May 7 2010, 02:24 PM

463 posts

is this game similar to that of indigo prophecy?
kangaxx
post May 7 2010, 02:29 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(Busquets @ May 7 2010, 02:24 PM)
is this game similar to that of indigo prophecy?
NO.

Indigo Prophecy was okay up till the middle part.

Alan Wake is more like Max Payne. But less emo.
Kite
post May 7 2010, 03:43 PM

Dark Tipper
4,289 posts

Dear Satanist ,fei long ,zhiyung and thurtin...anymore discussion on pirated games , you might get yourself a warning or holiday (ban)
Satanist
post May 7 2010, 11:19 PM

2,508 posts

Saw the whole playthrough on youtube. Eurogamer review is accurate good but not great. Its a 7/10

This post has been edited by Satanist: May 7 2010, 11:20 PM
Prime85
post May 8 2010, 07:19 PM

I pre-ordered the game already biggrin.gif

Maybe it's not that great but nevertheless it's still gonna be a very good game. I like how it really looks like a tv series. smile.gif
defaultname365
post May 8 2010, 09:26 PM

1,098 posts

One of the inspiration of TV show is "LOST". Nice...

Prime85
post May 8 2010, 10:14 PM

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ May 8 2010, 09:26 PM)
One of the inspiration of TV show is "LOST". Nice...
I see. I like LOST biggrin.gif but I've LOST track of LOST already. Need to watch it again. Hehe. smile.gif
rhoyo
post May 10 2010, 08:24 AM

-
2,800 posts

impressive but still the gameplay mechanics is way far then heavy rain tongue.gif
navigator
post May 10 2010, 08:54 AM

375 posts

Excited about the May 18 launch of Alan Wake? Here's a S$10 discount coupon for either the Standard Edition (S$69.90 SRP) or the Limited Edition (S$79.90) which comes with a bonus DVD, soundtrack and exclusive Alan Wake book. This coupon is valid only in May 2010 for pre-orders or purchases at participating retailers in Singapore.

Added on May 10, 2010, 8:57 am
QUOTE(rhoyo @ May 10 2010, 08:24 AM)
impressive but still the gameplay mechanics is way far then heavy rain tongue.gif
Judge from the price, there're room for the degrade. and you just spoiled the fun....

This post has been edited by navigator: May 10 2010, 08:57 AM
gavind87
post May 10 2010, 10:40 AM

Wings over Asia
1,147 posts

typical troll from the ps3 forum smile.gif
SWATwolf
post May 10 2010, 03:42 PM

431 posts

this game had made me wanted to get a 360 to play it laugh.gif
but well... maybe next year then tongue.gif
THE ZUL
post May 11 2010, 04:46 AM

The Mercurial Ben Arfa
883 posts

90% u play in the dark
navigator
post May 11 2010, 09:04 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(THE ZUL @ May 11 2010, 04:46 AM)
90% u play in the dark
I'll make sure I will play without lights and I hope it's even more scary than the original Silent Hill

This post has been edited by navigator: May 11 2010, 09:14 AM
rhoyo
post May 11 2010, 04:53 PM

-
2,800 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ May 11 2010, 09:04 AM)
I'll make sure I will play without lights and I hope it's even more scary than the original Silent Hill
still fatal frame 1 is more scary then silent hill . i hope this will not fail like alone in the dark
kangaxx
post May 11 2010, 05:08 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ May 11 2010, 04:53 PM)
still fatal frame 1 is more scary then silent hill .  i hope this will not fail like alone in the dark
the controls from RE1 more scary eh
hackinz
post May 12 2010, 04:59 PM

135 posts

Have 2 hours play time with Alan Wake. Finished Episode 1. Had lots of fun. Very story driven & the control is smooth (100 times better than Alone in the Dark). Can't wait till tonight to get on to another Episode.
navigator
post May 12 2010, 08:47 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(hackinz @ May 12 2010, 04:59 PM)
Have 2 hours play time with Alan Wake. Finished Episode 1. Had lots of fun. Very story driven & the control is smooth (100 times better than Alone in the Dark). Can't wait till tonight to get on to another Episode.
Official launch is 18th May, where did you get your game?
whuffy_aniki
post May 12 2010, 09:03 PM

104 posts

Ya..lol,i thought its already released but ign also said on may 18
redninja
post May 12 2010, 09:25 PM

165 posts

Release date pushed forward to 14th at GH.
Prime85
post May 12 2010, 09:44 PM

unless he's talking about u know la....hmm

cant wait to get mine.
khleekc
post May 12 2010, 09:48 PM

seems like a few people already got the game..

haha.. kotak mainan.. tongue.gif
Prime85
post May 12 2010, 09:50 PM

hahaha kotak mainan.. biggrin.gif
xxboxx
post May 12 2010, 10:10 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

singapore ard release leh..
ckcc
post May 13 2010, 01:52 AM

126 posts

Europe is releasing the game tomorrow but some shops sold the game a few weeks ago
navigator
post May 13 2010, 06:34 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ May 12 2010, 10:10 PM)
singapore ard release leh..
I called SG shops, they don't release the game until 18th May.

Tell me which shop selling them and I'll buy from them
enCORe
post May 13 2010, 09:46 PM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

I read from joystick...
Live-action Alan Wake prequel premieres on Xbox Live April 25

what does it mean ? hmm.gif
TheUndead
post May 13 2010, 10:45 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(hackinz @ May 12 2010, 04:59 PM)
QUOTE(navigator @ May 12 2010, 08:47 PM)
Official launch is 18th May, where did you get your game?
Look at his nickname and you will understand how laugh.gif
xxboxx
post May 14 2010, 12:53 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ May 13 2010, 06:34 PM)

ah, sorry. i mix up with lost planet 2. doh.gif

iv'N
post May 14 2010, 02:44 AM

657 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ May 13 2010, 06:34 PM)

Gamers Hideout already have the stocks it seems.

http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/ph...id=136249195913
falconhour
post May 14 2010, 08:29 AM

13 posts

how much GH selling it?
defaultname365
post May 14 2010, 06:09 PM

1,098 posts

...yet again, of all the times, I had to be super busy this week. Hope to get it next week...!! 5 years of waiting, I think 1 week is fine.

Well, not quite.

navigator
post May 14 2010, 07:21 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(iv'N @ May 14 2010, 02:44 AM)
Gamers Hideout already have the stocks it seems.

http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/ph...id=136249195913
SG selling @ SGD69.90

Guess I'll get from there
nafra
post May 14 2010, 07:34 PM

QUOTE(enCORe @ May 13 2010, 09:46 PM)
I read from joystick...
Live-action Alan Wake prequel premieres on Xbox Live April 25

what does it mean ?  hmm.gif
It's kinda like a mini series before Alan Wake steps into Bright Falls. Veeeeeeery nice, you can check out the series here and a few stuff bout Alan Wake.

http://brightfalls.com/

Added on May 14, 2010, 7:36 pm
QUOTE(navigator @ May 14 2010, 07:21 PM)
SG selling @ SGD69.90

Guess I'll get from there
The one u're getting is Limited Edition ka? Reli cheap oh if SGD69.90. Which shop r u talking bout anyways?

This post has been edited by nafra: May 14 2010, 07:36 PM
navigator
post May 14 2010, 07:44 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(nafra @ May 14 2010, 07:34 PM)
It's kinda like a mini series before Alan Wake steps into Bright Falls. Veeeeeeery nice, you can check out the series here and a few stuff bout Alan Wake.

http://brightfalls.com/

Added on May 14, 2010, 7:36 pm

The one u're getting is Limited Edition ka? Reli cheap oh if SGD69.90. Which shop r u talking bout anyways?
I've posted the detail which with a coupon to redeem on previous page

Please check it out.
terranova
post May 14 2010, 11:56 PM

1,161 posts

I like the surround sound .....
SUScarnbyresurrected
post May 15 2010, 05:34 AM

263 posts

I wouldnt go online with it until the official release or risk getting banned...
dark lenanza
post May 15 2010, 08:34 AM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

ehh....
am i boarding late train here??
i tot already on store..
hmm.gif
kangaxx
post May 15 2010, 08:42 AM

43 posts

my one CE coming along with RDR next week...

MEANTIME BACK TO FF13

juine
post May 15 2010, 09:09 AM

618 posts

sg store in stock (yesterday) : sgd64.90

have fun.
redninja
post May 15 2010, 01:34 PM

165 posts

Limited Edition was RM205. Worth it for all the extras.

Dunno about regular version.
terranova
post May 15 2010, 01:55 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(carnbyresurrected @ May 15 2010, 05:34 AM)
I wouldnt go online with it until the official release or risk getting banned...
Why would that be if all the local (authorised) stores here are already selling it?
Kernkraft400
post May 15 2010, 03:20 PM

Master Chief
2,978 posts

Would probably but this game in Singapore. How much is it?
navigator
post May 15 2010, 06:08 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(Kernkraft400 @ May 15 2010, 03:20 PM)
Would probably but this game in Singapore. How much is it?
CE selling at SGD69.90

around RM16x?

Added on May 15, 2010, 6:08 pm
QUOTE(juine @ May 15 2010, 09:09 AM)

have fun.
Where can I get it????

This post has been edited by navigator: May 15 2010, 06:08 PM
juine
post May 15 2010, 07:49 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ May 15 2010, 06:08 PM)
CE selling at SGD69.90

around RM16x?

Added on May 15, 2010, 6:08 pm
Where can I get it????
seow choon
ImSIEBEL
post May 15 2010, 09:33 PM

| Mile High Club |
755 posts

played this, now on Episode 2, not bad, love the graphic and the sound, nice story so far, still need to continue..
navigator
post May 15 2010, 10:50 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(juine @ May 15 2010, 07:49 PM)
seow choon
Great....they closed on sunday.....

Added on May 15, 2010, 11:01 pm
QUOTE(juine @ May 15 2010, 09:09 AM)

have fun.
......This is the price for normal edition.

Collector's edition still very much expensive.....

This post has been edited by navigator: May 15 2010, 11:01 PM
redninja
post May 16 2010, 04:36 PM

165 posts

Up to episode 5 now, have to split time with husband - he's up to episode 7. Am glad we got the LCE, for the soundtrack especially because the music is awesome. After every episode you just sit there reflecting over the last episode listening to the music.

My only gripe is that the character models aren't very good. Their mouth movements during dialogue isn't smooth. It doesn't detract from the game at all but is just weird sometimes.
SUSadvocado
post May 16 2010, 07:22 PM

2,948 posts

What do you get for limited edition?
redninja
post May 16 2010, 08:46 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ May 16 2010, 07:22 PM)
What do you get for limited edition?
Case Files of Alan Wake (book)
Bonus Disc - Themes, Avatar Picture Packs, Outfit, Making-of/commentary stuff etc
Soundtrack

Unboxing vid by Remedy - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YkHBG5O4890

This post has been edited by redninja: May 16 2010, 08:49 PM
navigator
post May 16 2010, 09:57 PM

375 posts

I got my share of SGD69.90 CE.

Will try it once back to MY
redninja
post May 16 2010, 11:03 PM

165 posts

Finished the game. Both of us. Normal not Nightmare but not sure whether want to go back and re-play yet. It is a little short but the story is really solid. Can't wait to see what the DLC coming out in July will be about (an episode) and how it'll fit in with the story.
jonee1881
post May 17 2010, 08:01 AM

39 posts

On the last episode now...gotta say it's alot of fun to play, will definetly go a second round on nightmare mode....the last time I played a game twice was resident evil 5. But can anyone tell me what was the 500mb download for?
-= Virgil =-
post May 17 2010, 08:12 AM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

Definitely one of the best games i played.
Hopefully they will tie up the loose ends with the DLCs...
redninja
post May 17 2010, 09:18 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(jonee1881 @ May 17 2010, 08:01 AM)
On the last episode now...gotta say it's alot of fun to play, will definetly go a second round on nightmare mode....the last time I played a game twice was resident evil 5. But can anyone tell me what was the 500mb download for?
Did you use the bonus disc?

There is a director commentary sort of thing that takes a bit to install from the disc so maybe it is that. I'll possibly try out Nightmare with that option on.

About the coffee thermos thought I picked most of them but just over half. Is it like the manuscripts where it's hidden if not in nightmare mode?
thurtin
post May 17 2010, 10:23 AM

277 posts

i heard someone missed a free alan wake LE from a lucky draw. hehehe. tongue.gif
Kidicarus
post May 17 2010, 11:10 AM

727 posts

QUOTE(redninja @ May 17 2010, 09:18 AM)

There is a director commentary sort of thing that takes a bit to install from the disc so maybe it is that. I'll possibly try out Nightmare with that option on.

About the coffee thermos thought I picked most of them but just over half. Is it like the manuscripts where it's hidden if not in nightmare mode?
Playing the game very slowly although I am cheating with a collectible guide for the thermos flasks. Only on episode 2 after getting it on Saturday - busy weekend with work though. In answer to your question you can pick up the flasks outside of nightmare mode, playing on hard and i already have 31 flasks after episode 2.

edit: reason i'm cheating with the guide is because the statistics don't tell you which episodes you're missing flasks from.

This post has been edited by Kidicarus: May 17 2010, 11:12 AM
Friction
post May 17 2010, 11:46 AM

The 500MB is to store MUPPETMODE... its awesome... you should try it out!
yoroi
post May 17 2010, 11:52 AM

The LOWEST ranked Halo 3 player in the WORLD!!!
1,545 posts

I just finished episode 3 and I'm loving the story!!! The pacing of the story is also just right, but I have one gripe with the game, THE FLYING OBJECTS!!! Man if you think the birds are irritating, check out the flying objects!!!
redninja
post May 17 2010, 12:22 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(yoroi @ May 17 2010, 11:52 AM)
I just finished episode 3 and I'm loving the story!!! The pacing of the story is also just right, but I have one gripe with the game, THE FLYING OBJECTS!!! Man if you think the birds are irritating, check out the flying objects!!!
I hate the birds more! I wasn't even able to get the really easy slay x # of birds achievement. I rather run and take the hit rather than deal with the birds and the vomit enducing turning around.
yoroi
post May 17 2010, 01:27 PM

The LOWEST ranked Halo 3 player in the WORLD!!!
1,545 posts

QUOTE(redninja @ May 17 2010, 12:22 PM)
I hate the birds more! I wasn't even able to get the really easy slay x # of birds achievement. I rather run and take the hit rather than deal with the birds and the vomit enducing turning around.
after a while, you'll notice that teh birds come from the back most of the time, so they're pretty predictable I guess...
DemonSeeder
post May 17 2010, 04:08 PM

28 posts

Do you guys feel like buying urself a torchlight after playing this game ? Or isit just me? tongue.gif
Friction
post May 17 2010, 04:21 PM

Guys, just wondering how long this game is? Not saying that short = bad though. Splinter Cell was excellent despite the length.
jonee1881
post May 17 2010, 08:52 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(redninja @ May 17 2010, 09:18 AM)

@red ninja, nope I bought the normal edition....there was a card with a DL code inside....yeah it could be that, will give it a try when I get back.

QUOTE(thurtin @ May 17 2010, 10:23 AM)
i heard someone missed a free alan wake LE from a lucky draw. hehehe. tongue.gif
@thurtin...yeah tell me about it....gave myself a real kick up the backside...LOL

Added on May 17, 2010, 8:55 pm
QUOTE(Friction @ May 17 2010, 04:21 PM)
Guys, just wondering how long this game is? Not saying that short = bad though. Splinter Cell was excellent despite the length.
hmm...I think would be about the same or slighty longer gameplay wise...if you add in the cinematic scences then it's definetly longer....as for muppet mode I have haven't tried yet....but I think you can play as gonzo for the main character. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by jonee1881: May 17 2010, 08:55 PM
Prime85
post May 17 2010, 09:36 PM

Waaaa saya terlambat! I only started playing today. Finished the first episode already though. Playing episode 2 now. And yes I'm loving the story!!

I really like how it looks like a tv series literally!! Hehe.
redninja
post May 17 2010, 10:15 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(Friction @ May 17 2010, 04:21 PM)
It's fairly short. Maybe 8-10 hours? We played Saturday and Sunday back & forth and managed to finish in those 2 days. We're not that hardcore gamers. But I really think that it's better to play a short game with a great story instead of a long game that is bad or draggy.

QUOTE(jonee1881 @ May 17 2010, 08:52 PM)
@red ninja, nope I bought the normal edition....there was a card with a DL code inside....yeah it could be that, will give it a try when I get back.

dlc should only work in july so not that. i didn't notice a 500mb install but perhaps to make the game run smoothly it installs some of it on the console? throughout the game there is definitely no lag despite the fantastic effects with the light and darkness or have any loading screens between areas.

Gerard_way89
post May 18 2010, 11:54 PM

39 posts

yeah..I bought yesterday now playing on Hard mode coz i don't like normal mode... Episode 3 right now, I feel the game like movies scene.. awesome game...
crazee
post May 19 2010, 12:13 AM

134 posts

Finished the game.The last episode was hard though.or i am suck at game sweat.gif .They play dirty attack u from behind.Nice game btw.I need more flashbang! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by crazee: May 19 2010, 12:13 AM
juine
post May 19 2010, 12:24 PM

618 posts

finished the game on nightmare, was fun and better than normal mode.

and done with all the collectibles.
Prime85
post May 19 2010, 08:55 PM

wah. why everyone finish already??

I barely finish episode 2. Huhu.
kangaxx
post May 19 2010, 10:32 PM

43 posts

everybody rushing to finish so can begin RDR kua
y3ivan
post May 19 2010, 10:56 PM

502 posts

i could barely pass episode 3. i always run out of ammo and often have to use flashlight to scare them... >.< sometimes i have to run to lightsource just to be save.

damn sked. dont know how they finished it.
Prime85
post May 19 2010, 11:11 PM

i got RDR already but havent started playing yet.

gonna try play both at the same time.
gavind87
post May 19 2010, 11:11 PM

Wings over Asia
1,147 posts

How do I get the avatar award !! damn frustrating !

Installed the developer commentary ,

when I hit the guide button and go to awards , it says I need to play the LCE disc , which I did , numerous times , but I still not getting it ! aaargh
juine
post May 20 2010, 12:46 AM

618 posts

QUOTE(y3ivan @ May 19 2010, 10:56 PM)
i could barely pass episode 3. i always run out of ammo and often have to use flashlight to scare them... >.< sometimes i have to run to lightsource just to be save.

damn sked. dont know how they finished it.
are you even in nightmare mode?

coz at normal i never run out of ammo. i think if you search around there is plenty of ammo to pick up.

you don't really have to kill every encounter with the taken, alot actually can be skipped but will make the gameplay extremely short.
dark lenanza
post May 20 2010, 07:09 AM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

come..come..offer me a price...
hahahaha
kangaxx
post May 20 2010, 07:59 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(Prime85 @ May 19 2010, 11:11 PM)
i got RDR already but havent started playing yet.

gonna try play both at the same time.
cry.gif playing FF13 while waiting RDR & Alan Wake to arrive cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
redninja
post May 20 2010, 09:17 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(juine @ May 20 2010, 12:46 AM)

coz at normal i never run out of ammo. i think if you search around there is plenty of ammo to pick up.

you don't really have to kill every encounter with the taken, alot actually can be skipped but will make the gameplay extremely short.
Some parts later on I do run out of certain ammo. The hunting rifle or shotgun you will go through very fast but at least the revolver usually have ammo. There is one part with construction lights towards the end and each time you switch it on, the Taken will come so I ran out of revolver ammo and had a few shotgun. That wasn't very fun, had to rely on flashbangs and flares.

Certain encounters with the Taken it is better to just run to the light.

Always search for ammo and especially pick up all the flash bangs. You have to time when to throw as sometimes they do not go off immediately.

I think I want to replay nightmare just so I can go to the farm again biggrin.gif I'm loving all the Poets of the Fall (aka Old Gods of Asgard) songs. Wanna get their albums.

This post has been edited by redninja: May 20 2010, 09:18 AM
Kidicarus
post May 20 2010, 09:26 AM

727 posts

QUOTE(redninja @ May 20 2010, 09:17 AM)
Some parts later on I do run out of certain ammo. The hunting rifle or shotgun you will go through very fast but at least the revolver usually have ammo. There is one part with construction lights towards the end and each time you switch it on, the Taken will come so I ran out of revolver ammo and had a few shotgun. That wasn't very fun, had to rely on flashbangs and flares.

Certain encounters with the Taken it is better to just run to the light.

Always search for ammo and especially pick up all the flash bangs. You have to time when to throw as sometimes they do not go off immediately.

I think I want to replay nightmare just so I can go to the farm again biggrin.gif I'm loving all the Poets of the Fall (aka Old Gods of Asgard) songs. Wanna get their albums.
Gunless Wonder
You managed to make it all the way from the dam to Cauldron Lake without firing a single bullet.

Doing this achievement is a lot of fun - really adds to the suspense. And you don't need ammo!
y3ivan
post May 20 2010, 10:08 AM

502 posts

QUOTE(juine @ May 20 2010, 12:46 AM)

yup nightmare. very challanging. i finish all my ammo before i reach the check point. in nightmare, the taken constantly respawn if ur in the woods so staying in the woods is a suicide. some chapter they will spawn 2 -3 stronger version of taken (axe weilding/chainsaw) - this one will take at least 6 round of pistol in the head and they spawn all around u and very close. also u need to focus flashlight longer to get rid of darkness. will deffinately add some challenge.. i think this difficulty is recommended for getting the most out of the game. chapter 3 took me 3 hrs - died countless of times, before i figure it out.
Prime85
post May 20 2010, 11:40 AM

QUOTE(kangaxx @ May 20 2010, 07:59 AM)
cry.gif playing FF13 while waiting RDR & Alan Wake to arrive  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
You got FF13 for xbox 360? Where did you get it? How is it? Hehe.
kangaxx
post May 20 2010, 12:07 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(Prime85 @ May 20 2010, 11:40 AM)
You got FF13 for xbox 360? Where did you get it? How is it? Hehe.
ff13 on the ps3 ...

it's..kinda okay.. i guess

you're not missing out on anything from not playing it TBH.
Prime85
post May 20 2010, 01:33 PM

aa I see I see

Played FF7 - 9 on PS 1. Play a little FF10 on PS 2. I guess not much different eh.
CRSSER
post May 20 2010, 04:04 PM

403 posts

is it release aready ?
kangaxx
post May 20 2010, 04:27 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(Prime85 @ May 20 2010, 01:33 PM)
aa I see I see

Played FF7 - 9 on PS 1. Play a little FF10 on PS 2. I guess not much different eh.
Alan Wake is fffffaaar way more engaging than FF13.

Also. Alan Wake have no lil kids where you feel like you want to stab them in the groin.
_skeevs
post May 21 2010, 10:30 AM

59 posts

Am I the only one a tad disappointed with Alan Wake ? biggrin.gif
Prime85
post May 21 2010, 10:36 AM

QUOTE(_skeevs @ May 21 2010, 10:30 AM)
You're dissapointed?? Why? Why? Tell us why? Hehe tongue.gif

y3ivan
post May 21 2010, 12:54 PM

502 posts

QUOTE(_skeevs @ May 21 2010, 10:30 AM)
really? i give a thumbs up for this game.
ckcc
post May 21 2010, 02:48 PM

126 posts

the gameplay is too short.=(
y3ivan
post May 21 2010, 06:11 PM

502 posts

QUOTE(ckcc @ May 21 2010, 02:48 PM)
the gameplay is too short.=(
which is shorter? alan wake or heavy rain? hmm.gif
soul2soul
post May 21 2010, 09:59 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

this game is very tough la... and makes me very dizzy
shark7
post May 21 2010, 10:05 PM

1,378 posts

how many episode there is in this game.
just finished eps 1,and almost finished eps 2 i think
leonheart54
post May 21 2010, 10:10 PM

The Bright Falls theme that comes with the Bonus disc is really well done.
Now my dashboard looks all bright and cheery rclxm9.gif
navigator
post May 22 2010, 02:18 AM

375 posts

I liked the game and the package of CE so far.

The story telling part didn't fail while the gameplay is a bit annoying.

As for the graphic, they're not perfect (character joint and certain action is a bit skewed...) but I have to say it's eye candy overall.

Effect is comparable to all bigger titles.
y3ivan
post May 22 2010, 10:55 AM

502 posts

any idea where to get the LE pack? i want the soundtrack, awesome.
navigator
post May 22 2010, 03:01 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(y3ivan @ May 22 2010, 10:55 AM)
any idea where to get the LE pack? i want the soundtrack, awesome.
I got mine @ Singapore Challenger.

Price is SGD69.95 until end of this month.

It's even cheaper than normal edition in Malaysia!

Added on May 22, 2010, 3:13 pm
QUOTE(Foxhound88 @ May 22 2010, 12:57 AM)
I got ff13 xb360 free region at http://www.ehoza.com/v4/forum/microsoft-xbox/....its 3 disc....
i have just finish alan wake n it seems will have sequel...
You're not allowed to post anything about pirated copy dude.

This post has been edited by navigator: May 22 2010, 03:13 PM
PrivateJohn
post May 22 2010, 10:29 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

I like Barry...

defaultname365
post May 23 2010, 05:02 AM

1,098 posts

Gosh... finally got my copy (Limited Collector's Edition) and played like half hour only... too bad I have exams next week! Barnacles! Years of waiting and still can't play it in full glory, yet.

So far it is absolutely what I imagined it to be - - dark, dramatic and filled with intense moments. Love it to bits.

navigator
post May 23 2010, 08:51 AM

375 posts

Well, the Bonus disc tells every bit of Remedy and part of Finland and the game. really worth every bits.
PrivateJohn
post May 23 2010, 10:28 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

Some really interesting plot discussion...

Previously on Lost...i mean, Alan Wake.
xzibit
post May 23 2010, 12:59 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ May 22 2010, 10:29 PM)
I like Barry...

f***..shouldn't have clicked on that. doh.gif
y3ivan
post May 23 2010, 12:59 PM

502 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ May 23 2010, 08:51 AM)
Well, the Bonus disc tells every bit of Remedy and part of Finland and the game. really worth every bits.
actually the soundtrack selection suits the game.. i like Haunted by Poe really suits the episode 2

Added on May 23, 2010, 1:06 pm
QUOTE(xzibit @ May 23 2010, 12:59 PM)
f***..shouldn't have clicked on that. doh.gif
like roman for GTA4.. biggrin.gif

i lol at this part.

This post has been edited by y3ivan: May 23 2010, 01:06 PM
enCORe
post May 23 2010, 05:43 PM

Gadget lovers
5,301 posts

I found some interested blogs,
http://brightfalls.blogspot.com/

its a full 6 episod prequel of Alan Wake, alots of movie games adaption was bad but this one is good, brows.gif

This post has been edited by enCORe: May 23 2010, 05:44 PM
navigator
post May 23 2010, 10:27 PM

375 posts

Creator of 3Dmark/PCmark + Country where "Assembly" is held every single year.

It couldn't be wrong for artistic work in such circumstances~~~~
dark lenanza
post May 23 2010, 10:33 PM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

still no 1 selling yet this game??
im waiting~
lol
navigator
post May 23 2010, 10:36 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(dark lenanza @ May 23 2010, 10:33 PM)
im waiting~
lol
eh, baru perapa hari?

and this game is so nice that I will hesistate to let it go
PrivateJohn
post May 23 2010, 11:38 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ May 23 2010, 05:43 PM)
I found some interested blogs,
http://brightfalls.blogspot.com/

its a full 6 episod prequel of Alan Wake, alots of movie games adaption was bad but this one is good,  brows.gif
woah...thanks. I only watch 1-4 on XBL Marketplace, didn't know 5th & 6th episodes are already out. Love the last episode, nice game tie-in.

Will replay the game with commentary on. rclxms.gif
Hitman190
post May 24 2010, 12:08 AM

589 posts

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ May 23 2010, 11:38 PM)
woah...thanks. I only watch 1-4 on XBL Marketplace, didn't know 5th & 6th episodes are already out. Love the last episode, nice game tie-in.

Will replay the game with commentary on. rclxms.gif
i wonder how that will be like...HI I AM Petri Järvilehto HERE TO PROVIDE SOME COMMENTARY, NOW GO UP THAT HILL TO SEE THE VIEW...NO DONT GO INTO THAT OUTHOUSE TO SEE THE CRAP...WHATS WRONG WITH YOU?!?!
dark lenanza
post May 24 2010, 08:43 AM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ May 23 2010, 10:36 PM)
eh, baru perapa hari?

and this game is so nice that I will hesistate to let it go
do not waste ur time
sao u can start play red dead
tongue.gif
navigator
post May 24 2010, 08:53 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ May 24 2010, 12:08 AM)
i wonder how that will be like...HI I AM Petri Järvilehto HERE TO PROVIDE SOME COMMENTARY,  NOW GO UP THAT HILL TO SEE THE VIEW...NO DONT GO INTO THAT OUTHOUSE TO SEE THE CRAP...WHATS WRONG WITH YOU?!?!
......I tot that commentary should be developer's point of view instead of "teaching" you like a guide.......

QUOTE(dark lenanza @ May 24 2010, 08:43 AM)
do not waste ur time
sao u can start play red dead
tongue.gif
i don't like cowboy that ride a horse.......
redninja
post May 24 2010, 09:09 AM

165 posts

im waiting~
lol
I wouldn't let go either. There is replayability since it is not hard reset where everything goes back to zero. Now I can go back in Nightmare and pick things up I missed playing in Normal.

QUOTE(navigator @ May 24 2010, 08:53 AM)
......I tot that commentary should be developer's point of view instead of "teaching" you like a guide.......
The commentary isn't teaching stuff, it is just them telling you about the game and what they wanted to come out each scene. There are supposedly spoilers in it which they warn you but so far I have not stumbled across it -- halfway through ep 1 on 2nd replay.

dark lenanza
post May 24 2010, 09:38 AM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

cehhhh
so today gonna go to gh buy laa this game
doh.gif
_skeevs
post May 24 2010, 06:09 PM

59 posts

im waiting~
lol
@lenanza , I'm thinking of selling but lemme finish it first. I might change my mind, but we'll see wink.gif
gavind87
post May 25 2010, 07:24 AM

Wings over Asia
1,147 posts

QUOTE(dark lenanza @ May 24 2010, 09:38 AM)
cehhhh
so today gonna go to gh buy laa this game
doh.gif
isn't MK selling his in Pasar Malam 360 for RM150
_skeevs
post May 27 2010, 10:14 AM

59 posts

I missed one last manuscript right at the end of episode 2, and now I have to restart the 'woods' part again just to get to it.
Kidicarus
post May 27 2010, 10:20 AM

727 posts

The most annoying part is the coffee thermoses if you're into collecting the collectibles. For the manuscripts it's easy to tell which ones you have missed. You can't with the coffee thermoses.

Still.. it's not that difficult to 1000/1000 this game.
SUScarnbyresurrected
post May 27 2010, 10:23 AM

263 posts

Is it important to get all the manuscript? I mean..if you dont, will you like GAME OVER...?
y3ivan
post May 27 2010, 10:41 AM

502 posts

nope, just for the lulz.

its nice to find them and read up.
_skeevs
post May 27 2010, 10:46 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ May 27 2010, 10:20 AM)
The most annoying part is the coffee thermoses if you're into collecting the collectibles.  For the manuscripts it's easy to tell which ones you have missed.  You can't with the coffee thermoses.

Still.. it's not that difficult to 1000/1000 this game.
Cool, you went for 100% on this. I think 100-150 collectibles is ok for me, but at 291 collectibles is uhm, quite a lot IMO and proly just very time consuming biggrin.gif
chickenducksoup
post May 27 2010, 02:23 PM

I'm so GAY
1,298 posts

hi
i havent start this game yet,but i heard frd of mine said.
there is 9 chapter in this game,but in the disc only have 6 chapter,the last 3 have to DLC?
izzit true?
navigator
post May 28 2010, 05:49 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(chickenducksoup @ May 27 2010, 02:23 PM)
hi
i havent start this game yet,but i heard frd of mine said.
there is 9 chapter in this game,but in the disc only have 6 chapter,the last 3 have to DLC?
izzit true?
There're DLC on July which the code is attached with every new game copy.
kangaxx
post May 29 2010, 09:31 AM

43 posts

sometimes its not how "short" a game is, but how fulfilled you will be within that "short" time.

Eg: Portal (short but good), FF13 (long but wtf), Alan Wake (just right)
SUScarnbyresurrected
post Jun 2 2010, 10:26 AM

263 posts

Yes..reminds me of Gears of War and Gears of War 2...and MGS3...short but leaves you with wanting more.....
Friction
post Jun 2 2010, 11:08 AM

QUOTE(kangaxx @ May 29 2010, 09:31 AM)
sometimes its not how "short" a game is, but how fulfilled you will be within that "short"  time.

Eg: Portal (short but good), FF13 (long but wtf), Alan Wake (just right)
FF13 (long but wtf), <-- I LOLed on this.... biggrin.gif
Kidicarus
post Jun 2 2010, 11:57 AM

727 posts

Personally, I feel that Alan wake is a rental. There is not much replayability apart from the nightmare replay. It's a short but very enjoyable ride while it lasts though.
rhoyo
post Jun 4 2010, 09:59 AM

-
2,800 posts

after playing this yesterday feels like heavy rain much more better then this . the enemies in this game a bit to much like alone in the dark . although the scenary in this game quite nice but the gameplay is so so . kinda disappointed :/
PrivateJohn
post Jun 4 2010, 10:21 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

Why heavy rain? That's like a total different type of game.... sweat.gif
whuffy_aniki
post Jun 4 2010, 03:46 PM

104 posts

Maybe sumbody just dont know the definition of 'horror'
Kidicarus
post Jun 4 2010, 04:35 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Jun 4 2010, 09:59 AM)
after playing this yesterday feels like heavy rain much more better then this . the enemies in this game a bit to much like alone in the dark . although the scenary in this game quite nice but the gameplay is so so . kinda disappointed :/
That's like comparing Max Payne to umm.. Myst?
inkyoctopuss
post Jun 21 2010, 07:55 PM

80 posts

What happen to alan wake in the final chapter? im mean in the chapter 6?

navigator
post Jun 21 2010, 09:27 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(inkyoctopuss @ Jun 21 2010, 07:55 PM)
What happen to alan wake in the final chapter? im mean in the chapter 6?

It'll be announced next month don't worry
inkyoctopuss
post Jun 21 2010, 10:20 PM

80 posts

just finish playing the game but confused of the ending only. thanks bro
SUScarnbyresurrected
post Jun 23 2010, 06:46 PM

263 posts

I think the game is repeatitive...
ckcc
post Jun 25 2010, 02:41 PM

126 posts

http://www.relyonhorror.com/latest-news/al...ameplay-videos/

new videos about the signal dlc!
defaultname365
post Jul 4 2010, 09:11 PM

1,098 posts

"Alan Wake's journey through the night will continue..."

...just like Max Payne. biggrin.gif

July 27 is still weeks away...

daidzz
post Jul 4 2010, 10:03 PM

165 posts

If anybody wants to sell me their Alan Wake second hand, please pm me smile.gif Sound like fun! smile.gif
Mikeshashimi
post Jul 15 2010, 10:59 PM

10 Years on LYN
4,053 posts

alan wake is f***en awesome!

i love the game.
karmakid
post Jul 16 2010, 10:39 PM

2,598 posts

is e extended version out alridi?
redninja
post Jul 19 2010, 09:20 AM

165 posts

new episode "The Signal" on the 27th
scpt
post Jul 19 2010, 09:39 AM

Androidian
1,239 posts

gameon.com.my selling this game for only RM99. I just bought it from them
arebob
post Jul 19 2010, 10:44 AM

23 posts

i ready finish this game with 1k achievement rclxms.gif
for me this game is best story like movie and very enjoyable rclxms.gif
daidzz
post Jul 25 2010, 03:40 PM

165 posts

WTB > Alan Wake
Pm me smile.gif
Kidicarus
post Jul 27 2010, 08:52 PM

727 posts

Alan Wake: The Signal is out.. just redeemed with the code from the retail disc.
redninja
post Jul 28 2010, 10:10 AM

165 posts

The Signal was good! Better than the whole game maybe because the Taken were more overwhelming, better sections or levels where it is narrower and you knew you'd be swamped. Also loved the words activated by light. A little short but it is a solid episode.
kangaxx
post Jul 28 2010, 10:17 AM

43 posts

of all the time my internet decides to fail...

cant read faq to get 1000
cant get the DLC
cant play SC2

defaultname365
post Jul 28 2010, 10:18 AM

1,098 posts

Arghh.... it is available already! Tonight, I'll dine with flashlights!!

Xeno Jie
post Jul 30 2010, 04:56 PM

Seeking for advice !! I had already keyed in the redeem code before the release of the DLC.. and Microsoft has recently confirmed to resend the replacement code for us within 2 days.. I, however, still haven't received it.. HOW ???
redninja
post Jul 30 2010, 11:12 PM

165 posts

sorry dude you just have to wait for the e-mail from them, maybe post to the Alan Wake page on Facebook - is run by Remedy i think
jOlv
post Aug 6 2010, 09:51 AM

i love 'The Signal'... now cant wait for 'The Writer'. ponders when.
scpt
post Aug 6 2010, 02:09 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

This game has that RE3 feeling when the Nemesis appears: Run for your lives!! laugh.gif And ammo are so scarce
kangaxx
post Aug 6 2010, 05:13 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(scpt @ Aug 6 2010, 02:09 PM)
This game has that RE3 feeling when the Nemesis appears: Run for your lives!! laugh.gif And ammo are so scarce
they actually make the dark people (not racist yo) creepy.

unlike RE5 zombies which are actually trying to molest you to death.
sirknieghf
post Aug 7 2010, 12:57 PM

312 posts

"molest" lmao..its true though
navigator
post Aug 7 2010, 01:18 PM

375 posts

The signal's gameplay is intense even the gameplay is too short.

This is also my supposedly last game on my XBOX360 as I just sold my system and will not think of getting it back
Jcsy
post Aug 17 2010, 02:17 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

so far impressive and finished episode 1 : normal

so im guessing ill be replaying nightmare mode, its really good
scpt
post Aug 17 2010, 10:40 PM

Androidian
1,239 posts

QUOTE(kangaxx @ Aug 6 2010, 05:13 PM)
they actually make the dark people (not racist yo) creepy.

unlike RE5 zombies which are actually trying to molest you to death.
laugh.gif In stark contrast the Taken are like super aggresive! Few whacks and u are dead.

At Episode 5 now, the story is pretty awesome
Jcsy
post Aug 18 2010, 12:56 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

hmm, dun spoil it for me... i havent got the time 2 reach there yet
TSam_eniey
post Aug 18 2010, 01:24 PM

✿✿✿✿✿
3,314 posts

QUOTE(scpt @ Aug 17 2010, 10:40 PM)
laugh.gif In stark contrast the Taken are like super aggresive! Few whacks and u are dead.

At Episode 5 now, the story is pretty awesome
there are more aggressive and harder to kill demons in stage 5 especially when reaching the end !
defaultname365
post Aug 21 2010, 06:20 AM

1,098 posts

Finally managed to sit down and play "The Signal" after much delay on my part.

Somewhat mixed about it. First of all, it is short. Perhaps a bit too short for me. Before I know it, it was over.

Then the enemies - relentless. I don't know about most players, but being swamped by enemies all around you is fine, unless you are out of ammo! And "The Signal" sees you
running out of ammo a lot more than before. Call this a challenge, but it could have been further tweaked and toned down. I have no idea how Nightmare mode is going to be!

The part where the

the frame-rate plunged until it was a slide-show for a good 2 seconds! Never has this happened before. I was like "What the...!" That scared me. tongue.gif

Overall it was a great episode.

Or was it?

It didn't answer questions instead added more to the mystery. Which I absolutely had hoped for after the [?] ending of Alan Wake.
What happened to Alan Wake - - more like how many more ways can Alan Wake be mysteriosuly be attacked. smile.gif

OK, the good parts - love the shine your flashlight at the text moments. Love the bit where you shine on 'Boom' and then... well, boom! And of course

I thought we wouldn't see him. The bit where you would use the furnace to charcoal down your enemies was fun... lol.

It was a good episode overall . Worth playing if you did play the whole game. The next episode will cost 560 MP. Hmm... we'll see about that. The release is still "TBA".

This post has been edited by defaultname365: Aug 21 2010, 06:39 AM
yagami05
post Aug 24 2010, 04:23 AM

122 posts

wanna play this game badly. is someone selling? sad.gif
jOlv
post Aug 24 2010, 12:22 PM

i love this game! cant wait for episode 8! biggrin.gif
defaultname365
post Oct 10 2010, 06:15 AM

1,098 posts

Final DLC for Alan Wake,'The Writer' will be available October 12, 2010 for the Xbox 360 at a rate of 560 Microsoft Points.

greyshadow
post Oct 13 2010, 10:54 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

anyone gotten the Writer episode already?

good? hmm.gif

the signal left me hanging there... wonder if the writer conclude everything, if yes, i might buy it, else i'm not going to buy a dlc that left the story hanging again doh.gif
kangaxx
post Oct 13 2010, 10:55 AM

43 posts

kotaku posted a review, said it wasn't satisfying

i dl'd it but haven't play yet, was bz wrapping up FO3 last nite lol
redninja
post Oct 19 2010, 03:26 PM

165 posts

I got it day it was released. Alan Wake fan lol. Very short, not as satisfying as The Signal.

Spoiler maybe a lil
I got real dizzy in the scenes with the ..

Final 'Boss' fight not great either. Definitely some super scary moments, pitch black darkness in the sewer soooo scary .. most of the times I'm trying to run and get to the next checkpoint so freaked out. Some cheap shocks too with dudes jumping out of nowhere.

Does not resolve anything but it's ok that's how Alan Wake story is .. hope they continue with Alan Wake 2.

defaultname365
post Oct 20 2010, 12:33 PM

1,098 posts

...not that great? Ouch! This is suppose to tie up the loose ends of the game. Might as well be a free download!!

redninja
post Oct 20 2010, 04:26 PM

165 posts

If you play the game you will still have to get it. It's only 560 pts.

I will say that they did great with keeping at the creepy atmosphere. Great experience. Just not much replayability.
defaultname365
post May 11 2011, 01:01 AM

1,098 posts

New Alan Wake confirmed, but it's not 'Alan Wake 2'

http://gamerant.com/alan-wake-2-prequel-case-83788/

"Fans of the franchise will be excited to learn that, yes, more Wake is coming!" he said. "But to be absolutely certain to avoid confusion,
this next Wake installment will not be Alan Wake 2. But neither will it be DLC." The full explanation, "when we'll actually SHOW YOU," is
being saved for the official announcement later.

I did not play the last DLC... coz need to purchase... and the fact that fans were mixed about it.

Edison83
post May 11 2011, 04:45 PM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

that news was still rumor

they got the detail from a fella resume of remedy ex-employee that work on cinematic for "Alan Wake 2". I dont think any annoucement was made yet.
abrak
post Nov 13 2011, 10:00 PM

408 posts

Even this is a very old game, I just started playing it and yes it scares the hell out of me! One of my favorite!

0.0998sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:20 AM